DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement mailed on June 20, 2025 is withdrawn, as there is no significant burden to examine all of the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 10-18, 22-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/418268 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
As to instant claims 1-2, App. No. ‘268 claims a composition comprising one or more resins, encapsulated imidazoles having latent activity, adhesion promoters and/or film formers, wherein a film formed from the composition has a Tg of >200°C, a storage modulus at 25°C of <6.5 GPa, or <5 GPa, and a storage modulus at 250°C of >0.1 GPa, or >0.2 GPa, further claiming the coefficient of thermal expansion of <250 ppm/°C (claims 1 and 17-18), which meets the limitations of the claimed invention.
As to instant claims 10-12, App. No. ‘268 claims the same structures.
As to instant claims 13-14, App. No. ‘268 claims the same DSC onset temperatures and minimum film melt viscosity (claims 1 and 6).
As to claims 15-16, App. No. ‘268 claims the DT from the DCS onset temperature to the DSC peak temperature of less than 20°C or less than 15°C, or less than 10°C or less than 5°C (claims 7-10).
As to claims 17-18 and 22-24, App. No. 268 similarly claims the method of preparing a cured film.
As to claims 25-29, App. No. 268 claims the cured film and wherein the film is an underfill film or wafer-level underfill film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, applicants attempt to claim the two electron-withdrawing groups; however, as the claim is currently written, it appears that the oxygen containing groups are part of the R1R2 definition.
Based on the specification (p. 18, [0043]), this claim might be better written as follows:
“The composition of claim 1, wherein the imidazole comprises at least two electron-withdrawing groups independently selected from the group consisting of substituted or unsubstituted aryl groups, cyano (-CN), halide (-X), -CHO, -COOH, -NR1R2, alkyl groups substituted with one or more groups independently selected from cyano (-CN), halide (-X) -CHO, -COOH, -NR1R2, and oxygen-containing groups, wherein each of R1 and R2 is independent selected from a hydrogen atom or a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation less than 20°C, and the claim also recites less than 15°C, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 16 recites the broad recitation less than 10°C, and the claim also recites less than 5°C, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-22, 25 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2021-097091; however, for convenience the machine translation will be cited below.
JP ‘091 discloses an underfill material bonded to the wafer-side surface of a semiconductor chip, and exemplifies a cured film prepared by applying with a comma coater, and discloses that the underfill material is cured at 250°C.
JP ‘091 exemplifies the composition used for forming the cured film as follows:
15 parts acrylic rubber;
22 parts PO-modified polyether type epoxy resin;
20 parts JER-1031S polyfunctional epoxy resin;
11 parts TD-2131, novolac type phenol;
1 part imidazole curing accelerator 2PHZ-PW, which is known in the art as 2-phenyl-4,5-bis(hydroxymethyl)imidazole and is a known latent accelerator; and
25-45 parts silica, which meets applicants’ inorganic filler.
JP ’091 anticipates instant claims 18-21, 25 and 28-29.
Claim 22 can be rejected, as claim 22 only limits the resin when it is a maleimide-containing resin, where epoxy and phenolic resins are listed as alternatives.
Claims 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tachibana (US 2009/0273073).
Tachibana discloses a buildup layer comprising
a thermosetting resin, which includes epoxy resins, phenol resins, maleimide resins, etc. (p. 5, [0074] to p. 6, [0096]);
a film-forming resin (p. 7, [0103]-[0105]), which meets applicants’ film former;
an imidazole, which is specifically listed to include 2-phenyl-4,5-dihydroxymethylimidazole (p. 6, [0097] to p. 7, [0110]), and meets applicants’ preferred latent imidazole accelerator;
inorganic filler (p. 7, [0113]-[0114]); and
a coupler to improve wettability at the interface with the inorganic filler (p. 8, [0120]), suggesting applicants’ adhesion promoter.
2-phenyl-4,5-dihydroxymethylimidazole contains three electron withdrawing groups: a phenyl (aryl) group and two hydroxymethyl groups (alkyl groups substituted with oxygen-containing groups), where R3 and R4 of the formula in claim 8 are substituted alkyl groups, R1 is H, and R2 is C6 aryl.
Tachibana discloses applying the buildup layer composition to a substrate and drying at 160°C (p. 10, [0165]).
Tachibana anticipates instant claims 18-21.
Claim 23 can be rejected, as it only limits claim 18 when the resin is a (meth)acrylate, and epoxy and maleimide resins are listed as alternatives.
As to claims 28-29, Tachibana discloses the buildup layers as part of a new underfill for semiconductor element structures (p. 1, [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated or under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JP 2018-150456; however, for convenience, the machine translation will be cited below.
JP ‘456 exemplifies a composition comprising the following:
3 parts R-181S, an acrylic modified silicone low stress agent;
18 parts BMI-2300, phenylmethane bismaleimide with the formula below;
9 parts Pd-BOZ; and
70 parts silica filler:
, where n=0-5 and R2 is H.
JP ‘456 discloses that the composition includes an accelerator, specifically listed to include 2-phenyl-4-methyl-5-hydroxymethylimidazole, also known as 4-methyl-2-phenyl-1H-imidazole-5-methanol or 2P4MHZ, and is a known latent accelerator, has two electron withdrawing groups of methylhydroxy and phenyl, and meets applicants’ formula when R1 is H, R2 is phenyl (unsubstituted C6 aryl), R3 is a hydroxymethyl (or substituted alkyl) and R4 is methyl (or unsubstituted alkyl).
The composition is injection molded into a film and has the following properties:
a coefficient of thermal expansion α2 of 54.2 ppm/°C;
a Tg (DMA) of 339°C;
a storage modulus at 30°C of 5.519 GPa; and
a storage modulus at 250°C of 4.105 GPa.
While JP ‘456 does not disclose the storage modulus as 230°C, storage modulus values decrease as the temperature increases; therefore, the storage modulus at 230°C is inherently greater than 0.3 GPa, as claimed.
While JP ‘456 does not disclose the storage modulus as 25°C, the storage modulus between 30-250°C is stable compared to other compositions and inherently meets the claimed limitation of less than 6.5 GPa, as claimed.
Alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the storage modulus of JP ‘456 at the claimed temperatures to meet the claimed values, as they are close and would not be expected to drastically change based on the difference between the modulus at 30°C and 250°C.
JP ‘456 anticipates or is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-10.
Claims 11-12 can be rejected, as these claims only limit the thermosetting resin when it is a (meth)acrylate or an epoxy resin is present, where bismaleimide is listed as an alternative. The above example does not include a (meth)acrylate or epoxy resin.
As to claims 13-16, the composition includes applicants’ preferred bismaleimide resin, preferred imidazole accelerator, and preferred filler; therefore, the composition inherently meets the claimed onset temperatures, DT and viscosity measured by DHR2.
As to claims 17-18, JP ‘456 discloses using the obtained sealing resin composition in a low-pressure transfer molding machine, and curing at an elevated temperature. Transfer molding is a known manufacturing method in which casting material is introduced into a mold.
Claims 19-27 can be similarly rejected as above.
Claims 1-2, 3-9, 10, 11 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachibana (US 2009/0273073).
Tachibana teaches a buildup layer comprising
a thermosetting resin, which includes epoxy resins, phenol resins, maleimide resins, etc. (p. 5, [0074] to p. 6, [0096]);
a film-forming resin (p. 7, [0103]-[0105]), which meets applicants’ film former;
an imidazole, which is specifically listed to include 2-phenyl-4,5-dihydroxymethylimidazole (p. 6, [0097] to p. 7, [0110]), and meets applicants’ preferred latent imidazole accelerator;
inorganic filler (p. 7, [0113]-[0114]); and
a coupler to improve wettability at the interface with the inorganic filler (p. 8, [0120]), suggesting applicants’ adhesion promoter.
Tachibana teaches that build-up layer has a glass transition temperature of at least 170°C, as measured by TMA (p. 4, [0060]; the coefficient of linear expansion is 10-40 ppm/°C up to the glass transition temperature (p. 4, [0062]); the elastic modulus of the cured product of the resin part in the build-up layer at room temperature is preferably at least 5 GPa (p. 4, [0063]); and exemplifies the Tg of the cured composition as 240°C, as measured by DMA, and an elastic modulus of the cured product of the resin part in the build-up layer at 250°C is 0.8 Gpa (p. 11, Table 2, Material 1).
While Tachibana does not teach the storage modulus as 230°C, storage modulus values decrease as the temperature increases; therefore, the storage modulus at 230°C is inherently greater than 0.3 GPa, as claimed.
The build-up layer of Tachibana is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-2 and 26-27, as the described properties meet or overlap the claimed Tg (DMA), modulus @ 25°C and modulus @ 250°C.
As to claims 3-9, 2-phenyl-4,5-dihydroxymethylimidazole contains three electron withdrawing groups: a phenyl (aryl) group and two hydroxymethyl groups (alkyl groups substituted with oxygen-containing groups), where R3 and R4 of the formula in claim 8 are substituted alkyl groups, R1 is H, and R2 is C6 aryl.
As to claims 10 and 22, the first maleimide structure in the claim is the most simple bismaleimide when n=0 and is prima facie obvious.
Claim 11 can be rejected, as it only limits claim 1 when the resin is a (meth)acrylate, and epoxy and maleimide resins are listed as alternatives.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766