DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for receiving, means for transmitting, means for performing in claim 19 and dependent claim 20, refer to the means of receiving,
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al. (US20240196195) (hereinafter D1).
Per claim 1, D1 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (paragraph 209, Fig 3, i.e. musim 100, processor and memory), is configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network entity (paragraph 229, Fig 5 , receiving from a first network 200a), a configuration of at least one measurement associated with a gap length, a gap periodicity, and a gap offset (paragraph 229, Fig 5, , i.e. At S506, the first network apparatus (200a) sends the MUSIM Gap Configuration (e.g., Configured gap info - gap length, gap index, gap offset, gap repetition) to the MUSIM UE (100); transmit, to the network entity, UE assistance information (UAI) comprising a request for a first value for the gap length, a second value for the gap periodicity, or a third value for the gap offset (paragraph 260, i.e. sending the UE assistance information message comprising requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus includes determining, by the MUSIM UE, at least one of a periodic gap length, an aperiodic gap
length, a gap index, a gap offset, and a gap repetition based on a specified gap length
associated with the second network apparatus; receive, from the network entity (paragraph 230, Fig 5, see s512), an indication associated with the first value for the gap length, the second value for the gap periodicity, or the third value for the gap offset (paragraph 230, i.e. At S512, the first network apparatus [200a] sends the MUSIM gap configuration [e.g. release of gap info with gap index] to the MUSIM UE [100], where examiner interprets that first value ,second value or third value are measurements for gap length, gap periodicity/ gap repetition or gap length where the gap configuration includes gap length, gap index, gap offset, gap repetition with associated measurements); and perform the at least one measurement (paragraph 229, At S508, the SIB read operation / paging operation / measurement operation is between the MUSIM UE[100] and the second network apparatus [200b]) .
Per claim 2, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the at least one measurement comprises a fourth value for the gap length, a fifth value for the gap periodicity, or a sixth value for the gap offset, wherein the first value is different from the fourth value, the second value is different from the fifth value, and the third value is different from the sixth value( examiner interprets that the provision of gap length, periodicity and offset parameters in the measurement configuration which are changed and modified according to a subsequent UAI, refer to see paragraph229 and 230, the MUSIM UE (100) sends the UE assistance information message (e.g., requested switching gap info - length, gap index, gap offset, gap repetition) to the first network apparatus (200a), interpreted where the network makes requested switching gap changes or modifications per the UAI or network conditions or events where the for first value maybe different from a fourth value based on measurements.
Per claim 3, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first value, the second value, or the third value is based on a mobility condition or a channel condition of the UE (paragraph 244, i.e. At S1104, the UE (100) determines at least one of the following events on the first network apparatus (200a) or the second network apparatus (100b). The event can be, for example, but not limited to a change of paging configuration, cell reselection happens, handover occurs, change of UE identity, Change of RRC state UE (100) informs the first network apparatus (200a) and/or also requests for new gap configuration and/or switching notification/request. At S1106, the UE [100] triggers for a new MUSIM gap configuration including addition, release or modification).
Per claim 5, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1 and 2, Both, the explicit provision of updated measurement gap patterns or the provision of a confirmation/approval of the requested updated parameters are considered as obvious measures, where updated parameter include disable or deactivating or performing other measurements for an outcome as it relates to the UAI.
Per claim 6, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1 and 2, Both, the explicit provision of updated measurement gap patterns or the provision of a confirmation/approval of the requested updated parameters are considered as obvious measures.
Per claim 7, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1 and 2, Both, the explicit provision of updated measurement gap patterns or the provision of a confirmation/approval of the requested updated parameters are considered as obvious measures.
Per claim 8, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication does not provide the first value for the gap length, the second value for the gap periodicity, or the third value for the gap offset, or indicates a denial of the request (paragraph 217.i.e. SCell or a SCG activation or deactivation or release based on at least one of a data rate, a priority of service, data inactivity, power saving requirement for a first SIM associated with the first network apparatus (200a), and wherein to perform the at least one measurement, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the UE to: perform the at least one measurement based on a fourth value for the gap length, a fifth value for the gap periodicity, or a sixth value for the gap offset, wherein the first value is different from the fourth value, the second value is different from the fifth value, and the third value is different from the sixth value (examiner interprets that if indication is not provided or denial of request is based on possibly deactivation based on other activities such as higher priorities, processing capabilities or data inactivity on the MUSIM UE).
Per claim 9, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (paragraph 26, processor), individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: start a timer upon a transmission of the UAI; and based on lack of reception of the first value for the gap length (paragraph 214, i.e. In an embodiment, the action comprises stop at least one of the Tx-Rx related timer, the QoS related timer, and the mobility related timer at a beginning of the switching gap, and start or restart at least one of the Tx-Rx related timer, the QoS related timer, and the mobility related timer at an end of the switching gap) , the second value for the gap periodicity, or the third value [refer to rationale discussed in claim 2 regarding second and third value] for the gap offset in the indication before the timer expires, perform the at least one measurement based on one or more virtual gaps (paragraph 214, i.e. In another embodiment, the action comprises continue to run at least one of the Tx-Rx related timer, the QoS related timer, and the mobility related timer during the switching gap, hold any resultant action until the switching gap end when at least one of the Tx-Rx related timer, the QoS related timer, and the mobility timer expires during the switching gap and start or restart at least one of the Tx-Rx related timer, the QoS related timer, and the mobility related timer at an end of the switching gap and see paragraph 215and 216, Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to detect an initiation of the switching gap to perform the MUSIM activities on the second network apparatus (200b). Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to perform intermittent Rx operation and at least one of measurements and CSI evaluation during the switching gap in accordance with resources as configured by the first network apparatus 200a).
Per claim 11, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request is for an aperiodic gap and the UAI does not include the second value for the gap periodicity, and wherein the UAI further comprises a starting position associated with the aperiodic gap (paragraph 211, i.e. .Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to send the MUSIM UE assistance information message comprising the requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a), wherein the requested switching gap information comprises at least one of the determined periodic gap length, the determined aperiodic gap starting System Frame Number (SFN) and starting sub-frame, the determined
aperiodic gap length, the determined gap index, the determined gap offset, and the determined
gap repetition, in paragraph 212, it’s is determined that a switching gap is not required which includes periodic gap length as releases switching gap information of the network apparatus 200a ).
Per claim 12, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor (paragraph 26, processor), individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: perform the at least one measurement based on the aperiodic gap (paragraph 211, aperiodic gap starting system frame number); and based on a result of the at least one measurement (paragraph 216 and 217, i.e. Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to report measurement results and CSI feedback to the first network apparatus (200a) by performing intermittent Tx operation during the switching gap in accordance with the reporting configuration provided by the first network apparatus 200a), transmit a second UAI comprising a second request for a fourth value of the gap periodicity (paragraph 219, i.e. Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to trigger a switching gap request for a new MUSIM gap configuration[ where switching gap request may include gap periodicity and the fourth value is based on measurements of the second network) or a release of MUSIM gap configuration or a modification of MUSIM gap configuration.
Per claim 13, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim I1, wherein the request is for the aperiodic gap is based on a change of a mobility state, a channel condition, or a signal condition of the UE (paragraph 209, when a switching gap is required it includes aperiodic and periodic gap, where it may be determined that aperiodic gap is associated with second network , see paragraph 214, i.e. the switching gap is initiated to perform the activities on the second network apparatus (200b). MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to manage at least one of a Transmission (Tx)-Reception (Rx) related timer, a Quality of Service (QoS) related timer, and a mobility related timer in response to detecting the initiation of the switching gap).
Per claim 15, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein discloses the at least one processor (paragraph 26), processor), individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: prior to a reception of the configuration (paragraph 229, Fig 5, s506 and paragraph 230, Fig 5,s512 transmit, to the network entity, a request for at least one measurement gap(paragraph 229, Fig 5, s504 and paragraph 230, Fig 5, s510).
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, See claim interpretation 112 f, In Applicant Specification, means for receiving from a network entity, paragraph 0104, Fig 13, transceivers 1322 receiving form network entity 1302, similar rationale for transmitting to the network entity, refer to paragraph 0105 ,Fig 13, Application and Cellular processor , ref. 1306 and 1324, have a measuring component, ref, 198 to perform measurements, also refer to figure 3.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3, See claim interpretation 112 f, In Applicant Specification, means for receiving from a network entity, paragraph 0104, Fig 13, transceivers 1322 receiving form network entity 1302,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of (WO2023/133303) Tao et al. (hereinafter D2).
Per claim 14, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 11, but fails to discloses wherein the request is based on a performance of a terrestrial network (TN) coverage condition associated with the UE being below a threshold in a presence of non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage.
In an analogous field of endeavor, D2 discloses wherein the request is based on a performance of a terrestrial network (TN) coverage condition associated with the UE being below a threshold in a presence of non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage (paragraph 0086, i.e. Subsequently to using 810 and 812 the gaps, the UE 102 detects 818 that it has moved a distance greater than a certain distance threshold value, which the UE 102 can receive as part of a measurement configuration from the gNB 104 and the UE 102 then transmits 724 UE assistance information to the gNB 104, to report the current location of the UE 102 or to report the propagation delay between the UE 102 and a relevant satellite (which can be any satellite the UE 102 observes at its current location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of D2 into the invention of D1,where D1 provides a 5G or 6G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate. Embodiments herein provide method for link management for MUSIM UE (100) performing coordinated gaps and D2 provides A user equipment (UE) receives (708), from a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates a timing pattern for inter-frequency measurement, the timing pattern having a measurement gap of a certain duration in order to provide a better quality of service by utilizing synchronization signal which adjust gradual timing misalignments, when the propagation delay between a
non-serving satellite and the UE effectively moves relative to the time pattern that the serving satellite established, see D1 paragraphs 0010, 0011 and 0086.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: It’s interpreted, the prior art of record either singularly or in proper combination fails to teach wherein further configured to cause the UE to: open the one or more virtual gaps by setting a channel quality indicator (CQI) as zero; and transmit an indication of a capability associated with the one or more virtual gaps.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647