DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites that the polyolefin contained in the polyolefin resin layer is polypropylene. However, it is not clear whether applicant is referring to the substrate layer and/or the intermediate layer substrate layer and/or the sealant layer.
Claim 5 recites that the polyolefin contained in the polyolefin resin layer is polyethylene. However, it is not clear whether applicant is referring to the substrate layer and/or the intermediate layer substrate layer and/or the sealant layer.
Claim 7 recites that the polyester contained in the polyester resin layer is polyethylene. However, it is not clear whether applicant is referring to the substrate layer and/or the intermediate layer substrate layer and/or the sealant layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP2016-199722 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP2016-199722 discloses a packaging material, comprising: a substrate layer, an intermediate layer, and a sealant layer, the intermediate layer comprising an intermediate layer substrate layer and a barrier coat layer containing a carboxylic acid polymer and a polyvalent metal compound, the intermediate layer being laminated so that the barrier coat layer is on a substrate layer side, and all of the substrate layer, the intermediate layer substrate layer, and the sealant layer being polyolefin resin layers or polyester resin layers (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0009], [0013], [0018], [0053], [0069-0072], [0093-0094], [0106-0110], [0112-0113], [0117-0121]).
JP2016-199722 discloses wherein the intermediate layer further comprises an inorganic vapor deposition layer between the intermediate layer substrate layer and
the barrier coat layer, wherein the polyolefin contained in the polyolefin resin layer is polypropylene, wherein the polyolefin contained in the polyolefin resin layer is polyethylene, wherein the polyolefin contained in the intermediate layer substrate layer is high-density polyethylene, wherein the polyester contained in the polyester resin layer is polyethylene terephthalate, a packaging bag and a content containing a sulfur-containing amino acid packaged in the packaging bag (since food contains sulfur-containing amino acids), the barrier coat layer having a crosslinked structure in which the carboxylic acid polymers are crosslinked with each other via polyvalent metal ions (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0009], [0013], [0018], [0053], [0069-0072], [0093-0094], [0106-0110], [0112-0113], [0117-0121]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2016-199722 (English machine translation provided herein) in view of JP2021-020363 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP2016-199722 does not disclose wherein the polyolefin contained in the intermediate layer substrate layer is stretched polypropylene.
JP2021-020363 discloses wherein the polyolefin contained in the intermediate layer substrate layer is stretched polypropylene in a gas barrier laminate for the purpose of providing resistance to hot water treatment, improved gas barrier properties, reduce organic solvent released into the atmosphere, improved heat resistance and/or improved recyclability (paragraphs [0001], [0018], [0026], [0050-0054]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the polyolefin contained in the intermediate layer substrate layer is stretched polypropylene in JP2016-199722 in order to provide resistance to hot water treatment, improved gas barrier properties, reduce organic solvent released into the atmosphere, improved heat resistance and/or improved recyclability as taught or suggested by JP2021-020363.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2016-199722 (English machine translation provided herein) in view of JP2020-196253 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP2016-199722 discloses wherein the polyester contained in the polyester resin layer is polyethylene terephthalate (paragraphs [0069-0072]).
JP2016-199722 does not disclose wherein the polyester contained in the intermediate layer substrate layer is polyethylene terephthalate having a crystallinity of 40% or more.
JP2020-196253 discloses a substrate wherein the polyester contained in the intermediate layer substrate layer is polyethylene terephthalate having a crystallinity of 40% or more (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0031-0042]) in a packaging laminate for the purpose of providing improved heat resistance and/or toughness.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the polyester contained in the intermediate layer substrate layer is polyethylene terephthalate having a crystallinity of 40% or more in JP2016-199722 in order to provide improved heat resistance and/or toughness as taught or suggested by JP2020-196253.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
February 25, 2026