Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trzcinski et al (US 9,249,490).
As to claim 1, Trzcinski et al teaches (see Figs 4-6) a masking system (the assembly of mask 20 and housing 42) for selectively masking a component (turbine component 10), the masking system comprising: a first shell (left side of mask support 44) having a first seating area configured to seat at least a first part of a first side of the component (10); a second shell (right side of mask support 44) having a second seating area configured to seat at least a second part of a second side of the component (10); and an intermediate member (mask 20) securable to the first shell and the second shell such that when the first part and the second part are respectively seated within the first seating area and the second seating area, the intermediate member contacts a terminal portion of the component (see Fig 2 for mask 20 touching bottom surface of the component).
As to claim 2, in Trzcinski et al the first shell (left side of mask support 44) has a first opening (46, see Fig 5), the second shell (right side of mask support 44) has a second opening (46, see Fig 5), and the intermediate member has a third opening (see Fig 2); the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening (into which shaped root of component 10 inserted into) can be aligned; and the alignment of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening is associated with movement of the intermediate member towards the terminal portion of the component (movement of the mask support 44 and mask 20, see Fig 9 and column 4, lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 3, Trzcinski et al teaches (see Figs 5-7) a fastening system (biasing member 48) for securing the first shell, the second shell, and the intermediate member.
As to claim 6, Trzcinski et al teaches at least one of the second projection and third projection is frusto-triangular (see Fig 4 for triangular shaped).
Regarding claim 7, Trzcinski et al teaches the intermediate member (20) further comprises a plugging member for plugging an aperture in the component (see Fig 2 component 10 fit into the aperture of mask 20).
Regarding claims 9-11, in Trzcinski et al the component is a gas turbine component, wherein the gas turbine component is a blade, wherein the first part includes at least a portion of a shank of the blade (see column 2, lines 54-57).
As to claim 12, Trzcinski et al teaches the intermediate member (20) having a hollow surface (see Fig 2).
With respect 13, Trzcinski et al teaches the intermediate member (20) filled with a strengthening material (resilient material, column 3, lines 12-17).
As to claim 14, Trzcinski et al teaches (see Figs 4-6) a masking system (the assembly of mask 20 and housing 42) for selectively masking a component, the masking system comprising: a first shell (left side of mask support 44) having a first portion and a second portion that extends from the first portion, the first portion having associated therewith a first seating area; a second shell (right side of mask support 44) having a first part and a second part that extends from the first part, the first part having associated therewith a second seating area; and an intermediate member (mask 20) securable to the first portion and the first part and configured to contact a terminal portion of the component when the component is retained within the first seating area and the second seating area (see Fig 2 for mask 20 touching bottom surface of the component).
Regarding claim 15, in Trzcinski et al the intermediate member (mask 20) is generally U-shaped (see Fig 2 for the U-shaped portion of mask 20).
As to claim 16, in Trzcinski et al each of the first shell and the second shell are capable of being additively manufactured.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soucy et al (US 2014/0165376A1).
As to claim 1, Soucy et al teaches (Figs 1-5) a masking system (holder 10) for selectively masking a component (blade 23), the masking system comprising: a first shell (half mask 25a) having a first seating area configured to seat at least a first part of a first side of the component (23); a second shell (part of holding portion 17 with groove 21) having a second seating area configured to seat at least a second part of a second side of the component; and an intermediate member (half mask 25b and extension 27) securable to the first shell and the second shell such that when the first part and the second part are respectively seated within the first seating area and the second seating area, the intermediate member contacts a terminal portion of the component (see Figs 3-4 and para [0015] where root of blade 23a is held/ inserted and enclosed within halves 25a & half 25b and extension 27; and Fig 5 and para [0018] for pocket P wherein blade is inserted, root of blade 23a is held and plug 27 is tightly fit in the hole 21 of masks).
As to claim 2, Soucy et al teaches (see Figs 1-5) the first shell has a first opening (see Fig 3 masking tool 25 having opening), the second shell has a second opening (holding portion 17 with groove 21), and the intermediate member has a third opening (see Fig 3 for mask 25 and extension 27 having aperture on part of the tool 25); the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening can be aligned; and the alignment of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening is associated with movement of the intermediate member towards the terminal portion of the component (extension 27 moving towards the blade 23).
As to claims 4-5, in Soucy et al wherein the intermediate member (extension 27) has a first portion having a first angled end and a second angled end, a second portion that extends from the first angled end, and a third portion that extends from the second angled end (see Fig 3 for angled portions of the T-shaped extension 27), wherein the second portion has a first projection and the third portion has a second projection that faces the first projection (see two side portions of 27a and 27b).
Regarding claim 7, Soucy et al teaches (see Fig 1) the intermediate member (27) further comprises a plugging member for plugging an aperture (21) in the component (blade 23) .
Regarding claims 9-11, in Soucy et al the component is a gas turbine component, wherein the gas turbine component is a blade, wherein the first part includes at least a portion of a shank of the blade.
As to claim 14, Soucy et al teaches (see Figs 1-5) a masking system (holder 10) for selectively masking a component (blade 23), the masking system comprising: a first shell (half mask 25a) having a first portion and a second portion that extends from the first portion, the first portion having associated therewith a first seating area (bracket 19); a second shell (part of holding portion 17 with groove 21) having a first part and a second part that extends from the first part, the first part having associated therewith a second seating area (holder 15 and port 13); and an intermediate member (half mask 25b and extension 27) securable to the first portion and the first part and configured to contact a terminal portion of the component (blade 23) when the component is retained within the first seating area and the second seating area (see Figs 3-4 and para [0015] where root of blade 23a is held/ inserted and enclosed within halves 25a & half 25b and extension 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trzcinski et al (US 9,249,490) or Soucy et al (US 2014/0165376A1) in view of Baldwin et al (US 2022/0010684A1).
As to claims 8 and 18, Trzcinski et al/ Soucy et al lacks teaching each of the first shell and the second shell have a compressible portion. However, Baldwin teaches each of the first shell and the second shell a compressible portion (mask portion having a flexible portion, see Abstract and para [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for part of masking system having a compressible portion in Trzcinski et al/ Soucy et al to more easily conform to complex geometries, for example of the substrate as taught by Baldwin et al (see para [0052]).
As to claim 16, in Trzcinski et al or Soucy et al each of the first shell and the second shell are capable of being additively manufactured. In any event, Baldwin teaches (see Figs [0043], [0046] and [0050-0051]) a mask assembly manufactured using additive manufacturing process. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture using additive manufacturing process in Trzcinski et al or Soucy et al since it is known in the art as taught by Baldwin et al.
Regarding claim 17, Trzcinski et al teaches a masking system (the assembly of mask 20 and housing 42) the masking system comprising: a first shell (left side of mask support 44); a second shell (part of holding portion 17 with groove 21) securable to the first shell; and an intermediate member (half mask 25b and extension 27) securable to the first shell and the second shell; wherein, when the component is retained by the first shell and the second shell, a portion of the component extends from the first shell and the second shell and contacts the intermediate member(see Fig 2 for mask 20 touching bottom surface of the component). Soucy et al also teaches (see Figs 1-5) the masking system comprising: a first shell (half mask 25a); a second shell (part of holding portion 17 with groove 21) securable to the first shell; and an intermediate member (half mask 25b and extension 27) securable to the first shell and the second shell; wherein, when the component (blade 23) is retained by the first shell and the second shell, a portion of the component (see Figs 3-4) extends from the first shell and the second shell and contacts the intermediate member. Trzcinski et al/ Soucy et al lacks teaching for masking a component to undergo a media blasting process. However, Baldwin teaches masking a component manufacturing process undergoing a media blasting process (see para [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for masking to undergo a media blasting process since masking a component undergoing a media blasting process is known in the art as taught by Baldwin et al (see para [0044]).
As to claim 19, in Trzcinski et al the first shell (left side of mask support 44) has a first opening (46, see Fig 5), the second shell (right side of mask support 44) has a second opening (46, see Fig 5), and the intermediate member has a third opening (see Fig 2); the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening (into which shaped root of component 10 inserted into) can be aligned; and the alignment of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening is associated with movement of the intermediate member towards the terminal portion of the component (movement of the mask support 44 and mask 20, see Fig 9 and column 4, lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 20, Trzcinski et al teaches (see Figs 5-7) a fastening system (biasing member 48) for securing the first shell, the second shell, and the intermediate member.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/