DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2/18/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0212291 (Alfarhan et al.) in view of US 2018/0324747 (Keskitalo et al.).
As to claims 1 and 12, Alfarhan teaches a UE comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions to be executed by the at least one processor (see paragraphs [0030], [0031], [0036] and [0186]) to cause the apparatus to:
receiving, by a user equipment, paging information related to at least one discontinuous transmission state or discontinuous reception state, wherein the paging information indicates a user equipment paging monitoring (paragraph [0082], "the WTRU may determine whether the WTRU may transmit or receive on certain resources based on a network availability state. The network availability state may include information that implies and/or indicates the gNB's power savings status. In one or more cases, the availability state may correspond to a network energy savings state or a gNB activity level. In one or more cases, the availability state may be uplink specific (e.g., DRX) or downlink specific (e.g., DTX)"; paragraph [0086], "a WTRU may be configured to receive a dormant cell presence indication", "the presence indication may be downlink information bits that are delivered to the WTRU. For example, the downlink information bits may be delivered to the WTRU via broadcast signaling (e.g., SIB). In another example, the downlink information bits may be delivered to the WTRU via dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC signaling or MAC CE)"; paragraph [0088], "the WTRU may determine a cell's availability state from at least one property of the availability state indication of the received presence indication that is associated with the cell"; paragraph [0129], "the WTRU may be configured to determine a cell's network energy saving state. In one or more cases, the WTRU considers the active availability state associated with a cell, carrier, TRP, BWP, or frequency band to be in an 'Off', "Deep sleep', or 'Micro sleep' state after reception of a DL signaling that changes the cell's or TRP's availability state", "WTRU may receive a turn off command on broadcast signaling, RRC signaling"; paragraph [0130], "WTRU implicitly assumes a certain availability state associated with a cell, carrier, TRP, or frequency band based on the reception of a paging message, paging DCI paging PDSCH, or a paging related signal. The paging related signal may be, for example, a paging early indication (PEI). The paging related signal may be provided on a subset of POs. The subset of Pos may be, for example, those aligned with NES DRX cycle or a configured subset of PDCCH resources. The WTRU may assume a certain availability state after the reception of a paging message with a certain P-RNTI, a separately configured NES P-RNTI, or the NES group RNTI. The WTRU may assume a certain availability state after the reception of a paging message with a certain P-RNTI. The WTRU may be configured with one or more PEI subgroups for NES", "The indication of the availability state or the availability state switch may be indicated in the paging payload. For example, the indication of the availability state or the availability state switch may be indicated in the paging payload as a flag part of the paging message or the short message. Such paging indication may further indicate an alternate cell to monitor paging while the cell from which the signaling was received is in an Off, sleep, or NES state"; paragraph [0117], "the WTRU may monitor paging following the transmission of wake-up WTRU assistance information or a switch-on request to receive the gNB response. In some cases, the WTRU may monitor paging following the transmission of wake-up WTRU assistance information or a switch-on request to receive the gNB response on a subset of paging occasions"; paragraph [0141], "WTRUs in RRC_IDLE or in RRC_INACTIVE may stop monitoring for an SI change indication in the paging occasion of the WTRU in DRX cycles that coincide with a cell's availability state being in an 'Off', 'dormant', or 'deep sleep' state"),
the paging monitoring comprising a monitoring in persistent paging (paragraphs [0117], [0130] and [0141], as cited above; paragraph [0147], "the WTRU monitors paging from a cell. For example, the WTRU may be configured to monitor paging from a cell if the cell is in a certain availability state (e.g., an ON or sleep state). The WTRU may skip waking up on DRX cycles of that cell that coincide with occasions where the cell is in other availability states (e.g., an Off, deep sleep, or dormant state). In some cases, the WTRU may monitor for a gNB wake up signaling associated with DRX or paging (e.g., DCP) in a subset of the cell's availability states (e.g., an On or sleep state)"); and
monitoring, by the user equipment, paging according to the received paging information (see paragraphs [0082], [0117], [0130], [0141], [0147]).
What is lacking from Alfarhan is wherein the paging information indicates a user equipment paging monitoring, the paging monitoring comprising at least one of: a paging legacy monitoring; a paging monitoring shift to a next cell discontinuous transmission active state; a paging monitoring independent of discontinuous transmission.
In analogous art, Keskitalo teaches a UE receiving paging information related to at least one of DRX or DTX that indicates at least one of: a paging legacy monitoring; a paging monitoring shift to a next cell discontinuous transmission active state; a paging monitoring independent of discontinuous transmission (see Keskitalo, paragraphs 39-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Alfarhan so as to ensure that pages aren’t missed in the case of a timing mismatch between DRX cycles and other network parameters (such as BCCH).
As to claim 10, Alfarhan teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a network entity, paging information related to at least one discontinuous transmission state or discontinuous reception state (see paragraph [0082], "the WTRU may determine whether the WTRU may transmit or receive on certain resources based on a network availability state. The network availability state may include information that implies and/or indicates the gNB's power savings status. In one or more cases, the availability state may correspond to a network energy savings state or a gNB activity level. In one or more cases, the availability state may be uplink specific (e.g., DRX) or downlink specific (e.g., DTX)"; paragraph [0086], "a WTRU may be configured to receive a dormant cell presence indication", "the presence indication may be downlink information bits that are delivered to the WTRU. For example, the downlink information bits may be delivered to the WTRU via broadcast signaling (e.g., SIB). In another example, the downlink information bits may be delivered to the WTRU via dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC signaling or MAC CE)"; paragraph [0088], "the WTRU may determine a cell's availability state from at least one property of the availability state indication of the received presence indication that is associated with the cell"; paragraph [0129], "the WTRU may be configured to determine a cell's network energy saving state. In one or more cases, the WTRU considers the active availability state associated with a cell, carrier, TRP, BWP, or frequency band to be in an 'Off', "Deep sleep', or 'Micro sleep' state after reception of a DL signaling that changes the cell's or TRP's availability state", "WTRU may receive a turn off command on broadcast signaling, RRC signaling"; paragraph [0130], "WTRU implicitly assumes a certain availability state associated with a cell, carrier, TRP, or frequency band based on the reception of a paging message, paging DCI paging PDSCH, or a paging related signal. The paging related signal may be, for example, a paging early indication (PEI). The paging related signal may be provided on a subset of POs. The subset of Pos may be, for example, those aligned with NES DRX cycle or a configured subset of PDCCH resources. The WTRU may assume a certain availability state after the reception of a paging message with a certain P-RNTI, a separately configured NES P-RNTI, or the NES group RNTI. The WTRU may assume a certain availability state after the reception of a paging message with a certain P-RNTI. The WTRU may be configured with one or more PEI subgroups for NES", "The indication of the availability state or the availability state switch may be indicated in the paging payload. For example, the indication of the availability state or the availability state switch may be indicated in the paging payload as a flag part of the paging message or the short message. Such paging indication may further indicate an alternate cell to monitor paging while the cell from which the signaling was received is in an Off, sleep, or NES state"; paragraph [0117], "the WTRU may monitor paging following the transmission of wake-up WTRU assistance information or a switch-on request to receive the gNB response. In some cases, the WTRU may monitor paging following the transmission of wake-up WTRU assistance information or a switch-on request to receive the gNB response on a subset of paging occasions"; paragraph [0141], "WTRUs in RRC_IDLE or in RRC_INACTIVE may stop monitoring for an SI change indication in the paging occasion of the WTRU in DRX cycles that coincide with a cell's availability state being in an 'Off', 'dormant', or 'deep sleep' state"),
wherein the paging information indicates a user equipment paging monitoring, the paging monitoring comprising a monitoring in persistent paging (see paragraphs [0117], [0130] and [0141], as cited above; paragraph [0147], "the WTRU monitors paging from a cell. For example, the WTRU may be configured to monitor paging from a cell if the cell is in a certain availability state (e.g., an ON or sleep state). The WTRU may skip waking up on DRX cycles of that cell that coincide with occasions where the cell is in other availability states (e.g., an Off, deep sleep, or dormant state). In some cases, the WTRU may monitor for a gNB wake up signaling associated with DRX or paging (e.g., DCP) in a subset of the cell's availability states (e.g., an On or sleep state)"); and
receiving, by the network entity, a paging response according to the transmitted paging information (see paragraphs [0117], [0130], [0184] and figure 4).
What is lacking from Alfarhan is wherein the paging information indicates a user equipment paging monitoring, the paging monitoring comprising at least one of: a paging legacy monitoring; a paging monitoring shift to a next cell discontinuous transmission active state; a paging monitoring independent of discontinuous transmission.
In analogous art, Keskitalo teaches a UE receiving paging information related to at least one of DRX or DTX that indicates at least one of: a paging legacy monitoring; a paging monitoring shift to a next cell discontinuous transmission active state; a paging monitoring independent of discontinuous transmission (see Keskitalo, paragraphs 39-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Alfarhan so as to ensure that pages aren’t missed in the case of a timing mismatch between DRX cycles and other network parameters (such as BCCH).
As to claims 2, 11 and 13, Alfarhan further teaches wherein paging monitoring comprises monitoring at least one of: paging early indication; low-power wake-up signal; paging downlink control information of the paging occasion; a short message of the paging downlink control information of the paging occasion; or a paging message related to the paging occasion (see paragraphs [0086], [0117], [0129], [0130], [0147]).
As to claims 3 and 14, Alfarhan further teaches wherein paging monitoring is configured in at least one of: system information; preconfigured information; dedicated signaling; paging early indication; low-power wake-up signal; a short message of paging downlink control information of the paging occasion; or a paging message related to the paging occasion (see paragraphs [0086], [0117], [0129], [0130], [0147]).
As to claims 4 and 15, Alfarhan further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment at least to: receive at least one cell discontinuous transmission configuration (see paragraphs [0005], [0082], [0129], [0130], [0141], [0147]).
As to claims 5 and 16, Alfarhan further teaches wherein the paging information defining to shift paging monitoring to a next cell discontinuous transmission active state further comprises at least one of: at least one indication of the paging occasion in the cell discontinuous transmission active time; remapping the paging occasion only applied for user equipment registered for priority services; and mapping the paging occasion during cell discontinuous transmission active time to synchronization signal block slots employing time/frequency multiplexing (see paragraphs [0005], [0082], [0129], [0130], [0141], [0147], note that “shift paging monitoring to a next cell discontinuous transmission active state” is an optional alternative in claims 1 and 12, Alfarhan already teaches at least one of those alternatives).
As to claims 6 and 17, Alfarhan further teaches wherein the paging information defining paging monitoring independent of discontinuous transmission further comprises indicating at least one of: monitoring of paging early indication; monitoring of low-power wake-up signal; the short message of the paging downlink control information of the paging occasion; or the paging message related to the paging occasion (see paragraphs [0082], [0117], [0129], [0130], [0141], [0147], note that “the paging information defining paging monitoring independent of discontinuous transmission” is an optional alternative in claims 1 and 12, Alfarhan already teaches at least one of those alternatives).
As to claims 7 and 18, Alfarhan further teaches wherein the paging early indication or the low-power wake-up signal indicates at least one of: the cell discontinuous transmission state or discontinuous reception state; or the start of the next cell discontinuous transmission state or discontinuous reception active period (see paragraphs [0082], [0117], [0129], [0130], [0141], [0147], note that “the paging information defining paging monitoring independent of discontinuous transmission” is an optional alternative in claims 1 and 12, Alfarhan already teaches at least one of those alternatives).
As to claims 8 and 19, Alfarhan further teaches wherein the paging information defining monitoring in persistent paging further comprises at least one of: a set of at least one of persistent paging early indication, paging occasion, or low-power wake-up signal, wherein a persistent paging early indication/paging occasion/low-power wake-up signal is transmitted independent of the cell discontinuous transmission state; or a configuration for the user equipment to monitor for persistent paging occasion (note that “the paging information defining monitoring in persistent paging” is an optional alternative in claims 1 and 12, Alfarhan already teaches at least one of those alternatives).
As to claims 9 and 20, Alfarhan further teaches wherein a persistent paging occasion further comprises at least one of: a persistent paging occasion comprising a time window during which paging early indication/paging occasions are not dropped; a persistent paging occasion scrambled with a radio network temporary identifier different from paging occasions which are not transmitted during a cell discontinuous transmission non-active state; a persistent paging occasion defined for the user equipment with at least one discontinuous reception cycle exceeding a threshold; a persistent paging occasion mapped to at least one synchronization signal block slot; a persistent paging occasion is defined for user equipment with high priority services only; or a persistent paging occasion below a threshold monitored by the user equipment with low paging priority (note that “a persistent paging occasion” doesn’t further limit any positively recited element in claims 1 and 12, and therefor does not get any patentable weight).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641