DETAILED ACTION
This is on the merits of Application No. 18415479, filed on 01/17/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 08/16/2024, 01/13/2025, and 09/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-16, and 19-20 in the reply filed on 01/28/2026 is acknowledged. After reviewing the claims, it appears only claims 1-3 and 11-15 are directed towards Species I. Claims 4-10 and 16-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 16 states “at least one of the second powertrain or the generator.” And should state --at least one of the second powertrain and the generator.--
Claim 13 line 6 states “to first-side wheels of an electric vehicle;” and should state --to the first-side wheels of the electric vehicle--.
Claim 13 line 8 states “to second-side wheels” and should state --to the second-side wheels--.
Claim 13 line 17 states “at least one of the second powertrain or the generator.” And should state --at least one of the second powertrain and the generator.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE102019119459 to Jurkschat et al (cited in applicant’s IDS).
Jurkschat discloses:
(Claim 1) An electric vehicle drive system (Figs. 5, 25-32), comprising a first powertrain (14), a second powertrain (26), a first transmission system (24), a second transmission system (see par. [0051], [0053], second powertrain can have any design, for example the powertrain of Fig. 21), and a battery system (see par. [0026]), wherein the first powertrain is connected to the first transmission system, and the first transmission system is in transmission connection to first-side wheels of an electric vehicle (see Fig. 5, powertrain 14 connected to 24 which are connected to the front wheels); the second powertrain is connected to the second transmission system, and the second transmission system is in transmission connection to second-side wheels of the electric vehicle (see Fig. 5 element 26 connected to rear wheels); the first powertrain comprises a generator and an engine (see Fig. 25-32 elements 28 and 30, par. [0033]), and the engine is configured to drive the generator to generate electric energy, or drive the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system; and the generator is configured to drive the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system, or output the generated electric energy to the battery system; the second powertrain is configured to drive the second-side wheels by using the second transmission system; and the battery system is connected to the generator and the second powertrain, and is configured to receive the electric energy output by the generator, and output stored electric energy to at least one of the second powertrain or the generator (see Par. [0033], motors configured to drive the respective wheels or used as generators to charge the batteries).
(Claim 2) wherein the first powertrain further comprises a connection assembly; the engine and the generator are in transmission connection by using the connection assembly; the engine and the first transmission system are in transmission connection by using the connection assembly; and the generator and the first transmission system are in transmission connection by using the connection assembly (see Figs. 25-32).
(Claim 3) wherein the connection assembly comprises a first transmission (gears 34, 36, 40, 42, 46, 48), a second transmission (gears 50 and 54), a first clutch (66), and a second clutch (84); an input shaft (32) of the first transmission is connected to the engine by using the first clutch, and an output shaft (44) of the first transmission is connected to the generator (through 87. It is noted this is not a direct connection as shown in the current application, but the claim does not require a direct connection); an input shaft of the second transmission is connected to the generator by using the second clutch, and an output shaft of the second transmission is connected to the first transmission system (56); when the first clutch is engaged, the engine drives the generator to generate the electric energy, and the generator outputs the generated electric energy to the battery system (see Fig. 32); when the second clutch is engaged, the generator drives the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system (see Fig. 31); and when the first clutch and the second clutch are engaged, the engine drives the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system (see Fig. 29).
(Claim 11) wherein the second powertrain comprises an electric motor (28) and a third transmission; and the electric motor is connected to the battery system; an input shaft (32) of the third transmission is connected to the electric motor (through 86), and an output shaft (44) of the third transmission is connected to the second transmission system (56).
(Claim 12) wherein the first transmission comprises a speed reducer or a speed increaser (see gear ratio between 40 and 46, for example).
(Claim 13) An electric vehicle, comprising a vehicle body, first-side wheels, second-side wheels, and an electric vehicle drive system (see Fig. 5), wherein the electric vehicle drive system comprises a first powertrain, a second powertrain, a first transmission system, a second transmission system, and a battery system, wherein the first powertrain is connected to the first transmission system, and the first transmission system is in transmission connection to first-side wheels of an electric vehicle; the second powertrain is connected to the second transmission system, and the second transmission system is in transmission connection to second-side wheels of the electric vehicle; the first powertrain comprises a generator and an engine, and the engine is configured to drive the generator to generate electric energy, or drive the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system; and the generator is configured to drive the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system, or output the generated electric energy to the battery system; the second powertrain is configured to drive the second-side wheels by using the second transmission system; and the battery system is connected to the generator and the second powertrain, and is configured to receive the electric energy output by the generator, and output stored electric energy to at least one of the second powertrain or the generator (see claim 1 above).
(Claim 14) wherein the first powertrain further comprises a connection assembly; the engine and the generator are in transmission connection by using the connection assembly; the engine and the first transmission system are in transmission connection by using the connection assembly; and the generator and the first transmission system are in transmission connection by using the connection assembly (see claim 2 above).
(Claim 15) wherein the connection assembly comprises a first transmission, a second transmission, a first clutch, and a second clutch; an input shaft of the first transmission is connected to the engine by using the first clutch, and an output shaft of the first transmission is connected to the generator; an input shaft of the second transmission is connected to the generator by using the second clutch, and an output shaft of the second transmission is connected to the first transmission system; when the first clutch is engaged, the engine drives the generator to generate the electric energy, and the generator outputs the generated electric energy to the battery system; when the second clutch is engaged, the generator drives the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system; and when the first clutch and the second clutch are engaged, the engine drives the first-side wheels by using the first transmission system (see claim 3 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al (US 8408342) discloses a hybrid power driving system and driving method thereof.
Reitz (US 2020/0189382) discloses a drive arrangement and motor vehicle.
Kurahashi et al (US 2018/0251018) discloses a powertrain.
Yukawa (US 2016/0272187) discloses a vehicle hybrid system.
Song et al (US 2013/0123063) discloses a system for hybrid vehicle to enhance driving performance during electric mode.
Imamura et al (US 2012/0006153) discloses a power transmission device for vehicle.
Zhu et al (CN 110962572) discloses a hybrid power driving system and vehicle.
/TIMOTHY HANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655