DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to papers submitted on 18 January, 2024.
Claims 1-13 are pending and submitted for examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification is objected to as it contains numerous grammatical errors. Applicant is required to correct the errors as appropriate. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is not clear as to whether claim 10 is an independent claim or a dependent claim depending from claim 1. The claim as recited begins as an independent claim but then includes the limitations of claim 1 for the second limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication No. US 2024/0303393 A1 to Jannuzzi-Guerreiro et al..
The published prior art of Jannuzzi-Guerreiro et al. (herein after “J-G”) teaches of a process for evaluating and changing an overall textile processing facility to be more sustainable. In doing so, the reference of prior art, which includes a provisional application (63/451,072) filed on March 9, 2023, teaches and/or fairly suggests the limitations of the instant invention as follows herein below.
Regarding independent claim 1, a denim laundry equalizer, comprising:
a user interface for receiving a editing command from users - (taught by J-G in paragraph [0194] as “a user of the mobile application or other user interface of the present application can create, insert, edit, cut, copy, paste or delete real or hypothetical laundry cycles that are part of a treatment.”);
a data input port for receiving an input data of the fabric - (use of an input device is taught in paragraph [0444] of J-G as “various user input devices”);
a data output port for outputting an output data of the fabric - (taught by J-G in paragraph [0444] as “the processor may control the reception and manipulation of input and output data between components of the computing system.”);
a synchronization model for generating the output data of the fabric, based on the editing commands - (taught in paragraph [0008] by J-G as “transmitting data from the mobile computer system to the textile process evaluation and comparison server via the mobile computer system and create a baseline process that emulates an existing process for creating a textile in a textile processing facility that includes a plurality of textile processing equipment and a plurality of textile processing materials where the data transmitted by the user via the mobile computing device includes data corresponding to physical details of the plurality of textile processing equipment and a plurality of data regarding textile processing materials that corresponds to physical details of the textile processing materials” which correlates with the synchronization element);
wherein the output data is configured to form fabric visual effects matching the editing commands - (taught in paragraph [0165] of J-G as “once a virtual laundry of the present disclosure is defined by the user, the systems of the present disclosure will automatically know the kind of equipment available as well as a quantity thereof. Also, the system of the present disclosure will automatically know in which environment the virtual laundry operates, including the temperature of the air, feeding water, and carbon intensity of electricity. At this point, the system of the present disclosure is ready to accept an alternative proposed process defined by the user to compare against the established existing laundry that approximates the existing laundry system employed by the user in the physical world and recreated in the virtual laundry system of the present disclosure.”).
In claim 3 the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 2, wherein the laundry process comprises an enzyme wash process, and the slider comprises an enzyme wash slider, which is configured to change the intensity of the enzyme wash process by moving the enzyme wash slider. The use of a slider is taught by Avery as stated above. The presence of an enzyme wash process is explained by J-G in paragraphs [0139] and [0169] where the use of an enzyme as a treatment option is explained.
As for claim 4, the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 2, wherein the laundry process comprises a stone wash process, and the slider comprises a stone wash slider, which is configured to change the intensity of the stone wash process by moving the stone wash slider. The use of a slider is taught by Avery as stated in paragraph [0093] and as stated above. The presence of a stone wash process is described by J-G in paragraph [0169] and further explained in paragraph [0198].
Regarding claim 5 the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 2, wherein the laundry process includes a bleaching process, and the slider comprises a bleaching slider, which is configured to change the intensity of the bleaching process by moving the bleaching slider. The use of a slider is taught by Avery in paragraph [0093] as stated above. The laundry process including a bleaching process is taught by J-G in paragraph [0173] and claim 5.
As per claim 6 the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 2, wherein the laundry process comprises a dyeing process, and the slider comprises a tint slider, which is configured to change the intensity of the dyeing process by moving the tint slider. The use of a slider is taught by Avery as stated in paragraph [0093] as stated above. The laundry process including a dyeing process as claimed is taught by J-G in table 10 and paragraph [0163].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2024/0303393 A1 to Jannuzzi-Guerreiro et al. in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2022/0244783 A1 to Avery et al.
As per claim 2 the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 1, wherein the user interface comprises a plurality of adjustable sliders, with each slider configured to adjust parameters of at least one laundry process. The laundry process as claimed is taught by J-G as aforementioned. However, the prior art does not particularly teach the use of sliders to adjust parameters of the laundry process. For this reason, the published prior art of Avery et al. (herein after “Avery”) is introduced since the use of haptic feedback is used so as to customize the feedback. In doing so, Avery teaches the use sliders as claimed in paragraph [0093] wherein “may enable particular types of haptic event to be generated either in advance of haptic feedback delivery or when haptic feedback has been requested. In embodiments, it may be possible for a user to define the type(s) of haptic feedback or sensation, which may be performed using haptic profile editor 302. The haptic profile editor 302 may be provided as a graphical user interface which allows a user to define a haptic event. … the user interface may comprise slider bars for one or more primitives which the user is allowed to modify or select—the slider bars may allow the user to select a value for a primitive between some minimum and maximum values.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of laundry system as presented by J-G with the haptic feedback of Avery so as to enable a more convenient and effective way to select paraments for editing purposes.
In claim 7, the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 2, wherein the slider further comprises at least one intensity slider, which is configured to change the overall intensity of the laundry process by moving the intensity slider. The laundry process as claimed is taught by J-G as aforementioned. However, the prior art does not particularly teach the use of sliders to adjust parameters of the laundry process. For this reason, the published prior art of Avery et al. (herein after “Avery”) is introduced since the use of haptic feedback is used so as to customize the feedback. In doing so, Avery teaches the use sliders as claimed in paragraph [0093] wherein “may enable particular types of haptic event to be generated either in advance of haptic feedback delivery or when haptic feedback has been requested. In embodiments, it may be possible for a user to define the type(s) of haptic feedback or sensation, which may be performed using haptic profile editor 302. The haptic profile editor 302 may be provided as a graphical user interface which allows a user to define a haptic event. … the user interface may comprise slider bars for one or more primitives which the user is allowed to modify or select—the slider bars may allow the user to select a value for a primitive between some minimum and maximum values.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of laundry system as presented by J-G with the haptic feedback of Avery so as to enable a more convenient and effective way to select paraments for editing purposes.
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2024/0303393 A1 to Jannuzzi-Guerreiro et al. in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2022/0244783 A1 to Avery et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2023/0252747 A1 to Meador et al..
As with claim 8, the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 1, wherein the input data is three-dimensional data information obtained by scanning the denim fabric. As aforementioned the references of prior art by J-G and Avery teach of a laundry editing system. In paragraph [0175], J-G begins to teach of three-dimensional effects but does not fully explain the use of three-dimensional data as claimed. It is for this reason that the prior art of Meador et al. (herein after “Meador”) is included. Meador teaches in the same environment as of J-G, a garment rendering system includes receiving data in three-dimensional format of a garment, as described in paragraph [0046]. The data is input by scanning images of the garment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of J-G with that of Meador so as to complete processing in the laundry editing environment using computer technology including three-dimensional images.
Regarding claim 9, the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 1, wherein the output data is a visualized denim fabric image with visual effects corresponding to the editing commands. Meador teaches the use of three-dimensional technology to scan and visualize images of various garments as aforementioned in paragraph [0046]; along with J-G’s laundry editing system.
As with claim 10 a digital editing system comprising:
at least one 3D device configured to capture three-dimensional data information of denim fabric and visualize the three-dimensional data information of the denim fabric;
the denim laundry equalizer according to claim 1, configured to edit the three-dimensional data information based on received editing commands.
- (taught by the references of prior art by J-G and Avery wherein a laundry editing system is explained. In paragraph [0175], J-G begins to teach of three-dimensional effects but does not fully explain the use of three-dimensional data as claimed. It is for this reason that the prior art of Meador et al. (herein after “Meador”) is included. Meador teaches in the same environment as of J-G, a garment rendering system includes receiving data in three-dimensional format of a garment, as described in paragraph [0046]. The data is input by scanning images of the garment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of J-G with that of Meador so as to complete processing in the laundry editing environment using computer technology including three-dimensional images.)
In claim 11, the digital editing system according to claim 10, wherein the denim laundry equalizer is further configured to store at least one edited three-dimensional data information for visual presentation of the editing commands. The visual presentation of information is achieved by Meador as described in paragraph [0053]. As “the virtual garment data 18 can be generated prior to the selection and stored in the system or can be generated by the virtual garment generation unit 16 in real time upon selection by the user based on the garment related data. …”.
As per claim 12, the digital editing system according to claim 10, wherein the denim laundry equalizer is further configured to generate a digital configuration data, which is used to create a laundry recipe mirrored by a visual marker for approval on screen. J-G teaches of the use of a “recipe” as stated in claim 1.
With regard to claim 13, the digital editing system according to claim 12, wherein the denim laundry equalizer is further configured to synchronise the digital configuration data, so that it's identical to the information needed to make jeans in reality in a factory anywhere in the world. In paragraph [0008], J-G teaches of “transmitting data from the mobile computer system to the textile process evaluation and comparison server via the mobile computer system and create a baseline process that emulates an existing process for creating a textile in a textile processing facility that includes a plurality of textile processing equipment and a plurality of textile processing materials where the data transmitted by the user via the mobile computing device includes data corresponding to physical details of the plurality of textile processing equipment and a plurality of data regarding textile processing materials that corresponds to physical details of the textile processing materials …” which is commensurate with the claimed synchronization of data. Additionally, Meador teaches similar information in paragraph [0050].
For the reasons stated above, the limitations of the instant invention are taught and/or fairly suggested by the prior arts of record; thereby, rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. US 11,813,082 B2 Crofts et al.
Relates to accessing activity data associated with a sensor incorporated into a garment
US Patent Publication No. US 2007/0198118 A1 Lind
Relates to a system usable by processor to enable a user to select a type of garment and view an image of the pattern for the garment
U.S. Patent No. US 11,001,090 B2 Costin, Jr. et al.
Relates to a system and method for generating pattern image used to process a surface of a fabric
/Sheela Rao/Examiner, Art Unit 2119 March 25, 2026
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119