DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is response to communication filed on 05/26/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
This Action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2012/0033794 A1 to JACKSON et al. (hereinafter “JACKSON”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 20220070134 A1 to Patron et al. (hereinafter “Patron”) in further view of 2022/0070134 A1 to Daga et al. (hereinafter “Daga”).
Regarding claim 1, JACKSON discloses a method, comprising: during an electronic voice messaging session between a first device and a second device: receiving, by the first device, an audio input corresponding to audio generated at the second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed);
generating a transcription of the audio input; and providing, for display on the first device, the transcription (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
However, JACKSON does not explicitly teach generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input; and receiving, by the first device and responsive to the dynamically updated display of the transcription, user input indicating a request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session and transition to a voice communication session with the second device.
In the same field of endeavor, Patron discloses generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input; and receiving, by the first device and responsive to updated display of the transcription, user input indicating a request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session and transition to a voice communication session with the second device (Abstract, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] and claim 1; a user can allow a call to go to voicemail and see the text and decide whether or not to pick up with transcription continuing).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify JACKSON’s teaching with a feature of generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input; and receiving, by the first device and responsive to updated display of the transcription, user input indicating a request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session and transition to a voice communication session with the second device as taught by Patron in order to ensuring accuracy and understand of the conversation thus provide improved communication though captioned telephone services (paragraph [0011], Patron)
Further JACKSON and Patron do not dynamically update display of the transcription on the first device as additional portions of the audio input are received by the first device.
Daga discloses dynamically update display of the transcription on the first device as additional portions of the audio input are received by the first device (paragraphs [0036]- [0040]; the present system can feed a transcribed-to-text message live (dynamically) to some social media account, messaging channel, or another instant messenger where the user could be available. Dag discloses dynamic/real-time transcription display).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify JACKSON and Patron teaching with a feature of dynamically update display of the transcription on the first device as additional portions of the audio input are received by the first device as taught by Daga in order to ensures that the transcription of the voice message to occur in real time is efficiently performed (paragraph [0028], Daga).
Regarding claim 2, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determining, by the first device, whether the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device, wherein the transcription of the audio input is generated in response to a determination that the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Regarding claim 3, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the audio input is received from the second device over a wireless network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 4, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the wireless network is a cellular network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 5, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session, sending the transcription of the audio input and an audio stream corresponding to the audio input from the first device to a third device associated with a user of the first device for display or storage of the transcription and the audio stream at the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 6, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising tagging the transcription with an indication that causes display of the transcription to be suppressed at the third device based on a device type of the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 7, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transcription is associated with a confidence score, the confidence score indicating a likelihood that the transcription represents content in the audio input in its entirety, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determining, by the first device, whether the confidence score exceeds a confidence threshold, wherein the transcription is provided for display on the first device based on a determination that the confidence score exceeds the confidence threshold (paragraphs [0031], [0034] and [0039];system 100 transcribes the message if the messaging server has received a request for a transcription from the subscriber within a threshold time. The threshold time can be associated with the class of service. The system 100 can optionally identify a current transcription state for the subscriber, store the current transcription state in a subscriber directory, and notify the subscriber when the current transcription state changes).
Regarding claim 8, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, providing , and transition to the voice communication session and audio stream corresponding to at least a portion of the audio input received prior to the request to an output device of the first device(Abstract and paragraph [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed).
JACKSON does not teach responsive to the user input indicating the request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session.
In the same field of endeavor, Patron discloses responsive to the user input indicating the request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session (Abstract, paragraphs [0044]- [0045] and claim 1; a user can allow a call to go to voicemail and see the text and decide whether or not to pick up with transcription continuing).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify JACKSON’s teaching with a feature of responsive to the user input indicating the request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session as taught by Patron in order to ensuring accuracy and understand of the conversation thus provide improved communication though captioned telephone services (paragraph [0011], Patron)
Regarding claim 9, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device: receiving, by the first device, responsive to the audio stream being provided to the output device of the first device, user input indicating confirmation of the request to transition to the voice communication session with the second device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Claim 10 is a device claim correspond to method claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected based on method claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, JACKSON discloses the device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determine, by the first device, whether the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device, wherein the transcription of the audio input is generated in response to a determination that the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Regarding claim 12, JACKSON discloses the first device of claim 10, wherein the audio input is received from the second device over a wireless network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 13, JACKSON discloses the first device of claim 12, wherein the wireless network is a cellular network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 14, JACKSON discloses the first device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session, send the transcription of the audio input and an audio stream corresponding to the audio input from the first device to a third device associated with a user of the first device for display or storage of the transcription and the audio stream at the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 15, JACKSON discloses the first device of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to tag the transcription with an indication that causes display of the transcription to be suppressed at the third device based on a device type of the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 16, JACKSON discloses the first device of claim 10, wherein the transcription is associated with a confidence score, the confidence score indicating a likelihood that the transcription represents content in the audio input in its entirety, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determine, by the first device, whether the confidence score exceeds a confidence threshold, wherein the transcription is provided for display on the first device based on a determination that the confidence score exceeds the confidence threshold (paragraphs [0031], [0034] and [0039];system 100 transcribes the message if the messaging server has received a request for a transcription from the subscriber within a threshold time. The threshold time can be associated with the class of service. The system 100 can optionally identify a current transcription state for the subscriber, store the current transcription state in a subscriber directory, and notify the subscriber when the current transcription state changes).
Regarding claim 17, JACKSON discloses the first device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, and transition to the voice communication session with an audio stream corresponding to at least a portion of the audio input received prior to the request to an output device of the first device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed).
JACKSON does not teach provide, responsive to the user input indicating the request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session.
In the same field of endeavor, Patron discloses provide, responsive to the user input indicating the request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session (Abstract, paragraphs [0044]- [0045] and claim 1; a user can allow a call to go to voicemail and see the text and decide whether or not to pick up with transcription continuing).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify JACKSON’s teaching with a feature of provide, responsive to the user input indicating the request to interrupt the electronic voice messaging session as taught by Patron in order to ensuring accuracy and understand of the conversation thus provide improved communication though captioned telephone services (paragraph [0011], Patron)
Regarding claim 18, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device: provide, responsive to the request to transition from the electronic voice messaging session to the voice communication session with the second device, an audio stream corresponding to at least a portion of the audio input prior to the transition; and receive, by the first device, user input indicating confirmation of the request to transition to the voice communication session with the second device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Claim 19 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim correspond to method claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected based on method claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, JACKSON discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the transcription is provided for display on the first device while receiving at least in part the audio input by the first device (Fig.5 step 506 and paragraph [0043]; the system 100 presents the transcription to the subscriber).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694