DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that the objection to the drawings and title is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “operation receiver” in claims 1, 6, and 9.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
operation receiver – paragraph 26
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 12, 13, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai (US 2024/0114098).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakai teaches an image processing apparatus (Paragraph 20), comprising:
an operation receiver configured to receive a predetermined operation (Element 60 and paragraphs 28 and 34, wherein there is an operation screen);
a first communication interface connectable with an external device (Paragraph 59, wherein an external memory can be used);
a second communication interface connectable with a communication device (Paragraph 66, wherein an external terminal can be connected); and
a controller (Paragraph 26, wherein there is a control device) configured to:
in response to the operation receiver receiving the predetermined operation when the first communication interface is not connected with the external device, perform a first imaging process (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein it is determined if the USB and external device are connected. If they are not connected then only button one is shown and therefore processing occurs according to button one);
in response to connection of the first communication interface with the external device when the second communication interface is connected with the second communication device, assign a function to perform a second imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the first imaging process, the second imaging process being different from the first imaging process (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein it is determined if the USB and external device are connected. If they USB device is connected than the elements of 61 are replaced with new version as shown between the differences between figs. 2-4); and
in response to the operation receiver receiving the predetermined operation when the first communication interface is connected with the external device, perform a second imaging process using the external device (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein as long as the USB memory is present, the second button is already present and determined if it is pressed to perform the functions. It is noted that the imaging process is performed in response to the predetermined operation. The predetermined operation would be the interaction with the corresponding button).
Regarding Claim 5, Sakai further teaches an original material stand, on which an original material is to be placed (Paragraph 21, wherein there is an ADF, which has to have a document stand);
a detecting sensor configured to detect the original material placed on the original material stand (Paragraph 21, wherein there is a sensor to detect if a document is placed); and
an image-reading sensor configured to read an image of the original material detected by the detecting sensor (Paragraphs 21-23, wherein the document is read by a reading unit from the ADF.),
wherein the controller is configured to, in response to the detecting sensor detecting the original material and when the first communication interface connected with the external device, perform the second imaging process including a storing process in which the controller stores image data composing the image of the original material having been read by the image-reading sensor in the external device. (Paragraph 58, wherein when the external memory is attached and the document is detected, the scanned document data can be stored in the USB memory).
Regarding Claim 6, Saki teaches an image processing apparatus (Paragraph 20), comprising:
an operation receiver configured to receive a predetermined operation (Element 60 and paragraphs 28 and 34, wherein there is an operation screen);
a first communication interface connectable with an external device (Paragraph 59, wherein an external memory can be used);
a second communication interface connectable with a communication device (Paragraph 66, wherein an external terminal can be connected),
and a controller (Paragraph 26, wherein there is a control device) is configured to:
in response to the operation receiver receiving the predetermined operation when the first communication interface is not connected with the external device, perform a first imaging process using the communication device (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein it is determined if the USB and external device are connected. If they are not connected then it can still be determined if the communication device is connected and display the button accordingly);
in response to connection of the first communication interface with the external device when the second communication interface is not connected with the communication device, assign a function to perform a second imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the first imaging process, the second imaging process being different from the first imaging process (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein it is determined if the USB and external device are connected. If they USB device is connected than the elements of 61 are replaced with new version as shown between the differences between figs. 2-4); and
in response to connection of the first communication interface with the external device when the second communication interface is connected with the communication device, not assign the function to perform the second imaging process to the operation receiver (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein it is determined if the USB and external device are connected. If they USB device is connected than the elements of 61 are replaced with new version as shown between the differences between figs. 2-4); and
in response to the operation receiver receiving the predetermined operation when the first communication interface is connected with the external device when the second communication interface is not connected with the communication device, perform the second imaging process using the external device (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein as long as the USB memory is present, the second button is already present and determined if it is pressed to perform the functions. It is noted that the imaging process is performed in response to the predetermined operation. The predetermined operation would be the interaction with the corresponding button).
Regarding Claim 10, Sakai further teaches wherein, when the first communication interface is not connected with the external device, the function to perform the first imaging process is assigned to the operation receiver (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein as long as the USB memory is present, the second button is already present and determined if it is pressed to perform the functions. It is noted that the imaging process is performed in response to the predetermined operation. The predetermined operation would be the interaction with the corresponding button, If the USB is not present than the button is not displayed. The first button would be displayed).
Regarding Claim 12, Sakai further teaches wherein the first imaging process is assigned to the operation receiver in advance as a short-cut (Paragraphs 38-45, wherein the buttons act like short-cuts).
Regarding Claim 13, Sakai further teaches an indicator configured to indicate a current function assigned to the operation receiver (Paragraph 58, wherein the buttons are present which indicate which operations are to be performed, indications).
Regarding Claim 17, Sakai further teaches an indicator configured to indicate a current function assigned to the operation receiver (Paragraph 58, wherein the buttons are present which indicate which operations are to be performed, indications).
Regarding Claim 18, Sakai further teaches wherein the first imaging process is assigned to the operation receiver in advance as a short-cut (Paragraphs 38-45, wherein the buttons act like short-cuts).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 2024/0114098) in view of Enomoto (US 2007/0216968).
Regarding Claim 3, Sakai does not teach wherein the controller is configured to, in response to disconnection of the first communication interface from the external device, assign the function to perform the first imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the second imaging process.
Enomoto does teach wherein the controller is configured to, in response to disconnection of the first communication interface from the external device, assign the function to perform the first imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the second imaging process (Paragraph 102, wherein when the removable storage is disconnected, the default mode is enabled.).
Sakai and Enomoto are combinable because they both deal with communicating with an external memory and an MFP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Enomoto for the purpose of increasing usability of the multifunction device (Enomoto: Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Sakai does not clearly teach wherein the controller is configured to, in response to disconnection of the first communication interface from the external device, assign the function to perform the first imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the second imaging process.
Enomoto does teach wherein the controller is configured to, in response to disconnection of the first communication interface from the external device, assign the function to perform the first imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the second imaging process (Paragraph 102, wherein when the removable storage is disconnected, the default mode is enabled.).
Sakai and Enomoto are combinable because they both deal with communicating with an external memory and an MFP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Enomoto for the purpose of increasing usability of the multifunction device (Enomoto: Paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 2024/0114098) in view of Takamiya (US 2015/0156363).
Regarding Claim 7, Sakai further teaches a printer configured to print an image on a sheet (Paragraph 24, wherein there is a printer unit).
Sakai does not teach wherein the second imaging process includes a printing process in which the controller causes the printer to print an image based on image data obtained from the external device.
Takamiya does teach wherein the second imaging process includes a printing process in which the controller causes the printer to print an image based on image data obtained from the external device (Paragraph 47, wherein the external memory can be used to print).
Sakai and Takamiya are combinable because they both deal with interfacing with a MFP and USB memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Takamiya for the purpose of increasing convivence for the user when using external memory (Takamiya: Paragraph 9).
Regarding Claim 8, Sakai does not teach wherein the controller is configured to, in response to one of an event that the image processing apparatus is powered on and an event that the image processing apparatus wakes up from a sleep state when the first communication interface is connected with the external device and when the second communication interface is connected with the communication device, assign the function to perform the second imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the first imaging process.
Takamiya further teaches wherein the controller is configured to, in response to one of an event that the image processing apparatus is powered on and an event that the image processing apparatus wakes up from a sleep state when the first communication interface is connected with the external device (Paragraphs 36 and 47, wherein the external memory can trigger a power control change, which is resume from power-saving), when the second communication interface is connected with the communication device, assign the function to perform the second imaging process to the operation receiver in place of the function to perform the first imaging process (Paragraphs 46 and 47, wherein the USB memory triggers certain functions to be displayed).
Sakai and Takamiya are combinable because they both deal with interfacing with a MFP and USB memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Takamiya for the purpose of increasing convivence for the user when using external memory (Takamiya: Paragraph 9).
Regarding Claim 15, Sakai teaches a printer configured to print an image on a sheet (Paragraph 24, wherein there is a printer unit).
Sakai does not teach wherein the second imaging process includes a printing process in which the controller causes the printer to print an image based on image data obtained from the external device.
Takamiya does teach wherein the second imaging process includes a printing process in which the controller causes the printer to print an image based on image data obtained from the external device (Paragraph 47, wherein the external memory can be used to print).
Sakai and Takamiya are combinable because they both deal with interfacing with a MFP and USB memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Takamiya for the purpose of increasing convivence for the user when using external memory (Takamiya: Paragraph 9).
Regarding Claim 16, Sakai does not teach wherein in response to one of an event that the image processing apparatus is powered on and an event that the image processing apparatus wakes up from a sleep state, the controller is configured to determine an assignment for the operation receiver.
Takamiya does teach wherein in response to one of an event that the image processing apparatus is powered on and an event that the image processing apparatus wakes up from a sleep state (Paragraphs 36 and 47, wherein the external memory can trigger a power control change, which is resume from power-saving), the controller is configured to determine an assignment for the operation receiver (Paragraphs 46 and 47, wherein the USB memory triggers certain functions to be displayed).
Sakai and Takamiya are combinable because they both deal with interfacing with a MFP and USB memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Takamiya for the purpose of increasing convivence for the user when using external memory (Takamiya: Paragraph 9).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 2024/0114098) in view of Ito (US 2009/0019191).
Regarding Claim 9, Sakai teaches an image processing apparatus (Paragraph 20), comprising:
an operation receiver configured to receive a predetermined operation (Element 60 and paragraphs 28 and 34, wherein there is an operation screen);
a first communication interface connectable with an external device (Paragraph 59, wherein an external memory can be used);
a controller (Paragraph 26, wherein there is a control device) configured to:
in response to the operation receiver receiving the predetermined operation when the first communication interface is not connected with the external device, perform a first imaging process (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein it is determined if the USB and external device are connected. If they are not connected then only button one is shown and therefore processing occurs according to button one);
in response to connection of the first communication interface with the external device, assign a function to perform a second imaging process to the operation receiver, the second imaging process being different from the first imaging process (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein it is determined if the USB and external device are connected. If they USB device is connected than a new button is shown as shown between the differences between figs. 2-4); and
in response to the operation receiver receiving the predetermined operation when the first communication interface is connected with the external device, perform the second imaging process using the external device (Paragraphs 65-67, wherein as long as the USB memory is present, the second button is already present and determined if it is pressed to perform the functions. It is noted that the imaging process is performed in response to the predetermined operation. The predetermined operation would be the interaction with the corresponding button).
Sakai does not teach an indicator provided separately from the operation receiver, the indicator configured to indicate a predetermined notification;
control the indicator to indicate the function currently assigned to the operation receiver.
Ito does teach an indicator provided separately from the operation receiver, the indicator configured to indicate a predetermined notification (CLD1-CLD3 and paragraph 186, wherein if the USB is loaded, connected, then the lights are enabled);
control the indicator to indicate the function currently assigned to the operation receiver (CLD1-CLD3 and paragraph 186, wherein if the USB is loaded, connected, then the lights are enabled).
Sakai and Ito are combinable because they both deal with controlling connection of USB storage with an MFP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Ito for the purpose of easily identifying proper connection of the preferred USB for the user (Ito: Paragraph 196).
Regarding Claim 19, Ito further teaches wherein the indicator is a light emitting diode (CLD1-CLD3 and paragraph 186, wherein if the USB is loaded, connected, then the lights are enabled, which are LEDs).
Sakai and Ito are combinable because they both deal with controlling connection of USB storage with an MFP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sakai with the teachings of Ito for the purpose of easily identifying proper connection of the preferred USB for the user (Ito: Paragraph 196).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699