DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Application Status
This office action is in response to Applicant’s response to election/restriction filed 3/9/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse to examine claims 1-7 is acknowledged. Claims 8-10 are hereby withdrawn without traverse.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending; Claims 8-10 have been withdrawn; Claims 1-7 are being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 1/18/2024 has been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 forms.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: a driver that lifts and lowers the cap pushing rod, interpreted to be an actuator, air cylinder, or equivalents thereof;
Claim 4: a supporter that supports the cap pushing rod and the plate pushing rod, interpreted to be supporting plates, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zambaux et al. US 2017/0081056.
Regarding claim 1:
Zambaux teaches a cap attachment device comprising: a cap holder (18-5) that is provided to be liftable and lowerable ([0102]) between a first height (see FIG. 6A) and a second height lower than the first height (see FIG. 6B), and holds a cap plate (18-5) holding a cap (14-1); a vial platform (28) which is provided below the cap holder and on which a vial plate (26) holding a snap vial (10) corresponding to the cap is placed; a cap pushing rod (18-8) that is provided above the cap holder and extends in an up-and-down direction; and a driver (30) that lifts and lowers the cap pushing rod such that the cap pushing rod pushes the cap held by the cap plate downwardly when the cap holder is at the second height ([0114]; shown in FIG. 6F).
Regarding claim 2:
Zambaux teaches the cap attachment device according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the cap holder brings a lower surface of the held cap plate into contact with an upper surface of the vial plate at the second height (shown in FIG. 6C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zambaux, as applied above, and further in view of Beussink et al. US 5,519,984.
Regarding claim 3:
Zambaux teaches the cap attachment device according to claim 2, as discussed above, but does not teach wherein the driver lifts and lowers the cap pushing rod, and lowers the cap holder from the first height to the second height (in Zambaux, it appears the cap holder/plate and driver move independently).
Beussink discloses a related cap attachment device, teaching a driver lifts and lowers the cap pushing rod (30), and lowers the cap holder (32) from the first height to the second height (col. 3, line 59-67, see “independently or together”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Zambaux by having the driver lift and lowers the cap pushing rod, and lower the cap holder from the first height to the second height, in order to minimize the number of actuators required in the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the further combination of a plate pushing rod that extends in the up-and-down direction; a supporter that supports the cap pushing rod and the plate pushing rod; and a first spring member provided between the plate pushing rod and the supporter, wherein the driver lifts and lowers the plate pushing rod together with the cap pushing rod by lifting and lowering the supporter, and the plate pushing rod lowers the cap holder from the first height to the second height by pushing the cap plate from above. Claims 5-6 (and claim 7 should the 112(b) dependency issue above be corrected) would be allowable for depending from claim 4.
Conclusion
/DARIUSH SEIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731