DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 1 requires a comparison between a top of the urine and graduations as recited in line 12. This language appears to positively recite and/or require urine in order to meet the limitations as claimed. This subject matter is considered as non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 10-25 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 8,361,044) in view of Salvadori et al. (US 2007/0203463).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 22 and 23, Marshall discloses urinary drainage bag assembly (Abstract, lines 1-9), comprising:
a fluid bag Y (Col. 4, lines 44-47; fig. 2) including a front panel and a rear panel sealed to each other at or near an outer edge of the fluid bag and having a fillable region and a non-fillable region;
wherein at least a portion of said front panel includes a substantially transparent or semi-transparent (col. 10, line 10) region and a volume indicator comprising graduations A (fig. 2) indicating predetermined volumes which allow a volume of urine within the fillable region to be determined by a comparison between a top of the urine and the graduations;
an inlet tube W (col. 5, line 49; fig. 2) coupled to an upper portion of the fluid bag;
an outlet tube Z (fig. 2) coupled to a lower portion of the fluid bag; and
a fluid bag cover (col. 2, lines 36-37) positioned in an obscuring orientation wherein said cover obscures at least a portion of the front panel of the fluid bag including the volume indicator, and wherein said cover is semi-transparent (col. 10, line 10), i.e. urine in the fluid bag is viewable through the cover when the cover is positioned in the obscuring orientation, as required by claim 2.
Marshall does not expressly disclose the bag having a hanger coupled to the upper portion of the fluid bag within the non-fillable region.
In the same field of endeavor, i.e. fluid collection bags, Salvadori teaches a urine collection bag 10 (Abstract, line 1; fig. 1) comprising a hanger 200 (fig. 1) coupled to the upper portion of the fluid bag within the non-fillable region, and having a hook portion 204 (page 3, [0035], line 6; fig. 1), as required by claim 23, wherein a base region of the hanger is coupled within the non-fillable region (fig. 1), as required by claim 22.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to supply the bag of Marshall with the hanger, as taught by Salvadori in order to support the bag on support structure, as motivated by Salvadori (page 3, [0035], line 3).
Regarding claim 4, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein said cover is translucent (col. 10, line 10).
Regarding claim 5, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein at least a portion of the volume indicator is viewable through the cover when the cover is positioned in the obscuring orientation, since the cover is disclosed as being transparent (col. 10, line 10).
Regarding claim 10, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein a volume indicator defined by transparent region with graduations A (fig. 2) allowing the volume of urine in the fluid bag to be determined (col. 10, line 12).
Regarding claim 11, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein said cover further includes a cutout 57 (fig. 7; observation window that is a cutout portion) that allows direct viewing of at least a portion of the front panel of the fluid bag without moving the cover from the obscuring orientation to a viewing orientation.
Regarding claim 12, Marshall in view of Salvadori disclose the invention discussed above but does not expressly disclose the bag, wherein the cut out is positioned at a top edge of the cover.
Since Applicant did not state that such placement serves any specific purpose or performs any specific function other that the function disclosed in Marshall, it would have been obvious top those skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to place the cutout portion at a top edge of the cover in order to convenience operation of the device as an obvious design choice, and as such it does not impact the patentability of claim 12.
Regarding claim13, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein the cutout 57 accommodates a junction of the inlet tube and the fluid bag (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein said cutout allows a determination of when the fluid bag is full without moving the cover from the obscuring orientation to a viewing orientation, since the cover is disclosed as being transparent (col. 10, line 10).
Regarding claim 15, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein the cover 50 (fig. 2) capable of being removed from the assembly.
Regarding claim 16, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein said cover 50 is coupled to the fluid bag at or near an upper end of the fluid bag (see fig. 2).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein the cover is coupled by hook and loop fasteners (col. 5, lines 33-34) that are operable to be detached, as required by claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein said inlet tube W (col. 5, line 49; fig. 2) is coupled to the upper portion of the fluid bag with a valve assembly including an anti-reflux valve X (col. 5, line 47).
Regarding claim 20, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein said outlet tube includes the outflow valve Z (col. 5, line 50; fig. 2) that is an output regulator.
Regarding claim 21, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly comprising an output opening (see fig. 2) that is a holder retaining the outlet tube in a upright position.
Regarding claim 24, Marshall in view of Salvadori disclose the invention discussed above but do not expressly disclose the bag, wherein the cover extends beyond a bottom edge of the fluid bag.
Since Applicant did not state that such placement serves any specific purpose or performs any specific function other that the function disclosed in Marshall/ Salvadori, it would have been obvious top those skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to make the cover extending beyond a bottom edge of the fluid bag in order to convenience operation of the device as an obvious design choice, and as such it does not impact the patentability of claim 24.
Regarding claim 25, Marshall discloses urinary bag assembly, wherein the cover 50 (fig. 2) lacks a window.
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 8,361,044) in view of Salvadori et al. (US 2007/0203463), and further in view of Farmer et al. (US 6,613,036).
Regarding claim 3, Marshall in view of Salvadori disclose the invention discussed above but do not expressly disclose the bag, wherein said cover has a color that alters a urine color when viewed through said cover compared to the urine color when viewed without said cover.
In the same field of endeavor, i.e. fluid collection bag, Farmer teaches a fluid collection container (Abstract, line 1-4), wherein the transparent panel comprises a color (col. 7, lines 34-36) necessarily altering a color of the bag content viewed through said panel compared to the content color when viewed without said cover.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the cover of Marshall/ Salvadori with the color that alters a urine color, as taught by Farmer in order to identify large particulates within the reservoir, as motivated by Farmer (col. 7, lines 30-31).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 8,361,044) in view of Salvadori et al. (US 2007/0203463), and further in view of Boone (US 4,874,387).
Regarding claims 6-9, Marshall in view of Salvadori disclose the invention discussed above but do not expressly disclose the bag, wherein said cover is operable to allow direct viewing of at least a portion of the front panel of the fluid bag upon lifting the cover.
In the same field of endeavor, collection bags, Boone teaches a cover for a body fluid drainage bag (Abstract, line 1) comprising a cover flap 36a (col. 2, line 68; fig. 1) covering the window 34 (fig. 1), and therefore, interpreted as being a cover, having a bottom edge that can be lifted from the bottom portion of the cover, as required by claim 8, allowing direct viewing of such that reveal the volume indicator 18 (fig. 1), as required by claims 6, 7 and 9.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the bag of Marshall/ Salvadori with the cover flap, as taught by Boone in order to allow the user to periodically check drainage into the drainage bag, as motivated by Boone (col. 4, line 15).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,497,842. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
All the limitations of claim 1 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
The difference lies in the fact that the copending claims include more elements and are thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of the Patent claim 1 is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the claim 1 of the Application. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated” by the “species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 of the Application is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent, it is not patentably distinct from the claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 2 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 4 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 5 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 6 of the Application are to be found in claim 2 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 7 of the Application are to be found in claim 2 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 8 of the Application are to be found in claim 3 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 9 of the Application are to be found in claim 3 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 10 of the Application are to be found in claim 4 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 11 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 12 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 13 of the Application are to be found in claim 5 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 14 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 15 of the Application are to be found in claim 6 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 16 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 17 of the Application are to be found in claim 7 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 18 of the Application are to be found in claim 8 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 19 of the Application are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 20 of the Application are to be found in claim 10 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 21 of the Application are to be found in claim 11 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 22 of the Application are to be found in claim 12 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 23 of the Application are to be found in claim 13 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 24 of the Application are to be found in claim 14 of the Patent.
All the limitations of claim 25 of the Application are to be found in claim 15 of the Patent.
Claim 3 depends on claim 1 and fall therewith.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781