DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 4/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dong et al. (US 2022/0155526 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see 6-7, filed 4/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dong et al. (US 2022/0155526 A1) and Amano et al. (US 11,611,004 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong et al. (US 2022/0155526 A1).
Re. Claims 1 and 9, Dong et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a substrate or interposer 10 (Figs. 1A-1B; [0021]);
an optical module 20 coupled to the substrate 10, the optical module comprising a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) 40 and electronic integrated circuit (EIC) 30, the EIC 30 being coupled to the PIC 40 via the substrate 10 (Figs. 2A-2B; [0026]); and
a fiber optic coupler 50 coupled to the substrate 10 and/or the optical module 20, wherein the PIC 40 is configured to transmit or receive an optical signal via the fiber optic coupler 50 (Figs. 2A-2B; [0031]);
wherein the PIC 40 and the EIC 30 are coupled to a top side of the substrate 10, the PIC 40 and the EIC 30 being not stacked and separated on the top side of the substrate 10 (Fig. 2B).
Re. Claim 5, Dong et al. discloses an arrangement wherein the PIC 40 is at least partially embedded within the substrate 10 (Fig. 5A; [0040]).
Re. Claim 6, Dong et al. discloses the EIC 30 is coupled to the PIC 40 via a solder bump 34 (Fig. 2B; [0027]).
Re. Claim 7, Dong et al. discloses the EIC 30 comprises at least one of a control circuitry, a power circuitry, an electronic amplifier, a filter, and a converter ([0024]).
Re. Claim 8, Dong et al. discloses the substrate 10 comprises a glass core ([0023]), and the PIC 40 is embedded in the glass core (Fig. 5A; [0040]).
Re. Claim 10, Dong et al. discloses the interposer 10 is configured to provide an electrical interconnect between the PIC 40 and the EIC 30 (Fig. 2B; [0024]).
Re. Claim 11, Dong et al. discloses the PIC 40 and the EIC 30 are located on opposite sides of the interposer 10 (e.g., left side versus right side; Figs. 2A-2B).
Re. Claim 12, Dong et al. discloses the PIC 40 and the EIC 30 are located on a same side of the interposer 10 (e.g., both locat3ed on the top side; Figs. 2A-2B).
Re. Claim 13, Dong et al. discloses the PIC 40 is at least partially embedded within the interposer 10 (Fig. 5A; [0040]).
Re. Claim 15, Dong et al. discloses the EIC 30 is coupled to the PIC 40 via a solder bump 34 (Fig. 2B; [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 2022/0155526 A1).
Re. Claim 2, Dong et al. discloses the apparatus as discussed above, including an embodiment where the PIC 40 is partially embedded in the substrate 10 (Fig. 5A). However, Dong et al. does not disclose an arrangement wherein the EIC is at least partially embedded within the substrate.
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention for the purpose of providing desired alignment of the EIC on the substrate, as Dong et al. discloses embedding a component in the substrate through the use of a trench provides alignment to the component positioned in the trench (Dong et al.: [0040]).
Re. Claim 14, Dong et al. discloses the apparatus as discussed above. Dong et al. also discloses an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) 104 coupled to the interposer 10 (Fig. 6; [0044]). However, Dong et al. does not disclose the ASIC being a high-bandwidth memory (HBM).
High-bandwidth memory chips are known in the prior art, and one of ordinary skill would have found the claimed arrangement obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention for the purpose of providing high-performance computing and graphics applications. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 2022/0155526 A1) and Amano et al. (US 11,611,004 B2).
Re. Claims 3 and 16, Dong et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a substrate 10 comprising a first side and a second side (Figs. 1A-1B; [0021]);
an optical module 20 coupled to the substrate 10, the optical module comprising a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) 40 and electronic integrated circuit (EIC) 30, the EIC 30 being coupled to the PIC 40 via the substrate 10 (Figs. 2A-2B; [0026]); and
a fiber optic coupler 50 coupled to the substrate 10, wherein the PIC 40 is configured to transmit or receive an optical signal via the fiber optic coupler 50 (Figs. 2A-2B; [0031]);
wherein the PIC 40 is coupled to the EIC 30 through copper traces 11 of a router layer, the router layer being positioned in the substrate 10 (Fig. 2B; [0021]).
However, Dong et al. does not disclose through-hole vias in the routing layer and coupled to the PIC.
Amano discloses an apparatus 10 comprising a substrate 100/300, PIC 200, and EIC 400, wherein the PIC 200 is coupled to the EIC 400 through copper traces 310 in the substrate 100/300, and a fiber optic coupler 500 coupled to the substrate 100/300 such that the PIC 200 communicates optical signals to/from the coupler 500 (Fig. 2; col. 2 lines 21-25; col. 5 lines 57-59; col. 6 lines 12-15, 32-33, 42-43). Amano also discloses the substrate 100/300 also comprises through vias 320 coupled to the PIC 200 (Fig. 2B; col. 6 lines 32-41).
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention, as Amano discloses the through hole vias provide enhanced alignment between the PIC and the fiber coupler having improved accuracy (Amano: col. 1 lines 50-59).
Re. Claim 4, Dong et al. and Amano renders obvious the apparatus as discussed above. In addition, Amano discloses the substrate 100/300 further comprises a waveguide positioned within the through-hole via 320, and the waveguide is in optical communication with the PIC 200 (Fig. 2B; col. 6 lines 32-41). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention, as Amano discloses the through hole vias provide enhanced alignment between the PIC and the fiber coupler having improved accuracy (Amano: col. 1 lines 50-59).
Re. Claim 17, Dong et al. and Amano renders obvious the apparatus as discussed above. In addition, Amano discloses the PIC 200 is coupled to the first side of the substrate 100/300, specifically portion 300, the EIC 400 is coupled to the second side of the substrate 100/300, specifically portion 300, and the second side is opposite of the first side (e.g., top side versus bottom side of portion 300; Fig. 2B). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention, as Amano discloses the through hole vias provide enhanced alignment between the PIC and the fiber coupler having improved accuracy (Amano: col. 1 lines 50-59).
Re. Claim 18, Dong et al. and Amano renders obvious the apparatus as discussed above. However, Dong et al. does not disclose an arrangement wherein the EIC is at least partially embedded within the substrate.
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention for the purpose of providing desired alignment of the EIC on the substrate, as Dong et al. discloses embedding a component in the substrate through the use of a trench provides alignment to the component positioned in the trench (Dong et al.: [0040]).
Re. Claim 19, Dong et al. and Amano renders obvious the apparatus as discussed above. In addition, Amano discloses the PIC 200 is at least partially embedded within the substrate 100/300, specifically portion 100 (Fig. 2). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention, as Amano discloses the arrangement provides enhanced alignment between the PIC and the fiber coupler (Amano: col. 1 lines 50-59).
Re. Claim 20, Dong et al. and Amano renders obvious the apparatus as discussed above. Dong et al. discloses the EIC 30 comprises at least one of a control circuitry, a power circuitry, an electronic amplifier, a filter, and a converter ([0024]). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the current invention for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 5/27/26