DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drape (first recited in claim 1) and the instrument (first recited in claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Each of claims 2-18 recite “[t]he assembly” in at least their respective line 1. This should be changed to “[t]he drape adapter assembly” to establish proper antecedent basis with the “drape adapter assembly” recited in claim 1.
Claim 13 recites “the instrument alignment tabs”. This should be “the one or more instrument alignment tabs”, to establish proper antecedent basis with “one or more instrument alignment tabs” recited in parent claim 12. The Examiner notes that “the instrument alignment tabs” has been interpreted to be “the one or more instrument alignment tabs”.
Claim 15 recites “the one or more axial alignment features”. This should be “the one or more axial instrument alignment features” to establish proper antecedent basis with “one or more axial instrument alignment features” recited in parent claim 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Flatt (US2020/0170724).
Flatt discloses:
Re claim 1. A drape adapter assembly for securing a drape to a portion of a robotic medical system (mounting system 20 for securing a drape 50 to end effector EE, Fig. 2-3, para. [0061][0062]), comprising:
an outer housing (sterile barrier assembly 22, Fig. 14A, para. [0051]) configured to connect to the robotic medical system (coupled to first mounting portion 24, Fig. 14A-B, para. [0053]; mounting portion 24 for connection to robotic arm R, para. [0057]) such that the drape is positioned between the outer housing and the portion of the robotic medical system (drape 50 positioned between barrier assembly 22 and end effector EE, Fig. 1-3; see drape 50 attached to outer surface of interface plate 54, para. [0061]);
an inner housing (inner housing defined by mounting portions 24, 26, Fig. 2, 15B) disposed at least partially within the outer housing (mounting portions 24, 26 disposed partially within assembly 22, Fig. 14A-15B) and configured to carry one or more moveable actuation elements therein (configured to carry kinematic couplers 32 within receptacles 34, Fig. 5, SA, 15B, para. [0057]), the inner housing comprising:
a first inner housing portion (first mounting portion 24, Fig. 14A, para. [0057]; connector Cl disposed within connector C3, Fig. 14B); and
a second inner housing portion (second mounting portion 26, Fig. 15A, para. [0055]) fastened to the first inner housing portion (fastened to first mounting portion 24 via ste1ile barrier assembly 22, Fig. 15B, para. [0069]) such that the first inner housing portion and the second inner housing portion are axially retained to the outer housing (Fig. 15B).
Re claim 2. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the outer housing includes an inner wall (inner wall defined by interface plates 52, 54, Fig. 14A, para. [0061]) and one or more tabs extending from the inner wall (indexing fingers 64, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]; coupling 30 extending from interface plates 52, 54, Fig. 14A), wherein the one or more tabs are configured to be disposed between the first inner housing portion and the second inner housing portion to axially retain the inner housing (indexing fingers 64 associated with indexing recess 66 of the first and second mounting portions 24, 26 for connecting the mounting portions 24, 26 to the sterile barrier 22, Fig. 14A-15B, para. [0064]; coupling 30 to releasably secure first and second mounting portions 24, 26, Fig. 14A-15B, para. [0053]).
Re claim 3. The assembly of claim 2, wherein the first inner housing portion is configured to be inserted into the outer housing through a first outer housing opening (connector Cl of first mounting portion 24 configured to be inserted into proximal connector C3 of barrier assembly 22 through an opening in connector C3, Fig. 14A-B) and the second inner housing portion is configured to be inserted into the outer housing through a second outer housing opening (connector C1 of second mounting portion 26 configured to be inserted into distal connector C3 of barrier assembly 22 through an opening in connector C3, Fig. 15A-B) such that the one or more tabs of the outer housing are trapped between the first inner housing portion and the second inner housing portion (Fig. 14A-15B).
Re claim 4. The assembly of claim 3, wherein the inner housing defines a trough (trough defined by first indexing recess 66 of the mounting portion 24, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]), wherein the one or more tabs of the outer housing radially extend (the tabs extend radially and axially into the trough) into the trough (Fig. 14A-B).
Re claim 5. The assembly of claim 4, wherein the inner housing is configured to rotate relative to the outer housing (mounting portions 24, 26 can rotate relative to the barrier assembly 22 when the mounting portions 24,26 are detached from the assembly 22, Fig. 14A-15B) between an instrument-retained position (connected position, Fig. 15B) and instrument-unrestrained position (disconnected position, Fig. 14A).
Re claim 6. The assembly of claim 5, wherein the one or more tabs include one or more interaction tabs (second indexing finger 64, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]; coupling 30, Fig. 14A), wherein the inner housing includes one or more interaction components configured to interact with the one or more interaction tabs (second recess 66 of the mounting portion 24, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]; balls 75, 77 to interact with coupling 30, Fig. 14A-15B, para. [0073]), wherein the one or more interaction tabs and the one or more interaction components are configured to retain the inner housing in the instrument-unrestrained position and the instrument-retained position, and/or are configured to provide tactile feedback when the inner housing is rotated to the instrument-retained position or instrument-unrestrained position (intended use, fingers 64 can provide tactile feedback when the mounting portions 24, 26 are rotated to the connected position, Fig. 15B; see indexing fingers 64 being configured to promote proper alignment, para. [0065]).
Re claim 7. The assembly of claim 6, wherein the one or more interaction tabs include a first radial detent and a second radial detent (first and second ball detents 78, 80, Fig. 14A, para. 0070]), and wherein the one or more interaction components include a biased interaction member biased radially toward the one or more interaction tabs to radially engage the biased interaction member to the one or more interaction tabs and to cause the biased interaction member to enter the first radial detent or the second radial detent when rotationally aligned therewith (balls 75, 77 biased tow radially engage the ball detents 78, 80 when aligned, Fig. 14A-15B, para. [0073]).
Re claim 8. The assembly of claim 7, wherein the biased interaction member and the plurality of detents are configured to allow the biased interaction member to be urged out of the plurality of detents with a relative rotation of the outer housing relative to the inner housing (balls 77 can be pulled out of the detent pocket, para. [0098]).
Re claim 9. The assembly of claim 6, wherein the one or more tabs include one or more limit tabs (third indexing finger 64, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]), and wherein the inner housing includes one or more limit features (third recess 66 of the mounting portion 24, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]) configured to interact with the one or more limit tabs to limit a range of rotational motion of the inner housing relative to the outer housing (when mounting portion 24 if coupled to barrier assembly 22, the recess 66 implicitly limits rotational motion of the mounting portion 24, Fig. 14B, 15B).
Re claim 10. The assembly of claim 9, wherein the one or more limit tabs (third indexing finger 64, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]) or the one or more limit features (third recess 66 of the mounting portion 24, Fig. 14A, para. [0064]) include a limit pin (64) extending axially therefrom, and the other of the one or more limit tabs and the one or more limit features include an axial slot (recess 66) configured to receive the limit pin, wherein a dimension of the axial slot defines the range of rotation motion of the inner housing relative to the outer housing (See Fig. 4).
Re claim 12. The assembly of claim 3, wherein the outer housing (22) includes one or more instrument alignment tabs (another one of the indexing fingers 64. One indexing finger 64 corresponds to the one or more tabs recited in parent claim 2, another of the indexing fingers 64 corresponds to the one or more instrument alignment tabs recited in this claim 12.) distal of the one or more tabs (one of the indexing fingers 64) of the outer housing, wherein the one or more instrument alignment tabs are configured to align an instrument (instrument is end effector EE which is connected to 26. See paragraphs [0051] & [0064]) for insertion in the instrument-unrestrained position, and to retain an instrument (end effector EE) to the assembly in the instrument-retained position.
Re claim 13. The assembly of claim 12, wherein the first inner housing portion (24) includes one or more alignment slots (66) defined in an outer surface thereof configured to align with the instrument alignment tabs (64) to allow axial advancement of the first inner housing portion (24) into the outer housing (22) from the first outer housing opening (connector Cl of first mounting portion 24 configured to be inserted into proximal connector C3 of barrier assembly 22 through an opening in connector C3, Fig. 14A-B).
Re claim 14. The assembly of claim 13, wherein the first inner housing portion (24) includes one or more axial instrument alignment features (34) configured to force rotational alignment of the instrument (EE) and the inner housing (inner housing defined by mounting portions 24, 26, Fig. 2, 15B) when the instrument is inserted in the instrument-unrestrained position.
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duval (US2011/0282359).
Duval discloses:
Re claim 1. A drape adapter assembly for securing a drape (1000 or 2000; para. [0015]) to a portion of a robotic medical system, comprising:
an outer housing (542h; para. [0111]) configured to connect to the robotic medical system such that the drape is positioned between the outer housing and the portion of the robotic medical system (See Fig. 10- drape 1000/2000 between 542 and 960);
an inner housing (542i) disposed at least partially within the outer housing and configured to carry one or more moveable actuation elements (542b - 542e; para. [0116],[0113]) therein, the inner housing comprising:
a first inner housing portion (one of 542i or 542a); and
a second inner housing portion (the other of 542i or 542a) fastened to the first inner housing portion such that the first inner housing portion and the second inner housing portion are axially retained to the outer housing.
Re claim 2. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the outer housing (542h) includes an inner wall and one or more tabs (para. [0111] - “As shown, the manipulator includes an inner frame 542i movably coupled to an outer shell 542h, for example by sliding joints, rails, or the like.” The portion of 542 to which the sliding joints or rails are connected are an inner wall, and the sliding joints or rails form tabs. extending from the inner wall, wherein the one or more tabs are configured to be disposed between the first inner housing portion and the second inner housing portion to axially retain the inner housing (542i; para. [0111]).
Re claim 11. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the inner housing(542i) defines one or more axial channels (See Fig. 10; para. [0124], [0116] - “Outputs 542b, 542c, 542d, and 542e distally protrude from the distal face 542a of instrument manipulator 542, as shown for example in FIG. 5C-4”) configured to receive and allow axial movement of the actuation elements (542b - 542e).
Re claim 16. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the inner housing (542i, 542a) is entirely contained within the outer housing(542h) (See Fig. 5A-1).
Re claim 17. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the outer housing is generally cylindrical and has proximal portion having a bell shape (See annotated Fig. 5A-1 below).
Re claim 18. The assembly of claim 17, wherein the outer housing comprises one or more alignment lands extending from an inner wall of the proximal portion for alignment with an instrument controller (para. [0121]; Fig. 10; 962b-962e are actuated by actuating elements 542a-542e to control the robotic medical system, and aligned parallel with the alignment land(s)) of the robotic medical system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art to claim 15 is Flatt (US2020/0170724).
In regards to claim 15, while Flatt discloses one or more axial alignment features (34) (on the first inner housing portion (24) as required by parent claim 14), Flatt does not disclose one or more axial pins extending distally from the first inner housing portion (24) and configured to insert into an alignment aperture on a proximal side of the instrument. Rather in Flatt the axial pins (34) are inserted around balls (32) on the outer housing (22). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art to modify the prior art to have all of the missing claim limitations, in combination with all other claim limitations, without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “single inner housing”, that two components being “axially retained” to each other precludes any axial movement between those two components) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant argues that Flatt does not disclose “a second inner housing portion fastened to the first inner housing portion” because in Flatt the components are releasably attached through the sterile barrier assembly. The Examiner notes that the BRI of the term fastened encompasses indirect connections and connections made using other components, including encompassing being releasably attached through another component such as a sterile barrier assembly. Indeed, as pointed out by the Applicant, the specification of the instant application includes such fastening methods such as “screwed on, glued, magnetically attached, otherwise attached”. The Examiner notes that the term “screwed on” encompasses using intermediate components, e.g. screw(s), bolt(s), etc.. Likewise, the term “glued” implies another material, i.e. an adhesive, between the first inner housing and the second inner housing.
The Applicant argues that in Duval the outer shell (542h) and the inner frame (542i)/distal face (542a) of inner frame of Duval are not components of a drape adapter assembly but part of an instrument manipulator 542. The Examiner notes that the term “drape adapter assembly” is recited in the preamble of the claims of the instant application, and the body of the claims fully and intrinsically set forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention. Therefore, the components in question in Duval are part of a drape adapter assembly because Duval anticipates the limitations of the claims. See MPEP § 2111.02. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that a component can be part of a drape adapter assembly that in turn is part of an instrument manipulator; being part of an instrument manipulator does not preclude being part of a drape adapter assembly that is part of an instrument manipulator.
The Applicant argues that Duval does not disclose the claimed “second inner housing portion fastened to the first inner housing portion such that the first inner housing portion and the second inner housing portion are axially retained to the outer housing” because, allegedly, axial movement between the first inner housing portion and the outer housing or between the second inner housing portion and the outer housing means that the first or second inner housing portions cannot be not axially retained in the outer housing. The Examiner notes that the BRI of the term “axially retained” does not preclude axial movement between the component being axially retained in another component. Furthermore, the axial movement in Duval occurs during assembly prior to a latching process being completed. Likewise, in the instant application, the components in question appear to be movable relative to each other during assembly, and appear capable of being moved axially relative to each other if the components are unfastened from each other. Claim 1 does not claim a device that can never be disassembled such that axial movement between the components in question is never possible.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY T PRATHER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618