DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 09/19/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/18/24 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/19/2025 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Claim amendments of “wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block, and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person” recited in independent claims 1 has changed the claim scope. Claim scope is different than limitation of claims 5, 7 and 9 because of the addition of “and according to”. Because of that now claim requires “wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person”. Please note that claims 5, 7 and 9 does not require this.
Because of claim amendment independent claim 1 is rejected using an additional previously cited prior art Tournier (U.S. Pub. No.20210358293 A1) because of claim scope change. Examiner notes that few other limitations of dependent claims are also taught by Tournier. As such those limitations are additionally cited because of scope change of base claim.
Applicant argued in page 7 that Tournier, only recites the PIR sensor is used to detect the motion of an object, it fails to disclose to determine whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
Examiner disagree on this because Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position.
Image characteristics of a person is a broad term. As long as a human can be differentiated from an IR image in the prior art, then it meets claim requirement. Tournier [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. This means, it determines whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person, as a person is separately detected from flag by PIR.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff (U.S. Pub. No. 20180357870 A1), in view of McRae (U.S. Pub. No. 20220345623 A1), further in view of Tournier (U.S. Pub. No.20210358293 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Siminoff teach a security and guard system for monitoring an area divided into at least one first block and at least one second block, comprising: (Siminoff Fig. 2 [0075] Particularly, the temporal nature of the events within the received event signals 114 may indicate a direction of movement as the person 210 passes from the zone 112(3), to the zone 112(2), and then to the zone 112(1)) at least one infrared light sensor for sensing a first range of the area; (Siminoff [0057] Each security device 106 has at least one sensor 110 that detects an event (e.g., an image, a series of images, motion, sound, etc.) within its corresponding zone 112. Each sensor 110 may represent one or more of a pyroelectric infrared (PIR), also referred to as passive infrared) sensor for detecting heat signature motion within the zone 112) at least one camera for photographing a second range of the area, (Siminoff [0058] the security device 106 may be a smart security camera that may alert a user to detected motion within the zone 112, capture audio and video of that zone, and allow a user, using a smartphone or other client device, to converse with a person within that zone via the smart security camera. In another example, the security device 106 may be a smart floodlight (security device) that includes a camera and/or PIR sensors for detecting motion within a corresponding zone 112) wherein the first range is larger than the second range; (Siminoff teach zoomed FOV of ROI and as such IR sensor covers larger range than zoomed FOV of the camera because [0139] In an embodiment, the camera 1204 has zooming and/or panning functionality, such as digital zoom or panning, so that the camera 1204 focuses or magnifies its field of view onto an area of interest. In some embodiments, a user may control this zooming and/or panning through the client device 1214 using an application executing on the client device 1214. In another embodiment, the camera 1204 has “smart” zoom and/or panning functionality, to automatically focus and/or magnify the field of view onto one or more persons in the monitored area 1201, and/or to follow movement of the persons moving about within the field of view. The camera 1204 may be further capable of detecting a human face and automatically focusing and/or magnifying the field of view onto the detected human face (or, if multiple persons, multiple faces), and/or following the movement of the detected face(s). The camera 1204 may be further capable of (a) distinguishing a human in its field of view from a non-human object in its field of view and/or (b) tracking movement of detected humans while ignoring detections of non-human objects in the field of view)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach a control host connected to the at least one infrared light sensor and the at least one camera and using a heat source sensed by the at least one infrared light sensor to selectively control the at least one camera to capture an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block, and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However McRae teach and a control host connected to the at least one infrared light sensor and the at least one camera and using a heat source sensed by the at least one infrared light sensor to selectively control the at least one camera to capture an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Siminoff, further incorporating McRae in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate a control host connected to the at least one infrared light sensor and the at least one camera and using a heat source sensed by the at least one infrared light sensor to selectively control the at least one camera to capture an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
The combined teaching of Siminoff and McRae do not explicitly teach and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However Tournier teach and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Siminoff, further incorporating McRae and Tournier in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate and according to whether image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 1, Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein the first block is an alert zone and the second block is a non-alert zone.
However McRae teach wherein the first block is an alert zone and the second block is a non-alert zone. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
Regarding to claim 3:
Cancelled.
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 2, an optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source, (Siminoff [0058] the security device 106 may be a smart security camera that may alert a user to detected motion within the zone 112, capture audio and video of that zone, and allow a user, using a smartphone or other client device, to converse with a person within that zone via the smart security camera. In another example, the security device 106 may be a smart floodlight (security device) that includes a camera and/or PIR sensors for detecting motion within a corresponding zone 112)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to image characteristics of the sensed heat source, and whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block.
However McRae teach wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to image characteristics (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.) of the sensed heat source, (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
and whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
Alternatively, Tournier teach wherein the control host performs different security and guard responses according to image characteristics of the sensed heat source, and whether the sensed heat source is located in the first block or in the second block. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 4, and the optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source is a non-permitted person, (Siminoff [0078] In the scenario 300, while the operating mode 130 is set to the abnormal behavior learning mode, a person 310 climbs over the fence 204 at the side of the site 108(1) and proceeds, as indicated by the arrow 312, alongside the house 202, into the back yard 206, and then around to the front of the house 202. The movement indicated by the arrow 312 is considered abnormal behavior for the site 108(1), and may represent movement of a person intending to burgle, or otherwise cause problems at, the site 108(1). As the person 310 crosses the fence 204, the security device 106(2) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(2) (FIG. 1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. Then, as the person 310 progresses along the path indicated by the arrow 312, the security device 106(1) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. As the person 310 continues around the house 202, as indicated by the arrow 312, and crosses the front of the house 202, the security device 106(3) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(3)) the control host determines that the sensed heat source is a high-risk heat source. (Siminoff [0057] Each security device 106 has at least one sensor 110 that detects an event (e.g., an image, a series of images, motion, sound, etc.) within its corresponding zone 112. Each sensor 110 may represent one or more of a pyroelectric infrared (PIR), also referred to as passive infrared) sensor for detecting heat signature motion within the zone 112)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the first block, the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However McRae teach wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the first block, the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (McRae Fig. 2 [0036] As part of its ordinary monitoring operation, imaging device 12 captures an image 66 of the field of view 62, FIG. 2E, block 86. This capture my occur upon receipt of a command from a user device 16 or automatically by detection of a trigging event in activity zone 60 monitored by a detector 21 (FIG. 1). The triggering event may be motion in activity zone 60, and the detector may be a motion detector. Instead of or in addition to detecting motion, the detector could include an IR sensor detecting heat, such as the body heat of an animal or person. The triggering event also could be sound, in which case the detector may include the microphone 18. In this case, the triggering event may be a sound exceeding a designated decibel level or some other identifiable threshold. Upon receiving notification from an imaging device 12 of a triggering event, the system 10 can generate an alert such as a push notification (“PN”) and send it to one or more user devices 16 indicating the triggering event. Importantly, monitored activity outside of the activity zone 60 does not trigger image capture and related operations.)
Alternatively, Tournier teach when the sensed heat source is located in the first block, the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the security and guard response performed by the control host includes locking and closing doors or contacting owners (Siminoff [0002] Sensor devices for detecting activity in an environment (e.g., sensors in a local alarm system) typically operate independently and provide a local alert when activity is detected. The alerts are generated when any one device detects an event (e.g., if an entry door opens when a burglar alarm is set, the alarm is activated). Some of these devices (e.g., a smart doorbell or a monitored alarm system) communicate with a remote server that may provide both local and non-local alerts when activity is detected. For example, when a smart doorbell detects motion, an alert is sent to the owner's smartphone. Some of these devices detect activity and control other devices (e.g., a floodlight controller) and act independently as an intruder deterrent. However, even where one owner has multiple devices, they each typically operate independently to generate alerts.) and calling police. (Siminoff [0128] In another example, when either of the site behavior-awareness state 132 or the area behavior-awareness state 134 transitions to a high alert level, the security devices 106 may transition into the heightened security mode and may also activate a siren and/or broadcast a prerecorded warning message (e.g., “You are being recorded. The police have been summoned. You should flee immediately.”) when the security device 106 detects motion. In another example, where the security device 106 is a floodlight controller, the security device 106 may also flash the floodlights (internal and/or external) when motion is detected and the security device 106 is armed and in the heightened alert mode. Further, when the security devices 106 at the site 108 are in the heighted alert mode and one of the security devices 106 detects motion, another of the security devices 106 at the site 108 may activate a siren and/or broadcast the prerecorded warning message, and/or activate or flash the controlled floodlights. [0130] When, while in this heightened alert mode, additional events are detected by others of the security devices 106 at the site 108, the system 100 may further escalate the alert level (e.g., the site behavior-awareness state 132 may be set to high) and a notification may be sent to the monitoring station such that law enforcement or private security personnel may be dispatched to the site 108.)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 4, wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the first block and the image characteristics of the sensed heat source do not match image characteristics of a person, or when the sensed heat source is located in the second block, (Siminoff [0078] In the scenario 300, while the operating mode 130 is set to the abnormal behavior learning mode, a person 310 climbs over the fence 204 at the side of the site 108(1) and proceeds, as indicated by the arrow 312, alongside the house 202, into the back yard 206, and then around to the front of the house 202. The movement indicated by the arrow 312 is considered abnormal behavior for the site 108(1), and may represent movement of a person intending to burgle, or otherwise cause problems at, the site 108(1). As the person 310 crosses the fence 204, the security device 106(2) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(2) (FIG. 1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. Then, as the person 310 progresses along the path indicated by the arrow 312, the security device 106(1) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(1) and sends it to the back-end server 120. As the person 310 continues around the house 202, as indicated by the arrow 312, and crosses the front of the house 202, the security device 106(3) detects motion and generates the event signal 114(3).) the optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source is a non-permitted person, (Siminoff [0069] In one example embodiment, at least one of the temporal behavior patterns 124 evaluates event signals 114 for certain of the security devices 106 located at different sites 108. The temporal behavior pattern 124 may further define that corresponding captured images (e.g., included within each of the event signals 114) include the same object (e.g., a person, a vehicle, and so on) based upon image recognition (e.g., facial recognition, vehicle recognition, license plate recognition, and so on). For example, where a person is detected passing through or near two different sites 108(1) and 108(2) within a certain period (e.g., five minutes) and the event analyzer 122 recognizes the same face within images captured by the different security devices 106, the system 100 may increase the level of concern by increasing the area behavior-awareness state 134 from low to medium, or from medium to high, or from low to high. Further, where two or more of the security devices 106 at the sites 108 detect the person and the event analyzer 122 recognizes that it is the same person, and where a location of at least one of the security devices 106 indicates that the person must have crossed a boundary line (e.g., a property line) of the site 108 (e.g., the person is detected by the security device 106 located at the rear of the property), then the system 100 may further increase the level of concern. [0070] In certain embodiments, the temporal behavior pattern 124 may be configured to recognize objects that are authorized to move within the area 104, and are not considered to be of concern. For example, the temporal behavior pattern 124 corresponding to certain of the security devices 106 within the area 104 may be configured to recognize persons known to be authorized within the area 104, such as the party 140 (e.g. site owner), other occupants/tenants of the area 104, a mail delivery person, a utility company employee, etc. When the authorized person is recognized, the system 100 may not increase the alert level (e.g., one or both of the site behavior-awareness state 132 and the area behavior-awareness state 134 may remain unchanged).) the control host determined that the sensed heat source is a medium-risk heat source. (Siminoff [0055] FIG. 1 shows one example of a behavior-aware security system 100 for determining a behavior-awareness state 102 (may also be referred to as “alert level 102”) for an area 104 having a plurality of security devices 106. The alert level 102 may indicate a position within a range, such as one of low, medium, and high, to define a threat level of behavior within the area 104. For example, observed normal behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a low alert level 102, while observed malicious behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a high alert level 102)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However Tournier teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about average human height and relative locations of a human's head and foot position)
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the security and guard response performed by the control host includes activating lighting, broadcasting, or remote intercom. (Siminoff [0128] In another example, when either of the site behavior-awareness state 132 or the area behavior-awareness state 134 transitions to a high alert level, the security devices 106 may transition into the heightened security mode and may also activate a siren and/or broadcast a prerecorded warning message (e.g., “You are being recorded. The police have been summoned. You should flee immediately.”) when the security device 106 detects motion. In another example, where the security device 106 is a floodlight controller, the security device 106 may also flash the floodlights (internal and/or external) when motion is detected and the security device 106 is armed and in the heightened alert mode. Further, when the security devices 106 at the site 108 are in the heighted alert mode and one of the security devices 106 detects motion, another of the security devices 106 at the site 108 may activate a siren and/or broadcast the prerecorded warning message, and/or activate or flash the controlled floodlights.)
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Siminoff teach the security and guard system as claimed in claim 4, wherein, when the sensed heat source is located in the second block, and the optical image corresponding to the sensed heat source is a permitted person, (Siminoff [0069] In one example embodiment, at least one of the temporal behavior patterns 124 evaluates event signals 114 for certain of the security devices 106 located at different sites 108. The temporal behavior pattern 124 may further define that corresponding captured images (e.g., included within each of the event signals 114) include the same object (e.g., a person, a vehicle, and so on) based upon image recognition (e.g., facial recognition, vehicle recognition, license plate recognition, and so on). For example, where a person is detected passing through or near two different sites 108(1) and 108(2) within a certain period (e.g., five minutes) and the event analyzer 122 recognizes the same face within images captured by the different security devices 106, the system 100 may increase the level of concern by increasing the area behavior-awareness state 134 from low to medium, or from medium to high, or from low to high. Further, where two or more of the security devices 106 at the sites 108 detect the person and the event analyzer 122 recognizes that it is the same person, and where a location of at least one of the security devices 106 indicates that the person must have crossed a boundary line (e.g., a property line) of the site 108 (e.g., the person is detected by the security device 106 located at the rear of the property), then the system 100 may further increase the level of concern. [0070] In certain embodiments, the temporal behavior pattern 124 may be configured to recognize objects that are authorized to move within the area 104, and are not considered to be of concern. For example, the temporal behavior pattern 124 corresponding to certain of the security devices 106 within the area 104 may be configured to recognize persons known to be authorized within the area 104, such as the party 140 (e.g. site owner), other occupants/tenants of the area 104, a mail delivery person, a utility company employee, etc. When the authorized person is recognized, the system 100 may not increase the alert level (e.g., one or both of the site behavior-awareness state 132 and the area behavior-awareness state 134 may remain unchanged)) the control host determines that the sensed heat source is a low-risk heat source. (Siminoff [0055] FIG. 1 shows one example of a behavior-aware security system 100 for determining a behavior-awareness state 102 (may also be referred to as “alert level 102”) for an area 104 having a plurality of security devices 106. The alert level 102 may indicate a position within a range, such as one of low, medium, and high, to define a threat level of behavior within the area 104. For example, observed normal behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a low alert level 102, while observed malicious behavior within the area 104 may be associated with a high alert level 102)
Siminoff do not explicitly teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person.
However Tournier teach the image characteristics of the sensed heat source match image characteristics of a person. (Tournier [0023] The PIR sensor 112 can include one or more elements. When an object, such as a person 115, moves through the field of view of the PIR sensor 112, individual elements within the PIR sensor 112 detect oscillations in incident heat [image characteristics] from the object. The oscillations in incident heat cause oscillations in the output voltage of the PIR sensor 112. Changes in the PIR sensor 112 output voltage over time indicate the detection of movement. [0025] In some implementations, the PIR sensor 112 can be configured to continuously collect infrared energy and detect for objects of interest. In particular, objects of interest can be humans, animals, or vehicles. The PIR sensor 112 may also detect distractors, which are moving objects that are not classified as objects of interest. For example, for outdoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as moving tree branches and waving flags. For indoor scenarios, the PIR sensor 112 may detect distractors such as pets, warm and cold air from heating. [0071] Referring back to FIG. 2, if the PIR data 225 output exceeds a threshold 230, e.g., threshold differential voltage output 310, the PIR sensor wakes and collects additional IR samples 235. For example, the PIR data 225 from the person 215 may exceed the threshold 230, while the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 might not exceed the threshold 230. However, if the threshold is set lower than the output signal of the flag 220, then the PIR data 225 from the flag 220 will exceed the threshold 230. [0078] For example, the PIR sensor may determine, based on analyzing IR samples 240, that there are two potential objects of interest 245, i.e., the person 215 and the flag 220. [0100] For example, the motion sensor 210 can analyze the auxiliary data 255 to classify the person 215 as an object of interest. The motion sensor 210 can analyze the IR samples 235 to determine that detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215. In response to determining that the detected motion of the flag 220 does not correspond to the person 215, the server 270 can determine the revised criteria 150. Tournier [0036] The sensitivity of the motion sensor 110 can be adjusted by changing the criteria 116. For example, to increase sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112, a user may lower the criterion of threshold differential voltage amplitude. This can cause the PIR sensor 112 to detect objects with smaller heat signatures. For example, the PIR sensor 112 may be configured to detect the motion of humans. If a user increases the sensitivity of the PIR sensor 112 by lowering the threshold differential voltage amplitude, the PIR sensor 112 may also detect the motion of pets [permitted user]. [0044] In the case where the auxiliary data 130 is image data, the server 135 can process the image data using image detection software. The image detection software may include one or more object models (e.g., human model [match image characteristics], animal model, vehicle model) that include information related to a respective object (e.g., human, animal, vehicle). An object model may include information related to, for example, object size/dimensions, locations of one or more features, and movement speed. For example, a human model may include information about a