DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 13-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN 2128756821; a copy of English translation is provided by the examiner).
As per claim 1, Zheng discloses a power converter [Abstract; a DC to USBC power adapter], comprising:
an input circuit configured to receive and detect a front stage power from a front stage device [Abstract; pages 1-2; a DC-DC unit electrically connected with a voltage output adjusting feedback unit via an MCU];
a conversion circuit coupled to the input circuit [Abstract; pages 1-2; an MCU or MCU3];
an output circuit coupled to the conversion circuit, and configured to supply power to a back stage device [Abstract; pages 1-2; the voltage output adjusting feedback unit connected to the MCU or the MCU3 to supply required power to a computer or a mobile phone through a CC1 pin and a CC2 pin]; and
a processor coupled to the input circuit, the conversion circuit and the output circuit, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the front stage power is stable, and is configured to handshake with the back stage device to confirm a conversion power agreed by the back stage device [Abstract; pages 1-2; the MCU acts as a controller (i.e., a processor) which makes sure the power input from the DC-DC unit is stable and generating PDO (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A) compliant with USBC specification according to the detected voltage; “… when detecting the access of the device, the output voltage of the DC-DC unit is adjusted to 5V by the voltage adjusting feedback unit 2, and 5V is usually the voltage required by USBC; then the MCU sends the switch control signal to the power switch, controlling the power switch to open the device charging to the access, …”; “… when the access device supports a large voltage, it will seek a large voltage to the adapter, such as the 15V, the MCU control voltage output adjusting feedback unit 2 adjusts the voltage output of the DC-DC unit to meet the 15V required by the access device …”];
wherein the processor is further configured to control the conversion circuit to operate at the conversion power, so as to generate an output power to the back stage device [Abstract; pages 1-2; the MCU makes sure to generate PDO (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A) compliant with USBC specification according to the detected voltage; “… when detecting the access of the device, the output voltage of the DC-DC unit is adjusted to 5V by the voltage adjusting feedback unit 2, and 5V is usually the voltage required by USBC; then the MCU sends the switch control signal to the power switch, controlling the power switch to open the device charging to the access, …”; “… when the access device supports a large voltage, it will seek a large voltage to the adapter, such as the 15V, the MCU control voltage output adjusting feedback unit 2 adjusts the voltage output of the DC-DC unit to meet the 15V required by the access device …”].
As per claim 13, Zheng discloses a power conversion method, comprising:
receiving and detecting, by an input circuit, a front stage power from a front stage device, wherein the input circuit coupled to a conversion circuit and a processor [Abstract; pages 1-2; a DC-DC unit electrically connected with a voltage output adjusting feedback unit via an MCU wherein the MCU also acts as a controller (i.e., a processor)];
determining whether the front stage power is stable by the processor, and handshaking with a back stage device by the processor, so as to confirm a conversion power agreed by the back stage device [Abstract; pages 1-2; the MCU acts as a controller (i.e., a processor) which makes sure the power input from the DC-DC unit is stable and generating PDO (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A) compliant with USBC specification according to the detected voltage; “… when detecting the access of the device, the output voltage of the DC-DC unit is adjusted to 5V by the voltage adjusting feedback unit 2, and 5V is usually the voltage required by USBC; then the MCU sends the switch control signal to the power switch, controlling the power switch to open the device charging to the access, …”; “… when the access device supports a large voltage, it will seek a large voltage to the adapter, such as the 15V, the MCU control voltage output adjusting feedback unit 2 adjusts the voltage output of the DC-DC unit to meet the 15V required by the access device …”]; and
controlling the conversion circuit to operate at the conversion power, and providing an output power generated by the conversion circuit to the back stage device by an output circuit [Abstract; pages 1-2; the MCU makes sure to generate PDO (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A) compliant with USBC specification according to the detected voltage; “… when detecting the access of the device, the output voltage of the DC-DC unit is adjusted to 5V by the voltage adjusting feedback unit 2, and 5V is usually the voltage required by USBC; then the MCU sends the switch control signal to the power switch, controlling the power switch to open the device charging to the access, …”; “… when the access device supports a large voltage, it will seek a large voltage to the adapter, such as the 15V, the MCU control voltage output adjusting feedback unit 2 adjusts the voltage output of the DC-DC unit to meet the 15V required by the access device …”].
As per claims 2 and 14, Zheng discloses wherein the processor has a plurality of preset power values, the processor is configured to handshake with the back stage device according to the plurality of preset power values, when the back stage device agrees with one of the plurality of preset power values, the processor is configured to set the one of the plurality of preset power values as the conversion power [pages 1-2; preset power values (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A)].
As per claims 4 and 16, Zheng discloses wherein the processor is configured to handshake with the back stage device, so as to obtain a required power value of the back stage device [Abstract; pages 1-2; “… when detecting the access of the device, the output voltage of the DC-DC unit is adjusted to 5V by the voltage adjusting feedback unit 2, and 5V is usually the voltage required by USBC; then the MCU sends the switch control signal to the power switch, controlling the power switch to open the device charging to the access, …”;]; and wherein the processor is further configured to drive the conversion circuit according to a first power value of the plurality of preset power values, and the first power value is greater than or equal to the required power value [Abstract; pages 1-2; preset power values (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A)].
As per claims 5 and 17, Zheng discloses wherein when the processor drives the conversion circuit according to the first power value and the front stage power does not remain stable, the processor is configured to select a second power value of the plurality of preset power values to handshake wtih the back stage device, and when the back stage device agrees with the second power value, the processor is configured to set the second power value as the conversion power to drive the conversion circuit [Abstract; pages 1-2; the MCU can select one of plurality of preset power values (5V/3A, 9V/3A, 12V/3A, 15V/3A)].
As per claims 6 and 18, Zheng discloses wherein when the processor drives the conversion circuit according to the first power value and the front stage power does not remain stable, the processor is further configured to obtain a current power of the back stage device, and the second power value selected by the processor is less than the first power value and the current power [Abstract; pages 1-2; the MCU is capable of adjusting the output power via the voltage output feedback unit].
As per claims 7 and 19, Zheng discloses wherein when the processor is configured to handshake with the back stage device according to the second power value, and the back stage device does not agree with the second power value, the power converter is configured to stop supplying power to the back stage device [Abstract; pages 1-2; clearly the MCU can stop supplying power to the connected devices if needed so].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8-12, 15, and 20-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. US-20040105281 discloses a power supply control circuit, power supply and power supply control method for converting an existing power supply at a first voltage and power rating to a secondary voltage and power rating.
B. US-20130293012 discloses a system and a method for converting electric power, and more particularly to technology for converting electric power, which is supplied from a plurality of power supply sources, using a plurality of power conversion modules.
C. US-20170093292 discloses a power conversion apparatus having a plurality of output ports.
D. US-20220239135 discloses a power supply control method for a power conversion apparatus, where the power conversion apparatus is configured to conduct a power conversion between a charging apparatus and a power battery.
N. CN-114156966 discloses a multi-stage power conversion circuit voltage stabilization method and device, and a power conversion system.
O. BR-112020012365 discloses a power conversion arrangement that includes the first and an optional second stage of power conversion.
P. WO-9501000 discloses a power conversion method and apparatus convert VAC and VDC input signals to a DC voltage signal suitable for driving a DC load, such as a portable personal computer.
Q. CN-102262193 discloses a circuit and a method for testing a capacitive load.
Conclusion
/SURESH SURYAWANSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
1 Prior art cited by applicant in submitted information discloser statement.