DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species V in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged. As best understood, the traversal is on the ground(s) that figures 1-7 are effectively generic to species V, and aspects of the subject matter of figs. 1-7 is described in claims 1-20, so thus all claims need to be examined together because species I and V need to be examined together. While it is agreed that the species shown in figs. 21-30 can be used in the shock of figs. 1-5, Species V is directed to a crossover bumper with a specific construction, and claims 1-8 and 14-19 do not describe the crossover bumper of figs. 21-30. Additionally, species I is primarily directed to the spring coupler rather than the details of the crossover bumper.
Claim 1 recites, “a first ring… that defines a central opening, an inside diameter and an outside diameter”. The multi-portion backer ring 202 of figs. 21-30 does not do this, because a single portion (such as shown in fig. 29) does not “define a central opening” as claimed in claim 1, nor does it “define an inside diameter”, as the piece is merely “c-shaped”. Accordingly, claims 1-8 are not readable on the elected species. Additionally, claims 14-19 are not directed to a crossover bumper but rather a spring coupler, so claims 14-19 are also not readable on the elected species. The only remaining claims that are readable on the elected species are claims 9-13 and 20.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-8 and 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/29/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/18/2024 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) for the following informalities:
Reference characters “112” and “114” have both been used to designate a tender spring (see pgh. 0065-0066).
Reference characters “118” and “120” have both been used to designate a crossover ring (see pgh. 0089).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kerr et al. (U.S. 2013/0038005).
Regarding claim 9, Kerr discloses (figs. 2-4) A crossover bumper (82) for damping noise in a dual-spring shock absorber (20) that includes a shock body (40/50), a spring coupler (45/48) and a crossover ring (58) , comprising:
a first multi-portion backer ring (72) comprising a first material (pgh. 0052, “steel”), including: a first semi-circular portion (78a) having a first end and a second end (circumferential ends), and a second semi-circular portion (78b) having a first end and a second end (circumferential ends), the first end of the second semi-circular portion connectable to the first end of the first semi-circular portion (as shown), and the second end of the second semi-circular portion connectable to the second end of the first semi-circular portion (as shown), such that the first semi-circular portion and the second semi-circular portion are connectable to form a ring shape (pgh. 0052, “ring-like design”); and
a second multi-portion damper ring (82) comprising a second material (pgh. 0057, e.g. rubber), the second material being different from the first material (see above), the second multi-portion including: a first semi-circular portion (88a) configured to connect to the first semi-circular portion of the first multi-portion ring (as shown), and a second semi-circular portion (88b) configured to connect to the second semi-circular portion of the first multi-portion ring (as shown).
Regarding claim 20, Kerr discloses (figs. 2-4) A dual-spring shock absorber including the crossover bumper of claim 9 (see figs and rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerr et al. (U.S. 2013/0038005) in view of Smith (U.S. 2015/0308536).
Regarding claim 10, Kerr does not appear to disclose a channel in the first multi-portion backer ring. 10. In the same field of endeavor of shock absorbers, Smith teaches (figs. 2-5) a multi-piece bumper (20) including first multi-piece backer ring (22/24) and a damper ring 40 connected to the top, wherein the first multi-portion backer ring defines a channel (42), and a portion of the damper ring is configured to fit into the channel (as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a channel in the backer ring for the damper to be fit into to aid in alignment of the damper ring with the backer ring during installation, as the channel aids in centering the damper ring on the backer ring, and also to increase the surface area of the damper ring contacting the backer ring, thereby improving sealing properties.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerr et al. (U.S. 2013/0038005) in view of Pniewski et al. (U.S. 2023/0191865).
Regarding claims 11-13, Kerr discloses a connection between the first ends of the two semi-circular portions, but does not appear to disclose this connection being a snap-fit connection, and instead discloses the connection being by a series of screws (90) that also interact with the damper. In the same field of endeavor of suspension systems, Pniewski teaches (figs. 2A-2B) a damping ring (55) with two pieces (55A,55B), wherein a connection formed between them forms a snap-fit connection (at 56,58), wherein the first end of the first semi-circular portion of the backer ring defines a tapered thickness (e.g. one of 56/58, tapered at a single step) and the first end of the second semi-circular ring of the backer ring defines a tapered thickness (as shown, both pieces have it), and the first ends are configured to overlap when connected to one another (fig. 2B as shown), wherein an arc length of the first semi-circular portion of the backer ring extends longer than 180 (as shown) degrees.
In order to arrive at the claimed invention, the connection between the two backer ring portions (78a/78b) would be carried out by the snap fit connection instead of the screws (90). As a result, the backer ring has the snap connection for its two connections, and the two pieces of the damping ring are still screwed into the backer ring. As modified, the sections of the backer ring are longer than an arc length of the first semi-circular portion of the damper ring, because the portions of the damper ring are each half a circle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a snap fit connection for the backer ring sections of Kerr to minimize the number of parts, thus eliminating the need for 4 screws, and also decreasing the amount of time required to assemble the backer ring.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose various damper rings and crossover rings for shock absorbers.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616