DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is response to communication filed on 11/18/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
This Action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2012/0033794 A1 to JACKSON et al. (hereinafter “JACKSON”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 2014/0051410 A to KWON et al. (hereinafter “KWON”).
Regarding claim 1, JACKSON discloses a method, comprising: during an electronic voice messaging session between a first device and a second device: receiving, by the first device, an audio input corresponding to audio generated at the second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed);
generating a transcription of the audio input; and providing, for display on the first device, the transcription (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
However, JACKSON does not explicitly teach generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input.
In the same field of endeavor, KWON discloses generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input (paragraphs [0092] and [0175]; electronic device may convert audio data from the other party into text data and then, may output the converted text data).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify JACKSON’s teaching with a feature of generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input as taught by KWON in order to provide text message when the receiving party in a voice call unavailable environment (paragraph [0183]; KWON).
Regarding claim 2, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determining, by the first device, whether the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device, wherein the transcription of the audio input is generated in response to a determination that the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Regarding claim 3, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the audio input is received from the second device over a wireless network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 4, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the wireless network is a cellular network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 5, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session, sending the transcription of the audio input and an audio stream corresponding to the audio input from the first device to a third device associated with a user of the first device for display or storage of the transcription and the audio stream at the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 6, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising tagging the transcription with an indication that causes display of the transcription to be suppressed at the third device based on a device type of the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 7, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transcription is associated with a confidence score, the confidence score indicating a likelihood that the transcription represents content in the audio input in its entirety, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determining, by the first device, whether the confidence score exceeds a confidence threshold, wherein the transcription is provided for display on the first device based on a determination that the confidence score exceeds the confidence threshold (paragraphs [0031], [0034] and [0039];system 100 transcribes the message if the messaging server has received a request for a transcription from the subscriber within a threshold time. The threshold time can be associated with the class of service. The system 100 can optionally identify a current transcription state for the subscriber, store the current transcription state in a subscriber directory, and notify the subscriber when the current transcription state changes).
Regarding claim 8, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, receiving, by the first device, responsive to the transcription being displayed on the first device, user input indicating a request to transition from the electronic voice messaging session to a voice communication session with the second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed).
Regarding claim 9, JACKSON discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device: providing, responsive to the request to transition from the electronic voice messaging session to the voice communication session with the second device, an audio stream corresponding to at least a portion of the audio input prior to the transition to an output device of the first device; and receiving, by the first device, responsive to the audio stream being provided to the output device of the first device, user input indicating confirmation of the request to transition to the voice communication session with the second device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Regarding claim 10, JACKSON discloses an electronic device, comprising: memory; and one or more processors configured to: during an electronic voice messaging session between a first device and a second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed): receive, by the first device, an audio input corresponding to audio generated at the second device; generate a transcription of the audio input; and provide, for display on the first device, the transcription (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
However, JACKSON does not explicitly teach generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input.
In the same field of endeavor, KWON discloses generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input (paragraphs [0092] and [0175]; electronic device may convert audio data from the other party into text data and then, may output the converted text data).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify JACKSON’s teaching with a feature of generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input as taught by KWON in order to provide text message when the receiving party in a voice call unavailable environment (paragraph [0183]; KWON).
Regarding claim 11, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determine, by the first device, whether the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device, wherein the transcription of the audio input is generated in response to a determination that the audio input corresponds to an unknown user of the second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Regarding claim 12, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the audio input is received from the second device over a wireless network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 13, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the wireless network is a cellular network (paragraph [0030]; unified messaging (UM) clients include cellular phones).
Regarding claim 14, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session, send the transcription of the audio input and an audio stream corresponding to the audio input from the first device to a third device associated with a user of the first device for display or storage of the transcription and the audio stream at the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 15, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to tag the transcription with an indication that causes display of the transcription to be suppressed at the third device based on a device type of the third device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; If the subscriber's CoS allows transcription, the UM server 202 proceeds to determine, where possible, whether the subscriber is currently accessing the UM server 202 via a transcription-capable device, such as a device capable of displaying text).
Regarding claim 16, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the transcription is associated with a confidence score, the confidence score indicating a likelihood that the transcription represents content in the audio input in its entirety, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, determine, by the first device, whether the confidence score exceeds a confidence threshold, wherein the transcription is provided for display on the first device based on a determination that the confidence score exceeds the confidence threshold (paragraphs [0031], [0034] and [0039];system 100 transcribes the message if the messaging server has received a request for a transcription from the subscriber within a threshold time. The threshold time can be associated with the class of service. The system 100 can optionally identify a current transcription state for the subscriber, store the current transcription state in a subscriber directory, and notify the subscriber when the current transcription state changes).
Regarding claim 17, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device, receive, by the first device, responsive to the transcription being displayed on the first device, user input indicating a request to transition from the electronic voice messaging session to a voice communication session with the second device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed).
Regarding claim 18, JACKSON discloses the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, during the electronic voice messaging session between the first device and the second device: provide, responsive to the request to transition from the electronic voice messaging session to the voice communication session with the second device, an audio stream corresponding to at least a portion of the audio input prior to the transition; and receive, by the first device, user input indicating confirmation of the request to transition to the voice communication session with the second device (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
Regarding claim 19, JACKSON discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: during an electronic voice messaging session between a first device and a second device (Abstract and paragraph [0034]; a user transferring an incoming caller to voicemail and indicating that the voicemail be transcribed): receiving, by the first device, an audio input corresponding to audio generated at the second device; generating a transcription of the audio input; and providing, for display on the first device, the transcription (Abstract, paragraphs [0031] and [0034]; options and rules include "skip transcription if the sender of the message is not an approved contact", "assign a low priority to transcriptions for messages left between midnight and 7:30 a.m.", "transcribe messages from unknown callers", "transcribe message from callers present in my address book", "transcribe message from callers not present in my address book", "transcribe messages marked urgent", "transcribe messages with a read receipt request", and "transcribe messages from callers in the Legal department").
However, JACKSON does not explicitly teach generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input.
In the same field of endeavor, KWON discloses generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input (paragraphs [0092] and [0175]; electronic device may convert audio data from the other party into text data and then, may output the converted text data).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify JACKSON’s teaching with a feature of generating, by the first device, a transcription of the audio input as taught by KWON in order to provide text message when the receiving party in a voice call unavailable environment (paragraph [0183]; KWON).
Regarding claim 20, JACKSON discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the transcription is provided for display on the first device while receiving at least in part the audio input by the first device (Fig.5 step 506 and paragraph [0043]; the system 100 presents the transcription to the subscriber).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent No. 10,573,312 B1 to Thomson et al discloses generating an output text string from the first text string and the second text string and using the output text string as a transcription of the speech (Abstract and Fig.30 step 3018).
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694