DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 10 February 2026 in which claims 1-40 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-19, 21-29, 31-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bareket et al. (PG Pub US 2018/0213574 A1) in view of Scharf et al. (PG Pub US 2015/0081907 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 21, 31, Bareket discloses a method, a computing device, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and a system.
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to (fig. 2): determine, based on the computing device being connected to a wireless network, whether the wireless network connection is secure (“determine whether the wireless network 210 is secure or unsecure” [0061]);
determine a quality of the wireless network connection (“determine capability of the unsecure wireless network 210 to accommodate a VPN link with the VPN server 214. The accessibility evaluated by the probe agent 222 verifies may include, for example, checking a connection to the internet 212, verifying available network port(s), authenticating a valid account for a VPN service provided by the VPN server 214 and/or the like. Therefore, in addition to verifying a valid connection to the internet 212, the probe agent 222 must verify the network port(s) required for establishing the VPN link is available and free. For example, the probe agent 222 verifies that the required network port(s) are properly defined and/or available at the network control module(s) 220 and/or the OS. The probe agent 222 may also probe to verify the required network port(s) are not blocked by a firewall and/or the like. Naturally, in order to establish the VPN link with the VPN server 214, the mobile device 201 should be associated with a valid account for the VPN service provided by the VPN server 214” [0062]); and
establish, via the wireless network connection, based on a determination that the wireless network connection is not secure and based on a determination that the quality of the wireless network connection satisfies a threshold, a virtual private network (VPN) connection (“in case the probe agent 222 determines that the wireless network 210 is unsecure, the probe agent 222 may further probe the unsecure wireless network 210 to determine accessibility to the VPN server 214 over the unsecure wireless network 210, i.e. determine capability of the unsecure wireless network 210 to accommodate a VPN link with the VPN server 214. The accessibility evaluated by the probe agent 222 verifies may include, for example, checking a connection to the internet 212, verifying available network port(s), authenticating a valid account for a VPN service provided by the VPN server 214 and/or the like” [0062], “the probe agent 222 automatically initializes (invokes, launches) the VPN client 224 according to the determined accessibility, i.e. the probe agent 222 invokes the VPN client 224 in case the accessibility is determined valid (feasible). The VPN client 224 then establishes the VPN link with the VPN server 214 over the unsecure wireless network 210” [0066]).
However, Bareket does not explicitly disclose a quality of the wireless network connection.
Nevertheless, Scharf discloses “Examples of cost types may include network delay, network bandwidth or packet loss rates. The calculation may include the automated selection of the estimated best attachment point for each candidate VPN endpoint to the current VPN topology and the calculation of costs based on this attachment point “ [0029], “automatically select a candidate VPN endpoint that meets the given requirements” [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a quality of the wireless network connection because “Such a system may automatically determine the costs for the attachment of each candidate data center considering the current network status, existing VPN sites, candidate data center locations, application provider policies, etc. for use in determining which candidate data center to select” [0028].
Regarding claims 2, 12, 22, 32, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Scharf discloses the VPN connection comprises a partial VPN based on a determination that the quality of the wireless network connection does not satisfy a second threshold (“Partial match: some of the VMs in the current VPN meet the specified requirements but not all. For example, if a maximum delay has been defined, some, but not all, VMs in the current VPN are able to communicate with a VM in the candidate VPN endpoints with a delay less than the maximum delay” [0033]).
Regarding claims 3, 13, 23, 33, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Bareket discloses determine whether the wireless network connection is secure by determining whether the wireless network connection uses at least one of: Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP), Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA), WPA2, or WPA3 (“identify one or more characteristics of the wireless network 210, for example, an encryption type employed by the wireless network 210 (e.g. none, open, WEP, WPA, etc.)” [0061]).
Regarding claims 4, 14, 24, 34, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Scharf discloses the determination that the quality of the wireless network connection satisfies the threshold is based on at least one of: a bit failure rate; a packet loss rate; a transmission rate; or a signal strength (“Examples of cost types may include network delay, network bandwidth or packet loss rates. The calculation may include the automated selection of the estimated best attachment point for each candidate VPN endpoint to the current VPN topology and the calculation of costs based on this attachment point “ [0029]).
Regarding claims 5, 15, 25, 35, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Bareket discloses determine whether an Internet is accessible via the wireless network connection, wherein the establishing the VPN connection is further based on a determination that the Internet may be accessed via the wireless network connection (“The accessibility to the VPN server may require as a minimum a valid internet connection” [0036], “checking a connection to the internet 212” [0062]).
Regarding claims 6, 16, 26, 36, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Bareket discloses cause, based on the establishing the VPN connection, an indication of the VPN connection to be displayed (“a visual indication, an audible indication and/or the like. The probe agent 222 may provide the indication(s), for example, to present the status of the VPN link, for example, initializing, connecting, connected, disconnected, re-connecting, failed and/or the like” [0069]).
Regarding claims 7, 17, 27, 37, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Bareket discloses tear down, based on a determination that the wireless network connection has been interrupted, the VPN connection (“Once the mobile device disconnects from the unsecure wireless network, the VPN client may be terminated automatically” [0041]).
Regarding claims 8, 18, 28, 38, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Bareket discloses determine that the wireless network connection has been interrupted based on a determination that a Wi-Fi capability of the computing device has been disabled (“Disconnection from the unsecure wireless network 210 may result from, for example, the network control module(s) 220 establish a connection with a secure network, the mobile device 201 is out of range of the unsecure wireless network 210, the network interface(s) 202 is disabled and/or the like” [0072]).
Regarding claims 9, 19, 29, 39, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Bareket discloses determine that the quality of the wireless network connection satisfies the threshold by determining that the wireless network connection can support the VPN connection (“determine capability of the unsecure wireless network 210 to accommodate a VPN link with the VPN server 214. The accessibility evaluated by the probe agent 222 verifies may include, for example, checking a connection to the internet 212, verifying available network port(s), authenticating a valid account for a VPN service provided by the VPN server 214 and/or the like. Therefore, in addition to verifying a valid connection to the internet 212, the probe agent 222 must verify the network port(s) required for establishing the VPN link is available and free. For example, the probe agent 222 verifies that the required network port(s) are properly defined and/or available at the network control module(s) 220 and/or the OS. The probe agent 222 may also probe to verify the required network port(s) are not blocked by a firewall and/or the like. Naturally, in order to establish the VPN link with the VPN server 214, the mobile device 201 should be associated with a valid account for the VPN service provided by the VPN server 214” [0062]).
Claims 10, 20, 30, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bareket, Scharf in view of Moses et al. (US Patent No. 10,360,071 B1).
Regarding claims 10, 20, 30, 40, Bareket, Scharf discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Bareket, Scharf does not explicitly disclose establish the VPN connection further based on an indication that a user of the computing device has agreed to terms and conditions for using the wireless network connection.
Nevertheless, Moses discloses “A customer willing to purchase the network-accessible computing resource may select the listing, agree to the terms and conditions and purchase the network-accessible computing resource … After completing the transaction to purchase the network-accessible computing resource, as in block 708, a network connection may be established allowing the customer to access the network-accessible computing resource” (col 16 lines 25-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to establish the VPN connection further based on an indication that a user of the computing device has agreed to terms and conditions for using the wireless network connection because “The network connection may enable a customer to access the network-accessible computing resource by way of a virtual private gateway established on behalf of the customer. In another example, a customer may be connected to a network-accessible computing resource via a dedicated hardware VPN” (col 16 lines 34-39).
Response to Arguments
Previous minor informality objection to claim 26 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Previous nonstatutory double patenting rejection are withdrawn in view of Applicant's Terminal Disclaimer filing.
Applicant's arguments filed 10 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants have argued regarding claim that “it is important to note that Scharf defines a VPN endpoint as "a data center" or "any facility or customer premises that may provide data storage, processing, user data and/or authentication, etc." Id. at ][[0027]. Thus, Scharf determines whether a VPN endpoint, such as a data center, can "satisfy the cloud scale out" (id. at [[[0052]) and not the quality of a wireless network connection, as required by the claims” (page 11).
In response to Applicants’ argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously mentioned, Scharf discloses “Examples of cost types may include network delay, network bandwidth or packet loss rates. The calculation may include the automated selection of the estimated best attachment point for each candidate VPN endpoint to the current VPN topology and the calculation of costs based on this attachment point” [0029] and “The calculated costs may then be matched to specific communication requirements of a cloud application (e.g., maximum delay between application instances, minimum bandwidth between application instances, maximum loss between application instances)” [0030]. This shows different examples of wireless network connection quality. Therefore, a combination of Bareket and Scharf discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 03/05/2026