DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 3-4, 12, 25-26, 28-29, 34-37, 42, 47, 50, 54-55, 81-82 are pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1, 3-4, 8, 12, 25-26, 28-29, 34-37, 42, 47, 50, 81, and 82 in the reply filed on 02/10/2022 is acknowledged.
Claims 54-55 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2025.
Claims 1, 3-4, 12, 25-26, 28-29, 34-37, 42, 47, 50, 81-83 are under consideration.
Priority
This application is a divisional of U.S. Application No. 16/523214, filed 12/29/2015, which is a divisional of U.S. Application No. 15/540,610, filed June 29, 2017, which is a national phase application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/EP2015/081366, filed December 29, 2015, which claims the priority of International5 Application No. PCT/EP2014/003479, filed on December 30, 2014. As such the effectively filed date for the instant application is December 30, 2014.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3,4,12,25-26,28-29,34-37,42,47,50 and 81-82 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the claimed nucleic acid comprising the full 3’UTR of a transcript of GNAS (SEQ ID NO:2), does not reasonably provide enablement for the nucleic acid comprising fragments or derivatives of the 3’UTR of GNAS. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(a)). The court in Wands states: "Enablement is not precluded by the necessity for some experimentation such as routine screening. However, experimentation needed to practice the invention must not be undue experimentation. The key word is 'undue,' not 'experimentation.' " (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). Clearly, enablement of a claimed invention cannot be predicated on the basis of quantity of experimentation required to make or use the invention. "Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single, simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations." (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount or direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. While all of these factors are considered, a sufficient amount for a prima facie case are discussed below.
The invention relates to artificial nucleic acid sequences that combines a GNAS 3’UTR to a coding sequence to provide greater stability to the coding sequence. The specification, however, fails to teach what sequences within the 3’UTR confer an unexpected level of stability. The specification presents 2 species of GNAS 3’UTR, mouse and human. The alignment of the mouse and human 3’UTR shows 81.5% sequence identity.
The claims are unclear as amended. Claim 1 now appears to encompass an ORF and at least on 3’UTR that is 80% identical to one of the sequences set forth by SEQ ID NO:1-4 or 116 and at least 50 nucleotides of the sequence set forth by SEQ ID NO:2. It is not known if the “80%” nucleic acid is separate from the “50 nucleotide” or if it is one 3’UTR that meets both the 80% criteria and the 50 consecutive nucleotide criteria. Regardless, the Specification only teaches
The specification does not provide the guidance necessary to determine which 50 nucleotide fragments in either the mouse or human 3’UTR would have properties that render it enabled to use. The Specification teaches in Table 4, that the mRNA used comes from 321.4-PpLuc(GC)-gnas-A64-C30-hSL, which is SEQ ID NO:36 as depicted in Figure 2. The GNAS portion of this sequence is SEQ ID NO:2, 353 nucleotides of the mouse GNAS 3’UTR.
The Specification does not support the functionality of 50-mer fragments of the 350+ nucleotide 3’UTR, at all. The claims broadly encompass fragments of the GNAS 3’UTR that may have no effect on mRNA stability and therefore fail to provide an enabled use. Additionally, the claims now encompass fragments or nucleic acids that have as little as 80% sequence identity with one of five GNAS 3’UTR sequences with SEQ ID NO:4 being a much longer human 3’UTR than the other sequences. The Specification teaches only the use of SEQ ID NO:2 in stabilizinf mRNA.
While the skilled artisan can readily envision all fragments of the human or mouse GNAS 3’UTR for their sequence, it cannot be determined which of those sequences will provide an enabled use without undue experimentation. In other words, the claims encompass nonfunctional 3’UTRs that fail to have an enabled use.
Applicant’s remarks have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that experimentation to determine fragments of SEQ ID NO:2 that would function as an effective 5’UTR would have been routine. The claims are not limited to those with function and the claims encompass fragments (and/or variants) that have no function or some unrecited function. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the claim because there are no functional limitations. The issue set forth above is that the claims encompass 50-mers and variants that lack function and the skilled artisan would not know how to use them.
Applicant also refers to Reference C19, submitted therewith, in support of the invention. Reference C19 is not present with the reply and no date or other identifying information is provided.
Applicant remarks that the claims are no longer directed to the full universe of possible 50-mers. Thus, this comment supports an interpretation that the 3’UTR must meet 2 limitations-be at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO:1-4 or 116 and contain at least 50 consecutive nucleotides of the sequence set forth by SEQ ID NO:2. This fails to overcome the rejection set forth above. While narrowing the possible embodiments, the smaller breadth is not enabled for the same reasons set forth above.
Claims 1,3,4,12,25-26,28-29,34-37,42,47,50 and 81-82remain rejected and newly added claim 83 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 now appears to encompass an ORF and at least on 3’UTR that is 80% identical to one of the sequences set forth by SEQ ID NO:1-4 or 116 and at least 50 nucleotides of the sequence set forth by SEQ ID NO:2. It is not known if the “80%” nucleic acid is separate from the “50 nucleotide” or if it is one 3’UTR that meets both the 80% criteria and the 50 consecutive nucleotide criteria. Claims 3,4,12,25-26,28-29,34-37,42,47,50 and 81-83 depend from claim 1 and are unclear based on this dependency and their failure to clarify claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 25, 28-29, 34,36, 42, 47, 50 remain rejected and newly added claim 83 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanguay (Molecular and Cellular Biology, Jan. 1996, p. 146–156 ) and Schlake (RNA Biology 9:11, 1319–1330; November 2012) in view of Genbank XM_006498777.2 (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nucleotide/XM_006498777.2?report=genbank&log$=nuclalign&blast_rank=1&RID=B0W211X2015, ROD 07-Feb-2024, Accessed on 08/28/2025; pdf attached).
Claim 1 is drawn to an ORF and a 3’UTR comprising at least 50 consecutive nucleotides of the RNA sequence of SEQ ID NO:2. Tanguay taught an artificial nucleic acid comprising an ORF encoding luciferase and a 3’UTR. Tanguay taught that all polyadenylated mRNAs contain a 3’UTR between the coding region and the polyA tail. Tanguay taught inclusion of a 3’UTR could increase expression by up to 97-fold. Taguay taught delivery of mRNA by transfecting cells with a plasmid vector encoding the mRNA under the control of a promoter (claims 36, 42 and 47). Schlake taught that in designing mRNA for therapy, 3’UTRs are included following the ORF to increase both translation and stability. Schlake teaches that elements of 3’UTRs from a variety of genes can be used and that completely novel UTRs can be discovered by screening. Schlake taught that, “…5'- and 3'-UTRs were demonstrated to impart much greater translational efficiency on heterologous mRNA…” (claim 3-4). Schlake also teaches that a 5’-cap can enhance translation efficiency (claim 34) and that the nucleic acid can be delivered as a pharmaceutical composition (claim 50) to cells to express the protein (claim 47).
Neither Tanguay nor Schlake taught the GNAS 3’UTR that is the claimed sequence set forth by SEQ ID NO:2.
However, Genbank XM_006498777 taught the sequence of the mouse (claim 8) GNAS gene and 3’UTR which is 100% identical to the mouse GNAS 3’UTR set forth by SEQ ID NO:2 (claim 25) and is 370 nucleotides in length with a polyA tail (claims 28-29).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to generate an artificial nucleic acid comprising an ORF encoding any gene of interest and a stabilizing 3’UTR as taught by Tanguay and by Schlake using the 3’UTR sequence of GNAS to arrive at the invention as claimed. One would have been motivated to use the GNAS 3’UTR as Tanguay taught that the stabilizing effect of the 3’UTR is largely sequence independent and the GNAS 3’UTR sequence was known and readily available. One would have been motivated to use the GNAS 3’UTR with an ORF encoding luciferase as taught by Tanguay as it is a means for screening the stabilizing effect of the GNAS 3’UTR.
Furthermore, the combination of prior art cited above in all rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 satisfies the factual inquiries as set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966). Once this has been accomplished the holdings in KSR can be applied (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007): "Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
In the present situation, rationales A, B and E are applicable. The modification of Tanguay and Schlake with the 3’UTR sequence taught by Genbank XM_006498777 represents combining prior methods to yield predictable results, substitution for one known element for another, and choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable results. The teachings of the cited prior art in the obviousness rejection above provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation. The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR.
Applicant discusses teachings of Tanguay that support unpredictabilities and complexities regarding the length, spacing and placement of the 3’UTR and that nothing in Tanguay leads the artisan to the GNAS 3’UTR. Likewise, Schlake teaches that 3’UTRs must be carefully chosen because they can also impair translatability. Applicant also refers, again, to reference C19 to support use of fragments of the GNAS 3’UTR. Because this reference cannot be found and has not been identified other than “C19” these arguments cannot be considered.
The rejection is maintained given the broad nature of various fragments and portions of the GNAS 3’UTR that are claimed with no recited effect. The prior art makes it obvious to try various 3’UTRs, spacings and lengths to determine those that result in a desired level of protein production.
Claim(s) 1,12,35,37 and 81-82 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanguay (Molecular and Cellular Biology, Jan. 1996, p. 146–156; IDS ) and Schlake (RNA Biology 9:11, 1319–1330; November 2012; IDS) in view of Genbank XM_006498777.2 (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nucleotide/XM_006498777.2?report=genbank&log$=nuclalign&blast_rank=1&RID=B0W211X2015, ROD 07-Feb-2024, Accessed on 08/28/2025; pdf attached) as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8, 25, 28-29, 34, 36, 42, 47, 50 above, and further in view of Thess (WO2013143700; IDS).
Tanguay, Schlake and Genbank XM_006498777.2 meet the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. The references do not teach the additional nucleic acid elements required by claims 12, 35, 37, 81 and 82.
However, Thess discloses an artificial nucleic acid molecule comprising
i) at least one 5'-UTR element which comprises or consists of a nucleic acid sequence which is derived from the 5'-UTR of a TOP gene (i.e. a gene providing mRNA which contains a stretch of pyrimidine nucleotides located at the 5' terminal region, see page 22).
ii) at least one open reading frame (e.g. a therapeutic protein), and further comprises
iii) at least one 3'-UTR element which comprises or consists of a nucleic acid sequence derived from the 3'-UTR of a mammalian gene, most preferably a human gene (abstract; claims 1, 2, 33, 4, 57; page 65 lines 5-20; page 80, lines 10-26). More preferably, the artificial nucleic molecule of Thess consists of three sequence parts that are derivable from three different genes, i.e. three elements heterologous to each other: the 5'-UTR element which is derivable from a TOP gene, the open reading frame which is derivable from the gene encoding the desired gene product and the 3'UTR element which may be derivable from a gene that relates to an mRNA with an enhanced half-life (page 39, lines 28-33).
Regarding claim 12, Thess discloses the 5'UTR element, preferably the artificial nucleic acid molecule, does not comprise a complete TOP-motif or 5'TOP sequence. Thus, the 5'UTR element, preferably the artificial nucleic acid molecule, does not comprise the 15 complete TOP-motif of the TOP gene from which the nucleic acid sequence of the 5'UTR element is derived (see page 28. Lines 11-16). Regarding claim 37, Thess discloses the 5'UTR element may comprise or consist of a nucleic acid sequence which starts at its 5' end with a pyrimidine residue that corresponds to residue 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 etc. of the TOP-motif or 5'TOP of the TOP gene from which the nucleic acid sequence of the 5'UTR element is derived (see page 28, lines 20-24). Regarding claim 47, Thess discloses a cell comprising the artificial nucleic acid molecule according to any one of claims 1-32 or the vector according to any one of claims 33-67 (see p 282 claim 68).
Regarding claim 35, the instant claimed SEQ ID NO:34 is a histone stem loop disclosed by Thess as SEQ ID NO:1394, which increases expression.
Regarding claims 81 and 82, the instant claimed SEQ ID NO:33 is “5'-UTR of human ribosomal protein Large 32 lacking the 5'terminal oligopyrimidine tract” where the TOP has been removed. Thess discloses SEQ ID NO:1368, which is identical to SEQ ID NO:33. Thess discloses that the TOP can be removed to decrease expression ass the 5’TOP UTR and the 3’UTR act synergistically to increase expression to high levels.
It would have been obvious to alter the nucleic acid taught by Tanguay, Schlake and Genbank to arrive at the more specifically claimed nucleic acids of claims 12, 37, 81 and 82 by employing the additional regulatory and structural elements taught by Thess to arrive at the invention a claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a combination as Thess taught making stable RNAs using various 5’- and 3’ UTRs and that the 5’ TOP can be removed to adjust expression levels. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a combination as the requisite technology and materials to make the nucleic acid were readily available to the ordinary skilled artisan.
Applicant relies upon the arguments of unexpected results that are addressed above. For the same reasons, these are no sufficient to overcome this rejection.
Conclusion
VALARIE E. BERTOGLIO, Ph.D.
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/VALARIE E BERTOGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632