DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on July 9, 2026. Claims 1-25 are pending in the application and are being examined herein.
Examiner notes that claim 11 has the status identifier “(Currently Amended)” but will be treated at “(Previously Presented)” since there are no amendments to that claim.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The objection to claim 10 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New objections to the claims are necessitated by the amendments.
All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection under nonstatutory double patenting are necessitated by the amendments.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, and 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the new claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 15, “the transfer of water” should read “transfer of water”.
In line 16, “the transfer of silver cations” should read “transfer of silver cations”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “the sensor” should read the analyte sensor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. New matter is shown in bold. Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the protective layer is substantially impenetrable to water” in lines 1-2 of the claim. The specification does not contain support for the protective layer being substantially impenetrable to water. Instead, the specification discloses that the protective layer is a membrane that allows transfer of water through the membrane (see para. [0089] of the instant US PGPub). The specification also discloses that the protective layer comprises a hydrophobic polymer material that has a water uptake of less than 2% by weight (see para. [0090], [0100]-[0101] of the instant US PGPub). This means that the hydrophobic polymer material itself has a water uptake of less than 2% by weight, while the protective layer still allows transfer of water through the membrane. Therefore, the protective layer is not substantially impenetrable to water. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in reply to this Office Action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 18-20, and 24-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/587,177 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application claims 1 and 18 are anticipated by copending application claim 7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/587,177 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application claim 9 is obvious over copending application claim 8.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/587,177 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application claim 10 is anticipated by copending application claim 13.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoss et al. (US 2010/0230285 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Hoss teaches an analyte sensor for determining an analyte (an implantable analyte sensor 900, Figs. 9A-9C, para. [0106]), comprising:
a substrate comprising a first conductive material and a second conductive material (a substrate 902 having a top conductive layer 904a and a bottom conductive layer 904b, Figs. 9A-9C, para. [0107]);
a first electrode located on the first conductive material (a sensing component 906 disposed over the top conductive layer 904a to form an active area of a working electrode, Figs. 9A & 9C, para. [0109]);
a second electrode located on the second conductive material, the second electrode comprising a silver comprising layer having a width and a length and edges that define the periphery of the silver comprising layer (a secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 disposed over the bottom conductive layer 904b to collectively form a reference electrode, Figs. 9B-9C, para. [0112]; the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 has a width and a length and edges that define the periphery of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910); and
a protective layer covering the silver comprising layer (an insulation/dielectric layer 908b covering the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910, Figs. 9B-9C, para. [0113]).
Hoss teaches that the insulation/dielectric layer 908b has a length greater than the length of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 in the left-right direction of Figs. 9B-9C (para. [0112]-[0113]), so the insulation/dielectric layer 908b covers those two edges of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910. Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP § 2125(I). Hoss teaches that the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 is provided in a continuous stripe/band between and substantially orthogonal to the substrate's side edges 914a, 914b (Fig. 9B, para. [0112]), and the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 appears to have the same width as the insulation/dielectric layer 908b in the up-down direction of Fig. 9B, so this embodiment of Hoss fails to teach wherein the protective layer covers all the edges of the silver comprising layer.
However, Hoss teaches another embodiment where the working electrode 804/806 (Figs. 8A-8B) is smaller in width than the insulation/dielectric layer 808 (para. [0102]). This embodiment of Hoss teaches that the sensing material 806 is also smaller than the conductive layer 804 in width (Figs. 8A-8B, para. [0102]-[0104]). Hoss also teaches that the same materials and methods may be used to fabricate the top (working) and bottom (reference) electrodes (para. [0110]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 to be less than the widths of the insulation/dielectric layer 908b and the bottom conductive layer 904b as taught by another embodiment of Hoss in order to yield the predictable result of forming the reference electrode of the sensor. Furthermore, the Federal Circuit has held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A). Therefore, Modified Hoss teaches wherein the insulation/dielectric layer 908b covers all the edges of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910.
Modified Hoss teaches the insulation/dielectric layer 908b covering the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 (Figs. 9B-9C, para. [0113]). Modified Hoss fails to teach wherein the protective layer comprises at least one opening configured to provide access to the second electrode for the analyte.
However, Hoss teaches that the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer has a portion that is not covered by the insulation/dielectric layer and is exposed to the in vivo environment when in operative use (para. [0114]). Hoss teaches another embodiment wherein an insulating coverlay material 118 covers the electrodes 121a, 121b, 121c which includes the Ag/AgCl reference electrode 121c (Figs. 3A-3B, para. [0076]-[0077]). Hoss teaches that openings 120 may be created in the insulating coverlay material 118 to expose one or more of the electrodes 121a, 121b, 121c (Figs. 3A-3B, para. [0078]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulation/dielectric layer 908b of Modified Hoss to include an opening as taught by another embodiment of Hoss in order to yield the predictable result of exposing the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 to the in vivo environment when in operative use. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Hoss teaches wherein the protective layer has a width greater than the width of the silver comprising layer (the insulation/dielectric layer 908b covers all the edges of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 and thus has a width greater than the width of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910, see modification supra).
Regarding claim 20, Modified Hoss teaches wherein the protective layer has a length greater than the length of the silver comprising layer (the insulation/dielectric layer 908b has a length greater than the length of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 in the left-right direction of Figs. 9B-9C, para. [0112]-[0113]).
Regarding claim 21, Modified Hoss teaches wherein the second conductive layer has a width greater than the width of the silver comprising layer (the bottom conductive layer 904bb has a width greater than the width of the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910, see modification supra).
Regarding claim 22, Modified Hoss teaches wherein the second conductive layer comprises a cut edge terminating at a corresponding edge of the sensor (the bottom conductive layer 904b comprises a cut edge terminating at a corresponding edge of the implantable analyte sensor 900, Figs. 9B-9C, para. [0107], [0112]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The instant invention of claim 1 is drawn to an analyte sensor for determining at least one analyte. The analyte sensor comprises a substrate comprising at least one first conductive material and at least one second conductive material, at least one first electrode which is located on the at least one first conductive material, at least one second electrode which is located on the at least one second conductive material, the at least one second electrode comprising a silver comprising layer having a width and a length, at least one protective layer covering the silver comprising layer, the at least one protective layer having a width greater than the width of the silver comprising layer and a length greater than the length of the silver comprising layer. The at least one protective layer comprises at least one opening, wherein the at least one opening is designed to provide access to the at least one second electrode for the at least one analyte. The at least one protective layer allows the transfer of water and chloride anions through the at least one protective layer but restricts the transfer of silver cations and silver chloride through the at least one protective layer.
The prior art does not disclose nor render obvious all of the cumulative limitations of the analyte sensor of independent claim 1, with particular attention to the limitations: “the at least one protective layer allows the transfer of water and chloride anions through the at least one protective layer but restricts the transfer of silver cations and silver chloride through the at least one protective layer” in combination with the other limitations of independent claim 1.
The closest prior art of record is considered to be Hoss et al. (US 2010/0230285 A1).
Hoss teaches an insulation/dielectric layer 908b covering the secondary conductive Ag/AgCl layer 910 (Figs. 9B-9C, para. [0113]). Hoss fails to teach wherein “the at least one protective layer allows the transfer of water and chloride anions through the at least one protective layer but restricts the transfer of silver cations and silver chloride through the at least one protective layer” in combination with the other limitations of independent claim 1.
Examiner further notes that claim 1 is still provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 2-17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claim 1.
Claims 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner further notes that claims 24-25 are still provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the arguments presented on page 10 of the amendment, Applicant argues Hoss teaches that the edges of the silver comprising layer are cut by singulation and exposed, and Hoss thus does not teach the features of independent claim 18.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection supra, Hoss is modified in view of an alternative embodiment to teach the features of independent claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794