DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 August 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20190363810 (Luo et al.) in view of European Patent Application No. EP3413656 (Mochizuki et al).
Regarding Claim 1, Luo et al. discloses: “an apparatus comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory (FIG. 10: 1004; [0099]: “The processing system 1014 includes a processor 1004 coupled to a computer-readable medium/memory 1006”); storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 10: 1004, 1006; [0099]: “The processor 1004 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory1006”), cause the apparatus at least to: communicate, to a user equipment (UE), an uplink sensing reference signal configuration ([0086]: “The serving cell 702, may configure the UE 704 to measure an uplink reference signal 743 for estimating the cross-uplink-downlink interference to the communication from the serving cell 702 to the UE 704. The uplink reference signal may comprise a sounding reference signal (SRS) from the second UE 704. The UE 704 may receive the configuration from the serving cell 702 to measure the uplink signal (e.g., SRS) from the second UE 744”).
However, Luo et al. does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claims. To that end, Mochizuki et al. discloses: “communicate, to the UE, a criterion for reporting sensing reference signal measurements ([0228]: “The eNB notifies the UE of settings of the SRS resources. The UE transmits the SRS with the SRS resources in the absence of transmission data with the timing of the set SPS”); and receive, from the UE, a sensing signal measurement report based on the criterion for reporting sensing reference signal measurements” ([0228]: “The eNB can recognize no transmission data upon receipt of the SRS from the UE with the SRS resources at the timing of the SPS”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Luo et al. with the invention of Mochizuki et al. in order to provide settings for transmission of SRS resources (e.g., see Mochizuki et al.@ [0228]).
With respect to claim 2, Luo et al. discloses: “the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to estimate a location of the UE based on the sensing signal measurement report” ([0051]: “As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE. The RS may include demodulation RS (DM-RS)”; [0052]: “the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the aforementioned DM-RS”).
Regarding claim 3, Luo et al. discloses: “the criterion for reporting sensing reference signal measurements includes a received power of a downlink positioning reference signal being greater than a threshold power, or a received power of a sensing reference signal being greater than a second threshold power” ([0065]: “The measurement quantity can comprise any of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), etc. As an example, measurement results may indicate any of a physical cell ID, cell global identification information, measurement results, or RS index results”).
With respect to claim 4, Luo et al. discloses: “a sensing reference signal measurement includes at least one of a received signal power measurement ([0065]: “The measurement quantity can comprise any of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR)”), or a round trip time measurement between the UE and Transmission Reception Point (TRP)” .
Regarding claim 5, Luo et al. discloses: “receive, from the UE, uplink positioning reference signals ([0086]: “The uplink reference signal may comprise a sounding reference signal (SRS) from the second UE 704”); and estimate a location of the UE based on the sensing reference signal measurement report ([0052]: “the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the aforementioned DM-RS”) and the uplink positioning reference signal measurement report” ([0086]: “The UE 704 may receive the configuration from the serving cell 702 to measure the uplink signal (e.g., SRS) from the second UE 744”).
With respect to claim 6, Luo et al. discloses: “an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory (FIG. 10: 1004; [0099]: “The processing system 1014 includes a processor 1004 coupled to a computer-readable medium/memory 1006”) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 10: 1004, 1006; [0099]: “The processor 1004 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory1006”), cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity, an uplink sensing reference signal configuration” ([0086]: “The serving cell 702, may configure the UE 704 to measure an uplink reference signal 743 for estimating the cross-uplink-downlink interference to the communication from the serving cell 702 to the UE 704. The uplink reference signal may comprise a sounding reference signal (SRS) from the second UE 704. The UE 704 may receive the configuration from the serving cell 702 to measure the uplink signal (e.g., SRS) from the second UE 744”).
In addition, Mochizuki et al. discloses: “receive, from the network entity, a criterion for reporting sensing reference signal measurements ([0228]: “The eNB notifies the UE of settings of the SRS resources. The UE transmits the SRS with the SRS resources in the absence of transmission data with the timing of the set SPS”); measure sensing reference signals; and communicate, to the network entity, a sensing reference signal measurement report based on the measured sensing signals and the criterion for reporting sensing signal measurements” ([0228]: “The eNB can recognize no transmission data upon receipt of the SRS from the UE with the SRS resources at the timing of the SPS”).
Regarding claim 7, Luo et al. discloses: “the criterion for reporting sensing reference signal measurements includes a received power being greater than a threshold power, or a received power of a sensing reference signal being greater than a second threshold power” ([0065]: “The measurement quantity can comprise any of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), etc. As an example, measurement results may indicate any of a physical cell ID, cell global identification information, measurement results, or RS index results”).
With respect to claim 8, Luo et al. discloses: “a sensing reference signal measurement includes at least one of a received signal power measurement ([0065]: “The measurement quantity can comprise any of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR)”), or a round trip time measurement between the apparatus and a Transmission Reception Point (TRP)”.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. in view of Mochizuki et al. and US Patent Application Publication No. 202202044344 (Bao et al).
Claim 9 is dependent upon claim 6. As discussed above, claim 6 is disclosed by the combination of Luo et al. and Mochizuki et al. Thus, those limitations of claim 9 that are recited in claim 6 are also disclosed by the combination of Luo et al. and Mochizuki et al.
However, the combination of Luo et al. and Mochizuki et al. does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claims. To that end, Bao et al. discloses: ”operate in one of a joint use mode or a sensing only mode, wherein the joint use mode includes use of sensing reference signals and at least one of uplink positioning reference signals, or downlink positioning reference signals” ([0006]: “The positions of multiple user equipments (UEs) are jointly determined by a location server using positioning measurements from a comment set of positioning reference signals (PRS), which may include downlink (DL) PRS, uplink (UL) PRS, sidelink (SL) PRS, or a combination thereof. The common set of PRS may be selected by the location server, e.g., based on a rough estimate of position of the UEs determined by the location server, a recommendation from the UEs, or a position report from the UEs”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the combination of Luo et al. and Mochizuki et al. with the invention of Bao et al. in order to jointly determine location using uplink/downlink position reference signals (e.g., see Bao et al. @ [0006]).
Claims 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20230354254 (Sundararajan et al).
With respect to claim 12, Luo et al. discloses: “an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory (FIG. 10: 1004; [0099]: “The processing system 1014 includes a processor 1004 coupled to a computer-readable medium/memory 1006”) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 10: 1004, 1006; [0099]: “The processor 1004 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory1006”).
However, Luo et al. does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claim. To that end, Sundararajan et al. cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity, a criterion to select detectable Transmission Reception Point (TRP); measure downlink positioning reference signals from at least one TRP; determine a list of detectable TRPs based on the measured downlink positioning reference signals and the criterion to select detectable TRP; and communicate, to the network entity, the list of detectable TRPs” (FIG. 6: 602, 604; [0138]: “the UE 604 supports and determines a set of one or more transmission-reception points (TRPs) from which the UE 604 is to measure downlink positioning reference signals or towards which the UE 604 is to transmit uplink positioning reference signals. At stage 630, the LMF 670 sends an LPP Provide Assistance Data message to the UE 604 identifying the set of TRPs”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Luo et al. with the invention of Sundararajan et al. in order to provide a set of transmission reception points (e.g., see Sundararajan et al. @ [0138]).
With respect to claim 14, Luo et al. further discloses: “the criterion for reporting sensing reference signal measurements includes a received power being greater than a threshold power”.([0065]: “The measurement quantity can comprise any of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), etc. As an example, measurement results may indicate any of a physical cell ID, cell global identification information, measurement results, or RS index results”)
Regarding claim 15, Sundararajan et al. further discloses: a sensing reference signal measurement includes at least one of a received signal power, a round trip time between the apparatus and a Transmission Reception Point (TRP)” (FIG. 6: 602, 604; [0138]: “the UE 604 supports and determines a set of one or more transmission-reception points (TRPs) from which the UE 604 is to measure downlink positioning reference signals or towards which the UE 604 is to transmit uplink positioning reference signals. At stage 630, the LMF 670 sends an LPP Provide Assistance Data message to the UE 604 identifying the set of TRPs”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. in view of Sundararajan et al. and Bao et al.
Claim 16 is dependent upon claim 12. As discussed above, claim 12 is disclosed by the combination of Luo et al. in view of Sundararajan et al. Thus, those limitations of claim 12 that are recited in claim 16 are also disclosed by the combination of Luo et al. and Sundararajan et al.
However, the combination of Luo et al. and Sundararajan et al. does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claim. To that end, Bao et al. discloses: ”operate in one of a joint use mode or a sensing only mode, wherein the joint use mode includes use of sensing reference signals and at least one of uplink positioning reference signals, or downlink positioning reference signals” ([0006]: “The positions of multiple user equipments (UEs) are jointly determined by a location server using positioning measurements from a comment set of positioning reference signals (PRS), which may include downlink (DL) PRS, uplink (UL) PRS, sidelink (SL) PRS, or a combination thereof. The common set of PRS may be selected by the location server, e.g., based on a rough estimate of position of the UEs determined by the location server, a recommendation from the UEs, or a position report from the UEs”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the combination of Luo et al. and Sundararajan et al. with the invention of Bao et al. in order to jointly determine location using uplink/downlink position reference signals (e.g., see Bao et al. @ [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 13 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Myron Wyche/ 31 December 2025
Primary Examiner AU2644