DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 09/19/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/18/24 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/19/2025 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Claim amendments of “wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block, and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person” recited in independent claims 1 has changed the claim scope. Claim scope is different than limitation of claims 5, 7 and 9 because of the addition of “and according to”. Because of that now claim requires “wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person”. Please note that claims 5, 7 and 9 does not require this.
Because of claim amendment independent claim 1 is rejected using an additional previously cited prior art Tournier (U.S. Pub. No.20210358293 A1) because of claim scope change. Examiner notes that few other limitations of dependent claims are also taught by Tournier. As such those limitations are additionally cited because of scope change of base claim.
Applicant argued in page 7 that Tournier, only recites the PIR sensor is used to detect the motion of an object, it fails to disclose to determine whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
Examiner disagree on this because Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position.
Image characteristics of a person is a broad term. As long as a human can be differentiated from an IR image in the prior art, then it meets claim requirement. Tournier [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. This means, it determines whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person, as a person is separately detected from flag by PIR.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff (U.S. Pub. No. 20180357870 A1), in view of McRae (U.S. Pub. No. 20220345623 A1), further in view of Tournier (U.S. Pub. No.20210358293 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Siminoff teach a security and guard system for monitoring an area divided into at least one first block and at least one second block, comprising: (Siminoff Fig. 2 [0075] Particularly, the temporal nature of the events within the received event signals 114 may indicate a direction of movement as the person 210 passes from the zone 112(3), to the zone 112(2), and then to the zone 112(1)) at least one infrared light sensor for sensing a first range of the area; (Siminoff [0057] Each security device 106 has at least one sensor 110 that detects an event (e.g., an image, a series of images, motion, sound, etc.) within its corresponding zone 112. Each sensor 110 may represent one or more of a pyroelectric infrared (PIR), also referred to as passive infrared) sensor for detecting heat signature motion within the zone 112) at least one camera for photographing a second range of the area, (Siminoff [0058] the security device 106 may be a smart security camera that may alert a user to detected motion within the zone 112, capture audio and video of that zone, and allow a user, using a smartphone or other client device, to converse with a person within that zone via the smart security camera. In another example, the security device 106 may be a smart floodlight (security device) that includes a camera and/or PIR sensors for detecting motion within a corresponding zone 112) wherein the first range is larger than the second range; (Siminoff teach zoomed FOV of ROI and as such IR sensor covers larger range than zoomed FOV of the camera because [0139] In an embodiment, the camera 1204 has zooming and/or panning functionality, such as digital zoom or panning, so that the camera 1204 focuses or magnifies its field of view onto an area of interest. In some embodiments, a user may control this zooming and/or panning through the client device 1214 using an application executing on the client device 1214. In another embodiment, the camera 1204 has “smart” zoom and/or panning functionality, to automatically focus and/or magnify the field of view onto one or more persons in the monitored area 1201, and/or to follow movement of the persons moving about within the field of view. The camera 1204 may be further capable of detecting a human face and automatically focusing and/or magnifying the field of view onto the detected human face (or, if multiple persons, multiple faces), and/or following the movement of the detected face(s). The camera 1204 may be further capable of (a) distinguishing a human in its field of view from a non-human object in its field of view and/or (b) tracking movement of detected humans while ignoring detections of non-human objects in the field of view)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach a control host connected to the at least one infrared light sensor and the at least one camera and using a heat source sensed by the at least one infrared light sensor to selectively control the at least one camera to capture an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block, and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However McRae teach and a control host connected to the at least one infrared light sensor and the at least one camera and using a heat source sensed by the at least one infrared light sensor to selectively control the at least one camera to capture an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Siminoff, further incorporating McRae in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate a control host connected to the at least one infrared light sensor and the at least one camera and using a heat source sensed by the at least one infrared light sensor to selectively control the at least one camera to capture an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
The combined teaching of Siminoff and McRae do not explicitly teach and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However Tournier teach and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Siminoff, further incorporating McRae and Tournier in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 1, Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein the first block is an alert zone and the second block is a non-alert zone.
However McRae teach wherein the first block is an alert zone and the second block is a non-alert zone. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
Regarding to claim 3:
Cancelled.
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 2, an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, (Siminoff [0058] the security device 106 may be a smart security camera that may alert a user to detected motion within the zone 112, capture audio and video of that zone, and allow a user, using a smartphone or other client device, to converse with a person within that zone via the smart security camera. In another example, the security device 106 may be a smart floodlight (security device) that includes a camera and/or PIR sensors for detecting motion within a corresponding zone 112)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to image characteristics of the sensed heat source, and whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block.
However McRae teach wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to image characteristics (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.) of the sensed heat source, (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
and whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
Alternatively, Tournier teach wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to image characteristics of the sensed heat source, and whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 4, and the optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source is a non-permitted person, (Siminoff [0078] In the scenario 300, while the operating mode 130 is set to the abnormal behavior learning mode, a person 310 climbs over the fence 204 at the side of the site 108(1) and proceeds, as indicated by the arrow 312, alongside the house 202, into the back yard 206, and then around to the front of the house 202. The movement indicated by the arrow 312 is considered abnormal behavior for the site 108(1), and may represent movement of a person intending to burgle, or otherwise cause problems at, the site 108(1). As the person 310 crosses the fence 204, the security device 106(2) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(2) (FIG. 1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. Then, as the person 310 progresses along the path indicated by the arrow 312, the security device 106(1) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. As the person 310 continues around the house 202, as indicated by the arrow 312, and crosses the front of the house 202, the security device 106(3) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(3)) the control host determines that the sensed heat source is a high-risk heat source. (Siminoff [0057] Each security device 106 has at least one sensor 110 that detects an event (e.g., an image, a series of images, motion, sound, etc.) within its corresponding zone 112. Each sensor 110 may represent one or more of a pyroelectric infrared (PIR), also referred to as passive infrared) sensor for detecting heat signature motion within the zone 112)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the first block, the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However McRae teach wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the first block, the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
Alternatively, Tournier teach when the sensed heat source is located in the first block, the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the security and guard response performed by the control host includes locking and closing doors or contacting owners (Siminoff [0002] Sensor devices for detecting activity in an environment (e.g., sensors in a local alarm system) typically operate independently and provide a local alert when activity is detected. The alerts are generated when any one device detects an event (e.g., if an entry door opens when a burglar alarm is set, the alarm is activated). Some of these devices (e.g., a smart doorbell or a monitored alarm system) communicate with a remote server that may provide both local and non-local alerts when activity is detected. For example, when a smart doorbell detects motion, an alert is sent to the owner's smartphone. Some of these devices detect activity and control other devices (e.g., a floodlight controller) and act independently as an intruder deterrent. However, even where one owner has multiple devices, they each typically operate independently to generate alerts.) and calling police. (Siminoff [0128] In another example, when either of the site behavior-awareness state 132 or the area behavior-awareness state 134 transitions to a high alert level, the security devices 106 may transition into the heightened security mode and may also activate a siren and/or broadcast a prerecorded warning message (e.g., “You are being recorded. The police have been summoned. You should flee immediately.”) when the security device 106 detects motion. In another example, where the security device 106 is a floodlight controller, the security device 106 may also flash the floodlights (internal and/or external) when motion is detected and the security device 106 is armed and in the heightened alert mode. Further, when the security devices 106 at the site 108 are in the heighted alert mode and one of the security devices 106 detects motion, another of the security devices 106 at the site 108 may activate a siren and/or broadcast the prerecorded warning message, and/or activate or flash the controlled floodlights. [0130] When, while in this heightened alert mode, additional events are detected by others of the security devices 106 at the site 108, the system 100 may further escalate the alert level (e.g., the site behavior-awareness state 132 may be set to high) and a notification may be sent to the monitoring station such that law enforcement or private security personnel may be dispatched to the site 108.)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 4, wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the first block and the image characteristics of the sensed heat source do not match image characteristics of a person, or when the sensed heat source is located in the second block, (Siminoff [0078] In the scenario 300, while the operating mode 130 is set to the abnormal behavior learning mode, a person 310 climbs over the fence 204 at the side of the site 108(1) and proceeds, as indicated by the arrow 312, alongside the house 202, into the back yard 206, and then around to the front of the house 202. The movement indicated by the arrow 312 is considered abnormal behavior for the site 108(1), and may represent movement of a person intending to burgle, or otherwise cause problems at, the site 108(1). As the person 310 crosses the fence 204, the security device 106(2) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(2) (FIG. 1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. Then, as the person 310 progresses along the path indicated by the arrow 312, the security device 106(1) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. As the person 310 continues around the house 202, as indicated by the arrow 312, and crosses the front of the house 202, the security device 106(3) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(3).) the optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source is a non-permitted person, (Siminoff [0069] In one example embodiment, at least one of the temporal behavior patterns 124 evaluates event signals 114 for certain of the security devices 106 located at different sites 108. The temporal behavior pattern 124 may further define that corresponding captured images (e.g., included within each of the event signals 114) include the same object (e.g., a person, a vehicle, and so on) based upon image recognition (e.g., facial recognition, vehicle recognition, license plate recognition, and so on). For example, where a person is detected passing through or near two different sites 108(1) and 108(2) within a certain period (e.g., five minutes) and the event analyzer 122 recognizes the same face within images captured by the different security devices 106, the system 100 may increase the level of concern by increasing the area behavior-awareness state 134 from low to medium, or from medium to high, or from low to high. Further, where two or more of the security devices 106 at the sites 108 detect the person and the event analyzer 122 recognizes that it is the same person, and where a location of at least one of the security devices 106 indicates that the person must have crossed a boundary line (e.g., a property line) of the site 108 (e.g., the person is detected by the security device 106 located at the rear of the property), then the system 100 may further increase the level of concern. [0070] In certain embodiments, the temporal behavior pattern 124 may be configured to recognize objects that are authorized to move within the area 104, and are not considered to be of concern. For example, the temporal behavior pattern 124 corresponding to certain of the security devices 106 within the area 104 may be configured to recognize persons known to be authorized within the area 104, such as the party 140 (e.g. site owner), other occupants/tenants of the area 104, a mail delivery person, a utility company employee, etc. When the authorized person is recognized, the system 100 may not increase the alert level (e.g., one or both of the site behavior-awareness state 132 and the area behavior-awareness state 134 may remain unchanged).) the control host determined that the sensed heat source is a medium-risk heat source. (Siminoff [0055] FIG. 1 shows one example of a behavior-aware security system 100 for determining a behavior-awareness state 102 (may also be referred to as “alert level 102”) for an area 104 having a plurality of security devices 106. The alert level 102 may indicate a position within a range, such as one of low, medium, and high, to define a threat level of behavior within the area 104. For example, observed normal behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a low alert level 102, while observed malicious behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a high alert level 102)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However Tournier teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position)
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the security and guard response performed by the control host includes activating lighting, broadcasting, or remote intercom. (Siminoff [0128] In another example, when either of the site behavior-awareness state 132 or the area behavior-awareness state 134 transitions to a high alert level, the security devices 106 may transition into the heightened security mode and may also activate a siren and/or broadcast a prerecorded warning message (e.g., “You are being recorded. The police have been summoned. You should flee immediately.”) when the security device 106 detects motion. In another example, where the security device 106 is a floodlight controller, the security device 106 may also flash the floodlights (internal and/or external) when motion is detected and the security device 106 is armed and in the heightened alert mode. Further, when the security devices 106 at the site 108 are in the heighted alert mode and one of the security devices 106 detects motion, another of the security devices 106 at the site 108 may activate a siren and/or broadcast the prerecorded warning message, and/or activate or flash the controlled floodlights.)
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 4, wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the second block, and the optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source is a permitted person, (Siminoff [0069] In one example embodiment, at least one of the temporal behavior patterns 124 evaluates event signals 114 for certain of the security devices 106 located at different sites 108. The temporal behavior pattern 124 may further define that corresponding captured images (e.g., included within each of the event signals 114) include the same object (e.g., a person, a vehicle, and so on) based upon image recognition (e.g., facial recognition, vehicle recognition, license plate recognition, and so on). For example, where a person is detected passing through or near two different sites 108(1) and 108(2) within a certain period (e.g., five minutes) and the event analyzer 122 recognizes the same face within images captured by the different security devices 106, the system 100 may increase the level of concern by increasing the area behavior-awareness state 134 from low to medium, or from medium to high, or from low to high. Further, where two or more of the security devices 106 at the sites 108 detect the person and the event analyzer 122 recognizes that it is the same person, and where a location of at least one of the security devices 106 indicates that the person must have crossed a boundary line (e.g., a property line) of the site 108 (e.g., the person is detected by the security device 106 located at the rear of the property), then the system 100 may further increase the level of concern. [0070] In certain embodiments, the temporal behavior pattern 124 may be configured to recognize objects that are authorized to move within the area 104, and are not considered to be of concern. For example, the temporal behavior pattern 124 corresponding to certain of the security devices 106 within the area 104 may be configured to recognize persons known to be authorized within the area 104, such as the party 140 (e.g. site owner), other occupants/tenants of the area 104, a mail delivery person, a utility company employee, etc. When the authorized person is recognized, the system 100 may not increase the alert level (e.g., one or both of the site behavior-awareness state 132 and the area behavior-awareness state 134 may remain unchanged)) the control host determines that the sensed heat source is a low-risk heat source. (Siminoff [0055] FIG. 1 shows one example of a behavior-aware security system 100 for determining a behavior-awareness state 102 (may also be referred to as “alert level 102”) for an area 104 having a plurality of security devices 106. The alert level 102 may indicate a position within a range, such as one of low, medium, and high, to define a threat level of behavior within the area 104. For example, observed normal behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a low alert level 102, while observed malicious behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a high alert level 102)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However Tournier teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position)
Regarding to claim 10:
10. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the security response performed by the control host includes canceling the alert. (Siminoff [0083] Thus, over time (e.g., days, weeks, months, and/or years), the learning algorithm 128 may adjust, cancel, or generate the temporal behavior patterns [alert] 124 based upon the received event signals 114 (and the temporal event sequence(s) 115 thereof) for the site 108. Thus, as behavior at the site 108(1) gradually changes over time, the system 100 may automatically learn the changed behavior and adjust the temporal behavior patterns 124 accordingly. In certain embodiments, the back-end server 120 may interact with the corresponding party 140 (e.g., owner) where a temporal event sequence 115 is identified as repeating behavior to ask whether the party wants to make it a pattern, and may allow the party to define it as either normal or abnormal behavior [alert])
Regarding to claim 11:
11. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control host controls rotation and elevation angles of the at least one camera so that the at least one camera is controlled to photograph entire range (Siminoff [0139] In an embodiment, the camera 1204 has zooming and/or panning functionality, such as digital zoom or panning, so that the camera 1204 focuses or magnifies its field of view onto an area of interest. In some embodiments, a user may control this zooming and/or panning through the client device 1214 using an application executing on the client device 1214. In another embodiment, the camera 1204 has “smart” zoom and/or panning functionality, to automatically focus and/or magnify the field of view onto one or more persons in the monitored area 1201, and/or to follow movement of the persons moving about within the field of view. The camera 1204 may be further capable of detecting a human face and automatically focusing and/or magnifying the field of view onto the detected human face (or, if multiple persons, multiple faces), and/or following the movement of the detected face(s). The camera 1204 may be further capable of (a) distinguishing a human in its field of view from a non-human object in its field of view and/or (b) tracking movement of detected humans while ignoring detections of non-human objects in the field of view) that can be sensed by the at least one infrared light sensor. (Siminoff [0099] Where the security device 106 is smart (e.g., one of a smart doorbell, a smart camera, and a smart floodlight), the security device 106 may automatically adjust to capture information according to ambient conditions. For example, the security device 106 may include at least one infrared emitter (e.g., a light emitting diode) that is activated during low light conditions to enhance images captured by the camera. [0057] Each security device 106 has at least one sensor 110 that detects an event (e.g., an image, a series of images, motion, sound, etc.) within its corresponding zone 112. Each sensor 110 may represent one or more of a pyroelectric infrared (PIR), also referred to as passive infrared) sensor for detecting heat signature motion within the zone 112)
Regarding to claim 12:
12. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one camera is in a shutdown or standby state in a normal state, and is started or restored to a working state by the control host. (Siminoff [0140] In an embodiment, in response to visitor detection, the security device 1200 activates (e.g., turns on) at least one of the illumination source 1202 and the external illumination source 1203 to illuminate the monitored area 1201. The security device 1200 may also send an alert 1223 to the client device 1214 via the user network 1210 and the network 1212. The security device 1200 may also send streaming video (and optionally streaming audio) to the client device 1214 via the user network 1210 and the network 1212. If the user of the client device 1214 answers the alert 1223, the user may view the streamed video and hear the streamed audio. [0161] In another embodiment, a first, or lowest, threshold value may define a level of detected motion that activates the illumination source 1202, a second, or higher, threshold value may define a level of motion that activates recording of audio/video data, and a third, or highest, threshold value may define a level of motion that causes an alert to be sent to the user. These three threshold values may be configured and/or combined to define functionality of the security device 1200. For example, for motion that is above the first threshold value but below the second threshold value, the illumination source 1202 is activated, but no audio/video data is recorded, and no alert is sent to the user, whereas for motion that is above the second threshold value but below the third threshold value, the illumination source 1202 is activated, and audio/video data is recorded, but no alert is sent to the user, and for motion that is above the third threshold value, the illumination source 1202 is activated, audio/video data is recorded, and an alert is sent to the user.)
Regarding to claim 13:
13. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 12, wherein, when determining that the sensed heat source reaches a specific condition, (Siminoff [0057] Each security device 106 has at least one sensor 110 that detects an event (e.g., an image, a series of images, motion, sound, etc.) within its corresponding zone 112. Each sensor 110 may represent one or more of a pyroelectric infrared (PIR), also referred to as passive infrared) sensor for detecting heat signature motion within the zone 112) the control host starts or restores the working state of the at least one camera for photographing. (Siminoff [0140] In an embodiment, in response to visitor detection, the security device 1200 activates (e.g., turns on) at least one of the illumination source 1202 and the external illumination source 1203 to illuminate the monitored area 1201. The security device 1200 may also send an alert 1223 to the client device 1214 via the user network 1210 and the network 1212. The security device 1200 may also send streaming video (and optionally streaming audio) to the client device 1214 via the user network 1210 and the network 1212. If the user of the client device 1214 answers the alert 1223, the user may view the streamed video and hear the streamed audio)
Regarding to claim 14:
14. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control host further uses the at least one camera to perform monitoring on specified locations of the second block, (Siminoff [0093] the security device 106 may include at least one image, captured at the time of the event, within the event signal 114 to allow the event analyzer 122 to identify the moving object. In one embodiment, when the security device 106 sends multiple images within the event signal 114, the event analyzer 122 may compare these images to one another to isolate and identify the moving object. Images may be compared at a low detail level when identifying a vehicle. For example, when an overall shape and color of vehicles within separate images from separate security devices 106 match one another, they may be considered identical. That is, the event analyzer 122 may not use fine details when matching images, since, based upon the location of each of the security devices 106, captured images may have different perspectives, ranges, and have varying detail. [0094] Continuing with the scenario 700, where the event analyzer 122 periodically (e.g., every few minutes) receives the event signals 114(3) and 114(4) from the security devices 106(3) and 106(4), respectively, indicating vehicle motion detected, the event analyzer 122 may determine, by processing the corresponding sensor data 610 of each received event signal 114 from security device 106(4) and/or security device 106(3) for example, that the same vehicle is repeatedly driving along the street 214. Repeated behavior of one vehicle is of greater concern, as compared to different vehicles driving down the street 214, because such behavior may indicate that the occupant(s) of the vehicle is/are observing one or more properties along the street looking for a suitable property to burglarize (“casing” the neighborhood). For example, one or more of the temporal behavior patterns 124 may be configured to match repeated behavior for any one or more of the security devices 106. That is, the temporal behavior pattern 124 may match the temporal event sequences 115 derived from the repeating pattern of the event signals 114 when they contain the same identified object for the same group of the security devices 106, irrespective of how many and which ones of the security devices 106 form the group. The event analyzer 122 may accordingly increase the area behavior-awareness state 134 in response to observing such repeated behavior, setting it to medium or high for example, and notifying persons (e.g., owners, residents, and users) within the area 104 of the increased behavior-awareness state (e.g., with push notifications sent to one or more client devices). Optionally, the notification may include one or more images of the identified vehicle captured by the security device 106(4) and optionally processed by the event analyzer 122) and records data of persons or behaviors in daily life, so as to create background data for forming a background database. (Siminoff [0083] where the learning algorithm 128 determines that there is substantially no activity between the hours of 10:00 PM and 5:00 AM at the site 108(1), the learning algorithm 128 may adjust one or more of the temporal behavior patterns 124 to cover the identified period. Thus, over time (e.g., days, weeks, months, and/or years), the learning algorithm 128 may adjust, cancel, or generate the temporal behavior patterns 124 based upon the received event signals 114 (and the temporal event sequence(s) 115 thereof) for the site 108. Thus, as behavior at the site 108(1) gradually changes over time, the system 100 may automatically learn the changed behavior and adjust the temporal behavior patterns 124 accordingly. In certain embodiments, the back-end server 120 may interact with the corresponding party 140 (e.g., owner) where a temporal event sequence 115 is identified as repeating behavior to ask whether the party wants to make it a pattern, and may allow the party to define it as either normal or abnormal behavior.)
Regarding to claim 15:
15. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 14, wherein the control host is further provided with an artificial intelligence recognition system to provide various recognitions related to security and guard by using artificial intelligence technology. (Siminoff [0129] In certain embodiments, the event analyzer 122 may include computer vision, artificial intelligence, or the like that analyzes the video data and/or audio data from the security device 106 to determine an appropriate response to any actions or sounds detected.)
Regarding to claim 16:
16. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 15, Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein the control host analyzes an area where the sensed heat source is located, and analyzes the image characteristics of the sensed heat source for being compared with the background database by using the artificial intelligence recognition system to determine a risk level of the sensed heat source.
However Tournier teach wherein the control host analyzes an area where the sensed heat source is located, and analyzes the image characteristics of the sensed heat source (Tournier [0021] In the example of FIG. 1, a motion sensor 110 is installed inside the property 105. The motion sensor 110 can include, for example, a Passive Infrared (PIR) sensor 112. The PIR sensor 112 can detect moving objects based on the passive detection of heat signatures. [0022] The PIR sensor 112 detects infrared energy emitted or reflected by objects in its field of view. PIR sensors typically include pyroelectric materials, which generate energy when exposed to heat. PIR sensors are energy efficient and can be used in low-power operations, such as battery-powered operations. [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0024] Including more elements in the PIR sensor 112 may result in a greater resolution than including fewer elements in the PIR sensor 112. Adding multiple elements to the PIR sensor 112 can enable the identification of object locations within a field of view. For example, with multiple elements, the PIR sensor 112 may be able to identify if an object passes from the left side to the right side of the field of view, or if the object moves toward or away from the PIR sensor 112. Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position) for being compared with the background database by using the artificial intelligence recognition system to determine a risk level of the sensed heat source. (Tournier [0042] The server 135 receives the PIR data 125 and the auxiliary data 130. The server 135 can use a machine deep learning process to analyze the data and generate revised criteria 150. In some examples, a monitor control unit or other computing system of the monitoring system 100 receives and analyzes the PIR data 125 and the auxiliary data 130)
Regarding to claim 17:
17. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 14, wherein the background data includes pre-stored heat source images of permitted users, optical images of permitted users, or a combination thereof. (Siminoff [0093] the security device 106 may include at least one image, captured at the time of the event, within the event signal 114 to allow the event analyzer 122 to identify the moving object. In one embodiment, when the security device 106 sends multiple images within the event signal 114, the event analyzer 122 may compare these images to one another to isolate and identify the moving object. Images may be compared at a low detail level when identifying a vehicle. For example, when an overall shape and color of vehicles within separate images from separate security devices 106 match one another, they may be considered identical. That is, the event analyzer 122 may not use fine details when matching images, since, based upon the location of each of the security devices 106, captured images may have different perspectives, ranges, and have varying detail. [0094] Continuing with the scenario 700, where the event analyzer 122 periodically (e.g., every few minutes) receives the event signals 114(3) and 114(4) from the security devices 106(3) and 106(4), respectively, indicating vehicle motion detected, the event analyzer 122 may determine, by processing the corresponding sensor data 610 of each received event signal 114 from security device 106(4) and/or security device 106(3) for example, that the same vehicle is repeatedly driving along the street 214. Repeated behavior of one vehicle is of greater concern, as compared to different vehicles driving down the street 214, because such behavior may indicate that the occupant(s) of the vehicle is/are observing one or more properties along the street looking for a suitable property to burglarize (“casing” the neighborhood). For example, one or more of the temporal behavior patterns 124 may be configured to match repeated behavior for any one or more of the security devices 106. That is, the temporal behavior pattern 124 may match the temporal event sequences 115 derived from the repeating pattern of the event signals 114 when they contain the same identified object for the same group of the security devices 106, irrespective of how many and which ones of the security devices 106 form the group. The event analyzer 122 may accordingly increase the area behavior-awareness state 134 in response to observing such repeated behavior, setting it to medium or high for example, and notifying persons (e.g., owners, residents, and users) within the area 104 of the increased behavior-awareness state (e.g., with push notifications sent to one or more client devices). Optionally, the notification may include one or more images of the identified vehicle captured by the security device 106(4) and optionally processed by the event analyzer 122)
Regarding to claim 18:
18. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 17, Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein, when the at least one infrared light sensor senses a heat source, the control host compares the sensed heat source with the heat source images of permitted users in the background data to determine whether the sensed heat source is a permitted user.
However Tournier teach wherein, when the at least one infrared light sensor senses a heat source, the control host compares the sensed heat source with the heat source images of permitted users in the background data to (Tournier [0021] In the example of FIG. 1, a motion sensor 110 is installed inside the property 105. The motion sensor 110 can include, for example, a Passive Infrared (PIR) sensor 112. The PIR sensor 112 can detect moving objects based on the passive detection of heat signatures. [0022] The PIR sensor 112 detects infrared energy emitted or reflected by objects in its field of view. PIR sensors typically include pyroelectric materials, which generate energy when exposed to heat. PIR sensors are energy efficient and can be used in low-power operations, such as battery-powered operations. [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0024] Including more elements in the PIR sensor 112 may result in a greater resolution than including fewer elements in the PIR sensor 112. Adding multiple elements to the PIR sensor 112 can enable the identification of object locations within a field of view. For example, with multiple elements, the PIR sensor 112 may be able to identify if an object passes from the left side to the right side of the field of view, or if the object moves toward or away from the PIR sensor 112. Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position) determine whether the sensed heat source is a permitted user. (Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model, animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position. [0045] In the example of FIG. 1, the PIR data 125 indicates a moving object within the field of view of the motion sensor 110. The moving object is the oscillating fan 120. The auxiliary data 130 includes image data of the fan 120. The server 135 can process the image data using image detection software, and identify that the object in the auxiliary data 130 is the fan 120. [0046] The validator 140 compares the PIR data 125 to the auxiliary data 130. The validator 140 correlates the moving object, detected by the PIR sensor 112, with the fan 120, identified using image detection software)
Regarding to claim 19:
19. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 17, wherein, when the at least one camera captures an optical image of the sensed heat source, (Siminoff [0057] Each security device 106 has at least one sensor 110 that detects an event (e.g., an image, a series of images, motion, sound, etc.) within its corresponding zone 112. Each sensor 110 may represent one or more of a pyroelectric infrared (PIR), also referred to as passive infrared) sensor for detecting heat signature motion within the zone 112. Siminoff [0058] the security device 106 may be a smart security camera that may alert a user to detected motion within the zone 112, capture audio and video of that zone, and allow a user, using a smartphone or other client device, to converse with a person within that zone via the smart security camera. In another example, the security device 106 may be a smart floodlight (security device) that includes a camera and/or PIR sensors for detecting motion within a corresponding zone 112) the control host compares the optical image with the optical images of permitted users in the background data to determine whether the sensed heat source is a permitted user. (Siminoff [0069] In one example embodiment, at least one of the temporal behavior patterns 124 evaluates event signals 114 for certain of the security devices 106 located at different sites 108. The temporal behavior pattern 124 may further define that corresponding captured images (e.g., included within each of the event signals 114) include the same object (e.g., a person, a vehicle, and so on) based upon image recognition (e.g., facial recognition, vehicle recognition, license plate recognition, and so on). For example, where a person is detected passing through or near two different sites 108(1) and 108(2) within a certain period (e.g., five minutes) and the event analyzer 122 recognizes the same face within images captured by the different security devices 106, the system 100 may increase the level of concern by increasing the area behavior-awareness state 134 from low to medium, or from medium to high, or from low to high. Further, where two or more of the security devices 106 at the sites 108 detect the person and the event analyzer 122 recognizes that it is the same person, and where a location of at least one of the security devices 106 indicates that the person must have crossed a boundary line (e.g., a property line) of the site 108 (e.g., the person is detected by the security device 106 located at the rear of the property), then the system 100 may further increase the level of concern. [0070] In certain embodiments, the temporal behavior pattern 124 may be configured to recognize objects that are authorized to move within the area 104, and are not considered to be of concern. For example, the temporal behavior pattern 124 corresponding to certain of the security devices 106 within the area 104 may be configured to recognize persons known to be authorized within the area 104, such as the party 140 (e.g. site owner), other occupants/tenants of the area 104, a mail delivery person, a utility company employee, etc. When the authorized person is recognized, the system 100 may not increase the alert level (e.g., one or both of the site behavior-awareness state 132 and the area behavior-awareness state 134 may remain unchanged).)
Regarding to claim 20:
20. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising at least one component connected to the control host in a wired or wireless manner, (Siminoff [0122] FIGS. 1 and 2, FIG. 10 The hub 1002 may use one or more communication protocols, including either or both of wired and wireless protocols, including but not limited to X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, and Z-Wave.) and the at least one component includes a door lock system, an alarm, a lighting system, an intercom, a display or a notification system, or a combination thereof. (Siminoff [0097] As described above, the security device 106 may represent one of a smart doorbell, a smart camera, and a smart floodlight (or any other kind/type of security device). Each security device 106 may therefore include multiple sensors, such as a video camera, a microphone, and passive infrared (PIR) sensors. Each security device 106 may detect movement based upon images from the video camera and/or outputs from the PIR sensors. Similarly, the security device 106 may detect sounds from the zone 112 that may be used to quantify and/or qualify any detected movement or event within the corresponding zone 112. For example, where a camera of the security device 106 detects movement of a vehicle, sound captured by the microphone of the security device 106 may be used to confirm that the moving object is a vehicle by detecting engine noise within sound captured at the time of the movement detection. Similarly, a microphone of the security device 106 may detect a loud noise, but images from a camera of the security device 106 may indicate that the noise is not from the corresponding zone 112.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896