DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Application CN 205142508 U to Shi et al. (“Shi”).
As to claim 21, Shi discloses a speaker-induced cooling system for a device, the system comprising: a speaker box forming an enclosure, the speaker box having a first speaker box side opposite a second speaker box side (speaker box 1, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024 of the English translation), the first speaker box side having a first exterior surface opposite a first interior surface within the enclosure and the second speaker box side having a second exterior surface opposite a second interior surface within the enclosure (shells 11 and 12 with inner and outer surfaces, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024); a thermally conductive sheet contiguous with at least a portion of the first exterior surface and the second exterior surface of the speaker box (component 15, see figures 1-2; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0024 - ¶ 0025); and a speaker box opening formed at least in part by the second speaker box side (inner cavity, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024).
As to claim 22, Shi further discloses wherein the speaker box further comprises a first speaker box end opposite a second speaker box end, the first speaker box end having a curve, the thermally conductive sheet contiguously extending about a curved exterior surface of the first speaker box end from the first exterior surface to the second exterior surface of the speaker box (component 15 curved around box 1, see figures 1-2; pg. 8, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 23, Shi further discloses wherein the thermally conductive sheet extends between a first sheet end and a second sheet end, the first sheet end positioned at the first exterior surface of the speaker box and the second sheet end positioned at the second exterior surface of the speaker box (portions 151 and 153, see figures 1-2; pg. 8, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 24, Shi further discloses wherein the first sheet end is nearer to the second speaker box end than the second sheet end (portion 151 longer than portion 153, see figures 1-2).
As to claim 25, Shi further discloses wherein: the speaker box opening comprises a first speaker box opening end and a second speaker box opening end, the first speaker box opening end being nearer the first speaker box end than the second speaker box opening end, and the second speaker box opening end being nearer the second speaker box end than the first speaker box opening end (mounting slot in opening for speaker, see figures 1-2; pg. 9, ¶ 0027); and the second sheet end of the thermally conductive sheet is adjacent the first speaker box opening end (portion 153 adjacent mounting slot and speaker, see figures 1-2).
As to claim 26, Shi further discloses further comprising a speaker within the speaker box opening formed by the second speaker box side, wherein a portion of the speaker is disposed within the enclosure formed by the speaker box (speaker 13, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024).
As to claim 27, Shi further discloses wherein: the speaker has a first speaker end opposite a second speaker end; the second speaker box side comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion extending between the first speaker end and the first speaker box end, and the second portion extending between the second speaker end and the second speaker box end (speaker 13 within box 1, see figures 1-2); and the first portion of the second speaker box side is disposed between at least a portion of the thermally conductive sheet contiguous with the first speaker box side and at least a portion of the thermally conductive sheet contiguous with the second speaker box side (component 15 surrounds one side of speaker box 1, see figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of US Patent Pub No 2018/0227668 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”).
As to claim 28, Shi discloses a device employing a speaker-induced cooling system (see pg. 2, ¶ 0004), the device comprising: a speaker box forming an enclosure, the speaker box having a first speaker box side opposite a second speaker box side (speaker box 1, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024), the first speaker box side having a first exterior surface opposite a first interior surface within the enclosure and the second speaker box side having a second exterior surface opposite a second interior surface within the enclosure (shells 11 and 12 with inner and outer surfaces, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024); a thermally conductive sheet contiguous with at least a portion of the first exterior surface and the second exterior surface of the speaker box (component 15, see figures 1-2; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0024 - ¶ 0025); and a speaker box opening formed at least in part by the second speaker box side (inner cavity, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024).
Shi does not disclose other specific components of the electronic device, therefore does not disclose a circuit system, wherein a portion of the thermally conductive sheet is disposed between the circuit system and the first exterior surface of the speaker box. However such components are known in the art, as taught by Park, which discloses a similar portable electronic device comprising a speaker box element (see pg. 2, ¶ 0027), and further discloses a circuit system, wherein a heat transferring element coupled to the speaker box is positioned between the circuit and the speaker box (see figure 5; pg. 1, ¶ 0015; pg. 5, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as such components are well-known in the art of electrical devices that include speaker components. The motivation for such a configuration being to provide a heat transfer component for other device elements that produce high amounts of heat while in use, and provide a path for transferring heat from said components to the outside of the device (Park pg. 3, ¶ 0041, ¶ 0043; pg. 5, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084).
As to claim 29, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein the speaker box further comprises a first speaker box end opposite a second speaker box end, the first speaker box end having a curve, the thermally conductive sheet contiguously extending about a curved exterior surface of the first speaker box end from the first exterior surface to the second exterior surface of the speaker box (Shi component 15 curved around box 1, see figures 1-2; pg. 8, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 30, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein the thermally conductive sheet extends between a first sheet end and a second sheet end, the first sheet end positioned at the first exterior surface of the speaker box and the second sheet end positioned at the second exterior surface of the speaker box (Shi portions 151 and 153, see figures 1-2; pg. 8, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 31, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein the first sheet end is nearer to the second speaker box end than the second sheet end (Shi portion 151 longer than portion 153, see figures 1-2).
As to claim 32, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein: the speaker box opening comprises a first speaker box opening end and a second speaker box opening end, the first speaker box opening end being nearer the first speaker box end than the second speaker box opening end, and the second speaker box opening end being nearer the second speaker box end than the first speaker box opening end (Shi mounting slot in opening for speaker, see figures 1-2; pg. 9, ¶ 0027); and the second sheet end of the thermally conductive sheet is adjacent the first speaker box opening end (Shi portion 153 adjacent mounting slot and speaker, see figures 1-2).
As to claim 33, Shi in view of Park further discloses further comprising a speaker within the speaker box opening formed by the second speaker box side, wherein a portion of the speaker is disposed within the enclosure formed by the speaker box (Shi speaker 13, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024).
As to claim 34, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein: the speaker has a first speaker end opposite a second speaker end; the second speaker box side comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion extending between the first speaker end and the first speaker box end, and the second portion extending between the second speaker end and the second speaker box end (Shi speaker 13 within box 1, see figures 1-2); and the first portion of the second speaker box side is disposed between at least a portion of the thermally conductive sheet contiguous with the first speaker box side and at least a portion of the thermally conductive sheet contiguous with the second speaker box side (Shi component 15 surrounds one side of speaker box 1, see figures 1-2).
As to claim 35, Shi discloses a camera employing a speaker-induced cooling system (see pg. 2, ¶ 0004), the camera comprising: a speaker box forming an enclosure, the speaker box having a first speaker box side opposite a second speaker box side (speaker box 1, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024), the first speaker box side having a first exterior surface opposite a first interior surface within the enclosure and the second speaker box side having a second exterior surface opposite a second interior surface within the enclosure (shells 11 and 12 with inner and outer surfaces, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024); a thermally conductive sheet contiguous with at least a portion of the first exterior surface and the second exterior surface of the speaker box (component 15, see figures 1-2; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0024 - ¶ 0025); and a speaker box opening formed at least in part by the second speaker box side (inner cavity, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024).
Shi does not disclose other specific components of the electronic device, therefore does not disclose a circuit system communicatively coupled to an image sensor, wherein a portion of the thermally conductive sheet is disposed between the circuit system and the first exterior surface of the speaker box. However such components are known in the art, as taught by Park, which discloses a similar portable electronic device comprising a speaker box element (see pg. 2, ¶ 0027), and further discloses a circuit system communicatively coupled to a camera module with an image sensor (see figure 9; pg. 1, ¶ 0015; pg. 6, ¶ 0092; pg. 7, ¶ 0122; pg. 9, ¶ 0137), wherein a heat transferring element coupled to the speaker box is positioned between the circuit and the speaker box (see figure 5; pg. 5, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as such components are well-known in the art of electrical devices such as cameras that can include speaker components. The motivation for such a configuration being to provide a heat transfer component for other device elements that produce high amounts of heat while in use, and provide a path for transferring heat from said components to the outside of the device (Park pg. 3, ¶ 0041, ¶ 0043; pg. 5, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084).
As to claim 36, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein the speaker box further comprises a first speaker box end opposite a second speaker box end, the first speaker box end having a curve, the thermally conductive sheet contiguously extending about a curved exterior surface of the first speaker box end from the first exterior surface to the second exterior surface of the speaker box (Shi component 15 curved around box 1, see figures 1-2; pg. 8, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 37, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein the thermally conductive sheet extends between a first sheet end and a second sheet end, the first sheet end positioned at the first exterior surface of the speaker box and the second sheet end positioned at the second exterior surface of the speaker box (Shi portions 151 and 153, see figures 1-2; pg. 8, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 38, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein the first sheet end is nearer to the second speaker box end than the second sheet end (Shi portion 151 longer than portion 153, see figures 1-2).
As to claim 39, Shi in view of Park further discloses wherein: the speaker box opening comprises a first speaker box opening end and a second speaker box opening end, the first speaker box opening end being nearer the first speaker box end than the second speaker box opening end, and the second speaker box opening end being nearer the second speaker box end than the first speaker box opening end (Shi mounting slot in opening for speaker, see figures 1-2; pg. 9, ¶ 0027); and the second sheet end of the thermally conductive sheet is adjacent the first speaker box opening end (Shi portion 153 adjacent mounting slot and speaker, see figures 1-2).
As to claim 40, Shi in view of Park further discloses further comprising a speaker within the speaker box opening formed by the second speaker box side, wherein a portion of the speaker is disposed within the enclosure formed by the speaker box (Shi speaker 13, see figures 1-2; pg. 7, ¶ 0024).
Conclusion
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693