Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: to be consistent with other limitations, it is suggested to remove a reference number “(4)” at line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 4-5, recite the limitation "the upper fabric" in the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “the upper fabric” and “an upper layer of fabric” and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (the upper fabric) or provide proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Shaler (US 1,044,270).
Regarding claim 1, Shaler discloses an electric blanket (i.e. called an electrical heating pad), comprising:
an electric blanket body having an upper layer of fabric (A), a middle layer of fabric (i.e. called an intermediate layer), and a lower layer of fabric (B) stitched (3, i.e. called lines of stitching) together in sequence (page 5, lines 55-69);
a resistance wire (1, 2, 6, 7, i.e. called conducting wires) fixed on the middle layer of fabric (i.e. called an intermediate layer) by circumferentially quilting a sewing thread (i.e. stitching strands/threads) around the resistance wire (1, 2, 6, 7, i.e. called conducting wires) in a zig-zag manner (i.e. called looping), with the quilting spacing (see figures 2 and 3) between adjacent portions of the sewing thread (i.e. stitching strands/threads) is one to five times (i.e. about 2 or 3 times) the diameter of the resistance wire (1, 2); and
a controller (i.e. automatic heat controlling device or a manual controlled switch) electrically connected to the resistance wire (1, 2, 6, 7, i.e. called conducting wires) (page 3, lines 58-59; page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaler (US 1,044,270) in view of Xia et al. (US 20220151025).
Regarding claim 2, Shaler discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for wherein a connector female end fixedly installed on the upper fabric and electrically connected to the resistance wire, and the controller has one end which is provided with a connector male end for detachable plug-in connection with the connector female end.
However, Xia teaches wherein a connector female end (31) fixedly installed on the upper fabric and electrically connected to the resistance wire (21), and the controller (5) has one end which is provided with a connector male end (i.e. called a connector male end) for detachable plug-in connection with the connector female end (31) (¶ 0013, 0041).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of an electric heating blanket/pad. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shaler and Xia before him or her, to include such connectors arrangement of Xia because it facilitates operation and avoid a solution of directly operating by a controller, so that the electric heating blanket is more convenient and faster to use. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it achieves the purpose of controlling each heating shift position at a constant temperature (¶ 0044).
With respect to claim 3, Shaler in view of Xia discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Xia further discloses wherein the connector male end (i.e. called a connector male end) has an anti-detachment hook (see figure 3 the hooks adjacent to reference number 351; ¶ 0019, 0043), and the connector female end (31) has a hook groove (not labeled, see female connector end 31) for releasably engaging the anti-detachment hook (see figure 3 the hooks adjacent to reference number 351).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shaler and Xia before him or her, to include such connectors arrangement of Xia because it facilitates operation and avoid a solution of directly operating by a controller, so that the electric heating blanket is more convenient and faster to use. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it achieves the purpose of controlling each heating shift position at a constant temperature (¶ 0044).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaler (US 1,044,270) in view of Franklin (US 2,850,712).
Regarding claim 4, Shaler discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for wherein the upper fabric is provided with lead-out openings for facilitating the extraction of the resistance wire.
However, Franklin teaches wherein the upper fabric (not labeled, i.e. the upper surface of the electrically heated blanket 10) is provided with lead-out openings (20, i.e. called a pocket) for facilitating the extraction of the resistance wire (11).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of the electrically heated blanket/pad. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shaler and Franklin before him or her, to include such lead-out opening/pocket of Franklin because a mating terminal cap connected thereto and having a cord leading therefrom to a control unit plug adapted to be connected to a source of current. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides an improved method of making an electrical connector provided with a strain relief wherein only a very few parts are used and which parts can be quickly and easily assembled and manufactured (col. 1, lines 27-32).
With respect to claim 5, Shaler in view of Franklin discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Shaler does not disclose wherein the upper fabric (A) has an outlet that is sewn with a keyhole cloth.
However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include such outlet for the purpose of enforcing the electrical heating pad/blanket since applicant has not disclosed that having such port provides an advantage, solves any stated problem, or is used for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Luo et al. (US 20230232500). And Chen (US 20130228562).
Conclusion
/KET D DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761