Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 with generic claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species definition of Species 4 from the examiner is incorrect. This is not found persuasive. Although the examiner did not include certain aspects of species 4, it does not negate or take away the existence of species 4. The species definition is a synopsis to denote the patentable distinct characteristics over each other as read in the specification by examiner (Please see MPEP 806.04). Although there may be other limitations in species 4, the examiner did not see the necessity to include these limitations to differentiate species 4 from the other species. Therefore this argument is moot.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/18/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawase (JP 2006240209 A) in view of Koase (US 20080068411 A1) and Harris et al. (US 5949453 A).
Kawase discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 1, A recording apparatus (“printer 1”, Figure 1), comprising:
a head (“head 20”, Figure 3) including a nozzle surface having a plurality of nozzles (“nozzles 45”, Figure 5), the head being configured to discharge liquid from the plurality of nozzles (Paragraph [0036] “the head 20 has 128 nozzles 45 that eject ink”.);
a carriage (“carriage 25”, Figure 3) on which the head is mounted (Paragraph [0036], “the head 20 attached to the carriage 25”), the carriage being movable in a scanning direction (Paragraph [0026] describes how the “carriage 25” moves along the “guide shaft 26” in a direction for scanning onto the “paper 9”.);
a relative-movement device (“mechanism control part 58”, Figure 6) configured to move the head and a recording medium relatively to each other in a relative-movement direction, the relative-movement direction intersecting with the scanning direction (Paragraph [0040] describes how the “mechanism control unit 58” includes the “print control unit 59” and a “paper conveyance unit 60” as displayed in Figure 6.);
a first reservoir (“black tank 11d”, Figure 2) and a second reservoir (“yellow tank 11c”, Figure 2) configured to contain the liquid (Paragraph [0024] describes how the “tanks 11” contain inks.); and
a controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 6),
wherein the plurality of nozzles (“nozzles 45”, Figure 5) form:
a first nozzle row including a plurality of first nozzles connected to the first reservoir (Figure 6 displays how the “nozzle group 20a” is connected to the “black tank 11d”.), the plurality of first nozzles being aligned along an aligning direction, the aligning direction intersecting with a scan-projection direction (Figure 5 displays how the “nozzles 45” are arranged in rows that are perpendicular to the direction the “head 20” is moved on the “guide shaft 20” to print of the “paper 9”.), the scan-projection direction being a direction in which the scanning direction is projected on the nozzle surface (Paragraph [0048] describes a direction perpendicular to the “paper transport direction” that the “head 20” performs printing on the “paper 9”.); and
a second nozzle row including a plurality of second nozzles connected to the second reservoir (Figure 6 displays the “nozzle group 20c” is connected to the “yellow tank 11c”.), the plurality of second nozzles being aligned along the aligning direction (Figure 5 displays how the “nozzles 45” are arranged in rows that are perpendicular to the direction the “head 20” is moved on the “guide shaft 26” to print of the “paper 9”.),
wherein the first nozzle row and the second nozzle row are located apart from each other in the scan-projection direction (Paragraph [0036] describes how the “nozzle group 20a” belongs to the “A row” of the “head 20” and the “nozzle group 20c” belongs to a different row, the “B row”.),
wherein, in a relative-movement projection direction in which the relative-movement direction is projected on the nozzle surface (Figure --- displays the direction the “guide shaft 26” leads the “head 20” to be projected from the surface of the “head 20”.), and
wherein the controller is configured to repeat one of,
under a condition where the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain liquids of different types (Paragraph [0048] describes where the “nozzle groups 20a, 20b, 20c, and 20d” contain and discharge different colors of inks.), a set of a multiple-liquids recording pass (Figure 7 displays a “four color mode 77” ), in which the controller controls the carriage to move in the scanning direction and the head to discharge the liquids of the different types from the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles (Paragraphs [0048] describe how the “head 20” moves along the “guide shaft 26” in the direction perpendicular to the “sheet conveyance direction” the “sheet 9” is conveyed.), and a first relative-movement action (“Step S15”, Figure 10), in which the controller controls the relative-movement device to move the head and the recording medium relatively in the relative-movement direction (Paragraph [0064] describes how the “mechanism control unit 58” is set so that the “top margin 46” of the “paper 9” is set in “Step S15” which can be seen in Figure 8A), and
under a condition where the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain a liquid of a same type (Paragraph [0050] describes when the “nozzle groups 20a, 20b, 20c, and 20d” contain and eject the same color ink.), a set of a single-liquid recording pass (Figure 7 displays the “monochrome mode 76” that is chosen when the “nozzle groups 20a, 20b, 20c, and 20d” eject the same color ink described in paragraph [0050].), in which the controller controls the carriage to move in the scanning direction and the head to discharge the liquid of the same type from the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles (Paragraph [0050] describes how the “head 20”, and therefore the “carriage 25”, move along the “guide shaft 26” in “the direction perpendicular to the paper transport direction”.), and a second relative-movement action (“Step S15”, Figure 10), in which the controller controls the relative-movement device to move the head and the recording medium relatively in the relative-movement direction (Paragraph [0064] describes how the “mechanism control unit 58” is set so that the “top margin 46” of the “paper 9” is set in “Step S15” which can be seen in Figure 8A).
Regarding claim 2, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles are located at same positions in the aligning directions, and the aligning direction is a direction intersecting with both the scan-projection direction and the relative-movement projection direction on the nozzle surface (Figure 5 displays how the “nozzles 45” are arranged in rows that are perpendicular to the direction the “head 20” is moved on the “guide shaft 20” to print of the “paper 9”. Furthermore, Figure 4 displays the direction the “guide shaft 26” leads the “head 20” in a direction projected from the surface of the “head 20”.).
Regarding claim 3, The recording apparatus according to claim 2, wherein an exterior shape of the head is a rectangle (Figure 5 displays the “head 20” with the exterior shape as a rectangle.) having a pair of opposing sides extending in parallel to the aligning direction (Figure 5 displays the long sides of the rectangular “head 20” to be parallel with the nozzle rows that are arranged in the aligning direction.) in a view along a direction intersecting orthogonally with both the scan-projection direction and the relative-movement projection direction (Figure 5 displays how the “nozzles 45” are arranged in rows that are perpendicular to the direction the “head 20” is moved on the “guide shaft 20” to print of the “paper 9” which functions both as the scanning direction and the relative-movement projection direction.).
Regarding claim 7, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first reservoir and the second reservoir are liquid cartridges detachably attached to the recording apparatus (Figure 4 displays how the “ink cartridge 10” that holds the “tanks 11” can be mounted and detached as described in paragraph [0023].).
Regarding claim 9, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first reservoir and the second reservoir are liquid tanks (Figure 2 displays several ink tanks known as “cyan tank 11a”, “magenta tank 11b”, “yellow tank 11c”, and a “black tank 11d”.), each having a refilling port for refilling a respective one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir with one of the liquids of the different types and the same type (Figure 2 displays how each “ink tank 11” includes an “ink supply port 12”.).
Regarding claim 10, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a selection-signal receiver configured to receive a selection signal from a user (Figure 6 displays an “acquiring unit 51” that acquires the type of mode the “printer 1” is to be set as by the “host computer (computer) 50” as described in paragraph [0039].), the selection signal indicating a selection from the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action and the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action (Paragraph [0039] describes how the “host computer 50” selects the mode the “printer 1” should be set to, either the “monochrome or four-color specification mode”.), wherein the controller is configured to repeat one of the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action and the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action indicated in the selection signal received by the selection-signal receiver (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “single color mode 76” or the “four color mode 77”. If the “ink cartridge 10” does match the mode, the “paper 9” and “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “single color mode” printing job. If the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77”, the “paper 9” and the “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “four color mode” printing job.).
Regarding claim 11, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 3) is configured to, under a condition where the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain inks in different colors, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative- movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describes a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77” or the “single color mode 76”. If the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77”, the “paper 9” and the “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “four color mode” printing job.), and under a condition where the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain ink in a same color, repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “single color mode 76” or the “four color mode 77”. If the “ink cartridge 10” does match the mode, the “paper 9” and “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “single color mode” printing job.).
Kawase does not teach the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 1, each of the plurality of second nozzles except one of the plurality of second nozzles located on an end of the second nozzle row on one side in the aligning direction is located between two of the plurality of first nozzles adjoining in the aligning direction, and each of the plurality of first nozzles except one of the plurality of first nozzles located on an end of the first nozzle row on the other side in the aligning direction is located between two of the plurality of second nozzles adjoining in the aligning direction, and a resolution of an image in the relative-movement direction recorded in the single-liquid recording pass being higher than a resolution of an image in the relative-movement direction recorded in the multiple- liquids recording pass.
Koase teaches the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 1, each of the plurality of second nozzles except one of the plurality of second nozzles located on an end of the second nozzle row on one side in the aligning direction is located between two of the plurality of first nozzles adjoining in the aligning direction (Figure 6 displays how the plurality of nozzles, except for the last nozzle on the opposite side, of the “second nozzle group 440” are between the nozzles of the “first nozzle row 410” as described in paragraph [0117]), and each of the plurality of first nozzles except one of the plurality of first nozzles located on an end of the first nozzle row on the other side in the aligning direction is located between two of the plurality of second nozzles adjoining in the aligning direction (Figure 6 displays how the plurality of nozzles, except for the first nozzle, of the “first nozzle row 410” are between the nozzles of the “second nozzle group 440” as described in paragraph [0117]),
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply how each of the plurality of second nozzles except one of the plurality of second nozzles located on an end of the second nozzle row on one side in the aligning direction is located between two of the plurality of first nozzles adjoining in the aligning direction, and each of the plurality of first nozzles except one of the plurality of first nozzles located on an end of the first nozzle row on the other side in the aligning direction is located between two of the plurality of second nozzles adjoining in the aligning direction taught by Koase for the purpose of having the formed dots be ejected at predetermined pitch (Koase, paragraphs [0008]-[0009]).
Harris teaches the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a resolution of an image in the relative-movement direction recorded in the single-liquid recording pass being higher than a resolution of an image in the relative-movement direction recorded in the multiple- liquids recording pass (Claim 1 describes a “first print resolution” that is printed by a single pass which is greater than the “second print resolution” that is printed by color printing. “a higher base printhead resolution is provided for monochrome printing and a lower base printhead resolution is provided for color printing”).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply the resolution of an image in the relative-movement direction recorded in the single-liquid recording pass being higher than a resolution of an image in the relative-movement direction recorded in the multiple- liquids recording pass taught by Harris for the purpose of expanding the capabilities of the printer to achieve high quality printing (Harris, Column 2, lines 19-26).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kawase, Koase, and Harris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie (US 8740331 B2).
Kawase discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 4, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 3) is configured to control the head to discharge the liquids of the different types in the multiple-liquids recording pass and to discharge the liquid of the same type in the single-liquid recording pass from the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles(Figure 9 displays a flow chart that the “control unit 36” executes including whether the “printer 1” discharges the ink in a “single color mode 76” or a “four color mode 77”.)
Regarding claim 5, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 3) is configured to control the head to discharge the liquids of the different types in the multiple-liquids recording pass and to discharge the liquid of the same type in the single-liquid recording pass from the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles (Figure 9 displays a flow chart that the “control unit 36” executes including whether the “printer 1” discharges the ink in a “single color mode 76” or a “four color mode 77”.)
Kawase fails to teach the following limitations:
Regarding claim 4, in an arrangement such that a size of each dot formed on the recording medium in the multiple-liquids recording pass is greater than or equal to a size of each dot formed on the recording medium in the single-liquid recording pass.
Regarding claim 5, in an arrangement such that an amount of the liquid discharged from each of the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles in the multiple-liquids recording pass is greater than or equal to an amount of the liquid discharged from each of the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles in the single-liquid recording pass.
Xie teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 4, an arrangement such that a size of each dot formed on the recording medium in the multiple-liquids recording pass is greater than or equal to a size of each dot formed on the recording medium in the single-liquid recording pass (Figure 2 displays the drop volume of a “single drop printing” being less than the volume of the “multiple drop volume printing”. With the volume of the “single drop volume printing” being less than the “multiple drop volume printing”, it would be obvious for the size of the dot to also be small for a “single drop volume printing”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply the arrangement such that a size of each dot formed on the recording medium in the multiple-liquids recording pass is greater than or equal to a size of each dot formed on the recording medium in the single-liquid recording pass taught by Xie for the purpose of increasing image quality (Xie, Column 1, lines 43-50).
Regarding claim 5, an arrangement such that an amount of the liquid discharged from each of the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles in the multiple-liquids recording pass is greater than or equal to an amount of the liquid discharged from each of the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles in the single-liquid recording pass (Figure 2 displays the drop volume of a “single drop printing” being less than the volume of the “multiple drop volume printing”. With the volume of the “single drop volume printing” being less than the “multiple drop volume printing”, it would be obvious for the size of the dot to also be small for a “single drop volume printing”.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply an arrangement such that an amount of the liquid discharged from each of the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles in the multiple-liquids recording pass is greater than or equal to an amount of the liquid discharged from each of the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles in the single-liquid recording pass taught by Xie for the purpose of increasing image quality (Xie, Column 1, lines 43-50).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kawase, Koase, and Harris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sudo et al. (US 7484821 B2) and Koase (US 20080068411 A1).
Kawase discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 6, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 3).
Kawase fails to teach the following limitations:
Regarding claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action in an arrangement such that the liquids of the different types discharged from one of the plurality of first nozzles and one of the plurality of second nozzles are aimed at a spot to overlap one another to form a pixel on the recording medium, and the controller is configured to repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action in an arrangement such that the liquid of the same type discharged from the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles are aimed at different spots to form different pixels on the recording medium.
Sudo teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action in an arrangement such that the liquids of the different types discharged from one of the plurality of first nozzles and one of the plurality of second nozzles are aimed at a spot to overlap one another to form a pixel on the recording medium (Figure 7 displays the invention of “multicolor printing” where the “dots” formed from the nozzles overlap as described in column 9, lines 14-20.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply the wherein the controller is configured to repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action in an arrangement such that the liquids of the different types discharged from one of the plurality of first nozzles and one of the plurality of second nozzles are aimed at a spot to overlap one another to form a pixel on the recording medium taught by Sudo for the purpose of suppressing the ejection characteristics of ink from each of the nozzle rows are less noticeable (Sudo, Column 5, lines2-3).
Koase teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action in an arrangement such that the liquid of the same type discharged from the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles are aimed at different spots to form different pixels on the recording medium (Figure 8 displays the dots from the “first nozzle row 410” shown as “1” do not overflow with the dots effected from the “second nozzle group 440” shown as “2” described in paragraph [0123].)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply the wherein the controller is configured to repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action in an arrangement such that the liquid of the same type discharged from the plurality of first nozzles and the plurality of second nozzles are aimed at different spots to form different pixels on the recording medium taught by Koase for the purpose of having the formed dots be ejected at predetermined pitch (Koase, paragraphs [0008]-[0009]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kawase, Koase, and Harris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kondo (JP 2015231679 A).
Kawase discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 8, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the recording apparatus has information readers, each of which is configured to read the information concerning the type of the liquid contained in the respective one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir (Paragraph [0032] describes how the “printer 1” is capable of determining if the “black monochrome ink cartridge 10” or the “four-color specification ink cartridge 10” is mounted. Therefore, in order for the “printer 1” to perform this function, the “printer 1” must include the hardware, software, circuitry, or functional component configured to execute this step and is therefore inherently disclosed.), and the controller is configured to under a condition where the information read from the information readers indicates that the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain the liquids of the different types, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describes a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77” or the “single color mode 76”. If the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77”, the “paper 9” and the “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “four color mode” printing job.), and under a condition where the information read from the information readers indicates that the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain the liquid of the same type, repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “single color mode 76” or the “four color mode 77”. If the “ink cartridge 10” does match the mode, the “paper 9” and “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “single color mode” printing job.).
Kawase fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first reservoir and the second reservoir each have an IC chip storing information concerning a type of the liquid contained in a respective one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir.
Kondo teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first reservoir and the second reservoir each have an IC chip storing information concerning a type of the liquid contained in a respective one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir (Paragraph [0052] describes how the “liquid level sensor” is provided in the “sub tank 54” to measure the amount of ink of each color that is stored.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply wherein the first reservoir and the second reservoir each have an IC chip storing information concerning a type of the liquid contained in a respective one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir taught by Kondo for the purpose of determining the amount of ink in the tank (Kondo, paragraph [0052]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kawase, Koase, and Harris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US 20180072054 A1).
Kawase teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 12, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 3) is configured to, under a condition, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describes a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77” or the “single color mode 76”. If the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77”, the “paper 9” and the “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “four color mode” printing job.), and under one of conditions where the first reservoir and the second reservoir both contain pigment ink in a same color and where the first reservoir and the second reservoir both contain dye ink in a same color (Paragraph [0038] describes how the invention are suitable to use pigments or dyes), repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative- movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “single color mode 76” or the “four color mode 77”. If the “ink cartridge 10” does match the mode, the “paper 9” and “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “single color mode” printing job.).
Kawase fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 12, where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains pigment ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains dye ink.
Sato teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 12, where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains pigment ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains dye ink (Paragraph [0151] describes how the ink jetted from the “nozzle row 40K” is a pigment ink and the ink jetted from the “nozzle rows 40Y, 40C, and 40M” are dye inks.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply the where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains pigment ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains dye ink taught by Sato for the purpose of having different types of inks.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kawase, Koase, and Harris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hess et al. (US 20020158955 A1).
Kawase discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 13, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 3) is configured to, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describes a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77” or the “single color mode 76”. If the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77”, the “paper 9” and the “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “four color mode” printing job.), and under a condition where the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain ink in a same color, repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “single color mode 76” or the “four color mode 77”. If the “ink cartridge 10” does match the mode, the “paper 9” and “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “single color mode” printing job.).
Kawase fails to teach the following limitations:
Regarding claim 13, under a condition where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains a coating agent, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action.
Hess teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 13, under a condition where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains a coating agent, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action (Figure 3b displays a “coater solution reservoir 66” next to the “refill reservoir 54” as described in paragraph [0058] that is part of the printer that prints with “multiple fluid types”.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply the under a condition where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains a coating agent, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action taught by Inoue for the purpose of temporarily or permanently affixing the printed image to the medium (Hess, paragraph [0043]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kawase, Koase, and Harris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inoue (US 20060214958 A1).
Kawase discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 14, The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (“control unit 36”, Figure 3) is configured to, under a condition, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describes a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77” or the “single color mode 76”. If the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “four color mode 77”, the “paper 9” and the “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “four color mode” printing job.), and under a condition where the first reservoir and the second reservoir contain ink in a same color, repeat the set of the single-liquid recording pass and the second relative-movement action (Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a step the “determination unit 52” of the “control unit 36” follows in determining if the “ink cartridge 10” matches the “single color mode 76” or the “four color mode 77”. If the “ink cartridge 10” does match the mode, the “paper 9” and “head 20” are moved to the “start position 47” that is set for a “single color mode” printing job.).
Kawase fails to teach the following limitations:
Regarding claim 14, where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains a processing liquid, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action,.
Inoue teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 14, where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains a processing liquid, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action, (Paragraph [0085] describes two-liquid type of recording apparatus that includes “ink supply tanks 14K, 14C, 14M, and 14Y” and a “treatment liquid tank 14S” that are separate and ejected separately as shown in Figure 1.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording apparatus taught by Kawase to also apply the under a condition where one of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains ink and the other of the first reservoir and the second reservoir contains a coating agent, repeat the set of the multiple-liquids recording pass and the first relative-movement action taught by Inoue for the purpose of allowing the printer to have the capability of ejecting a treatment or coating agent onto the recording surface of the medium to react to the ejected ink (Inoue, paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853