DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --CABLE CONNECTOR WITH INSULATION-PIERCING TERMINALS ON A TERMINAL MODULE INSERTED INTO THE CABLE CONNECTOR HOUSING--.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 10 line 3, the phrase “housing with the terminal” should read --housing when the terminal--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellet et al. (WO2016098033A1) in view of Jin (2023/0253720).
With regard to claim 1, Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 7 lines 26-32 and page 10 lines 7-18: “A cable connector 20 comprising: a connector housing 21 including a chamber (where 30 is inserted into 21 in figure 6) extending along a longitudinal axis (lower-left to upper-right in figure 7) between a front (lower-left end in figure 7) and a rear (upper-right in figure 7) of the connector housing 21, the front defining a mating end configured to be mated to a mating connector 4, the rear defining a cable end, the connector housing 21 including a carrier opening; cables 40, 40’, and 40” received in the chamber and extending from the cable end at the rear of the connector housing 21… terminals 41 configured to be terminated to the corresponding cables in the chamber, each terminal extending between a mating end (left end in figure 3) and a terminating end (right end in figure 3), the mating end of the terminal configured to be mated to a mating contact 70 of the mating connector 4… and a terminal carrier 30 having terminal channels (where the terminals are located in figure 7) holding the terminals 41, the terminal carrier 30 including latching features (taught on page 10 lines 7-18) engaging the terminals to hold the terminals in the terminal channels, the terminal carrier 30 being coupled to the connector housing 21 at the carrier opening; wherein the terminal carrier 30 is loaded into the chamber in a loading direction (up-down direction in figure 6) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the terminal carrier 21 pressing the terminals 41 in the loading direction to press the insulation displacement contacts of the terminals onto the cables as the terminal carrier 30 is loaded into the chamber in the loading direction”.
Bellet does not teach: “at least one cable seal sealed to the cables and sealed to the connector housing to provide an environmental seal at the cable end… the terminating end including an insulation displacement contact configured to be terminated to the corresponding cable”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Jin teaches, as shown in figure 7: “at least one cable seal 228 sealed to the cables 104 and sealed to the connector housing 229 to provide an environmental seal at the cable end (top end in figure 7)… the terminating end (bottom end in figure 7) including an insulation displacement contact 733 configured to be terminated to the corresponding cable 104”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Jin with the invention of Bellet in order to make an easy connection between the terminal and the cable (Jin, paragraph 31) and to provide a seal from the outside environment (Jin, paragraph 45).
With regard to claim 4, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the terminal carrier 30 is separate and discrete from the connector housing 21, the terminal carrier 30 being movable relative to the connector housing 21, the terminal carrier 30 being coupled to the connector housing 21 to position the terminals 41 relative to the connector housing 21”.
With regard to claim 5, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the terminal carrier 30 carries the terminals 41 from unterminated positions 80 to terminated positions 84, the terminals 41 being terminated to the cables in the terminated positions”.
With regard to claim 8, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the terminal carrier 30 includes a platform (bottom wall of 30 in figure 6) at a bottom of the terminal carrier 30, the platform supporting the terminals 41 on an upper surface (top surface in figure 6) of the platform, the platform positioned in the carrier opening when loaded in the loading direction to form a continuous shroud with the connector housing 21 around the chamber”.
With regard to claim 9, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein each cable 40 extends along a cable axis parallel to the longitudinal axis, each terminal 41 extends along a terminal axis parallel to the longitudinal axis, the terminals 41 pressed onto the cables 41 in the loading direction perpendicular to the cable axis and the terminal axis”.
With regard to claim 10, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Bellet also teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the carrier opening is at a bottom (top of 21 of 84 in figure 8) of the connector housing 21, the terminal carrier 30 including a bottom (top of 30 of 84 in figure 8), the bottom of the terminal carrier 30 generally flush with the bottom of the connector housing 21 with the terminal carrier 30 is loaded into the chamber”.
With regard to claim 11, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Bellet also teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the terminal carrier 30 is movable between an extended position 80 and a retracted position 84, the terminals 41 being located below the chamber in the extended position 80, the terminals 41 located in the chamber in the retracted position 84”.
With regard to claim 12, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Bellet nor Jin teach: “wherein each terminal includes a second insulation displacement contact configured to be terminated to the corresponding cable”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the insulation displacement contact so that two insulation displacement contacts are terminated to the cable in order to increase the contact area with the cable. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claim 13, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Jin also teaches, as shown in figure 7: “wherein the at least one cable seal 228 supports the cables 104 forward of the at least one cable seal for mating with the corresponding terminals 223”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Jin with the invention of Bellet in order to make an easy connection between the terminal and the cable (Jin, paragraph 31).
Claims 2-3, 6-7, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellet et al. (WO2016098033A1) in view of Jin (2023/0253720) and Negishi et al. (2003/0181092).
With regard to claim 2, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Bellet nor Jin teach: “wherein each of the terminals are simultaneously connected to the corresponding cables when the terminal carrier is loaded into the chamber”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Negishi teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein each of the terminals 14 are simultaneously connected to the corresponding cables 3 when the terminal carrier 11 is loaded into the chamber (interior of 18 in figure 2)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Negishi with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin in order to press-fit the terminal to the cable (Negishi, paragraph 95).
With regard to claim 3, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Bellet nor Jin teach: “wherein the cables are positioned in the chamber prior to connecting the terminals to the cables”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Negishi teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein the cables 3 are positioned in the chamber (interior of 18 in figure 2) prior to connecting the terminals to the cables 3 (paragraphs 94-95 teaches the cables not fitted to the terminals 14 until the projection of the housing is in place, so the cables will be in the chamber before fully engaging the terminals)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Negishi with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin in order to press-fit the terminal to the cable (Negishi, paragraph 95).
With regard to claim 6, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Bellet nor Jin teach: “wherein the terminal carrier includes separating walls between the terminal channels, the separating walls positioning the terminals relative to each other”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Negishi teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein the terminal carrier 11 includes separating walls 20 between the terminal channels 21, the separating walls 20 positioning the terminals 14 relative to each other”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Negishi with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin in order to position the terminals in the terminal carrier (Negishi, paragraph 92).
With regard to claim 7, Bellet as modified by Jin teaches: “The cable connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Bellet nor Jin teach: “wherein the terminals are arranged parallel to each other in a single row”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Negishi teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein the terminals 14 are arranged parallel to each other in a single row”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Negishi with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin in order to easily position the terminals in the terminal carrier (Negishi, paragraph 92).
With regard to claim 14, Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 7 lines 26-32 and page 10 lines 7-18: “A cable connector 20 comprising: a connector housing 21 including a chamber (where 30 is inserted into 21 in figure 6) extending along a longitudinal axis (running lower-left to upper-right through 21 in figure 7) between a front (lower-left end in figure 7) and a rear (upper-right in figure 7) of the connector housing 21, the front defining a mating end configured to be mated to a mating connector 4, the rear defining a cable end, the connector housing 21 including a carrier opening (opening into which 30 is received in figure 6); a cable 40, 40’, and 40” received in the chamber and extending from the cable end at the rear of the connector housing 21… a terminal 41 configured to be terminated to the cable in the chamber, the terminal 41 extending between a mating end (left end in figure 3) and a terminating end (right end in figure 3), the mating end of the terminal 41 configured to be mated to a mating contact 70 of the mating connector 4… and a terminal carrier 30 having a terminal channel (where the terminals are located in figure 7) holding the terminal 41, the terminal carrier 30 including a latching feature (taught on page 10 lines 7-18) engaging the terminal 41 to hold the terminal in the terminal channel, the terminal carrier 30 being coupled to the connector housing 21 at the carrier opening; wherein the terminal carrier 30 is loaded into the chamber in a loading direction (up-down direction in figure 6) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”.
Bellet does not teach: “a cable seal sealed to the cable and sealed to the connector housing to provide an environmental seal at the cable end… the terminating end including an insulation displacement contact configured to be terminated to the cable”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Jin teaches, as shown in figure 7: “a cable seal 228 sealed to the cable 104 and sealed to the connector housing 229 to provide an environmental seal at the cable end (top end in figure 7)… the terminating end (bottom end in figure 7) including an insulation displacement contact 733 configured to be terminated to the cable 104”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Jin with the invention of Bellet in order to make an easy connection between the terminal and the cable (Jin, paragraph 31) and to provide a seal from the outside environment (Jin, paragraph 45).
Neither Bellet nor Jin teach: “the terminal carrier pressing the insulation displacement contact of the terminal onto the cable as the terminal carrier is loaded into the chamber in the loading direction”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Negishi teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “the terminal carrier 16 pressing the insulation displacement contact 39a and 39b of the terminal 14 onto the cable 3 as the terminal carrier 18 is loaded into the chamber (interior of 18 in figure 2) in the loading direction B”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Negishi with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin in order to press-fit the terminal to the cable (Negishi, paragraph 95).
With regard to claim 15, Bellet as modified by Jin and Negishi teaches: “The cable connector of claim 14”, as shown above.
Negishi also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein the cables 3 are positioned in the chamber (interior of 18 in figure 2) prior to connecting the terminals to the cables 3 (paragraphs 94-95 teaches the cables not fitted to the terminals 14 until the projection of the housing is in place, so the cables will be in the chamber before fully engaging the terminals)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Negishi with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin and Negishi in order to press-fit the terminal to the cable (Negishi, paragraph 95).
With regard to claim 16, Bellet as modified by Jin and Negishi teaches: “The cable connector of claim 14”, as shown above.
Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the terminal carrier 30 is separate and discrete from the connector housing 21, the terminal carrier 30 being movable relative to the connector housing 21, the terminal carrier 30 being coupled to the connector housing 21 to position the terminals 41 relative to the connector housing 21”.
With regard to claim 17, Bellet teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 7 lines 26-32 and page 10 lines 7-18: “An electrical connector system comprising: a mating connector 4 including a mating connector housing 52 holding mating contacts 70, the mating connector 4… the mating connector housing 5 including a receptacle (where 20 is positioned in figure 3), the mating contacts 70 positioned in the receptacle; and a cable connector 20 plugged into the receptacle, the cable connector 20 comprising: a connector housing 21 including a chamber (where 30 is inserted into 21 in figure 6) extending along a longitudinal axis (running lower-left to upper-right through 21 in figure 7) between a front (lower-left end in figure 7) and a rear (upper-right in figure 7) of the connector housing 21, the front defining a mating end plugged into the receptacle of the mating connector 4… the rear defining a cable end, the connector housing 21 including a carrier opening (opening into which 30 is received in figure 6)… cables 40, 40’, and 40” received in the chamber and extending from the cable end at the rear of the connector housing 21… terminals 41 configured to be terminated to the corresponding cables 40 in the chamber, each terminal 41 extending between a mating end (left end in figure 3) and a terminating end (right end in figure 3), the mating end of the terminal 41 mated to the corresponding mating contact 70 of the mating connector 4… and a terminal carrier 30 having terminal channels (where the terminals are located in figure 7) holding the terminals 41, the terminal carrier 30 including latching features (taught on page 10 lines 7-18) engaging the terminals 41 to hold the terminals 41 in the terminal channels, the terminal carrier 30 being coupled to the connector housing 21 at the carrier opening; wherein the terminal carrier 30 is loaded into the chamber in a loading direction (up-down direction in figure 6) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”.
Bellet does not teach: “including a mating connector latching feature… in a mating direction parallel to the longitudinal axis… the connector housing including a latching feature engaging the mating connector latching feature to secure the connector housing to the mating connector housing… at least one cable seal sealed to the cables and sealed to the connector housing to provide an environmental seal at the cable end… the terminating end including an insulation displacement contact configured to be terminated to the corresponding cable”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Jin teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in paragraph 42: “including a mating connector latching feature (threading on 102 engaging front nut 220 in figure 2 and taught in paragraph 42)”, the mating end of the terminal mated to the receptacle of the mating connector “in a mating direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (running up and down through the middle of 200 in figure 2)… the connector housing 229 including a latching feature (threading on 220 described in paragraph 42) engaging the mating connector latching feature to secure the connector housing 229 to the mating connector housing 214… at least one cable seal 228 sealed to the cables 104 and sealed to the connector housing 229 to provide an environmental seal at the cable end (top end in figure 7)… the terminating end (bottom end in figure 7) including an insulation displacement contact 733 configured to be terminated to the corresponding cable 104”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Jin with the invention of Bellet in order to make an easy connection between the terminal and the cable (Jin, paragraph 31) and to provide a seal from the outside environment (Jin, paragraph 45).
Neither Bellet nor Jin teach: “the terminal carrier pressing the terminals in the loading direction to press the insulation displacement contacts of the terminals onto the cables as the terminal carrier is loaded into the chamber in the loading direction”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Negishi teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “the terminal carrier 16 pressing the terminals 14 in the loading direction to press the insulation displacement contacts 39a and 39b of the terminals 14 onto the cables 3 as the terminal carrier 16 is loaded into the chamber (interior of 18 in figure 2) in the loading direction B”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Negishi with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin in order to press-fit the terminal to the cable (Negishi, paragraph 95).
With regard to claim 18, Bellet as modified by Jin and Negishi teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 17”, as shown above.
Jin also teaches, as shown in figure 2: “further comprising a connector seal 215 between the mating connector housing 102 and the connector housing 103”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these features of Jin with the invention of Bellet as modified by Jin and Negishi in order to ensure the exposed portions of the terminals are isolated from the environment (Jin, paragraph 41).
With regard to claim 19, Bellet as modified by Jin and Negishi teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 17”, as shown above.
Bellet also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the mating contacts 70 include pins and the terminals 41 include sockets at the mating ends thereof configured to receive the pins of the mating contacts 70”.
With regard to claim 20, Bellet as modified by Jin and Negishi teaches: “The electrical connector system of claim 17”, as shown above.
Bellet also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught on page 6 lines 10-19: “wherein the mating connector housing 5 surrounds the connector housing 21 in the terminal carrier 30 to hold the terminal carrier 30 in the carrier opening of the connector housing 21 when the cable connector 20 is plugged into the receptacle 4”.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831