DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/18/2024, 06/11/2024, 10/15/2024, 09/01/2025 and 04/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamagishi et al.
Yamagishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0234923 A1) discloses (see annotated Figure 7):
Regarding claim 1, a light source module (Figure 7, element 4) comprising a first laser array (Figure 7, element 334 and 339), a second laser array (Figure 7, element 326 and 327), a first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 334 and 339), a second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344), a third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A), a fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B), and an optical lens element (Figure 7, elements 346 and 345), wherein: the first laser array (Figure 7, element 334 and 339) provides a first light (Figure 7, element C) and a second light (Figure 7, element D) in a direction parallel to a first direction (Figure 7, element D1); the second laser array (Figure 7, element 326 and 327) provides a third light (Figure 7, element E) and a fourth light (Figure 7, element F) in the direction parallel to the first direction (Figure 7, element D1), the second laser array (Figure 7, element 326 and 327) and the first laser array (Figure 7, element 334 and 339) are respectively located on opposite sides of a central axis of the optical lens element (Figure 7, elements 345 and 346), and the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 334 and 339), the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344), the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A), and the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B) are located between the first laser array (Figure 7, elements 334 and 339) and the second laser array (Figure 7, elements 326 and 327); the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 321) is adapted to reflect the first light (Figure 7, element C) from the first laser array (Figure 7, elements 334 and 339) to the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344); the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344) is adapted to reflect the second light (Figure 7, element D) from the first laser array (Figure 7, elements 334 and 339) and allowing the first light (Figure 7, element C) from the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 321) to pass through to the optical lens element (Figure 7, element 345); the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A) is adapted to reflect the third light (Figure 7, element E) from the second laser array (Figure 7, elements 326 and 327) to the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B); and the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B) is adapted to reflect the fourth light (Figure 7, element F) from the second laser array (Figure 7, elements 326 and 327) and allowing the third light (Figure 7, element E) from the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A) to pass through to the optical lens element (Figure 7, element 346), wherein an orthographic projection of the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344) partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B) on the optical lens element (Figure 7, elements 345 and 346).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the first laser array (Figure 7, elements 334 and 339) and the second laser array (Figure 7, elements 326 and 327) are arranged in the first direction (Figure 7, element D1) and staggered in a second direction (Figure 7, element D2), and the second direction (Figure 7, element D2) is perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 7, element D1).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, a wavelength of the first light (Figure 7, element C; i.e. blue light emitted by element 334; page 6, paragraph 0076, lines 2-3) is the same as a wavelength of the third light (Figure 7, element E; i.e. blue light emitted by element 326; page 5, paragraph 0062, lines 3-4), and a wavelength of the second light (Figure 7, element D; i.e. red light emitted by element 339; page 6, paragraph 0076, line 3) is the same as a wavelength of the fourth light (Figure 7, element F; i.e. red light emitted by element 327; page 6, paragraph 0075, line 4).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 321) and the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344) are arranged in a second direction (Figure 7, element D2), and the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A) and the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B) are arranged in the second direction (Figure 7, element D2), and the second direction (Figure 7, element D2) is perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 7, element D1).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 321) and the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A) are reflectors (i.e. reflection dichroic mirror).
Regarding claim 11, a projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10) comprising an illumination system (Figure 12, element 1), at least one light valve (Figure 12, element 505), and a projection lens (Figure 12, element 506), wherein: the illumination system (Figure 12, element 1) is adapted to provide an illumination light (i.e. illumination light generated by element 1 in Figure 12), the illumination system (Figure 12, element 1) comprises a light source module (i.e. lighting device, which is illustrated in Figure 7, element 4 and Figure 12, elements 100 and 122), and the light source module (Figure 7, element 4) comprises a first laser array (Figure 7, element 334 and 339), a second laser array (Figure 7, element 326 and 327), a first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 334 and 339), a second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344), a third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A), a fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B), and an optical lens element (Figure 7, elements 346 and 345), wherein: the first laser array (Figure 7, element 334 and 339) provides a first light (Figure 7, element C) and a second light (Figure 7, element D) in a direction parallel to a first direction (Figure 7, element D1); the second laser array (Figure 7, element 326 and 327) provides a third light (Figure 7, element E) and a fourth light (Figure 7, element F) in the direction parallel to the first direction (Figure 7, element D1), the second laser array (Figure 7, element 326 and 327) and the first laser array (Figure 7, element 334 and 339) are respectively located on opposite sides of a central axis of the optical lens element (Figure 7, elements 345 and 346), and the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 334 and 339), the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344), the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A), and the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B) are located between the first laser array (Figure 7, elements 334 and 339) and the second laser array (Figure 7, elements 326 and 327); the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 321) is adapted to reflect the first light (Figure 7, element C) from the first laser array (Figure 7, elements 334 and 339) to the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344); the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344) is adapted to reflect the second light (Figure 7, element D) from the first laser array (Figure 7, elements 334 and 339) and allowing the first light (Figure 7, element C) from the first light guiding element (Figure 7, element 321) to pass through to the optical lens element (Figure 7, element 345); the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A) is adapted to reflect the third light (Figure 7, element E) from the second laser array (Figure 7, elements 326 and 327) to the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B); and the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B) is adapted to reflect the fourth light (Figure 7, element F) from the second laser array (Figure 7, elements 326 and 327) and allowing the third light (Figure 7, element E) from the third light guiding element (Figure 7, element A) to pass through to the optical lens element (Figure 7, element 346), wherein an orthographic projection of the second light guiding element (Figure 7, element 344) partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the fourth light guiding element (Figure 7, element B) on the optical lens element (Figure 7, elements 345 and 346); the at least one light valve (Figure 12, element 505) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light to convert the illumination light into an image light (page 1, paragraph 0015, lines 3-7); and the projection lens (Figure 12, element 506) is disposed on a transmission path of the image light to project the image light out of the projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8-10, 14-15 and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Yamagishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0234923 A1) discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10) comprising a light source module (i.e. lighting device, which is illustrated in Figure 7, element 4 and Figure 12, elements 100 and 122). However, Yamagishi et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a plurality of first light spots formed by the first light on a light incident surface of the optical lens element and a plurality of third light spots formed by the third light on the light incident surface of the optical lens element are arranged diagonally symmetrically or in an array to a lens element center of the optical lens element, a plurality of second light spots formed by the second light on the light incident surface of the optical lens element and a plurality of fourth light spots formed by the fourth light on the light incident surface of the optical lens element are arranged diagonally symmetrically or in an array to the lens element center of the optical lens element, and the lens element center is located on the central axis of the optical lens element.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Yamagishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0234923 A1) discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10) comprising a light source module (i.e. lighting device, which is illustrated in Figure 7, element 4 and Figure 12, elements 100 and 122). However, Yamagishi et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a first laser array providing a fifth light in the direction parallel to the first direction, and the second laser array further provides a sixth light in the direction parallel to the first direction, one of the first light guiding element and the second light guiding element is adapted to reflect the fifth light from the first laser array, one of the third light guiding element and the fourth light guiding elements is adapted to reflect the sixth light from the second laser array, and a wavelength of the fifth light is the same as a wavelength of the sixth light.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Yamagishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0234923 A1) discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10) comprising a light source module (i.e. lighting device, which is illustrated in Figure 7, element 4 and Figure 12, elements 100 and 122). However, Yamagishi et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a maximum distance between the first light guiding element and the third light guiding element in the first direction is greater than a maximum distance between the second light guiding element and the fourth light guiding element in the first direction.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Yamagishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0234923 A1) discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10) comprising a light source module (i.e. lighting device, which is illustrated in Figure 7, element 4 and Figure 12, elements 100 and 122). However, Yamagishi et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a light source module meeting the formula:
1.0 < (b/a) < 4.0, where “b” is a distance from a spot center of a plurality of light spots formed by the first light or the third light on the optical lens element to a lens element center of the optical lens element in the first direction, and “a” is a distance from the spot center of the plurality of light spots formed by the first light or the third light on the optical lens element to the lens element center of the optical lens element in a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Yamagishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0234923 A1) discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10) comprising a light source module (i.e. lighting device, which is illustrated in Figure 7, element 4 and Figure 12, elements 100 and 122). However, Yamagishi et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a light source module meeting the formula:
c-d < e < c+d, where “c” is a thickness of the first light guiding element, the second light guiding element, the third light guiding element, and the fourth light guiding element divided by a root number 2, “d” is 0.1 times the thickness of the first light guiding element, the second light guiding element, the third light guiding element, and the fourth light guiding element, and “e” is a length in the first direction of an overlap of an orthographic projection of the second light guiding element and an orthographic projection of the fourth light guiding element formed on a light incident surface of the optical lens element.
Regarding claim 21, Yamagishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0234923 A1) discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 12, element 10) comprising a light source module (i.e. lighting device, which is illustrated in Figure 7, element 4 and Figure 12, elements 100 and 122). However, Yamagishi et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests an illumination system comprising a light uniforming element disposed on a transmission path of the first light to the fourth light from the optical lens element, the light source module meets a formula:
1.4 ≤ f * tan(θ)/h ≤ 3.7, where “f” is a length in a direction of an optical axis of the light uniforming element, “θ” is an angle between a maximum length from the optical lens element to the light uniforming element and a minimum length from the optical lens element to the light uniforming element, and “h” is a length of a long side of the light uniforming element in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the optical axis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weng (US Pub. No. 2022/0082918 A1) discloses a light source module including a light-collecting lens, a first light source unit, a first light-combining element, a second light source unit, a second light-combining element, and a third light source unit. The first, second, and third light source units are respectively configured to emit a first, second, and third light beams. The first and second light-combining elements are configured to respectively reflect the first and second light beams to the light-collecting lens disposed in a transmission path of the third light beam. An optical axis of the light-collecting lens is parallel to a first direction, and an optical axis of the first light source unit is parallel to a second direction. The first and second light source units and the first and second light-combining elements are disposed in an alternating manner in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions. A projection device is also provided.
Chang (US Pub. No. 2021/0247679 A1) teaches an illumination system including first laser light sources, second laser light sources, an optical module, and a light homogenizing element. The first and second laser light sources respectively provide first and second beams. A light spot area formed when the second beams are emitted is different from that formed when the first beams are emitted. The optical module converts the first beams into spot-expanding beams which form a light spot area different from that of the first beams. The light homogenizing element includes a light incident face disposed on transmission paths of the second beams and the spot-expanding beams. A difference between light spot areas formed by the second beams and the spot-expanding beams on the light incident face is less than a difference between light spot areas formed when the second beams and the first beams are emitted. A projection apparatus having the illumination system is further disclosed.
/MAGDA CRUZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
04/24/2026