DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A in the reply filed on 3/6/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-4 & 8-12 are examined on the merits. Claims 1 & 9 are independent.
Claims 5-7 and 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B-D, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 & 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re Claim 1, in the second clause, “a a main body region” should be “a main body region.” Additionally, Claim 1 recites “[a] tampon applicator, comprising: a tampon…” where it is believed that “a tampon” refers to an absorbent pledget. However, a tampon applicator is generally understood to be a hollow tubular device, and an absorbent pledget is not part of the applicator. Examiner recommends changing “tampon applicator” to “tampon assembly.”
Subsequently, the “tampon applicator” in the preamble of Claims 2-4 & 8 should also be changed to “tampon assembly.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-10, 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,898,391 in view of Seki (US 2011/0273727). Said patented claims 1, 6, & 11 recite all details of the current claim 9, except that the outer sleeve having an outer sleeve coupler and the inner outer sleeve having an inner sleeve coupler that includes a flange. Seki discloses a tampon applicator having telescoping plunger formed of outer and inner sleeves wherein the outer sleeve has an outer sleeve coupler and the inner sleeve has an inner sleeve coupler (details of the coupling are shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify with Seki since it is necessary to have a plunger that is strong enough and long enough to push a tampon pledget out of the tampon applicator barrel. Patented claim 6 also recites the limitation in current claim 10. Limitations of current claim 12, regarding the structures of the outer sleeve couple and the inner sleeve coupler, can be found in Seki’s Fig. 3.
Claims 9-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,245 in view of Seki. Said patented claims 1, 6, & 11 recite all details of the current claim 9, except that the outer sleeve having an outer sleeve coupler and the inner outer sleeve having an inner sleeve coupler that includes a flange. Seki discloses a tampon applicator having telescoping plunger formed of outer and inner sleeves wherein the outer sleeve has an outer sleeve coupler and the inner sleeve has an inner sleeve coupler (details of the coupling are shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify with Seki since it is necessary to have a plunger that is strong enough and long enough to push a tampon pledget out of the tampon applicator barrel. Patented claim 6 also recites the limitation in current claim 10. Patented claim 1 also recites the limitation in current claim 11. Limitations of current Claim 12, regarding the structures of the outer sleeve couple and the inner sleeve coupler, can be found in Seki’s Fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seki et al. (US 2011/0273727).
Re Claim 9, Seki discloses a tampon applicator (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a barrel (outer cylinder 40) barrel extending lengthwise between a plunger end (at annular rib 46) and an insertion end (where leading side opening 43 is located), the barrel including a grip region (minor diameter part 42), a main body region (major diameter part 41), a plurality of petals (petaloid parts 44) disposed between the insertion end and the main body region (Figs. 1-2) and an interior cavity (where cotton body 21 is located, e.g., Fig. 1); and
a telescoping two-piece plunger (inner cylinder 50) that includes an outer sleeve (first inner cylinder 51) and an inner sleeve (second inner cylinder 52), the outer sleeve having an outer sleeve coupler (annular protrusion 51b, best seen in Fig. 3), the outer sleeve coupler including a tab (the protrusion is broadly interpreted to be a tab), and the inner sleeve having an inner sleeve coupler (arcuate flange part 52a & protruded part 52b), the inner sleeve coupler including a flange (52a) wherein the sleeves are selectively actuable into a deployed configuration in which the inner and outer sleeves are combined into a unitary member (as shown in Fig. 2) such that the sleeves are locked together ([0089]), and wherein the inner sleeve has a stem portion with a length (portion of 52 excluding the flared part 52c) and a digit portion (flared part 52c).
Re Claim 12, Seki discloses claim 9, and further disclosing wherein the inner sleeve coupler further comprises a second flange (52b), wherein the sleeves are selectively actuable into a deployed configuration in which the inner and outer sleeves are combined into a unitary member such that the tab is between the flange and the second flange (clearly shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki.
Re Claim 11, Seki discloses claim 9 and further discloses a tampon (cotton body 21) but does not expressly disclose the tampon having a length that is substantially equal to the length of the stem portion of the inner sleeve. However, as long as the tampon can still be pushed out by the plunger, mere changes to either the tampon length or the inner sleeve stem portion length requires only routine skills in the art. Since the only difference between the Seki and the claim is a recitation of relative dimensions, and the claim does not recite how the claimed device would perform differently than the Seki device, the claimed relative dimensions would not patentably distinguish the claimed device from that of Seki. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 & 8 are allowed.
Claim 10 contains allowable subject matter. Please note the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of Claim 10, as explained supra.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 1, Seki discloses a tampon assembly that is similar to the claimed invention. However, Seki fails to disclose that an inner sleeve of a telescopic plunger has a stem portion length that is substantially equal to the length of the tampon pledget and wherein a full stroke travel of the plunger is equal to the stem portion length. While it may be obvious to modify Seki such that the inner sleeve stem portion has a length equal to that of the tampon, Seki fails to disclose, inter alia, wherein a full stroke travel of the plunger is equal to the stem portion length. Looking at Fig. 2 of Seki, it is shown that a full stroke (distance of plunger travel in order to push the tampon out of the barrel) is approximately equal to the outer sleeve length plug the inner sleeve stem portion length, because inner sleeve flare end (52c) would be stopped by grip region (42) of the barrel, thus completing a full stroke. If the full stroke of Seki is modified/shortened to be only the stem portion length of the inner sleeve, the tampon would still be partially retained within the applicator barrel and thus rendering the applicator ineffective for its intended purposes.
Claims 2-4 & 8 are allowable for being dependent from Claim 1.
Claim 10 is allowable for the same reason as stated in Claim 1.
Conclusion
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 27 March 2026