DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/15/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1, 14, and 18, under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding independent claims Applicant argues that “the prior art reference Liba (2022/0230323) fails to teach or disclose techniques of processing peripheral and focal image regions differently for reduced latency, energy consumption, and communication bandwidth usage, as claimed by Applicant”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, First of all, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “processing peripheral and focal image regions differently…”, please see Remarks, page 6, last paragraph) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Secondly, Examiner noticed throughout the Remarks Applicant pointing out to the specification of the pending Application without explaining how the claimed limitations are different from the cited reference. Furthermore, as previously cited by Examiner, Liba reference discloses generation of object mask based on user input and then retrain the machine-learned model (i.e., claimed generate a computing model for analyzing image data) according to the object/region mask and deep neural network, again since Applicant claims do not requires processing peripheral and focal image regions differently, therefor Liba reference reads on the argued limitations as presented by the Applicant. Similarly, Brandt in view of Kalra and Brandt in view of Sato also discloses the claim limitations as presented by the Applicant as being explained below. Examiner suggests Applicant to further elaborate on deep neural network model and/or how the computing model is generated rather than merely claiming generate, according to the region mask and based on a deep neural network model a computing model for analyzing image data to overcome the cited references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Liba (US PGPUB 2022/0230323 A1).
As per claim 1, Liba discloses an apparatus (Liba, Fig. 1:100, and Fig. 3:300), comprising:
a graphical user interface configured to present an image captured by an image sensor and receive user interactions with the image (Liba, paragraphs 25, 37, 80, and 85-88); and
a processor (Liba, Fig. 1:100) configured to:
generate, based on the user interactions with the graphical user interface, a region mask configured to identify the plurality of regions of pixels in the image sensor (Liba, Fig. 4:402-412, and paragraphs 25, 28, 37, 80, 85-89); and
generate, according to the region mask and based on a deep neural network model a computing model for analyzing image data, captured by the image sensor (Liba, paragraphs 34, 42, 47, and 52, discloses the camera module 108 re-trains the machine-learned model based on the refined mask that is output from the guided filter to improve future segmentations performed by the machine-learned model on other images).
As per claim 14, Liba discloses a method (Liba, Fig. 1:100, and Fig. 3:300), comprising:
storing a deep neural network model configured according to a resolution of an image sensor (Liba, Fig. 1:100, and Fig. 2:3108:200, and paragraphs 26, 42 and 50);
presenting, in a graphical user interface, an image captured by the image sensor (Liba, Fig. 1:106, and paragraphs 86-88);
receiving, in the graphical user interface, user interactions with the image (Liba, paragraphs 25, 37, 80, and 85-88);
generating, based on the user interactions with the graphical user interface, a region mask configured to identify the plurality of regions of pixels in the image sensor (Liba, paragraphs 86-89 discloses at 412, the computing device 100 automatically segments the image into discrete regions to generate a mask for each region);
deriving, according to the region mask and from the deep neural network model, a computing model (Liba, paragraphs 34, 42, and 47, discloses the camera module 108 re-trains the machine-learned model based on the refined mask that is output from the guided filter to improve future segmentations performed by the machine-learned model on other images); and
analyzing, using the computing model, image data, captured by the image sensor (Liba, paragraphs 34, 42, and 47, discloses the camera module 108 re-trains the machine-learned model based on the refined mask that is output from the guided filter to improve future segmentations performed by the machine-learned model on other images).
As per claim 18, Liba discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing instructions which, when executed in a computing device, cause the computing device to perform a method (Liba, paragraph 73), the method comprising:
presenting, in a graphical user interface, an image captured by an image sensor (Liba, Fig. 1:106, and paragraphs 86-88);
receiving, in the graphical user interface, user interactions with the image (Liba, paragraphs 25, 37, 80, and 85-88);
removing, from a deep neural network model configured according to a resolution of the image sensor, a portion of computations in regions (Liba, Fig. 3:200:210, and paragraphs 30, and 60, discloses camera module 108 re-trains the machine-learned model); and
generating, based on the removing, a computing model customized to analyze image data, captured by the image sensor (Liba, paragraphs 34, 42, and 47, discloses the camera module 108 re-trains the machine-learned model based on the refined mask that is output from the guided filter to improve future segmentations performed by the machine-learned model on other images).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14, is/are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt (US PGPUB 2024/0169624 A1) and further in view of Kalra (US PGPUB 2022/0044441 A1).
As per claim 1, Brandt discloses an apparatus (Brandt, Figs. 1-51), comprising:
a graphical user interface configured to present an image captured by an image sensor and receive user interactions with the image (Brandt, Fig. 2:202:206, Fig. 3:312, and paragraphs 84 and 91); and
a processor (Brandt, Fig. 3:300) configured to:
generate, based on the user interactions with the graphical user interface, a region mask configured to identify the plurality of regions of pixels in the image sensor (Brandt, Fig. 3:312, and paragraphs 60, 120, 126, 188, 199 and 200, discloses generating object masks based on the user input 312); and
Brandt does not explicitly disclose generate, according to the region mask and based on a deep neural network model a computing model for analyzing image data, captured by the image sensor.
Kalra discloses generate, according to the region mask and based on a deep neural network model a computing model for analyzing image data, captured by the image sensor (Kalra, Fig. 6:607:632, and paragraphs 179, 184-186, 219, and 221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brandt teachings by implementing a model training device to the system, as taught by Kalra.
The motivation would be to improve performance in detecting and classifying objects encountered in manufacturing environment (paragraph 179), as taught by Kalra.
As per claim 14, Brandt discloses a method (Brandt, Figs. 1-51), comprising:
storing a deep neural network model configured according to a resolution of an image sensor (Brandt, Fig. 1: 102:110a, and paragraphs 56, 80, 84-85, 86, and 413);
presenting, in a graphical user interface, an image captured by the image sensor (Brandt, Fig. 2:202:206, and paragraphs 84 and 91);
receiving, in the graphical user interface, user interactions with the image (Brandt, Fig. 2:202:206, Fig. 3:312, and paragraphs 84, 91 and 126);
generating, based on the user interactions with the graphical user interface, a region mask configured to identify the plurality of regions of pixels in the image sensor (Brandt, Fig. 3:312, and paragraphs 60, 120, 126, 188, 199 and 200, discloses generating object masks based on the user input 312);
Brandt does not explicitly disclose deriving, according to the region mask and from the deep neural network model, a computing model; and
analyzing, using the computing model, image data, captured by the image sensor.
Kalra discloses deriving, according to the region mask and from the deep neural network model, a computing model (Kalra, Fig. 6:607:632, and paragraphs 179, 184-186, 219, and 221); and
analyzing, using the computing model, image data, captured by the image sensor (Kalra, Fig. 6:632).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brandt teachings by implementing a model training device to the system, as taught by Kalra.
The motivation would be to improve performance in detecting and classifying objects encountered in manufacturing environment (paragraph 179), as taught by Kalra.
Claim(s) 18, is/are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt (US PGPUB 2024/0169624 A1) and further in view of Sato (US PGPUB 2024/0362907 A1).
As per claim 18, Brandt discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing instructions which, when executed in a computing device, cause the computing device to perform a method (Brandt, paragraphs 2 and 505), the method comprising:
presenting, in a graphical user interface, an image captured by an image sensor (Brandt, Fig. 2:202:206, and paragraphs 84 and 91);
receiving, in the graphical user interface, user interactions with the image (Brandt, Fig. 2:202:206, Fig. 3:312, and paragraphs 84, 91, 120 and 126);
Brandt does not explicitly disclose removing, from a deep neural network model configured according to a resolution of the image sensor, a portion of computations in regions; and
generating, based on the removing, a computing model customized to analyze image data, captured by the image sensor.
Sato discloses removing, from a deep neural network model configured according to a resolution of the image sensor, a portion of computations in regions (Sato, Fig. 1:1, and Fig. 56:1A:2:101:106A, and Fig. 57:2, and paragraphs 309-310 and 313); and
generating, based on the removing, a computing model customized to analyze image data, captured by the image sensor (Sato, Fig. 1:1, Fig. 56:1A:2:106A, and Fig. 57:2, and paragraphs 74, 310 and 313, discloses That is, even if the mask pattern of the mask of the first camera 101 is changed, the new identification model more suitable for the changed mask pattern of the mask is created by the learning processing of the learning device 2. Therefore, even if the mask pattern of the mask of the first camera 101 is changed, the image identification unit 103 performs the identification processing using the created new identification model, thus implementing the highly accurate identification processing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brandt teachings by implementing a learning device to the system, as taught by Sato.
The motivation would be to achieve more accurate object identification performance (paragraph 68), as taught by Sato.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13, 15-17, and 19-20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SYED HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633