Response to Amendment
Claims 9-12 and 21-36 were previously pending. Claims 9-10, 21 and 29 are amended.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/20/2026.
Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 09/05/2023 of provisional application No. 63/536,528 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; the following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for.";and
Claim 1 recites “a lever engagement member configured to engage the lever”. The three prong tests are:
Prong C is not met and therefore this claim limitation is not going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation “biasing the first lever to the first closed position by a first biasing member”. Claim 29 recites “a biasing member”. It is not clear if applicant is claiming a separate biasing member and lever here. Based on figures of the invention, only one biasing member is between each lever and mounting member. Examiner suggests amending “a biasing member” in claim 29 to --a first biasing member--, and “the biasing member” to --the first biasing member--.
Claim 32 is rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Taniguchi et al. (JP H09171984 A) hereinafter Taniguchi.
Regarding claim 21, Taniguchi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a method, comprising: supporting a substrate (substrate 12) on a platen (platen comprises substrate table 14 with a plurality of placing pins 16) of a semiconductor processing station (substrate cleaning apparatus 10); biasing a lever (chuck pin 60) of a retainer assembly (retainer assembly comprises at least chuck pin 60, spring 70) to a closed position relative to the platen by a biasing member (biasing member 60 is forced by stopper block 72 to move the lever 60 to a closed position to grip the substrate 12),
the biasing member being coupled to the lever at a first position and to a mounting member (spring receiver 14b of the substrate table 14) at a second position, the mounting member coupled to the platen (fixed on platen), the second position being between the first position and the substrate; and inhibiting movement of the substrate by the lever when the lever is in the closed position (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 25, Taniguchi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) separating the substrate from a semiconductor processing component (top surface of substrate table 14) by at least a threshold distance by a hard stop device (mounting pins 16) coupled to the platen.
Regarding claim 27, Taniguchi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) biasing the lever comprises: connecting a spring (70) of the biasing member to a power region of the lever.
Regarding claim 28, Taniguchi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) inhibiting movement of the substrate comprises: disposing at least a portion of a weight region of the lever over the substrate.
Claims 21-24 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamashima (US 12057328 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Hamashima teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a method, comprising: supporting a substrate (W) on a platen (11) of a semiconductor processing station (substrate W is supported on 11 via 22); biasing a lever (22) of a retainer assembly to a closed position relative to the platen by a biasing member (28), the biasing member being coupled to the lever at a first position and to a mounting member (12) at a second position, the mounting member coupled to the platen (via 13), the second position being between the first position and the substrate; and inhibiting movement of the substrate by the lever when the lever is in the closed position (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Hamashima teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) apply a lever-opening force to the lever by a lever engagement member (22), the lever-opening force moving the lever from the closed position to an open position relative to the platen (by pivoting the lever 22 clockwise about third shaft body 29).
Regarding claim 23, Hamashima teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) moving the lever from the closed position to the open position comprises: moving the lever from the closed position in which the lever obstructs a first path of motion of the substrate (when lever 22 is in closed position, the substrate W is prevented to move in any path); and moving the lever to the open position in which the lever does not obstruct the first path of motion of the substrate (when lever 22 is in open position, the substrate W is free to move).
Regarding claim 24, Hamashima teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) wherein moving the lever from the closed position to the open position comprises: applying the lever-opening force overcoming a biasing force applied by the biasing member to the lever.
Regarding claim 27, Hamashima teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) biasing the lever comprises: connecting a spring (28) of the biasing member to a power region of the lever (concave spring seat of the lever 22).
Regarding claim 28, Hamashima teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) inhibiting movement of the substrate comprises: disposing at least a portion of a weight region of the lever over the substrate.
Claims 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 101587851 A) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 29, Zhang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a method, comprising: inhibiting movement of a substrate on a platen (2 and 6) of a semiconductor processing station along a path of motion by a first lever (3) when the first lever is in a first closed position relative to the platen (as shown in Figs. 5 and 6, when lever is in closed position, substrate W is inhibited from movement in any path), the first lever being pivotally coupled to a first mounting member by a biasing member (compare Figs. 4 and 6 which shows lever 3 pivotally coupled to the first mounting member 8 via spring 4), the first mounting member (8) being coupled to the platen; and applying a first lever-opening force (to a first surface of a power region of the first lever to pivot the first lever relative to the first mounting member such that the first lever is moved from the first closed position to a first open position relative to the platen (see Figs. 1 and 4), wherein the first lever does not inhibit the movement of the substrate along the path of motion when the first lever is in the first open position (when lever are not engaging the substrate), and the biasing member is coupled to a second surface of the power region of the first lever opposite the first surface of the power region.
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) inhibiting the movement of the substrate along the path of motion by a second lever when the second lever is in a second closed position relative to the platen, the second lever being pivotally coupled to a second mounting member coupled to the platen; and applying a second lever-opening force (F) to the second lever to pivot the second lever relative to the second mounting member such that the second lever is moved from the second closed position to a second open position relative to the platen, wherein the second lever does not inhibit the movement of the substrate along the path of motion when the second lever is in the second open position (first and second levers have the same structure and function as discussed above).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) biasing the first lever to the first closed position by a first biasing member (4) coupled between the first lever (3) and the first mounting member (8).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) biasing the first lever comprises coupling a spring (4) between the first lever (3) and the first mounting member (8).
Regarding claim 33, Zhang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) applying the first lever-opening force (F) comprises: applying the first lever-opening force to overcome a first biasing force applied by a first biasing member to the first lever.
Regarding claim 34, Zhang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) separating the substrate from the semiconductor processing station by at least a threshold distance by a hard stop device (6) coupled to the platen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi in view of Walther (US 20030082891 A1).
Regarding claim 26 , Taniguchi does not teach using a faraday cup for ion detection.
Walther teaches a wafer holding device with a platen 76 and “A faraday cup 148 may be positioned in alignment with ribbon ion beam 62 for dose and uniformity measurements” (see par. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a faraday cup when using device of Taniguchi, in ion implementation process. Doing so would make it possible to test uniformity in ion deposition on the wafer.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Walther (US 20030082891 A1).
Regarding claim 35 , Zhang does not teach using a faraday cup for ion detection.
Walther teaches a wafer holding device with a platen 76 and “A faraday cup 148 may be positioned in alignment with ribbon ion beam 62 for dose and uniformity measurements” (see par. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a faraday cup when using device of Zhang, in ion implementation process. Doing so would make it possible to test uniformity in ion deposition on the wafer.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Gleissner et al. (US 11942356 B2) hereinafter Gleissner.
Regarding claim 36, Zhang is silent regarding protective structure for the first lever.
Gleissner teaches a wafer gripper with a protective structure “To avoid scratching of a substrate during processing” (col. 6. Line 58-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first protective structure on the first lever. Doing so would avoid scratching of the substrate during processing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are allowed.
Claim 9 is allowed for disclosing “when the semiconductor wafer is in the target wafer position relative to the platen, using a biasing force applied by the biasing member to the lever, moving the lever to the closed position relative to the platen, wherein the lever inhibits movement of the semiconductor wafer from the target wafer position when the lever is in the closed position.”
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 9 is Kim (KR 2005070972 A).
Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a method of operating a wafer retaining device (Abstract: “clamp assembly … for gripping a transparent substrate”), the wafer retaining device comprising: a platen (platen 104) configured to support a semiconductor wafer (transparent substrate 1); a retainer assembly comprising a lever (clamp bar 120) and a biasing member (tension spring coil 130) configured to bias the lever to a closed position relative to the platen (“tension spring coil(130) for pulling the bottom end of the clamp bar from the platen”); and a lever engagement member (140) configured to engage the lever; and the method comprising: applying, through the lever engagement member (by movement of 140 upward as shown above), a lever-opening force to the lever to move the lever from the closed position to an open position relative to the platen; (pivoting around O) relative to the platen.
However in device of Kim, the wafer is clamped in vertical target position by vacuum and not a lever.
Claims 10-12 are allowed due to dependency on allowed claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 21 and 29 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new primary reference and combination of the references being used in the current rejection as necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723