Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed handle assembly in that applicant claims specific structure related to the handle assembly being the gripping feature. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed scrub bar assembly in that applicant has not claimed any functional language associated with the claimed scrub bar assembly. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed blade assembly in that applicant claims specific structure related to the blade assembly being the blade. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed pivoting assembly in that applicant claims specific structure related to the pivoting assembly being the releasable lock.
Regarding claim 2, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed c-clip engagement mechanism and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the c-clip engagement mechanism is detailed as a c-clip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase rotatable relative to the handle body between in at least the first position or the second position makes it unclear to whether the rotation is made when in the first or second position or between the first and second positions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 3,110,052 to Whitman.
Referring to claim 1, Whitman discloses a multi-positional cleaning device comprising, a handle assembly – at 38, 46-50 and 84, having a handle body – 38,46,48,84, and at least one gripping feature – at 50 and at outer surface of 38,46,48,84, a scrub bar assembly – at 16-26, coupled to the handle assembly – at 38,84 – see via item 22,40 – see figures 1-2, a blade assembly – at 70,72,74,76,78, having a blade – at 70, configured to wipe a surface – see figures 1-2, and a pivoting assembly – at 80 and 86-100, securing the handle assembly – at 84, and the blade assembly – at 70,72, to one another – see figures 1-2, such that the blade assembly – at 70,72, may be selectively pivoted with respect to the handle assembly – at 84, about a pivot axis – see at 98 and see column 3 lines 52-72, the pivoting assembly having a releasable lock – at 88,90,92,94,96,100, coupled to the handle body – at 84 – see figures 1-2, the releasable lock – at 88,90,92,94,96,100, selectively fixing the blade assembly – at 70,72, in at least one of a first position or a second position – see figures 1-2 and column 3 line 32 to 72.
Referring to claim 2, Whitman further discloses the releasable lock – at 88,90,92,94,96,100, further comprises an C-clip engagement mechanism – see at 96 in figures 1-2 which engages c shaped components of 74,76, movable between an unlocked position and a locked position – see figures 1-3 and column 3 lines 32-72. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed c-clip engagement mechanism item 96 of Whitman, is at least functionally equivalent to applicant’s disclosed c-clip engagement mechanism in that item 96 has similar function of removably securing components together as seen in figures 1-2 of Whitman. Further, the claim as presently written does not require a c-shaped clip but only requires a mechanism that can engage a c shaped clip.
Referring to claim 3, Whitman further discloses the blade assembly – at 70-78, being movable between at least the first position and the second position when the C- clip engagement mechanism – at 90,96, is in the unlocked position – see figures 1-2 and column 3 lines 32-72, and the blade assembly – at 70-78, being restricted from moving between at least the first position and the second position when the C-clip engagement mechanism – at 90,96, is in the locked position – see figures 1-2 and column 3 lines 32-72.
Referring to claim 4, Whitman further discloses the releasable lock further comprises a protrusion – at 92,94,100, for applying an unlocking force – see figures 1-2 and column 3 lines 32-72.
Referring to claim 5, Whitman further discloses the handle body includes a first longitudinal axis – see axis of 84 and axis of 38-48 in figure 1.
Referring to claim 6, Whitman further discloses the blade assembly includes a second longitudinal axis – see axis of 70-78 in figures 1-2.
Referring to claim 7, Whitman further discloses the blade assembly – at 70-78, is positionable in at least the first position or the second position relative to the handle body – at 84 – see figures 1-3 and column 3 lines 32-72.
Referring to claim 8, Whitman further discloses the blade assembly – at 70,78, is rotatable relative to the handle body – at 84, between in at least the first position or the second position – see pivoting which would cause rotation detailed in column 3 lines 32-72.
Referring to claim 9, Whitman further discloses in the first position, the second longitudinal axis – of 70-78, is arranged at a first angle relative to the first longitudinal axis – of item 84 – see figures 1-2, and in the second position, the second longitudinal axis – of 70-78, is arranged at a second angle relative to the first longitudinal axis – of 84 – see figures 1-2 and column 3 lines 32-72 where items 70-78 are moved into different positions via operation of the releasable lock.
Referring to claim 10, Whitman further discloses the first angle is equal and opposite to the second angle – see figures 1-2 and column 3 lines 32-72 where in the unlocked position the device of Whitman is capable of having the blade assembly move into a position where the first and second angles are equal and opposite to each other about the pivot – at 98.
Referring to claim 11, Whitman further discloses the blade assembly further comprising a carriage – at 74-78, the blade – at 70, received by the carriage – at 74-78, to ensure that the blade – at 70, is positioned in a desired orientation and/or position – see figures 1-2.
Referring to claim 12, Whitman further discloses the scrub bar assembly including a scrub bar – at 16,18, and a base section – at 20, the base section – at 20, extending at a predetermined angle from the handle body – at 38,84 – see figure 1, the scrub bar – at 16,18, and the base section – at 20, including at least one cooperating feature – at 26,34,36, that ensure that the scrub bar – at 16,18, is positioned on the base section – at 20, in a desired orientation and/or position – see figures 1 and 7-8.
Referring to claim 13, Whitman further discloses the at least one gripping feature includes at least one elongate rib – between items 58 and 68 and/or between items 64 and 40 as seen in figure 1, extending substantially parallel to the first longitudinal axis – of 84 – see figure 1.
Referring to claim 14, Whitman further discloses the at least one gripping feature includes a substantially smooth surface – see smooth outer surface of items 38-38 and 84 as seen in figure 1.
Referring to claim 15, Whitman further discloses the at least one gripping feature includes a plurality of grooves – at 50 – and recessed/grooved surface between 52 and 38, substantially perpendicular to the first longitudinal axis – of items 38-48 – see figure 1.
Referring to claim 18, Whitman further discloses the scrub bar further comprising a front side, including connection pads – see at 28 for connecting item 14 to item 20, and a back side, including water channels – between items 14 capable of allowing water flow as seen in figure 1.
Referring to claim 19, Whitman further discloses the blade – at 70, is removeable from the carriage – at 74,76 – see figures 1-2.
Referring to claim 20, Whitman further discloses a first gripping feature – between 52 and 38 as seen in figure 1, a diameter of the first gripping feature is smaller at a center point of the first gripping feature than at a first and a second end – at 52 and – at 46 – see figure 1, and a second gripping feature – outer surface of 38 and/or 48, a diameter of the second gripping feature dimensioned greater than the diameter of the first gripping feature – see figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman as applied to claim 12 above.
Referring to claim 16, Whitman does not disclose the base section extends between a 10°-40° angle from the handle body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Whitman and have the base section extend at any suitable angle from the handle body including the 10-40 degrees claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the scrub bar assembly to be positioned for the user to more easily scrub/clean the surface to be cleaned during use.
Referring to claim 17, Whitman does not disclose the base section extends between a 40°-70° angle from the handle body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Whitman and have the base section extend at any suitable angle from the handle body including the 40-70 degrees claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the scrub bar assembly to be positioned for the user to more easily scrub/clean the surface to be cleaned during use.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to squeegee devices in general:
U.S. Pat. No. 1,117,513 to North – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pat. No. 4,847,938 to Unger – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pat. No. 5,255,405 to Samuelsson et al. – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pat. No. 5,539,99 to Stanton – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pat. No. 5,862,562 to Erken – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pat. No. 6,931,690 to Cox – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0254009 to Tsai et al. – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pat. No. 7,748,074 to Guizzi – shows squeegee device
U.S. Pat. No. 12,471,744 to Bussell et al. – shows squeegee device
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643