DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka et al. (U.S. 2018/0231837) in view of Ishioka et al. (U.S. 2021/0333456).
Regarding claim 1, Fukuoka discloses a virtual image display device (89, Fig. 14; page 11, para [0145]; page 1, para [0006]) comprising:
a light modulation element (20, Fig. 14; page 11, para [0152]) including a liquid crystal pixel (5, Figs. 12 and 14; page 5, para [0072]) and a light-transmitting region configured to transmit light;
a light-blocking member (27, Fig. 14; page 11, para [0146]) arranged at an external side of the light modulation element (20, Fig. 14) and configured to suppress incidence of external light on the liquid crystal pixel (5, Figs. 12 and 14);
a light guiding member (60, Fig. 14; page 11, para [0146]) arranged between the light-blocking member (27, Fig. 14) and the light modulation element (20, Fig. 14) and configured to emit, at a position corresponding to that of the liquid crystal pixel (5, Figs. 12 and 14), illumination light toward the liquid crystal pixel (5, Figs. 12 and 14);
a first polarizing plate (22, Fig. 14; page 9, para [0126]) arranged between the light-guiding member (60, Fig. 14) and the light modulation element (20, Fig. 14) and configured to restrict light incident on the liquid crystal pixel (5, Figs. 12 and 14) and the light-transmitting region to polarized light in a first polarization direction (function of first polarization plate 22 is to restrict light transmission to a first polarization direction, Fig. 14);
a second polarization plate (21, Fig. 14) arranged at a face side of the light modulation element (20, Fig. 14) and including a polarizing region provided corresponding to the liquid crystal pixel (5, Figs. 12 and 14), the polarizing region being configured to restrict image light emitted from the liquid crystal pixel to polarized light in a second polarization direction (function of second polarization plate 21 is to restrict the image light emitted from the liquid crystal pixel 5 of 20 in a second polarization direction, Figs. 12 and 14);
Fukuoka does not expressly disclose a polarization separation lens element arranged at a face side of the second polarizing plate (21, Fig. 14) and having refractive power configured to function with respect to polarized light of the image light. However, Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device (100, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0020]) comprising a polarization separation lens element (S, Fig. 3; page 2, para [0026]) having refractive power (page 2, para [0025]) configured to function with respect to polarized light, the polarization separation lens element is arranged at a face side of a polarizing plate (36, Fig. 3; page 2, para [0026]) and a light modulation element (De, Fig 3; page 2, para [0026]) in order to refract light toward an optical axis of the virtual image display device (page 2, para [0025]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the virtual image display device (Fukuoka: 89, Fig. 14) of Fukuoka with the polarization separation lens element (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3; page 2, para [0026]) of Ishioka having refractive power (Ishioka: page 2, para [0026]) such that the polarization separation lens element (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3) is arranged at a face side of the second polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 21, Fig. 14; Ishioka: 36, Fig. 3) and having refractive power configured to function with respect to polarized light of the image light in order to obtain the benefits of refracting light toward an optical axis of the virtual image display device as taught by (Ishioka: page 2, para [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the polarizing regions of the second polarizing plate (Fukuoka: such as discrete regions of 21 directly overlapping pixel regions 5 of 20, Figs. 12 and 14) are discretely provided corresponding to the liquid crystal pixels (Fukuoka: such as regions of 21 directly overlapping pixel regions 5 of 20 being discrete regions of 21, Figs. 12 and 14).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations above and further discloses a light source device (Fukuoka: 55, Fig. 12; page 5, para [0073]) configured to supply light of three colors to the light-guiding member (Fukuoka: 26, Figs. 12 and 14; page 5, para [0073]) in a time-division manner. Examiner notes that the recitation of “…in a time-division manner” is considered to be functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus because it is recited “with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed" and therefore “does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim" (MPEP 2114). In the instant case, the prior art virtual image display device of Fukuoka teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed virtual image display device of claim 3 as noted above because the recitation of “…in a time-division manner” does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus of Fukuoka.
Regarding claim 4, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the light-guiding member (Fukuoka: 60, Fig. 14) is a parallel flat plate-shaped member, and includes light extraction units (Fukuoka: 62, Fig. 14; page 5, para [0079]) discretely provided (Fukuoka: since the light extraction units 62 are discretely provided, Fig. 14) corresponding to the liquid crystal pixels (Fukuoka: 5, Figs. 12 and 14) and configured to emit light of three colors to the liquid crystal pixels (Fukuoka: since the light extraction units 62 emit light of three colors via reflection, Fig. 14; page 5, para [0073, 0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the light extraction unit (Fukuoka: 62, Fig. 14) is a light scattering layer (Fukuoka: Fig. 14; page 5, para [0079]).
Regarding claim 6, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the light-blocking member (Fukuoka: 27, Fig. 14) includes a light-blocking layer (Fukuoka: 27a, Fig. 14; page 11, para [0146]) configured to suppress incidence of the external light and the light-blocking layer has a size corresponding to that of the light extraction unit (Fukuoka: light-blocking layer 27a has a size corresponding to that of the light extraction unit 62, Fig. 14).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka et al. (U.S. 2018/0231837) in view of Ishioka et al. (U.S. 2021/0333456) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chuang et al. (U.S. 2020/0117009).
Regarding claim 7, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations above but does not expressly disclose wherein the polarization separation lens element (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3) is a polarization separation liquid crystal lens configured to cause a plurality of the liquid crystal pixels (Fukuoka: 5, Figs. 12 and 14) to collectively form an image. However, Ishioka discloses that the polarization separation lens element (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3) can be a Fresnel lens (Ishioka: page 2, para [0025]). Furthermore, Chuang discloses a near-eye display apparatus comprising a virtual image display device (page 1, para [0007, 0009]) wherein a lens element (112, Fig. 1A; page 2, para [0025]) can be configured as a Fresnel lens or a liquid crystal lens as art recognized equivalent lens configurations that can modulate light (page 2, para [0025]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the polarization separation lens element having a Fresnel lens structure (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3; page 2, para [0025])) of Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka as an art recognized equivalent polarization separation liquid crystal lens (Chuang: page 2, para [0025]) configured to cause a plurality of the liquid crystal pixels (Fukuoka: 5, Figs. 12 and 14) to collectively form an image in order to obtain the benefits of providing a polarization separation liquid crystal lens as an art recognized equivalent lens configuration that can modulate light as taught by Chuang (page 2, para [0025]).
Regarding claim 8, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka and Chuang discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations of claim 7 above and further discloses wherein:
the light-blocking member (Fukuoka: 27, Fig. 14), the light-guiding member (Fukuoka: 60, Fig. 14), the first polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 22, Fig. 14), the light modulation element (Fukuoka: 20, Fig. 14), and the second polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 21, Fig. 14) are integrated as a plate-like member and form a composite display member (Fukuoka: 27, 60, 22, 20, and 21 form a plate-like composite display member, Fig. 14),
in the composite display member (Fukuoka: combination of: 27, 60, 22, 20, 21, Fig. 14), the light-guiding member (Fukuoka: 60, Fig. 14) is a parallel flat plate-shaped member arranged away from the light-blocking member (Fukuoka: 27, Fig. 14) and the first polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 22, Fig. 14) and including a pair of flat surfaces (Fukuoka: light-guiding member 60 has a pair of flat surfaces, Fig. 14), and
the polarization separation lens element (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3) is arranged away from the composite display member (since S, Fig. 3 of Ishioka is arranged away from the light-blocking member 27 of the compositing display member of Fukuoka comprising the combination of: 27, 60, 22, 20, 21, Fig. 14).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka et al. (U.S. 2018/0231837) in view of Ishioka et al. (U.S. 2021/0333456) and Chuang et al. (U.S. 2020/0117009) as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Lanman et al. (U.S. 2015/0049390).
Regarding claim 9, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka and Chuang discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations of claim 8 above but does not expressly disclose a lens array arranged between the second polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 21, Fig. 14) and the polarization separation lens element (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3) and in a vicinity of the second polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 21, Fig. 14) and including microlenses discretely provided corresponding to the liquid crystal pixels (Fukuoka: 5, Figs. 12 and 14), the microlenses being configured to adjust divergence angles of the image light emitted from the liquid crystal pixels, respectively. However, Lanman discloses a virtual image display device (Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056]) comprising a lens array (240, Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056]) having a plurality of micro-lenses configured in an array (array of micro-lenses of 240, Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056]), the lens array (240, Fig. 2C) disposed between a light modulation display element (250, Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056]) comprising an array of pixels (page 2, para [0012]) and a lens element (230, Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056]) in order to allow a user to comfortably focus and perceive object images generated by the virtual image display device (page 5, para [0056]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the virtual image display device (Fukuoka: 89, Fig. 14) of Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka and Chuang with the lens array (Lanman: 240, Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056]) of Lanman having a plurality of micro-lenses configured in an array (Lanman: array of micro-lenses of 240, Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056]) such that the lens array is arranged between the second polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 21, Fig. 14) and the polarization separation lens element (Ishioka: S, Fig. 3) of Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka and Chuang and in a vicinity of the second polarizing plate (Fukuoka: 21, Fig. 14), the lens array including a plurality of microlenses discretely provided in an array (Lanman: array of micro-lenses of 240, Fig. 2C; page 5, para [0056) corresponding to the liquid crystal pixels (Fukuoka: 5, Figs. 12 and 14; Lanman: array of pixels of 250, Fig. 2C; page 2, para [0012]), the microlenses being configured to adjust divergence angles of the image light emitted from the liquid crystal pixels, respectively, in order to obtain the benefits of allowing a user to comfortably focus and perceive object images generated by the virtual image display device as taught by Lanman (page 5, para [0056]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka et al. (U.S. 2018/0231837) in view of Ishioka et al. (U.S. 2021/0333456) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Mceldowney et al. (U.S. 2022/0066212).
Regarding claim 10, Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka discloses a virtual image display device with all the limitations above but does not expressly disclose a first device including the virtual image display device (Fukuoka: 89, Fig. 14) according to claim 1;
a second device including the virtual image display device according to claim 1; and
a support device including a temple supporting the first device and the second device, the temple being configured to enable mounting of the first device and the second device on a head.
However, Mceldowney discloses a head-mounted display apparatus (100, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0040-0041]) comprising a first device (120R, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0041]) including a virtual image display device (virtual image display device 120R, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0041]); a second device (120L, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0041]) including the virtual display device (virtual image display device of 120L, Fig. 1A; and
a support device (110, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0041]) including a temple supporting the first device (temple support for 120R, Fig. 1A) and the second device (temple support for 120L, Fig. 1A), the temple being configured to enable mounting of the first device and the second device (120R and 120L, Fig. 1A) on a head in order to configure a head-mounted display that can produce an image for a user (page 5, para [0040]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the virtual image display device (Fukuoka: 89, Fig. 14) of Fukuoka as modified by Ishioka according to claim 1 in a head-mounted display apparatus (Mceldowney: 100, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0040-0041]) of Mceldowney comprising: a first device (Mceldowney: 120R, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0041]) that includes the virtual image display device (Fukuoka: 89, Fig. 14; Mceldowney: virtutal image display device of 120R, Fig. 1A); a second device (Mceldowney: 120L, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0041]) that includes the virtual display device (Fukuoka: 89, Fig. 14; Mceldowney: virtual image display device of 120L, Fig. 1A); and a support device (Mceldowney: 110, Fig. 1A; page 5, para [0041]) that includes a temple supporting the first device (Mceldowney: temple support for 120R, Fig. 1A comprising 89 of Fukuoka, Fig. 14) and the second device (Mceldowney: temple support for 120L, Fig. 1A comprising 89 of Fukuoka, Fig. 14), the temple being configured to enable mounting of the first device and the second device on a head in order to obtain the benefits of configuring a head-mounted display that can produce an image for a user as taught by Mceldowney (page 5, para [0040]).
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871