Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana (hereinafter Obana ‘668).
Concerning claim 1,
Obana ‘668 discloses an information processing device that is connected, in a wireless or wired manner (0138), to an input device including a left-side holding part having a left-side vibrator and a right-side holding part having a right-side vibrator (0100-0108), the information processing device comprising:
one or more processors having hardware, wherein the one or more processors arrange a focus in a screen, receive directional input transmitted from the input device (0125), move the focus on a basis of the received directional input, and cause the left-side vibrator and/or the right-side vibrator to vibrate according to the movement of the focus (0049-0051, wherein a focus is considered to be equivalent to the object described in the art).
Concerning claim 2,
Obana ‘668 discloses one or more processors cause the left-side vibrator and/or the right-side vibrator to vibrate according to a moving direction of the focus (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 3,
Obana ‘668 discloses one or more processors cause the left-side vibrator to vibrate in a case where the focus is moved to a left direction in the screen and cause the right-side vibrator to vibrate in a case where the focus is moved to a right direction in the screen (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 5,
Obana ‘668 discloses one or more processors cause the left-side vibrator to vibrate at a first vibration intensity according to a position to which the focus is moved, and cause the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a second vibration intensity according to the position (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 6,
Obana ‘668 discloses the more the focus is moved to a left direction in the screen, the higher the one or more processors set the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator and the lower the one or more processors set the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator, and the more the focus is moved to a right direction in the screen, the higher the one or more processors set the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator and the lower the one or more processors set the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 8,
Obana ‘668 discloses one or more processors arrange the focus at one selected display element among a plurality of display elements displayed on the screen and move the focus to another display element on the basis of the received directional input (0088-0091, Figure 5).
Concerning claim 11,
Obana ‘668 discloses a method of controlling vibration of a vibrator in an information processing device that is connected, in a wireless or wired manner (0138), to an input device including a left-side holding part having a left-side vibrator and a right-side holding part having a right-side vibrator (0100-0108), the method comprising:
arranging a focus in a screen; receiving directional input transmitted from the input device (0125); moving the focus on a basis of the received directional input; and causing the left-side vibrator and/or the right-side vibrator to vibrate according to the movement of the focus (0049-0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana in view of US Publication 2017/0361223 A1 to Gohara (hereinafter Gohara).
Concerning claim 4,
Obana ‘668 does not disclose one or more processors cause the left-side vibrator and the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a first vibration intensity in a case where the focus is moved to an upper direction in the screen, and cause the left-side vibrator and the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a second vibration intensity different from the first vibration intensity in a case where the focus is moved to a lower direction in the screen.
Gohara teaches one or more processors cause the left-side vibrator and the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a first vibration intensity in a case where the focus is moved to an upper direction in the screen, and cause the left-side vibrator and the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a second vibration intensity different from the first vibration intensity in a case where the focus is moved to a lower direction in the screen (0198-0199).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the vibration feedback based on an object moving in the up-down direction as described in Gohara in the haptic apparatus described in Obana ‘668 to create a haptic feedback controller with improved directional feedback.
Concerning claim 7,
Obana ‘668 does not disclose the more the focus is moved to an upper direction in the screen, the higher the one or more processors set the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator and the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator, and the more the focus is moved to a lower direction in the screen, the lower the one or more processors set the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator and the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator.
Gohara teaches the more the focus is moved to an upper direction in the screen, the higher the one or more processors set the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator and the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator, and the more the focus is moved to a lower direction in the screen, the lower the one or more processors set the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator and the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator (0198-0199).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the vibration feedback based on an object moving in the up-down direction as described in Gohara in the haptic apparatus described in Obana ‘668 to create a haptic feedback controller with improved directional feedback.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana in view of US Publication 2015/0263685 A1 to Obana (hereinafter Obana ‘685).
Concerning claim 9,
Obana ‘668 does not disclose one or more processors arrange a slider indicating a selected position as a focus on a bar displayed on the screen.
Obana ‘685 teaches one or more processors arrange a slider indicating a selected position as a focus on a bar displayed on the screen (0058, 0060, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the slider as described in Obana ‘685 in the haptic apparatus described in Obana ‘668 as the slider would be a reasonable visual indicator to display the movement of the object.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana in view of US Publication 2016/0007095 A1 to Lacroix (hereinafter Lacroix).
Concerning claim 10,
Obana ‘668 does not disclose one or more processors differentiate a maximum value of a vibration intensity of the vibrators applied when the focus is moved on a first screen from a maximum value of the vibration intensity of the vibrators applied when the focus is moved on a second screen.
Lacroix teaches one or more processors differentiate a maximum value of a vibration intensity of the vibrators applied when the focus is moved on a first screen from a maximum value of the vibration intensity of the vibrators applied when the focus is moved on a second screen (0068-0071).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second screen consideration when considering haptic feedback as described in Lacroix to the haptic apparatus described in Obana ‘668 to improve the fidelity of haptic feedback to an object as it moves.
Conclusion
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715