DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01 August 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Figures 8A and 9A of the application illustrates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mueller et al. (US 2007/0077898 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 18, Mueller et al. discloses a radio frequency front end system comprising:
a first transmit path and a first receive path (Figure 8 shows Tx UMTS-5 and Rx UMTS-5);
a first transmit filter within the first transmit path and a first receiver filter within the first receive path ([0004]: “Components of the duplexer include a transmit (Tx) filter and a receive (Rx) filter.”); and
one or more switches (switch 54 SP2T) configured to selectively connect a first antenna to the first transmit filter and to selectively connect a second antenna to the first receive filter to allow frequency division duplex communication over the first transmit path and the first receive path in which the first transmit path transmits over the first antenna simultaneous with the first receive path receiving over the second antenna (the first antenna and the second antenna can be the same antenna), (A duplexer is an electronic device that allows a single antenna to be used for both transmitting and receiving signals, acting like a smart traffic director to prevent the powerful outgoing (transmit) signal from overwhelming the sensitive incoming (receive) signal. It’s crucial in two-way radio systems, like repeaters or mobile phones, for sharing one antenna, enabling simultaneous talking and listening (or near simultaneous) by separating signals, often by frequency or timing so communication flows smoothly.), see figure 8.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Mueller et al. further teaches a first conductive segment connecting the first transmit filter to a first port of the one or more switches and a second conductive segment connecting the first receiver filter to a second port of the one or more switches. Mueller et al. shows this claimed feature in figure 8. (According to Google “Conductive segment” in a communication system refers to the medium or pathway-such as wire, cables or specialized like conductive threads and polymers that enables the transmission of electrical signals or data between different component.). This claimed feature show in figure 8.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Mueller et al. teaches wherein the one or more switches (SP2T) are further configured to selectively connect the first antenna (antenna connect to SP2T) to both the first transmit filter (Tx filter) and first receive filter (Rx filter) to allow frequency division duplex communication (UMTS Band-1 duplexer) over the first transmit path and the first receive path in which the first transmit path transmits over the first antenna simultaneous with the first receive path receiving over the first antenna. (see figures 2 or 8).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 20, Mueller et al. further teaches a second transmit path and a second receive path (UMTS Band-2), a second transmit filter within the second transmit path and a second receive filter within the second receive path, the one or more switches (switch 14) configured to selectively connect a third antenna to the second transmit filter and to selectively connect a fourth antenna to the second receive filter to allow frequency division duplex communication over the second transmit path and the second receive path in which the second transmit path transmits over the third antenna simultaneous with the second receive path receiving over the fourth antenna (the third and fourth antenna is the same antenna 12, see figure 8). (A duplexer is an electronic device that allows a single antenna to be used for both transmitting and receiving signals, acting like a smart traffic director to prevent the powerful outgoing (transmit) signal from overwhelming the sensitive incoming (receive) signal. It’s crucial in two-way radio systems, like repeaters or mobile phones, for sharing one antenna, enabling simultaneous talking and listening (or near simultaneous) by separating signals, often by frequency or timing so communication flows smoothly.”).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Mueller et al. further teaches wherein the first transmit filter and the first receive filter are in separate integrated circuit packages. Figure 8 shows the filter in different UMTS Band-5, UMTS Band-1 and UMTS Band-2 are in separate integrated circuit packages.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Mueller et al. teaches wherein the first transmit path includes a first transmit power amplifier, the first transmit filter coupled between the first transmit power amplifier and the one or more switched, and the first receiver path includes a first receive amplifier, the first receive filter coupled between the one or more switches and the first receive amplifier.
([0004]: “In FDD, transmission occurs in different frequency bands than reception. If the system is also full duplex, i.e. transmission and reception occur simultaneously, then a frequency selective device called a duplexer is needed to prevent “jamming” and “desense”. Components of the duplexer include a transmit (Tx) filter and a receive (Rx) filter. The Tx filter is placed between the power amplifier (PA) and antenna. This filter passes the transmitted signal with minimal attenuation, but provides high attenuation to any noise produced in the receive band, to prevent “desense”. The Rx filter is placed between the low noise amplifier (LNA) and the antenna. This filter passes the received signal with minimal attenuation, but provides high attenuation to any signal produced in the transmit band, to prevent “jamming”.)
Regarding claim 9, Mueller et al. teaches wherein the one or more switches (SP2T 54 and SP2T 14) includes at least a first switch in a first integrated circuit package and at least a second switch in a second integrated circuit package, (see figure 8), the first switch (SP2T 54) configured to selectively connect the first antenna (Broad band antenna 48) to the first transmit filter and the second switch (SP2T 14) configured to selectively connect the second antenna (high band antenna 12) to the first receive filter (duplexer filter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (US 2007/0077898 A1) in view of Enderlein et al. (US 2002/0037742 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Mueller et al. fails to explicitly teach control circuitry configured, in response to one or more commands, cause the one or more switches to selectively connect the first antenna to the first transmit filter and selectively connect the second antenna to the first receiver filter.
Enderlein et al. in the same field of invention, teaches this feature.
Enderlein et al. teaches ([0030]: “When, in a first case, a signal having a frequency being within a given first frequency band is to be received within said receiving branch RX via an antenna ANRX associated with said receiving branch RX, said receive/transmit filter selector RTFS generates said first secondary band selection signal BSS1 on basis of said receive/transmit control signal RTCS and said primary band selection signal BSS so that said pair of multiplexer switches RSW1, RSW2 in said receiving branch RX are switched into a first position so that the signal received via said antenna ANRX passes through said first radio frequency filter RF1 of said receiving branch RX.” See figures 1 and 4.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combinate Enderlein et al. with Mueller et al. so for effectively control the selection of antennas and filters.
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (US 2007/0077898 A1) in view of Anandakumar et al. (US 2009/0098844 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 19, Mueller et al. fails to teach a diversity receive path and a third receive filter within the diversity receive path, the one or more switches further configured to selectively connect a third antenna to the diversity receive path.
Anandakumar et al. in the same field of invention, teaches these features.
Anandakumar et al. teaches ([0002]: “Conventional antenna diversity systems use one receiver path for each antenna present in the system. A receiver 100 with a three-antenna diversity receiver path is shown in FIG. 1. Receiver 100 is shown as including receiver paths 120, 140 and 160. Each receiver path is shown as including a low-noise amplifier, a frequency conversion module, one or more filters, a variable gain amplifier; collectively forming an analog front end and a baseband processor.”), see figure 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anandakumar et al. with Mueller et al. so for implement a wireless low complexity diversity receiver.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant disclosure.
Bollenbeck (US 2004/0005913 A1) discloses a multiband terminal operates in at least two frequency bands, wherein the terminal includes one transmit device and one receive device for each of the frequency bands, and further includes at least two antenna and one circuit arrangement for connecting the antenna with the transmits device and/or the receive devices, the circuit arrangement being designed such that, at least for one of the frequency bands and during operations of such, the associated receive device is switched to a first of the antennas as a receive antenna and the associated transmit device is switched to a second of the antenna as a transmit antenna.” See figures 1& 2.
Conclusion
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412