DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This Office action is responsive to the communications filed December 9, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1. As per the 35 USC 101, Applicant asserts that claim 1 is not directed to a method of organizing human activity and provides improvements to a technology or technical field by utilizing an XML-based authorization message.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 describes upon receiving an authorization message from a merchant, transmitting a transaction decision. Therefore, the claims are directed to sending an authorization/authorizing a transaction, which is a method of organizing human activity.
Additionally, the algorithm to improve the technology is not described in the claims.
2. Applicant submits that Chen EMV authorization request does not include the transaction unpredictable number.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Chen, an authorization request comprises a transaction cryptogram generated using an EMV key, from a list of transaction data, which includes the transaction unpredictable number. The mobile application generates an image payment code comprising the authorization request, which is scanned by the merchant (paragraph [0024]). The merchant sends the authorization request to the server (paragraph [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites receiving a provisioning request for a digital wallet; sending, as a result of the provisioning request, a unique user identifier (ID); receiving an authorization message from a merchant comprising: one or more transaction details; and the unique user ID; and transmitting a transaction decision based on the unique user ID. Claims 11 and 12 recite similar language. The dependent claims recite steps such as generating the unique user ID, and storing the unique user ID, comparing the unique ID.
Hence, claims 1-20 are directed to authorizing a transaction. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims are directed to an abstract idea that is categorized under the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
The claims recite the following additional elements: processor, digital wallet, database, central processor. The specification of the present invention states the following:
[00039]System 100 may include a user device 105. The user device 105 may include one or more processors 106 and memory 107. Memory 107 may include one or more applications, such as web browser and/or mobile app 109 as well as digital wallet 108. Web browser and/or mobile app 109 may be capable of displaying a merchant or e-commerce webpage. The user device 105 may be in data communication with any number of components of system 100. For example, the user device 105 may transmit data via network 110 to merchant 115, which may comprise of browsing a merchant website and/or attempting a purchase transaction from merchant 115. Further, digital wallet 108 may communicate with merchant 115 and/or service provider backend 120. Merchant 115 may be any consumer-based entity and the merchant website may be any website that facilitates transactions for goods and/or services. User device 105 may also transmit data via network 110 to processor 130 and/or database 125 of service provider backend 120. Without limitation, the user device 105 may be a network-enabled computer. As referred to herein, a network-enabled computer may include, but is not limited to a computer device, or communications device including, e.g., a server, a network appliance, a personal computer, a workstation, a phone, a handheld PC, a personal digital assistant, a contactless card, a thin client, a fat client, an Internet browser, a kiosk, a tablet, a terminal, an ATM, or other device. The device 105 also may be a mobile device; for example, a mobile device may include an iPhone, iPod, iPad from Apple® or any other mobile device running Apple’s iOS® operating system, any device running Microsoft’s Windows® Mobile operating system, any device running Google’s Android® operating system, and/or any other smartphone, tablet, or like wearable mobile device.
[00043]System 100 may include service provider backend 120 which may comprise one or more servers or other computing devices. In some examples, the one or more servers may include one or more processors, represented as processor 130 and coupled to memory, represented as database 125. The server(s) may be configured as a central system, server or platform to control and call various data at different times to execute a plurality of workflow actions.
[00044]In some examples, the server(s) can be a dedicated server computer, such as bladed servers, or can be personal computers, laptop computers, notebook computers, palm top computers, network computers, mobile devices, wearable devices, or any processor-controlled device capable of supporting the system 100. While FIG. 1 illustrates a single server, it is understood that other embodiments can use multiple servers or multiple computer systems as necessary or desired to support the users and can also use back-up or redundant servers to prevent network downtime in the event of a failure of a particular server.
[00047]System 100 may include one or more databases 125. The database 125 may comprise a relational database, a non-relational database, or other database implementations, and any combination thereof, including a plurality of relational databases and non-relational databases. In some examples, the database 125 may comprise a desktop database, a mobile database, or an in-memory database. Further, the database 125 may be hosted internally by any component of system 100 or the database 125 may be hosted externally to any component of the system 100 by a cloud-based platform, or in any storage device that is in data communication with the device 105 and backend 120. In some examples, database 125 may be in data communication with any number of components of system 100. For example, the processor 106 in data communication with the digital wallet 108 may be configured to transmit one or more requests for the requested data from database 125 via network 110.
[00048]In some examples, exemplary procedures in accordance with the present disclosure described herein can be performed by a processing arrangement and/or a computing arrangement (e.g., computer hardware arrangement). Such processing and/or computing arrangement can be, for example entirely or a part of, or include, but not limited to, a computer and/or processor that can include, for example one or more microprocessors, and use instructions stored on a computer-accessible medium (e.g., RAM, ROM, hard drive, or other storage device). For example, a computer-accessible medium can be part of the memory of the user device 105, service provider backend 120, and/or database 125, or other computer hardware arrangement.
[00050] Mobile device / digital wallet 209 may be a personal computer, smart phone, smart watch, or any other network enabled computing device. Mobile device / digital wallet 209 may include memory, a network communication, an interactive user interface, and a processor capable of running one or more software applications and a digital wallet.
However, the claims do not include additional elements that are significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than recitation of generic components that serves to perform generic functions. These functions are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Moreover, the limitations generically, referring to authorizing a transaction that is categorized under the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping do not constitute significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2016/0203468 to Chen in view of WO 2014/077797 to Wade (“Wade”).
As pe claim 1, Chen discloses receiving, by a processor, a provisioning request for a digital wallet (paragraphs [0110] -the mobile payment application 10 displays a registration icon (not shown) on the mobile device 11 in which the user can activate in order to initiate a registration process and [0114] - The mobile device passes the data to the server 12 which stores these particulars in the newly-created user account in its database); sending, as a result of the provisioning request, a unique user identifier (ID) to the digital wallet (paragraph [0119] -the set of transaction unpredictable numbers generated by the server 12, at step 30, can be sent to the mobile payment application); receiving, by the processor, an authorization message from a merchant comprising: one or more transaction details; and the unique user ID (paragraphs [0124]-[0129]-the mobile payment application 10 picks one unused transaction unpredictable number randomly instead of using a pre-determined sequence. In an embodiment, an index can be associated to the picked transaction unpredictable number. In this case the index is appended in the authorization request…message comprises a transaction cryptogram. This message is generated by using the transaction amount input by user in step 41 and transaction unpredictable number…the code is scanned by the merchant scanner…the merchant transmits the response message to the server for authenticating and authorizing the transaction); and transmitting, by the processor, a transaction decision based on the unique user ID (paragraph [0025] – the merchant is finally notified of the result, form the issuer bank, directly via the server, of the authorization request; [0133] – the server forwards to the merchant the transaction result code).
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the authorization message comprises an Extensible Markup Language (XML)-based message.
Wade discloses an authorization message comprising an XML-based message (p. 30, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the elements of Wade into the system of Chen as XML message is a universal standard. Hence, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, Chen discloses generating, by the processor, the unique user ID (paragraphs [0022] & [0028]).
As per claim 3, Chen discloses storing, in a database, the unique user ID (paragraph [0022] -the same set of unpredictable numbers is stored in the server database).
As per claim 4, Chen discloses wherein the transaction request further comprises one or more details regarding authentication of the digital wallet (paragraph [0112] – PIN).
As per claim 5, Chen discloses comparing, by the processor, the unique user ID against a database of unique user IDs, each correlated to a user (paragraphs [0022] & [0048]).
As per claim 6, Chen discloses confirming the identity of an owner of the digital wallet by finding a match between the unique user ID and an entry in the database of unique user IDs (paragraph [0048]).
As per claim 9, Chen discloses sending, via the processor, the unique user ID from the authorization message to a central processor connected to an issuer (see claim 1 above). The reference does not expressly the processor is connected to a plurality of issuers or a plurality of banks. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless anew and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
As per claim 10, Chen discloses receiving, via the processor, feedback from the central processor, the feedback comprising user identity information for the unique user ID from the authorization message from an issuer (see claim 1 above). Chen does not expressly disclose plurality of issuers or a plurality of banks. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless anew and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
As per claim 11, Chen discloses receiving, by a processor, a provisioning request for a digital wallet; sending, as a result of the provisioning request, a unique user identifier (ID) to the digital wallet; receiving, by the processor, a merchant authorization message; sending, by the processor and as a result of the merchant authorization message, a first authorization message to the digital wallet, the first authorization message including a unique user ID request (see claim 1 rejection above); receiving, by the processor, a second authorization message from the digital wallet, the second authorization message including the unique user ID; and transmitting, by the processor, a transaction decision based on the unique user ID (see claim 1 and paragraph [0123] – if there is no unused transaction unpredictable number remaining in mobile payment application ..then a command is sent at, step 44, to the server to generate another set of transaction unpredictable number). In Chen the server generates another set of transaction unpredictable number, which suggests that multiple transaction/authorization message could be received including a second authorization message.
Claim 12 is rejected on the same rationale as claim 1.
Claims 13-19 is rejected on the same rationale as claims 3-9, respectively.
As per claim 20, Chen discloses the processor is further configured to receive feedback from the central processor, the feedback comprising user identity information for the unique user ID from the authorization message from an issuer (see paragraph [0132]). Chen does not expressly disclose one or more of the plurality of issuers or a plurality of banks. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless anew and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Wade as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,510,075 to Bajaj et al. (“Bajaj”)
As per claim 7, Chen in combination with Wade disclose the method of claim 1. Chen does not expressly disclose wherein in response to receiving the authorization message including the unique user ID, sending, by the processor, a request for additional information directly to the digital wallet.
Bajaj discloses in response to receiving the authorization message including the unique user ID, sending, by the processor, a request for additional information directly to the digital wallet (col. 13, ll. 28-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen in combination with Wade to include the features of Bajaj. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because it provides an additional level of authentication.
As per claim 8, Bajaj discloses wherein the transaction decision is further based on a response to the request for additional information sent to the digital wallet (col. 13, ll. 28-35).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jalatee Worjloh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697