Detailed Action
Acknowledgements
2. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 01/09/2026, are acknowledged. Amended claims 1, 10, 15, and 18-20 and cancelled claim 4 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 remain pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, with respect to independent claims 1 and 15, previous rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues/remarks:
4. On pages 17-18, the Applicant argues/remarks that D1 merely describes a CSLA focusing light but does not disclose an exclusive isolation, as does the instant application wherein the present application defines a 2x2 arrangement as the unit of color separation and further limits the configuration such that color separation occurs only within the 2x2 arrangement, with no separation occurring between adjacent arrangements.
The Applicant further mentions Yun teaching away from the feature of the present application with reference to [0076].
Similarly, (on pg. 19), the Applicant states, Yun fails to disclose or suggest at least “wherein the plurality of nanoposts are configured such that color wherein the plurality of nanoposts are configured such that color separation occurs only within the 2x2 arrangement”.
The Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
Yun, in [0076], teaches an alternative (3x2) unit pixel arrangement rather than not teach a 2x2 arrangement.
In [00095], Yun explicitly teaches a pixel array of a Bayer pattern (Fig. 2A) with photosensitive cells of Fig. 5A. Further, corresponding to the photosensitive cells of Fig. 5A, Fig. 5B teaches regions of the color separating lens array 130 including a plurality of unit pattern arrays (131-134) in a two-dimensional arrangement in a 2x2 formation.
Thus, Yun teaches “wherein the plurality of nanoposts are configured such that color wherein the plurality of nanoposts are configured such that color separation occurs only within the 2x2 arrangement”.
5. Applicant further states (pg. 20), that “a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Green and Magenta are not complementary colors”; thus, Takase fails to disclose or suggest wherein the light of the first wavelength and the light of the second wavelength have a complementary color relationship.
The Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
The reference in accordance with Magenta - Wikipedia (pg. 2 lines 4-5) teaches that in a RGB color system, magenta is a secondary color and a complementary color of green. Further, the reference teaches that because magenta is the complementary color of green, magenta flowers have the highest contrast with green foliage.
Thus, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, the understanding that the colors green and magenta are complementary to each other is evident.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new
ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would
be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 2021/0124179 A1; further referred to as Yun) in view of Takase ( WO 2024/143079 A1).
8. Regarding claim 1, an image sensor (…Yun, in [0071], teaches an image sensor 1000
including pixel array 1100; Fig. 1…) comprising:
a sensor substrate (…[0089] teaches a sensor substrate 110…) comprising:
a first pixel and a second pixel that are each configured to sense light of a first
wavelength (…wherein [0073-74], in accordance with Fig. 2A, teach a green pixel G in a
first and second pixel; wherein green corresponds to a wavelength of light detected by a
pixel…),
a color separating lens array (CSLA) provided on the sensor substrate (…[0007]
teaches a color separating lens array (CSLA) as part of the sensor substrate…),
the CSLA being configured to separate incident light according to wavelength and
condense the separated incident light onto the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and
the fourth pixel, (…wherein [0007] teaches the CSLA comprising a first region
facing a first photosensitive cell and a second region facing a second photosensitive
cell; [0014] further teaches the CSLA comprising a third region facing a third
photosensitive cell and a fourth region facing a fourth photosensitive cell…), wherein
the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel are provided in a 2×2
arrangement, (…wherein [0074] teaches a 2×2 array-type unit pixel, in accordance
with Fig. 2A…), wherein
the CSLA comprises
a first pixel corresponding region that is provided on the first pixel (…wherein [0007]
teaches the CSLA comprising a first region facing a first photosensitive cell…),
a second pixel corresponding region that is provided on the second pixel (…wherein
[0007] teaches the CSLA comprising a second region facing a second photosensitive
cell…),
a third pixel corresponding region that is provided on the third pixel (…wherein [0014]
teaches the CSLA comprising a third region facing a third photosensitive cell…), and
a fourth pixel corresponding region that is provided on the fourth pixel (…wherein [0014]
teaches the CSLA comprising a fourth region facing a fourth photosensitive cell…),
wherein
each of the first pixel corresponding region, the second pixel corresponding region, the
third pixel corresponding region, and the fourth pixel corresponding region comprises a plurality
of nanoposts (…wherein as taught in [0007] and [0014], each of the regions comprise their
nanoposts (NP)…), wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are configured such that color separation occurs only within
the 2×2 arrangement (…wherein [0095] teaches the color separating lens array 130 may
include a plurality of unit pattern arrays that are two-dimensionally arranged, and each of
the plurality of unit pattern arrays may include the first region 131 , the second
region 132 , the third region 133 , and the fourth region 134 , which are arranged in the
form of 2×2. As such, Fig. 5C depicts a 2×2 NPs arrangement which may constitute the
unit pattern arrays…); wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are arranged asymmetrically with respect to
(i) a line extending in the first direction from a center of each of the first pixel
corresponding region, the second pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding
region, and the fourth pixel corresponding region (…[0102] teaches nanoposts having an
asymmetrical cross-sectional shape with different widths in the horizontal direction and
as such in accordance with Fig. 5C a horizontal line from one center pixel region to
another depicts an asymmetric relationship of cross-sectional shape...), and
(ii) a line extending in the second direction from the center of each of the first pixel
corresponding region, the second pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding
region, and the fourth pixel corresponding region within each of the first pixel corresponding
region, the second pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding region, and the
fourth pixel corresponding region (…[0102] teaches nanoposts having an asymmetrical cross-sectional shape with different widths in the vertical direction and as such in
accordance with Fig. 5C a vertical line from one center pixel region to another depicts an
asymmetric relationship of cross-sectional shape...).
Though Yun teaches different wavelength being detected in a 2×2 array-type unit
pixel, Yun does not teach wherein
a third pixel and a fourth pixel that are each configured to sense light of a second
wavelength (…however, Takase, on pg. 17-paragraph 11, in accordance with Fig. 40J,
teaches a first and second pixel sensing a light of a first wavelength of a first 2×2
grouping of a 4×4 pixel group (“G” pixels) and also a third and fourth pixel sensing a
second light (e.g. magenta(M)…),
the first pixel and the second pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each other
(…wherein the G (first and second) pixels in 40J are in a diagonal relationship to each
other…), wherein
the third pixel and the fourth pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each other
(…wherein the M (third and fourth) pixels in 40J are in a diagonal relationship to each
other…), wherein
the first pixel and the third pixel are provided to be oriented in a first direction with
respect to each other (…wherein in the top left G pixel (first pixel) is in a horizontal
relationship with pixel M (fourth pixel)…), wherein
the first pixel and the fourth pixel are provided to be oriented in a second direction with
respect to each other, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (…wherein
the first pixel G is in a vertical relationship with pixel M (third pixel) as depicted in Fig.
40J of the first 2×2 grouping of a 4×4 pixel group…), wherein
the light of the first wavelength and the light of the second wavelength have a
complementary color relationship (…wherein as evidenced in Fig. 40J, each 2×2 pixel
grouping represents a primary color along a complementary color, in color filtering.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that an RGB color sensing pixel array can be
devised, as taught by Yun, wherein each primary RGB color can be implemented in an
imaging sensor wherein complementary colors of each primary color can be arranged
according the teaching of Takase in a 4×4 pixel group which may include all the primary
colors of RGB and their respective complementary colors for greater sensitivity in the
imaging sensor…).
9. Regarding claim 2, Yun in view of Takase teaches the image sensor of claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are further configured such that the color separation occurs
between pixels adjacent in the second direction among the first pixel, the second pixel, the third
pixel, and the fourth pixel (…wherein as taught by Yun, in [0098-0099], nanoposts may have different distribution rules, respective to a first or second direction and the particular
adjacent pixel; Fig. 5C…).
10. Regarding claim 3, Yun in view of Takase teaches the image sensor of claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are further configured such that the color separation occurs
between pixels adjacent in the first direction and pixels adjacent in the second direction among
the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel (…wherein as taught by
Yun, in [0098-0099], nanoposts may have different distribution rules, respective to a first
or second direction and the particular adjacent pixel; Fig. 5C…).
11. Regarding claim 5, the image sensor of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are arranged asymmetrically with respect to
a line extending in the first direction from a center of each of the first pixel corresponding
region, the second pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding region, and the
fourth pixel corresponding region within each of the first pixel corresponding region, the second
pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding region, and the fourth pixel
corresponding region (…[0102] teaches nanoposts having an asymmetrical cross-sectional
shape with different widths in the horizontal direction and as such in accordance with
Fig. 5C a horizontal line from one center pixel region to another depicts an asymmetric
relationship of cross-sectional shape...).
12. Regarding claim 6, the image sensor of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are arranged symmetrically with respect to a line extending in
the second direction from a center of each of the first pixel corresponding region, the second
pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding region, and the fourth pixel
corresponding region within each of the first pixel corresponding region, the second pixel
corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding region, and the fourth pixel corresponding
region (…wherein [0102] teaches nanoposts having a symmetrical cross-sectional shape
with the same widths in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction may be
employed…).
13. Regarding claim 7, Yun in view of Takase teaches the image sensor of claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein
the light of the first wavelength is red light, and the light of the second wavelength is
cyan light (…wherein Takase in Fig. 40J depicts (in a top right) a 2×2 pixel grouping of a
red light pixels and cyan color pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that an RGB color sensing pixel array can be
devised, as taught by Yun, wherein each primary RGB color can be implemented in an
imaging sensor wherein complementary colors of each primary color can be arranged
according the teaching of Takase in a 4×4 pixel group which may include all the primary
colors of RGB and their respective complementary colors for greater sensitivity in the
imaging sensor…).
14. Regarding claim 8, the image sensor of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the light of the first wavelength is green light, and the light of the second wavelength is magenta
light (…wherein Takase in Fig. 40J depicts (top left) a 2×2 pixel grouping of a green light
pixels and magenta color pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that an RGB color sensing pixel array can be
devised, as taught by Yun, wherein each primary RGB color can be implemented in an
imaging sensor wherein complementary colors of each primary color can be arranged
according the teaching of Takase in a 4×4 pixel group which may include all the primary
colors of RGB and their respective complementary colors for greater sensitivity in the
imaging sensor…).
15. Regarding claim 9, the image sensor of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the light of the first wavelength is blue light, and the light of the second wavelength is yellow
light (…wherein Takase in Fig. 40J depicts (bottom left) a 2×2 pixel grouping of a blue
light pixels and yellow color pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that an RGB color sensing pixel array can be
devised, as taught by Yun, wherein each primary RGB color can be implemented in an
imaging sensor wherein complementary colors of each primary color can be arranged
according the teaching of Takase in a 4×4 pixel group which may include all the primary
colors of RGB and their respective complementary colors for greater sensitivity in the
imaging sensor…).
16. Regarding claim 10, Yun in view of Takase teaches the image sensor of claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein Takase further teaches a sensor substrate further comprises:
a fifth pixel and a sixth pixel that are each configured to sense light of a third wavelength
(…wherein Takase teaches a 2×2 pixel grouping (top right of Fig. 40J) a fifth and sixth
pixel configured to sense a color (e.g. R)…),
a seventh pixel and an eighth pixel that are each configured to sense light of a fourth
wavelength (…wherein Takase teaches a 2×2 pixel grouping (top right of Fig. 40J) a
seventh and eight pixel configured to sense a color (e.g. C)…),
a ninth pixel and a tenth pixel that are each configured to sense light of a fifth
wavelength (…wherein Takase teaches a 2×2 pixel grouping (bottom left of Fig. 40J) a
ninth and tenth pixel configured to sense a color (e.g. B)…),
an eleventh pixel and a twelfth pixel that are each configured to sense light of a sixth
wavelength (…wherein Takase teaches a 2×2 pixel grouping (bottom left of Fig. 40J) an
eleventh and twelfth pixel configured to sense a color (e.g. Y)…),
a thirteenth pixel and a fourteenth pixel that are each configured to sense the light of the
first wavelength (…wherein Takase teaches a 2×2 pixel grouping (bottom right of Fig. 40J)
a thirteenth and fourteenth pixel configured to sense a color (e.g. M)…), and
a fifteenth pixel and a sixteenth pixel that are each configured to sense the light of the
second wavelength (…wherein Takase teaches a 2×2 pixel grouping (bottom right of Fig.
40J) a fifteenth and sixteenth pixel configured to sense a color (e.g. G)…), wherein
the fifth pixel, the sixth pixel, the seventh pixel, and the eighth pixel are provided in the
2×2 arrangement (…wherein Takase teaches a 2×2 pixel grouping including pixels 5-8, as
depicted in Fig. 40J…), wherein
the fifth pixel and the sixth pixel are provided are provided to be oriented diagonal to
each other (…wherein pixel 5 and 6 are diagonal to each other; Fig. 40J…), wherein
the seventh pixel and the eighth pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each other
(…wherein pixel 7 and 8 are diagonal to each other, Fig. 40J…), wherein
the fifth pixel and the seventh pixel are provided to be oriented in the first direction with
respect to each other (…wherein pixel 5 (R) is in a horizontal relationship with pixel 7
(C)…), wherein
the fifth pixel and the eighth pixel are provided to be oriented in the second direction with
respect to each other (…wherein pixel 5 (R) is in a vertical relationship with pixel 8 (C); Fig.
40J…), wherein
the ninth pixel, the tenth pixel, the eleventh pixel, and the twelfth pixel are provided in the
2×2 arrangement (…wherein pixels 9-12 are depicted at bottom left 2×2 of Fig, 40J…),
wherein
the ninth pixel and the tenth pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each other
(…wherein pixels 9 (B) and 10 (B) are diagonal to each other; Fig. 40J…), wherein
the eleventh pixel and the twelfth pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each
other (…wherein pixels 11 (Y) and 12 (Y) are diagonal to each other; Fig. 40J…), wherein
the ninth pixel and the eleventh pixel are provided to be oriented in the first direction with
respect to each other (…wherein pixel 9 (B) is in a horizontal relationship with pixel 11
(Y)…), wherein
the ninth pixel and the twelfth pixel are provided to be oriented in the second direction
with respect to each other (…wherein pixel 9 (B) is in a vertical relationship with pixel 12
(Y)…), wherein
the thirteenth pixel, the fourteenth pixel, the fifteenth pixel, and the sixteenth pixel are
provided in the 2×2 arrangement (…wherein pixels 13-16 are depicted at bottom right 2×2 of
Fig, 40J…), wherein
the thirteenth pixel and the fourteenth pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each
other (…wherein pixels 13 (G) and 14 (G) are diagonal to each other; Fig. 40J…), wherein
the fifteenth pixel and the sixteenth pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each
other (…wherein pixels 15 (M) and 16 (M) are diagonal to each other; Fig. 40J…), wherein
the thirteenth pixel and the fifteenth pixel are provided to be oriented in the first direction with respect to each other (…wherein pixel 13 (G) is in a horizontal relationship with pixel 15 (M)…), wherein
the thirteenth pixel and the sixteenth pixel are provided to be oriented in the second
direction with respect to each other (…wherein pixel 13 (G) is in a vertical relationship with
pixel 16 (M)…), and wherein
the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, the fourth pixel, the fifth pixel, the sixth
pixel, the seventh pixel, the eighth pixel, the ninth pixel, the tenth pixel, the eleventh pixel, the
twelfth pixel, the thirteenth pixel, the fourteenth pixel, the fifteenth pixel, and the sixteenth pixel
are provided in a 4×4 arrangement (…wherein Takase teaches Fig. 40J.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that an RGB color sensing pixel array can be
devised, as taught by Yun, wherein each primary RGB color can be implemented in an imaging sensor wherein complementary colors of each primary color can be arranged
according the teaching of Takase in a 4×4 pixel group which may include all the primary
colors of RGB and their respective complementary colors for greater sensitivity in the
imaging sensor…).
17. Regarding claim 11, Yum in view of Takase the image sensor of claim 10 (see claim 10
above), wherein
the light of the first wavelength is green light (…wherein Takase teaches Green as a
first color filter; Fig. 40J…),
the light of the second wavelength is magenta light (…wherein Takase teaches
magenta as a second color filter; Pg. 17-para. 11; Fig. 40J…),
the light of the third wavelength is red light (…wherein Takase teaches red as a third
color filter; Fig. 40J…),
the light of the fourth wavelength is cyan light (…wherein Takase teaches cyan as a
fourth color filter; Pg. 17-para. 11; Fig. 40J…),
the light of the fifth wavelength is blue light (…wherein Takase teaches blue as a fifth
color filter; Fig. 40J…), and
the light of the sixth wavelength is yellow light (…wherein Takase teaches yellow as a
sixth color filter; Pg. 17-para. 11; Fig. 40J.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that an RGB color sensing pixel array can be
devised, as taught by Yun, wherein each primary RGB color can be implemented in an
imaging sensor wherein complementary colors of each primary color can be arranged
according the teaching of Takase in a 4×4 pixel group which may include all the primary
colors of RGB and their respective complementary colors for greater sensitivity in the
imaging sensor…).
18. Regarding claim 12, Yum in view of Takase teaches the image sensor of claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), further comprising:
a flat lens surrounding the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel
in the 2×2 arrangement on the CSLA (…wherein Yum, in [0121], teaches micro lens ML 2
arranged around the first and fourth photosensitive cells (wherein in the figure, pixels 2
and 4 are also within the coverage of ML 2…).
19. Regarding claim 13, the image sensor of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
at least one of the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, or the fourth pixel
comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (…wherein [0194] teaches that additional pixels may be
included in pixel array 1100…).
20. Regarding claim 14, Yum in view of Takase the image sensor of claim 13 (see claim 13
above), wherein
the plurality of sub-pixels are configured to be used for autofocusing (…wherein as
taught in [0194] the additional pixels may be for performing an AF function…).
21. Regarding claim 15, an electronic apparatus (…Yum, in [0029] teaches an electronic
apparatus…) comprising:
a lens assembly comprising one or more lenses, the lens assembly being configured to
form an optical image of a subject (…wherein Yum, in [0029], teaches an image capturing
unit configured to focus light reflected from an object and to form an optical image…);
an image sensor configured to generate an electrical signal based on the optical image
formed by the lens assembly (…wherein [0029] teaches an image sensor configured to
convert the optical image formed by an image capturing unit into an electrical signal…);
and
a processor configured to process the electrical signal generated by the image sensor
(…wherein [0072] teaches a processor for image processing as part of output circuit
1030 (Fig. 1)…), wherein
the image sensor comprises a sensor substrate (…wherein [0089] teaches a sensor
substrate 110…) comprising:
a first pixel and a second pixel that are each configured to sense light of a first
wavelength (…wherein [0073-74], in accordance with Fig. 2A, teach a green pixel G in a
first and second pixel; wherein green corresponds to a wavelength of light detected by a
pixel…), and
a color separating lens array (CSLA) provided on the sensor substrate (…[0007]
teaches a color separating lens array (CSLA) as part of the sensor substrate…),
the CSLA being configured to separate incident light according to wavelength and
condense the separated incident light onto the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and
the fourth pixel, wherein (…wherein [0007] teaches the CSLA comprising a first region
facing a first photosensitive cell and a second region facing a second photosensitive
cell; [0014] further teaches the CSLA comprising a third region facing a third
photosensitive cell and a fourth region facing a fourth photosensitive cell…),
the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel are provided in a 2×2
arrangement, wherein (…wherein [0074] teaches a 2×2 array-type unit pixel, in accordance
with Fig. 2A…),
the CSLA comprises
a first pixel corresponding region that is provided on the first pixel (…wherein [0007]
teaches the CSLA comprising a first region facing a first photosensitive cell…),
a second pixel corresponding region that is provided on the second pixel (…wherein
[0007] teaches the CSLA comprising a second region facing a second photosensitive
cell…),
a third pixel corresponding region that is provided on the third pixel (…wherein [0014]
teaches the CSLA comprising a third region facing a third photosensitive cell…), and
a fourth pixel corresponding region that is provided on the fourth pixel (…wherein [0014]
teaches the CSLA comprising a fourth region facing a fourth photosensitive cell…), wherein
each of the first pixel corresponding region, the second pixel corresponding region, the
third pixel corresponding region, and the fourth pixel corresponding region comprises a plurality
of nanoposts (…wherein as taught in [0007] and [0014], each of the regions comprise their
nanoposts (NP)…), wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are configured such that color separation occurs only within
the 2×2 arrangement (…wherein [0095] teaches the color separating lens array 130 may
include a plurality of unit pattern arrays that are two-dimensionally arranged, and each of
the plurality of unit pattern arrays may include the first region 131 , the second
region 132 , the third region 133 , and the fourth region 134 , which are arranged in the
form of 2×2. As such, Fig. 5C depicts a 2×2 NPs arrangement which may constitute the
unit pattern arrays…); wherein
the plurality of nanoposts are arranged asymmetrically with respect to
(i) a line extending in the first direction from a center of each of the first pixel
corresponding region, the second pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding
region, and the fourth pixel corresponding region (…[0102] teaches nanoposts having an
asymmetrical cross-sectional shape with different widths in the horizontal direction and
as such in accordance with Fig. 5C a horizontal line from one center pixel region to
another depicts an asymmetric relationship of cross-sectional shape...), and
(ii) a line extending in the second direction from the center of each of the first pixel
corresponding region, the second pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding
region, and the fourth pixel corresponding region within each of the first pixel corresponding
region, the second pixel corresponding region, the third pixel corresponding region, and the
fourth pixel corresponding region (…[0102] teaches nanoposts having an asymmetrical cross-sectional shape with different widths in the vertical direction and as such in
accordance with Fig. 5C a vertical line from one center pixel region to another depicts an
asymmetric relationship of cross-sectional shape...).
Though Yun teaches different wavelength being detected in a 2×2 array-type unit
pixel, Yun does not teach wherein
a third pixel and a fourth pixel that are each configured to sense light of a second
wavelength (…however Takase, on pg. 17-paragraph 11, in accordance with Fig. 40J,
teaches a first and second pixel sensing a light of a first wavelength of a first 2×2
grouping of a 4×4 pixel group (“G” pixels) and also a third and fourth pixel sensing a
second light (e.g. magenta(M)…),
the first pixel and the second pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each other
(…wherein the G (first and second) pixels in 40J are in a diagonal relationship to each
other…), wherein
the third pixel and the fourth pixel are provided to be oriented diagonal to each other
(…wherein the M (third and fourth) pixels in 40J are in a diagonal relationship to each
other…), wherein
the first pixel and the third pixel are provided to be oriented in a first direction with
respect to each other (…wherein in the top left G pixel (first pixel) is in a horizontal
relationship with pixel M (fourth pixel)…), wherein
the first pixel and the fourth pixel are provided to be oriented in a second direction with
respect to each other, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (…wherein
the first pixel G is in a vertical relationship with pixel M (third pixel) as depicted in Fig.
40J of the first 2×2 grouping of a 4×4 pixel group…), wherein
the light of the first wavelength and the light of the second wavelength have a
complementary color relationship (…wherein as evidenced in Fig. 40J, each 2×2 pixel
grouping represents a primary color along a complementary color, in color filtering.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that an RGB color sensing pixel array can be
devised, as taught by Yun, wherein each primary RGB color can be implemented in an
imaging sensor wherein complementary colors of each primary color can be arranged
according the teaching of Takase in a 4×4 pixel group which may include all the primary
colors of RGB and their respective complementary colors for greater sensitivity in the
imaging sensor…).
22. Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for reasons related to claim 2.
23. Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for reasons related to claim 3.
24. Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected for reasons related to claim 10.
25. Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected for reasons related to claim 11.
26. Regarding claim 20, Yum in view of Takase teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 15
(see claim 15 above) wherein
at least one of the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, or the fourth pixel includes
a plurality of sub-pixels (…wherein Yum( [0194]) teaches that additional pixels may be included in pixel array 1100…), and wherein
the plurality of sub-pixels are configured to be used for autofocusing (…wherein as
taught in [0194] the additional pixels may be for performing an AF function…).
Conclusion
27. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURAFEL YILMAKASSAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639