DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first state with the textured surface contacts another surface and it is harder to separate and a second state wherein the textured surface is smoothed to the same smoothness of the smooth region must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 now claims “wherein in a first state, the textured region of the fusible toy bead has a texturing depth such that the textured surface contacts another surface and is harder to be separated from the another surface than a part of the smooth region that comes into contact with the another surface”. The claim language makes it appear that the “another surface” can be any other surface. However, this is not supported by the specification and the written description. The “another surface” in pars. [0016]-[0017] of applicant’s specification is specifically referring to a user’s “fingers” (i.e. skin). If the Examiner has reached this rejection in error, then applicant needs to at least add “another surface” to the specification for proper antecedent basis (i.e. there would be a specification objection). Claim 3 is rejected because it is dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (herein “Sakai ‘961”; US Pub. No. 2019/0192961 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakai discloses a fusible toy bead (abstract) formed by blending a pigment serving as a colorant into a water-soluble resin (pars. [0021], and [0023]-[0024]; noting “colored” makes obvious that a “pigment” is used to provide the “opaque color”; or alternatively, this language does not breathe life and meaning into the claim), the fusible toy bead comprising: a partially spherical surface (Fig. 8A-8C, item 15E showing a partially spherical portion), the partially spherical surface comprising: a textured region having a textured surface with irregularities (Figs. 8A-8C; noting the top portion with items 12E1-12E5), a smooth region having a smooth surface (Fig. 8B, item 15E) wherein in a first state, the textured region of the fusible toy bead has a texturing depth such that the textured surface contacts another surface and is harder to be separated from the another surface than a part of the smooth region that comes into contact with the another surface (Fig. 3 and Figs. 8A-8C; noting this is functionally possible given the structure and the disclosed used, noting Fig. 3, items 10, clearly shows textured surface in contact with each other making it harder to separate because the irregularities are dispersed within each other, i.e. the “another surface” can be an adjacent bead, and Figs. 8A-8C showing a bead that has a textured region and a smooth region, so it is obvious that the bead in Figs. 8A-8C can be used on a board as shown in Fig. 3; alternatively, the “another surface” can simply be a user’s fingers or skin as per applicant’s spec, pars. [0016]-[0017], and again, noting this is functionally possible given the structure), and wherein in a second state, the textured region of the fusible toy bead is smoothed to a same smoothness as the smooth region by dissolving the irregularities in water (par. [0028]; clearly disclosing “surface layer of the fusible toy beads melt”, so this language would also be obvious and functionally possible; emphasis added). With regards to the embodiment in Figs. 8A-8C, it is noted that Sakai does not disclose what can be considered a completely spherical body with irregularities. However, in a different embodiment as shown in Fig. 3, Sakai clearly shows a bead that can have irregularities along the surface of the bead, item 10, and the use of a completely spherical bead, item 22. In addition, under Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 683 F.3d 1347 (Fed. Cir. 2011), combining side by side embodiments (i.e. using the irregularities of Fig. 3, item 10 with the smooth spherical surface of Fig. 3, item 22) does not require a "leap of inventiveness". Thus, use of irregularities on a spherical body would be obvious to a POSA because they are literally shown in a single drawing (i.e. side by side). Finally, it is noted that Sakai does not specifically disclose that the texturing depth in the textured region is within a range of 35 to 45 µm. However, Sakai discloses that the texturing would have some inherent depth (Fig. 2, item 10 and/or Fig. 8A, noting the depth of each irregularity or projection, i.e. from 12E-5 to 13E-5 being exemplary in Fig. 8A). In addition, regarding the actual depth, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, par. [0013], stating the exact dimension helps the bead “dissolve in water”, but see Sakai: par. [0028] specifically stating that the bead surfaces “melt” or dissolve when water is applied, regardless of the exact depth). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact depth would not make the claimed invention perform differently: that is, the bead would melt or dissolve when exposed to water regardless of the exact texturing depth.
Regarding claim 3, Sakai discloses that the textured region is formed in a region of at least 1/4 of the spherical surface (Sakai: Figs. 8A-8C; noting it is at least ½ or half; noting a different embodiment, but still obvious).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
103 Rejection
Applicant argues “criticality” for the specific range of texturing depth and cites to pars. [0013], [0018], [0019] of the specification for support of this position. In essence, applicant argues that exact depth allows for the irregularities to “dissolve” to the same roughness as the “smooth” region.
Respectfully, the Examiner does not find this argument compelling. Sakai specifically discloses in par. [0028] that “surface layer of the fusible toy beads…melt and are connected to each other”. If the surface layers, including the irregularities, “melt” to the point that that they are “connected to each other”, it would be obvious and functionally possible for the irregularities to obtain a smoothness consistent with the smooth region. In addition, it would also be obvious that the amount of “melting” is completely tied to the amount of water placed on the beads by the user. As such, if the user wanted to melt the irregularities more, more water would be added. Thus, the argument is not compelling.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
9/21/26
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711