DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Soriaga et al (US 2020/0106592) [R1] or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Soriaga et al (US 2020/0106592) [R1] in view of Khoshnevisan et al (US 2021/0037551)[R2].
For claims 1 and 29, R1 discloses transmit a capability message indicating a threshold quantity of downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing in a time duration for each component carrier that is associated with a plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11 uses an index y which used to determine a value for a limit by a receiving station); receive a first control message indicating that a component carrier is configured with the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11 a determined limit of DCI which is based on the index value y); and receive one or more downlink control information messages associated with the component carrier based at least in part on the threshold quantity of downlink control information messages and the component carrier being configured with the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11 a plurality of dci in accordance with the determined limit). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses pool index values are used for transmission of values (paragraphs 11, 125-127). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use pool index values taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known technique for reducing overhead.
For claims 2 and 17, R1 discloses receive a second control message indicating a control information configuration that enables the UE to process the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages for each component carrier that is associated with the plurality of control resource set pool index values, the control information configuration being based at least in part on the capability message, wherein receiving the one or more downlink control information messages is based at least in part on receiving the second control message (paragraphs 48, 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claims 3 and 18, R1 discloses the control information configuration enables the UE to process the downlink control information messages for a first component carrier, or a bandwidth part, or both, associated with the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 48, 80, 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claims 4 and 19, R1 discloses the first component carrier, or the bandwidth part, or both, comprises a scheduling component carrier including first control information that schedules an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission for a second component carrier different from the scheduling component carrier; or the first component carrier, or the bandwidth part, or both, comprises a scheduled component carrier including the downlink transmission or the uplink transmission scheduled by second control information received via a third component carrier different from the scheduled component carrier (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the first component carrier, or the bandwidth part, or both, comprises a scheduling component carrier including first control information that schedules an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission for a second component carrier different from the scheduling component carrier; or the first component carrier, or the bandwidth part, or both, comprises a scheduled component carrier including the downlink transmission or the uplink transmission scheduled by second control information received via a third component carrier different from the scheduled component carrier was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the first component carrier, or the bandwidth part, or both, comprises a scheduling component carrier including first control information that schedules an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission for a second component carrier different from the scheduling component carrier; or the first component carrier, or the bandwidth part, or both, comprises a scheduled component carrier including the downlink transmission or the uplink transmission scheduled by second control information received via a third component carrier different from the scheduled component carrier. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use resources more efficiently.
For claims 5 and 20, R1 discloses the control information configuration enables for the UE to process the downlink control information messages for each component carrier of a set of component carriers that are included in a cell group and associated with the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 75, 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claims 6 and 21, R1 discloses the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is for each of control resource set pool index value of the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claims 7 and 22, R1 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is across the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claims 8 and 23, R1 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is equal to a second threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for component carriers that are associated with a single control resource set pool index value or for component carriers that are not associated with a control resource set pool index value, wherein the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is for each of the control resource set pool index value of the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is equal to a second threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for component carriers that are associated with a single control resource set pool index value or for component carriers that are not associated with a control resource set pool index value, wherein the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is for each of the control resource set pool index value of the plurality of control resource set pool index values was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is equal to a second threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for component carriers that are associated with a single control resource set pool index value or for component carriers that are not associated with a control resource set pool index value, wherein the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is for each of the control resource set pool index value of the plurality of control resource set pool index values. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use resources more efficiently.
For claims 9 and 24, R1 discloses indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is double a second threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for component carriers that are associated with a single control resource set pool index value or for the component carriers that are not associated with a control resource set pool index value (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is double a second threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for component carriers that are associated with a single control resource set pool index value or for the component carriers that are not associated with a control resource set pool index value was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use indicate, via the capability message, that the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages is double a second threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for component carriers that are associated with a single control resource set pool index value or for the component carriers that are not associated with a control resource set pool index value. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use resources more efficiently.
For claims 10 and 25, R1 discloses wherein the threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages comprises a first threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for downlink communications and a second threshold quantity of the downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing for uplink communications (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claims 11 and 26, R1 discloses wherein, to transmit the capability message, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, as part of the capability message, respective threshold quantities of the downlink control information messages each associated with respective monitoring configurations (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use wherein, to transmit the capability message, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, as part of the capability message, respective threshold quantities of the downlink control information messages each associated with respective monitoring configurations was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use wherein, to transmit the capability message, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, as part of the capability message, respective threshold quantities of the downlink control information messages each associated with respective monitoring configurations. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use resources more efficiently.
For claims 12 and 27, R1 discloses the respective monitoring configurations comprise one or more of a slot-based downlink control channel monitoring, a span-based downlink control channel monitoring, a first cross-carrier scheduling scheme associated with a switch from a lower sub-carrier spacing to a higher sub-carrier spacing, and a second cross-carrier scheduling scheme associated with a switch from the higher sub-carrier spacing to the lower sub-carrier spacing (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use the respective monitoring configurations comprise one or more of a slot-based downlink control channel monitoring, a span-based downlink control channel monitoring, a first cross-carrier scheduling scheme associated with a switch from a lower sub-carrier spacing to a higher sub-carrier spacing, and a second cross-carrier scheduling scheme associated with a switch from the higher sub-carrier spacing to the lower sub-carrier spacing was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the respective monitoring configurations comprise one or more of a slot-based downlink control channel monitoring, a span-based downlink control channel monitoring, a first cross-carrier scheduling scheme associated with a switch from a lower sub-carrier spacing to a higher sub-carrier spacing, and a second cross-carrier scheduling scheme associated with a switch from the higher sub-carrier spacing to the lower sub-carrier spacing. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use resources more efficiently.
For claims 13 and 28, R1 discloses wherein the capability message is associated with a band combination, a band, a band of a band combination, a component carrier of the band of the band combination, or a combination thereof (paragraphs 48, 79-80, 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claim 14, R1 discloses wherein: a first transmission and reception point is associated with a first control resource set pool index value of the plurality of control resource set pool index values and a second transmission and reception point is associated with a second control resource set pool index value of the plurality of control resource set pool index values, and the one or more downlink control information messages are received via the first transmission and reception point, the second transmission and reception point, or both (paragraphs 4, 52, 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claim 15, R1 discloses wherein the time duration is a slot, a physical downlink control channel span, or a physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11).
For claims 16 and 30, R1 discloses one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (paragraphs 96-105): receive, from a user equipment (UE), a capability message indicating a threshold quantity of downlink control information messages the UE is capable of processing in a time duration for each component carrier that is associated with a plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11; transmit a first control message indicating that a component carrier is configured with the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11; and transmit one or more downlink control information messages associated with the component carrier based at least in part on the threshold quantity of downlink control information messages and the component carrier being configured with the plurality of control resource set pool index values (paragraphs 87-95, Fig 10-11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Clirik et al (US 2021/0378004) discloses DCI thresholds.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463