DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), but are unpersuasive regarding the prior art rejections. The rejection of claims 11, 12 and 14-19 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims, which overcome the rejection.
Regarding the prior art rejection, Applicant argues that the newly added limitation recited in claims 1, 14 and 20 of "wherein a point in time when the background image is updated on the display panel is different from a point in time when the region- of-interest image is updated on the display panel," is not disclosed in Blackmon. The examiner disagrees. As indicated in the previous Office Action, Blackmon discloses using rasterization to generate the background image and ray tracing to generate the foveated region of interest (ROI) at a higher level of detail. In particular, the foveated ROI that is rendered through ray tracing is rendered at a higher level of detail than the background image that is rendered through rasterization. Para. [0065] of Blackmon explicitly discloses that the background image region can be updated at points in time that are different from when the higher-detail image region, i.e., the foveated ROI, is updated: “[t]he rendering techniques do not need to be synchronized. For example, a low detail rendering of the entire image can be performed using either ray tracing or rasterization, and then subsequent rendering operations can augment regions of the image with higher levels of detail. The high detail rendering may occur multiple times and across multiple displayed frames continuing to augment the image before the low detail image is required to be re-rendered.” Therefore, this newly-added limitation is explicitly taught by Blackmon.
Claim Interpretation
In the following, some of the terms in the claims have been given BRIs in light of the specification. These BRIs are used for purposes of searching for prior art and examining the claims, but cannot be incorporated into the claims. Should Applicant believe that different interpretations are appropriate, Applicant should point to the portions of the specification that clearly support a different interpretation.
Position information: para. [0035], information based on a positional difference between the region-of-interest (ROI) image of the current frame and the region-of-interest image of the next frame;
Buffer: not defined in the present disclosure, and therefore the BRI is the plain meaning to one of ordinary skill in the art. The plain meaning is a temporary storage area in a memory device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 13, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publ. Appl. No. 2017/0169602 A1 to Blackmon et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Blackmon”).
Regarding claim 1, Blackmon discloses a display device (Fig. 2, system 200, Fig. 3, step S318 displaying the rendered image) comprising:
a processor (GPU 802, Fig. 8, paras. [0084]-[0096]) configured to generate a region-of-interest image of a current frame based on a background image of the current frame and a line-of-sight region of a user (gaze tracking logic 216 and ray tracing logic 220 in Fig. 2; also gaze tracking logic 214 and ray tracing surface identification logic 804 in Fig. 8; para. [0010], the gaze tracking logic is used “to determine a gaze position for an image to be rendered, wherein a region of interest of the image is based on the determined gaze position, e.g. the region of interest may surround the determined gaze position such that it represents a foveal region”; paras. [0011], [0073] and [0091], the ray tracing logic is used to render the identified regions of interest (ROIs) whereas the rasterization logic is used to render the background regions); and
a timing controller (Fig. 8, the combination of the control logic 822 and the combining logic 816 comprise timing controller logic) configured to output the background image (referred to in para. [0091] of Blackmon as “the rasterization region of the image”) and the region-of-interest image (referred to in para. [0091] of Blackmon as “the ray traced image values”) to a display panel (the control logic 822, Fig. 8, para. [0091], causes the rasterization image data corresponding to the background region and the ray traced image data corresponding to the ROI image data to be combined in the image buffer 814 by the combining logic 816 and subsequently output to the display panel),
wherein the timing controller comprises:
a buffer (image buffer 814) storing at least one of the background image and the region-of-interest image (para. [0091], the image buffer 814 stores the background rasterization image data and the ROI ray traced image data); and
a reception controller (para. [0091] and Fig. 8, the combination of the controller logic 822, the combining logic 814 and the blending logic 812 comprise the reception controller) configured to overwrite the region-of-interest image to the buffer based on position information of the region-of-interest image in the background image and to update the at least one of the background image and the region-of-interest image in the buffer (para. [0091] and Fig. 8, in the combining logic 814, the blending logic 812 blends the rasterization image data and the ray traced image data together and stores the blended image data in the image buffer 814; para. [0091] discloses that the blending logic 812 can update and overwrite the blended image data based on the position information of the ROI determined via ray tracing: “[i]n the blending region, the blending logic 812 can blend the image values determined by ray tracing with the rasterised image values which were stored in the image buffer 814. If there is a part of the region of interest which is not included in the blending region, then the image values determined by ray tracing for this part of the region of interest can be written into the image buffer 814, which may, or may not, overwrite image values previously stored in the image buffer 814 for this part of the region of interest.”), and
wherein a point in time when the background image is updated on the display panel is different from a point in time when the region- of-interest image is updated on the display panel (Blackmon discloses using rasterization to generate the background image and ray tracing to generate the foveated region of interest (ROI) at a higher level of detail. In particular, the foveated ROI that is rendered through ray tracing is at a higher level of detail than the background image rendered through rasterization. Para. [0065] of Blackmon explicitly discloses that the background image region can be updated at different points in time than the higher-detail image region, i.e., the foveated ROI: “[t]he rendering techniques do not need to be synchronized. For example, a low detail rendering of the entire image can be performed using either ray tracing or rasterization, and then subsequent rendering operations can augment regions of the image with higher levels of detail. The high detail rendering may occur multiple times and across multiple displayed frames continuing to augment the image before the low detail image is required to be re-rendered.”).
Regarding claim 2, the reception controller (the combination of the controller logic 822, the combining logic 814 and the blending logic 812) is configured to overwrite the region-of-interest image to a region corresponding to the position information in the background image based on the position information, in the buffer (para. [0091], if the blending logic 812 determines that there is a part of the ROI that is not part of the ray traced ROI image data currently stored in image buffer 814, such as when the position information of the ROI changes, the blending logic 812 can overwrite the blended image data stored in the image buffer 814 based on the position information determined by the ray tracing logic).
Regarding claim 13, Blackmon discloses that the ROI image, referred to in Blackmon as the “foveal image”, can be made to have a higher resolution than the background image (para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, to the extent that claim 14 recites the same limitations that are recited in claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 14.
Blackmon discloses:
the buffer (image buffer 814, Fig. 8) storing the background image and the region-of-interest image (para. [0091], the image buffer 814 stores the background rasterization image data and the ROI ray traced image data), wherein the timing controller (Fig. 8, the combination of the control logic 822 and the combining logic 816 comprise timing controller logic) is configured to:
receive the background image, the region-of-interest image, and position information of the region-of-interest image in the background image from the processor through an interface (para. [0091], the combining logic 816 of the timing controller receives the background image from the rasterization logic 804 and receives the ROI image and the corresponding ray tracing position information from the ray tracing logic 806; the interface corresponds to the connections indicated by the arrows in Fig. 8 pointing to the components of the combining logic 816),
write the background image to the buffer (para. [0091], the blending logic 812 of the combining logic 814 writes the rasterization background image to the image buffer 814: “[i]n the blending region, the blending logic 812 can blend the image values determined by ray tracing with the rasterised image values which were stored in the image buffer 814.”),
based on the position information, write the region-of-interest image to a region of a background image corresponding to the position information (para. [0091], based on the position information determined via ray tracing, the blending logic 812 writes the ROI image to the image buffer 814), and
update at least one of the background image and the region-of-interest image to the buffer (para. [0091], the blending logic updates at least the ROI image: “[i]f there is a part of the region of interest which is not included in the blending region, then the image values determined by ray tracing for this part of the region of interest can be written into the image buffer 814, which may, or may not, overwrite image values previously stored in the image buffer 814 for this part of the region of interest.”); and
wherein a point in time when the background image is updated on the display panel is different from a point in time when the region- of-interest image is updated on the display panel (as indicated above in the rejection of claim 1, para. [0065] of Blackmon explicitly discloses that the background image region can be updated at different points in time than the higher-detail image region, i.e., the foveated ROI: “[t]he rendering techniques do not need to be synchronized. For example, a low detail rendering of the entire image can be performed using either ray tracing or rasterization, and then subsequent rendering operations can augment regions of the image with higher levels of detail. The high detail rendering may occur multiple times and across multiple displayed frames continuing to augment the image before the low detail image is required to be re-rendered.”).
Regarding claim 20, to the extent that claim 20 recites the same limitations that are recited in claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 20. Blackmon discloses that the display device can be part of a wearable electronic device in which the processor generates the ROI based on a background image and a line of sight of a user tracked by using at least one sensor (para. [0098]: “]i]n one example, gaze tracking logic could shine low-power infrared focussed [sic] lights at the eye and have single (unfocussed) light sensors inside a head-mounted-display cavity that could infer the eye position based on the reflected light intensity at each sensor.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackmon in view of U.S. Publ. Appl. No. 2017/0032764 A1 to Radhakrishnan (hereinafter referred to as “Radhakrishnan”).
Regarding claim 3, Blackmon does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 3.
Radhakrishnan, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a display device:
wherein the processor (processor 12, Fig. 1) compares the region-of-interest image of the current frame stored in the buffer with a region-of-interest image of a next frame generated to update the region-of-interest image of the current frame (in Radhakrishan, the ROI is called the “dirty region”; paras. [0038]-[0039], processor 12 compares the ROI image of the current frame with the ROI image of the next frame to determine whether the position of one or more layers of the ROI have changed: “[p]rocessor 12 may determine that a position of one or more layers changed from a first image frame to a second image frame. In this example, the first image frame is an image frame that is displayed, and the second image frame is an image frame whose image content has been generated but has not yet been displayed.”),
wherein when there is a difference between the region-of-interest image of the current frame and the region-of-interest image of the next frame, the processor transmits the region-of-interest image of the next frame to the timing controller (para. [0039], if the processor 12 determines that there is a difference between one or more layers of the ROIs of the current and next frame, the processor 12 transmits the ROI image of the next frame to the display processor 18, which comprises a timing controller: “[i]n response to determining that the position of the one or more layers changed, processor 12 may determine a region that needs to be updated in the second image frame (e.g., dirty region, an ROI, or the area to be updated) based on a construct, such as a rectangle, that encompasses the one or more layers in the first image frame whose position changed and one or more constructs that encompass respective layers of the set of one or more layers in the second image frame (e.g., all dirty rectangles). Processor 12 may then cause display processor 18 to compose the layers in the determined region (i.e., computed ROI)”), and
wherein when there is no difference between the region-of-interest image of the current frame and the region-of-interest image of the next frame, the processor does not transmit the region-of-interest image of the next frame to the timing controller (para. [0039]: “[p]rocessor 12 may then cause display processor 18 to compose the layers in the determined region (i.e., computed ROI) and avoid causing display processor 18 to compose any region other than the determined region to be composed in the second image frame. For example, processor 12 may cause display processor 18 to compose the layers in the determined region in the second image frame without updating any region other than the determined region in the second image frame”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the algorithms performed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to only update the image data stored in the image buffer 814 of the GPU 802 when the GPU 802 determines by comparing the current frame to the next frame that there has been a change in the position of the ROI and only update the image data in the image buffer 814 corresponding to the change as taught by Radhakrishan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to reduce the amount of image data in the image buffer 814 that needs to be updated/overwritten thereby reducing computational overhead and increasing the speed at which image data to be displayed can be processed. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the software executed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to determine which regions need to be updated and updating only those regions of the image stored in buffer 814).
Regarding claim 4, as indicated above in the rejection of claim 1, Blackmon discloses that the reception controller (para. [0091], the combination of the controller logic 822, the combining logic 814 and the blending logic 812 comprise the reception controller) is configured to overwrite the region-of-interest image to the buffer based on position information of the region-of-interest image in the background image and to update the region-of-interest image in the buffer (para. [0091], in the combining logic 814, the blending logic 812 blends the rasterization image data and the ray traced image data together and stores the blended image data in the image buffer 814; para. [0091], the blending logic 812 can update and overwrite the blended image data based on the position information of the ROI determined via ray tracing: “[i]n the blending region, the blending logic 812 can blend the image values determined by ray tracing with the rasterised image values which were stored in the image buffer 814. If there is a part of the region of interest which is not included in the blending region, then the image values determined by ray tracing for this part of the region of interest can be written into the image buffer 814, which may, or may not, overwrite image values previously stored in the image buffer 814 for this part of the region of interest.”).
However, Blackmon does not explicitly disclose that the reception controller does this by comparing the region-of-interest image of the current frame and the region-of-interest image of the next frame. As indicated above in the rejection of claim 3, Radhakrishan teaches this limitation (paras. [0038]-[0039], processor 12 compares the ROI image of the current frame with the ROI image of the next frame to determine whether the position of one or more layers of the ROI have changed: “[p]rocessor 12 may determine that a position of one or more layers changed from a first image frame to a second image frame. In this example, the first image frame is an image frame that is displayed, and the second image frame is an image frame whose image content has been generated but has not yet been displayed”; when there is a difference between the region-of-interest image of the current frame and the region-of-interest image of the next frame, the processor transmits the region-of-interest image of the next frame to the timing controller (para. [0039], if the processor 12 determines that there is a difference between one or more layers of the ROIs of the current and next frame, the processor 12 transmits the ROI image of the next frame to the display processor 18, which comprises a timing controller: “[i]n response to determining that the position of the one or more layers changed, processor 12 may determine a region that needs to be updated in the second image frame (e.g., dirty region, an ROI, or the area to be updated) based on a construct, such as a rectangle, that encompasses the one or more layers in the first image frame whose position changed and one or more constructs that encompass respective layers of the set of one or more layers in the second image frame (e.g., all dirty rectangles). Processor 12 may then cause display processor 18 to compose the layers in the determined region (i.e., computed ROI)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the algorithms performed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to only overwrite the image data stored in the image buffer 814 of the GPU 802 when the GPU 802 determines by comparing the current frame to the next frame that there has been a change in the position of the ROI and only update the image data in the image buffer 814 corresponding to the change as taught by Radhakrishan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to reduce the amount of image data in the image buffer 814 that needs to be updated/overwritten thereby reducing computational overhead and increasing the speed at which image data to be displayed can be processed. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the software executed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon).
Regarding claim 5, Blackmon does not explicitly disclose these limitations. As indicated above, Radhakrishan discloses updating only the ROI when a determination is made by comparing adjacent frames that there is a difference between one or more image layers of the ROI. However, the method of Radhakrishan is not limited to only analyzing the ROIs in adjacent frames to detect changes and making updates only to the ROI image data, but applies the process to any image regions that have changed, which would include background or peripheral regions outside of the ROIs (para. [0020]: “[b]y utilizing positional information for determining the region that needs to be updated (e.g., dirty region or ROI), the display processor may update only that region. As described above, other techniques may not rely on positional change information to determine the area to update (e.g., the region that needs to be updated), and therefore incorrectly determine the area to update, resulting in a corrupted frame, or update the entire frame even if only a small area changed. The techniques described in this disclosure may provide power savings by composing only the updated region and avoid full frame composition (i.e., composition of the entire frame) by the display processor and/or GPU, as well as provide bandwidth efficiency by reducing the amount of data that needs to be retrieved from the layer buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the algorithms performed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to only overwrite the background image data stored in the image buffer 814 of the GPU 802 when the GPU 802 determines by comparing the current frame to the next frame that there has been a change in the position and/or content of the background images and only update the image data in the image buffer 814 corresponding to the changes as taught by Radhakrishan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to reduce the amount of image data in the image buffer 814 that needs to be updated/overwritten thereby reducing computational overhead and increasing the speed at which image data to be displayed can be processed. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the software executed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon).
Regarding claim 6, Blackmon does not explicitly disclose that the reception controller updates the background image of the current frame by overwriting the background image of the next frame to a region of the buffer, excluding a region corresponding to the region-of-interest image of the current frame from the background image of the current frame, based on the position information.
Radhakrishan teaches this limitation because, as indicated above in the rejection of claim 4, the processor 12 of Radhakrishan only transmits the image data of the next frame corresponding to the changed region based on the positional information such that only that image data is updated/overwritten by the display processor 18, which means that the ROI image data of the current frame is not updated/overwritten because it does not need to be updated since it has not changed (paras. [0020] and [0038]-[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the algorithms performed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to only overwrite the image data stored in the image buffer 814 of the GPU 802 that has changed while excluding the other image data from overwriting when the GPU 802 determines by comparing the current frame to the next frame that there has been a change in the position and/or content of the background image and only update the image data in the image buffer 814 corresponding to the changes as taught by Radhakrishan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to reduce the amount of image data in the image buffer 814 that needs to be updated/overwritten thereby reducing computational overhead and increasing the speed at which image data to be displayed can be processed. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the software executed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon).
Regarding claim 7, Blackmon does not explicitly disclose these limitations. Radhakrishan discloses that when there is a difference in position between the region-of-interest image of the current frame stored in the buffer and a region-of-interest image of the next frame generated to update the region-of-interest image of the current frame, the processor transmits, to the timing controller, one of the background image of the current frame and the background image of the next frame generated to update the background image of the current frame, and the position information generated by comparing the region-of-interest image of the current frame with the region-of-interest images of the next frame (see the rejection of claim 3 regarding Radhakrishan’s teaching of determining when there is a difference in position between the region-of-interest image of the current frame stored in the buffer and a region-of-interest image of the next frame generated to update the region-of-interest image of the current frame and transmitting the updated image and corresponding positional information to the display processor 18; when this happens, the display processor 18 transmits to its display timing control circuitry the unchanged background region image data along with the positional information, para. [0039]: “[f]or the other regions (e.g., those other than determined dirty region), display processor 18 may utilize the image content of the previous frame (e.g., the first frame). In some examples, processor 12 may cause display processor 18 to display the composed second image frame on a display device (e.g., display 19)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the algorithms performed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to transmit, to the timing controller logic 822/816 for display, the background image data of the current frame along with the corresponding positional information of the changed ROI calculated by the ray tracing logic 806 since the background image data of the current frame outside of the ROI has not changed as taught by Radhakrishan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to reduce the amount of image data in the image buffer 814 that needs to be updated/overwritten thereby reducing computational overhead and increasing the speed at which image data to be displayed can be processed. In addition, the modification would reduce the number of rendering computations that need to be performed by the rasterization logic 804 that renders the background images, which would reduce the amount of power consumed by the GPU 802 and potentially increase the speed at which it can update displayed images. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the software executed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon).
With regard to claim 8, Blackmon discloses the reception controller is configured to update one of the background image of the current frame and the background image of the next frame in the buffer based on the position information (para. [0091] and Fig. 8, the combination of the controller logic 822, the combining logic 814 and the blending logic 812 comprise the reception controller; in the combining logic 814, the blending logic 812 updates at least one of the background region of the current frame and the background region of the next frame by blending the rasterization background image data and the ray traced image data together based on the ray tracing position information and storing the blended image data in the image buffer 814; para. [0091] discusses the blending logic 812 being capable of updating and overwriting the blended image data based on the position information of the ROI determined via ray tracing: “[i]n the blending region, the blending logic 812 can blend the image values determined by ray tracing with the rasterised image values which were stored in the image buffer 814.”).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 6 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 9.
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 4 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 6 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 7 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 17.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackmon in view of U.S. Publ. Appl. No. 2019/0122642 A1 to Morein (hereinafter referred to as “Morein”).
Regarding claim 10, Blackmon discloses that the blending logic 812 mixes the ROI image created by the ray tracing logic with the rasterization background image created by the rasterization logic, but Blackmon does not explicitly teach that the timing controller comprises a scaler configured to receive the mixed image created by the blending logic 812 and stored in the image buffer 814 and to scale the mixed image to be displayed on the display panel.
Morein, in the same field of endeavor, discloses upscaling the background portion (referred to in Morein as the field of view (FOV) image) of the mixed image, at the time of displaying the image (para. [0037] and [0056]) in order to match the pixel resolution of the FOV image with that of the physical display (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the algorithms performed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon based on the teachings of Morein to upscale the FOV image portion of the mixed image stored in the image buffer 814 before displaying it on the display panel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to ensure that the resolution of the pixels representing the background portions of the mixed image match the resolution of the display panel so that the image is properly displayed. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (e.g., modifying the software executed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to perform upscaling on the image data read out of the image buffer 814).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 10 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 18.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackmon in view of Chinese Published Patent Application No. CN 111614911A to Gong (hereinafter referred to as “Gong”).
Regarding claim 12, Blackmon discloses that a period of time when the ROI is updated on the display panel can be less than a period of time when the background image is updated on the display panel (para. [0065]: “[t]he rendering techniques do not need to be synchronized. For example, a low detail rendering of the entire image can be performed using either ray tracing or rasterization, and then subsequent rendering operations can augment regions of the image with higher levels of detail. The high detail rendering may occur multiple times and across multiple displayed frames continuing to augment the image before the low detail image is required to be re-rendered”).
The above-quoted paragraph of Blackmon indicates that the timing of the updating of the background region and the foveated ROI can be selectively controlled such that one can be updated more often than the other. However, Blackmon does not explicitly disclose that that the period of time when the ROI is updated on the display panel is less than a period of time when the background image is updated on the display panel.
Gong, in the same field of endeavor, discloses determining which regions in the image frames are foreground regions, i.e., ROIs, and background regions and updating only the regions determined to be background regions (Abstract: “[t]he invention relates to an image generation method, and the method the steps: acquiring an original image set, wherein the original image set comprises at least two frames of images; recognizing a foreground area and a background area of the images in the original image set, wherein the foreground area is the area where a main body in the images is located, and the background area is other areas except the foreground area in the images; updating the background area of the image in the original image set based on the foreground area change and/or the background area change of the image in the original image set to obtain an updated image set”). This means that the period of time when the ROI is updated on the display panel is less than the period of time when the background image is updated on the display panel since only the background image is updated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the algorithms performed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon based on the teachings of Blackmon to update the background region more often that the foreground region as taught by Gong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to avoid updating the ROI when it is unnecessary to do so in order to reduce image processing overhead and improve image processing speed. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (e.g., modifying the software executed by the GPU 802 of Blackmon to update the ROI image data less often than the background image data since Blackmon discloses that the rendering of these regions can be updated asynchronously).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackmon in view of Morein as applied to claims 10 and 18 and further in view of Gong.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 12 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 19.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J. SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667