DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. The claims (claim 15) in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a security detection system configured to subject the individual to security scanning upon entering the interior cabin region; and a communication system configured to interact with people in a vicinity of the vehicle by providing incident related information to the people directly outside the vehicle” in claim 15 (specification, par 0008-0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 is directed to certain methods of organizing human activity (abstract idea). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the following reason(s):
Step 1: Claim 1 recites series of acts for deploying, directing and interacting. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention.
Step 2A, the claimed directing and interacting steps are directed to abstract idea for the reason that these steps are processes found by the courts (e.g. certain methods of organizing human activity) to be abstract ideas in that related to “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)” that can be performed mentally abstract such as certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, the claimed deploying step is directed to abstract idea for the reason that these steps processes found by the courts (e.g. certain methods of organizing human activity) to be abstract ideas in that related to organizing human activity that is insignificant extra-solution activity (Prong One). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Prong Two). Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, the additional limitations left in the claim is “vehicle”. The claimed vehicle is merely device that the judicial exception being applied to. Treating claim 1 as a whole, the additional limitations do not show inventive concept in applying the judicial exception (e.g. improvements to the vehicle) or do not provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, claim 1 as a whole, is not significantly more than the abstract idea itself and is ineligible.
Regarding claims 2-11:
Claims 2-11, respectively, depend on claim 1 and are without significantly more than the judicial exception itself as explained in claim 1. Thus, claims 2-11 are rejected for the same reason as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed to certain methods of organizing human activity (abstract idea). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the following reason(s):
Step 1: Claim 12 recites series of acts for monitoring, uploading and interacting. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention.
Step 2A, the claimed directing and interacting steps are directed to abstract idea for the reason that these steps are processes found by the courts (e.g. certain methods of organizing human activity) to be abstract ideas in that related to “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)” that can be performed mentally abstract such as certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, the claimed monitoring step is directed to abstract idea for the reason that these steps processes found by the courts (e.g. certain methods of organizing human activity) to be abstract ideas in that related to organizing human activity that is insignificant extra-solution activity (Prong One). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Prong Two). Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, the additional limitations left in the claim is “vehicle”. The claimed vehicle is merely device that the judicial exception being applied to. Treating claim 12 as a whole, the additional limitations do not show inventive concept in applying the judicial exception (e.g. improvements to the vehicle) or do not provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, claim 12 as a whole, is not significantly more than the abstract idea itself and is ineligible.
Regarding claims 13-14:
Claims 13-14, respectively, depend on claim 12 and are without significantly more than the judicial exception itself as explained in claim 12. Thus, claims 13-14 are rejected for the same reason as in claim 12.
Double Patenting
9. Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11882510.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 12 defines an obvious variation of the invention claimed in U.S. Patent No. 11882510.
The assignee of all applications of all applications is the same.
Claim 12 of the instant application is anticipated by patent claim 14 in that claim of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 12 of the instant application. Claim 12 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
To the extent that the instant claim is broaden and therefore generic to the claimed invention of U.S. Patent No. 11882510, in re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a co-pending application. For example:
Claims of instant application:
12. A method of interacting with people about an incident involving a mentally challenged, drug controlled, handicapped, incapacitated and/or unpredictable individual using a conflict de-escalation system including a vehicle having at least one door leading to an interior cabin region into which the individual is directed comprising: monitoring an environment of the scene to develop incident related information;
uploading the incident related information to a portal of the conflict de-escalation system; and interacting with non-law enforcement people about the incident by allowing the non-law enforcement people to access the portal through a computer or cellphone app.
Claims of US Patent No. 11882510:
14. A method of interacting with people about an incident involving a mentally challenged, drug controlled, handicapped, incapacitated and/or unpredictable individual using a conflict de-escalation system including a vehicle having at least one door leading to an interior cabin region into which the individual is directed comprising: monitoring an environment of the scene to develop incident related information;
uploading the incident related information to a portal of the conflict de-escalation system, wherein the portal includes separate public and law enforcement portals; and
interacting with the people about the incident by allowing the people to access the portal through a computer or cellphone app.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marron et al. (US 10049419) (hereinafter Marron).
Regarding claims 1 and 15:
As shown in figures 1-3, Marron discloses a method of operating a conflict de-escalation system employing a vehicle having at least one door leading to an interior cabin region (figure 1 shows the vehicle having at least one door leading to an interior cabin region of the vehicle) comprising:
deploying the vehicle to a scene in dealing with an incident involving a mentally challenged, drug controlled, handicapped, incapacitated and/or unpredictable individual (in col 2, line 28-36, Marron teaches “a self-driving vehicle 122 (also referred to as an autonomous vehicle) arrives on scene at 120, where the detained or arrested individual (interpreted to be a mentally challenged, drug controlled, handicapped, incapacitated and/or unpredictable individual) (both shall be referred to as a detainee) is placed into the self-driving vehicle 122 for initial processing. Depending on the type of incident or alleged infraction, the individual may or may not remain handcuffed within the vehicle, but is detained within at least a portion of the vehicle throughout the process, such as a backseat area”);
directing the individual into the interior cabin region (col 2, lines 28-36) such that the vehicle establishes a physical barrier between the individual and others directly outside the vehicle (figure 1, section 3 shows the individual being inside the vehicle, which establishes a physical barrier between the individual and others directly outside the vehicle); and
interacting with people in a vicinity of the vehicle by providing incident related information to the others directly outside the vehicle through the conflict de-escalation system (col 2, lines 51-59 Marron teaches “As air sensors and scanners continue to evolve, the detained individual may simply remain within the vehicle while the tests are processed, analyzed, and results communicated to one or more appropriate recipients. Depending on the status of the detainee's confinement, results may be communicated, over one or more wireless communications networks, to law enforcement, a remote attorney, and/or an on-call judge which may be contacted by the communication as part of the mobile processes and proceedings”).
Also, Marron teaches “a security detection system configured to subject the individual to security scanning upon entering the interior cabin region” as recited in claim 15 (col 2, lines 40-67, col 3, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 12:
As shown in figures 1-3, Marron discloses a method of interacting with people about an incident involving a mentally challenged, drug controlled, handicapped, incapacitated and/or unpredictable individual (in col 2, line 28-36, Marron teaches “a self-driving vehicle 122 (also referred to as an autonomous vehicle) arrives on scene at 120, where the detained or arrested individual (interpreted to be a mentally challenged, drug controlled, handicapped, incapacitated and/or unpredictable individual) (both shall be referred to as a detainee) is placed into the self-driving vehicle 122 for initial processing. Depending on the type of incident or alleged infraction, the individual may or may not remain handcuffed within the vehicle, but is detained within at least a portion of the vehicle throughout the process, such as a backseat area”) using a conflict de-escalation system including a vehicle (col 2, lines 51-59 Marron teaches “As air sensors and scanners continue to evolve, the detained individual may simply remain within the vehicle while the tests are processed, analyzed, and results communicated to one or more appropriate recipients. Depending on the status of the detainee's confinement, results may be communicated, over one or more wireless communications networks, to law enforcement, a remote attorney, and/or an on-call judge which may be contacted by the communication as part of the mobile processes and proceedings”) having at least one door leading to an interior cabin region into which the individual is directed (figure 1 shows the vehicle having at least one door leading to an interior cabin region of the vehicle) comprising:
monitoring an environment of the scene to develop incident related information (in col 2, lines 8-16, Marron teaches “During a typical detention scene, an officer temporarily stops an individual for questioning, without transporting the individual to another location. A detention stop allows the officer to determine whether to make an arrest, investigate further, or take no further action. In accordance with some embodiments, the processing provided by the mobile law enforcement communication system to be described herein can be used as an initial test hub for suspected infractions of alcohol, weapons and/or drug use”);
uploading the incident related information to a portal of the conflict de-escalation system (in col 4, lines 46-52 Marron teaches “the plurality of interface devices 230 are configured to acquire input pertaining to a detainee within the self-driving vehicle and a law enforcement infraction associated with the detainee. The electronic processor of controller device 202 is programmed to receive the acquired input pertaining to the detainee and the law enforcement infraction”. Also see col 2, line 50-65, col 5, lines 40-57); and
interacting with non-law enforcement people (attorney and/or judge interpreted to be non-law enforcement people. Col 2, lines 50-65) about the incident by allowing the non-law enforcement people to access the portal through a computer or cellphone app (col 2, lines 50-65).
Regarding claim 2:
Marron further discloses subjecting the individual to security detection upon entrance into the interior cabin region (figure 2, parts 1 and 2 show the individual is subjected to security detection upon entrance into the interior cabin region of the vehicle).
Regarding claims 3 and 20:
Marron further discloses monitoring an environment of the scene to develop the incident related information, wherein monitoring the environment of the scene includes obtaining at least one of audio and video recordings. (col 4, lines 59-67).
Regarding claim 5:
Marron further discloses wherein interacting with people includes providing two-way communication between within the vehicle and one or more law enforcement personnel located outside the vehicle (col 2, lines 40-59).
Regarding claim 6:
Marron further discloses wherein interacting with people includes providing messages and/or announcements to non-law enforcement people (attorney and/or judge interpreted to be non-law enforcement people) in the vicinity of the vehicle (col 2, lines 40-59).
Regarding claims 9 and 18:
Marron further discloses using a public portal accessible through a computer or cellphone app in interacting with people (judge) outside the vehicle (col 7, lines 40-50).
Regarding claims 10 and 19:
Marron further discloses using a law enforcement portal accessible through a computer or cellphone app in interacting with law enforcement personnel (col 7, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 11:
Marron further discloses providing the law enforcement portal with certain information not available on the public portal (abstract, col 6, lines 46-57, col 7, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 13:
Marron further discloses wherein establishing the portal includes establishing separate public and law enforcement portals (col 7, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 14:
Marron further discloses providing the law enforcement portal with certain information not available on the public portal (abstract, col 6, lines 46-57, col 7, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 16:
Marron further discloses wherein the security detection system includes multiple body scanning detectors (col 2, lines 46-59).
Regarding claim 17:
Marron further discloses wherein the multiple body scanning detectors include at least two of a visual detector of the individual, an explosive detector, a flammable materials detector, an x-ray system (col 2, lines 46-59, col 5, lines 9-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marron in view of Kawasaki et al. (US 20030125854) (hereinafter Kawasaki).
Regarding claim 4:
Marron discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein at least some of the recordings are obtained from both interior and exterior cameras on the vehicle.
However, Kawasaki in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein at least some of the recordings are obtained from both interior and exterior cameras on the vehicle (par 0008, 0052-0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the recording system as taught by Kawasaki to modify the system and method of Marron in order to provide a vehicle information recording system that allows specific analysis of an accident (par 0011) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
16. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marron in view of Carruthers et al. (US 20210097315) (hereinafter Carruthers).
Regarding claim 7:
Marron discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching discloses wherein interacting with people includes providing public awareness broadcasts originating from within the vehicle.
However, Kawasaki in the same field of endeavor teaches discloses wherein interacting with people includes providing public awareness broadcasts originating from within the vehicle (in par 0037, Kawasaki teaches “Further the in-vehicle monitoring device may provide remote monitoring of vehicle information and/or streaming of audio and/or video from the in-vehicle monitoring device to remote devices such as a mobile phone or tablet”. Also see par 0043, 0054-0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the vehicle monitoring system as taught by Kawasaki to modify the system and method of Marron in order to provide remote monitoring of vehicle information and/or streaming of audio and/or video from the in-vehicle monitoring device to remote devices such as a mobile phone or tablet (par 0037) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 8:
Marron discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the public awareness broadcasts include one or more of internet, television, radio and cell phone broadcasts.
However, Kawasaki in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the public awareness broadcasts include one or more of internet, television, radio and cell phone broadcasts (in par 0037, Kawasaki teaches “Further the in-vehicle monitoring device may provide remote monitoring of vehicle information and/or streaming of audio and/or video from the in-vehicle monitoring device to remote devices such as a mobile phone or tablet”. Also see par 0043, 0054-0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the vehicle monitoring system as taught by Kawasaki to modify the system and method of Marron in order to provide remote monitoring of vehicle information and/or streaming of audio and/or video from the in-vehicle monitoring device to remote devices such as a mobile phone or tablet (par 0037) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guzik et al. (US 9841865) disclose techniques for providing in-vehicle user interfaces to a person that is contacted by a law enforcement officer. The person may be a member of the community, an eyewitness, or a suspect that is arrested by the law enforcement officer. The in-vehicle user interfaces may be presented by an in-vehicle information device. The in-vehicle information device may provide user interfaces that include video via a display device and/or audio via an audio device to a person that is in a secure holding area (e.g., backseat, rear passenger compartment, etc.) of a law enforcement vehicle. Furthermore, the in-vehicle information device may also include a first input device that is controllable by the law enforcement officer from an area of the vehicle that is intended for use by the law enforcement officer. The input device may include a touch display screen, a keyboard, a pointing device, and/or so forth. The in-vehicle information device may further include a second input device (e.g., a touch screen) that is accessible to the person in the secure holding area.
/KABIR A TIMORY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631