Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 18-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 11, 18-19, 21-22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2004/0221243 A1 to Twerdahl et al. (hereinafter Twerdahl) in view of US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana (hereinafter Obana ‘668).
Concerning claim 1,
Twerdahl discloses an information processing device comprising: one or more processors having hardware (0027, 0031), wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform operations comprising:
causing a menu screen to be presented in a user interface of a display device, wherein the menu screen comprises a plurality of icons and a focus display element at a first position of a first icon of the plurality of icons, wherein the focus display element indicates that the first icon is in a selected state (0021-0022);
receiving directional input transmitted from an input device that is communicatively coupled to the information processing device (0021-0022);
moving, based on the directional input, the focus display element from the first position to a second position of a second icon of the plurality of icons (0021-0022); and
while the focus display element is positioned at the second position, executing an application associated with the second icon (0021-0022).
Twerdahl discloses tactile feedback while interacting, navigating, and selecting menu display items (0021-0022, 0027, 0029).
Twerdahl does not clearly disclose concurrently with moving the focus display element, causing a left-side vibrator of a left-side holding part of the input device and/or a right-side vibrator of a right-side holding part of the input device to vibrate according to the moving of the focus display element.
Obana ‘668 teaches concurrently with moving the focus display element, causing a left-side vibrator of a left-side holding part of the input device and/or a right-side vibrator of a right-side holding part of the input device to vibrate according to the moving of the focus display element (0049-0051, wherein a focus is considered to be equivalent to the object described in the art).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the haptic feedback mechanism of Obana ‘668 with the menu navigation apparatus of Twerdahl as both disclose haptic feedback outputs based on user inputs. Incorporating the left/right vibration mechanism of Obana ‘668 would allow the user to feel tactile feedback directionally while navigating the menu of Twerdahl, improving the user’s experience.
Concerning claim 2,
Obana ‘668 teaches causing the left-side vibrator and/or the right-side vibrator to vibrate according to a moving direction of the focus display element. (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 3,
Obana ‘668 teaches causing the left-side vibrator to vibrate in a case where the focus display element is moved to a left direction in the menu screen and cause the right-side vibrator to vibrate in a case where the focus display element is moved to a right direction in the menu screen (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 5,
Obana ‘668 teaches causing the left-side vibrator to vibrate at a first vibration intensity according to a position to which the focus display element is moved; and causing the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a second vibration intensity according to the position (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 6,
Obana ‘668 teaches when the focus display element is moved to a left direction in the menu screen, increasing the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator and decreasing the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator; and when the focus display element is moved to a right direction in the menu screen, increasing the second vibration intensity of the right- side vibrator and decreasing the first vibration intensity of the left-side vibrator (0049-0051, 0100-0108).
Concerning claim 8,
Twerdahl discloses arranging the focus display element at one selected display element among a plurality of display elements displayed in the user interface; and moving the focus display element to another display element based on the directional input (0021-0022).
Concerning claim 11, 18-19, 21-22, and 24, see the rejection of claim 1-3, 5-6, and 8 respectively.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2004/0221243 A1 to Twerdahl et al. in view of US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana and further in view of US Publication 2017/0361223 A1 to Gohara (hereinafter Gohara).
Concerning claim 4,
Gohara teaches causing the left-side vibrator and the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a first vibration intensity in a case where the focus display element is moved to an upper direction in the menu screen; and causing the left-side vibrator and the right-side vibrator to vibrate at a second vibration intensity different from the first vibration intensity in a case where the focus display element is moved to a lower direction in the menu screen (0198-0199).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the haptic feedback mechanism of Gohara with the menu navigation apparatus of Twerdahl as both disclose haptic feedback outputs based on user inputs. Incorporating the up/down vibration mechanism of Gohara would allow the user to feel tactile feedback directionally while navigating the menu of Twerdahl, improving the user’s experience.
Concerning claim 7,
Gohara teaches when the focus display element is moved to an upper direction in the menu screen, increasing the first vibration intensity of the left- side vibrator and the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator; and when the focus display element is moved to a lower direction in the menu screen, decreasing the first vibration intensity of the left- side vibrator and the second vibration intensity of the right-side vibrator (0198-0199).
Gohara teaches two controllers with two vibrational motors which can either increase or decrease in strength as up/down direction is inputted. There are only 4 vibrational behaviors possible for the 2 controllers in response to the up/down input (increase/increase, increase/decrease, decrease/increase, decrease/decrease). For this reason, it would have been obvious to try to increase the intensity of the right and left vibration motors when an up input is entered, and decrease the intensity of the right and left vibration motors when a down input is entered.
Concerning claim 20 and 23, see the rejection of claim 4 and 7 respectively.
Claim(s) 9 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2004/0221243 A1 to Twerdahl et al. in view of US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana and further in view of US Publication 2015/0263685 A1 to Obana (hereinafter Obana ‘685).
Concerning claim 9,
Obana ‘685 teaches arranging a slider indicating a selected position as the focus display element on a bar presented in the user interface (0058, 0060, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the slider as described in Obana ‘685 in the menu navigation apparatus of Twerdahl as both disclose haptic feedback outputs based on user inputs. Adding the slider of Obana ‘685 to the menu navigation apparatus of Twerdahl would allow for greater functionality to the graphical user element by providing a visual indicator to display the selected position of volume magnitude.
Concerning claim 25, see the rejection of claim 9.
Claim(s) 10 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2004/0221243 A1 to Twerdahl et al. in view of US Publication 2015/0209668 A1 to Obana and further in view of US Publication 2016/0007095 A1 to Lacroix (hereinafter Lacroix).
Concerning claim 10,
Lacroix teaches one or more processors differentiate a maximum value of a vibration intensity of the vibrators applied when the focus is moved on a first screen from a maximum value of the vibration intensity of the vibrators applied when the focus is moved on a second screen (0068-0071).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the haptic feedback mechanism of Lacroix with the menu navigation apparatus of Twerdahl as both disclose haptic feedback outputs based on user inputs. Incorporating the vibration mechanism across multiple devices mechanism of Lacroix into the menu navigation apparatus of Twerdahl would allow for users with a second screen to have consideration of the additional device, improving the user’s experience.
Concerning claim 26, see the rejection of claim 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715