DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al (WO-2013033464 A2) in view of Stojanovski et al (US 20190191409 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 18, Edge et al discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), comprising: receiving (step 202: the UE 220 may receive information from the location server 215; UE 220 receive Broadcast Provide Assistance Data messages ; see paragraph 00083, 0088), by a terminal, preconfigured positioning assistance data (step 203, the UE 220 may begin monitoring for and receiving LPP/LPPe Broadcast Provide Assistance Data messages on broadcast systems, see paragraph 0083, 0087); and performing, by the terminal, positioning measurement and/or position estimation based on the preconfigured positioning assistance data (step 225: the UE 220 may perform positioning (e.g. location measurements and possibly location computation) using Assistance Data received from the Location Server 215 in step 203 and step 207; see paragraph 00085, 00090 and fig. 2); wherein the preconfigured positioning assistance data comprises at least one group of preconfigured positioning assistance data(different types of broadcast Provide Assistance Data messages; different cipher keys allow different levels of service to different user groups ; see paragraph 0092 for details), and each group of preconfigured positioning assistance data comprises at least one of the following: a valid area associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data (“ the Location Server 504 may package the Assistance Data to be broadcast into one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data messages “, the Location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included assistance data, see paragraph 000106, 000110 and fig. 5A, fig. 5B); an identifier of the preconfigured positioning assistance data (an identifier (cipher key ID) for the first portion of the counter and the ciphering key value may be provided to the UE using point-to-point mode ; paragraph 000142), wherein the identifier of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is used for indicating a type of positioning assistance data (the broadcast may occur from multiple nodes (e.g. from multiple base stations) and may be accompanied by additional information identifying, for example, the type of Assistance Data and use of ciphering, see paragraph 00093, 00096, 00041); a configuration identifier for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the information block may include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule, where the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications; see paragraph 00024, 00028); a state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data; information indicating an activation mode for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (read as: switching between modes of operation; for instance, a user may choose to change from the third mode of operation to the first mode of operation, the fourth mode to the second mode, or any combination there between; it means that the state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is being activated or deactivated; paragraph 00096, 000114) ; information indicating a deactivation mode for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (a user may choose to change from the third mode of operation to the first mode of operation; it means that the state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is being activated or deactivated; paragraph 00096, 000114, 000120); content of the preconfigured positioning assistance data; a valid time of the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the location server 504 may package the assistance data to be broadcast into one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data Messages, the location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included assistance data, see paragraph 000106, 000110 and fig. 5A, fig. 5B); a bandwidth part identifier associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data; a component carrier identifier associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data (an identifier for the first portion of the initial counter and the ciphering key; the information block may further include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule; the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications ; paragraph 00038, 00041); a frequency point associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data; or a first long term evolution positioning protocol transaction identifier, wherein the first LPP transaction identifier is a transaction identifier of a first LPP message (the Location Server 504 broadcasts an LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data message ; the message may use an arbitrary transaction ID Tl and indicate the end of this transaction; the message may contain a periodic/triggered session ID S chosen by the Location Server 504; paragraph 00024, 000119-000120) carrying the preconfigured positioning assistance data (one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data messages, different messages may carry different transaction IDs ; LPP message carries the preconfigured positioning assistance data; paragraph 00083, 00090).
However, Edge et al, does not specifically disclose the features of sending, by the terminal, request information for the preconfigured positioning assistance data, wherein the request information is used for requesting the preconfigured positioning assistance data, and the request information comprises the type of positioning assistance data; wherein the type of positioning assistance data comprises the preconfigured positioning assistance data or ordinary positioning assistance data.
On the other hand, Stojanovski et al, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that the first paging message may include a tracking area identifier list; a UE identity index value; a paging priority for paging of the UE 102; a UE radio capability for paging IE that includes paging specific UE radio capability information; an assistance data for paging IE that includes assistance information for paging optimization and other elements (paragraph 0086, 0121-0122). Furthermore, Stojanovski et al discloses the steps of sending (the AMF may initiate the paging procedure by sending the PAGING message to the NG-RAN node ; paragraph 0108), by the terminal, request information (after reception of the PAGING message, the NG-RAN node shall perform paging of the UE 102 in cells which belong to tracking areas as indicated in the List of TAIs IE; paragraph 0108 ) for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (parameters may include UE Identity Index value, UE Paging Identity, Paging DRX, List of TAIs, Paging Priority, UE Radio Capability for Paging, Assistance Data for Paging ; paragraph 0105), wherein the request information is used for requesting the preconfigured positioning assistance data (a UE radio capability for paging IE includes paging specific UE radio capability information, and an assistance data for paging IE that includes assistance information for paging optimization; in addition, a paging message may be sent from the gNB-CU 106 to the gNB-DU 109, where the paging message may be sent by the gNB-CU 106 and may be used to request the gNB-DU 109 to page UEs 102; paragraph 0073, 0113 ; paragraph 0111-0112, 0132), and the request information (transmission, reception and/or exchanging of elements such as frames, messages, request, indicators, signals or other elements; in addition, a paging message may be sent from the gNB-CU 106 to the gNB-DU 109, where the paging message may be sent by the gNB-CU 106 and may be used to request the gNB-DU 109 to page UEs 102; paragraph 0073, 0113) comprises the type of positioning assistance data (various types of gNBs 105 may be used; the second paging message may include: the paging identity of the UE; and an access type parameter that indicates whether the paging of the UE is originated due to the PDU session from the non-3GPP access ; paragraph 0082 , 0132); wherein the type of positioning assistance data comprises the preconfigured positioning assistance data or ordinary positioning assistance data (a second paging message to page the UE 102, where the second paging message may be encoded to include: the paging identity of the UE 102; and an access type parameter that indicates whether the paging of the UE 102 is originated due to the PDU session from the non-3GPP access ; paragraph 0069, 0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Stojanovski to the communication system of Edge in order to provide a technique for efficiently supporting multiple positioning methods for different wireless access types.
Regarding claim 2, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), wherein the valid area comprises at least one of the following: an area corresponding to a cell list (a set of cell sites within which the one or more AD message are being broadcast, a period of time for a transmission of the one or more AD messages, a validity period for the one or more AD messages; paragraph 00013) wherein the cell list comprises at least one cell; a specific area (a valid area comprises an area corresponding to a cell list); an area in which a measurement change value of a specific reference signal does not exceed a threshold; an area in which a distance from a target position does not exceed a preset distance; (or an area corresponding to a current serving cell of a terminal or a camp-on cell of the terminal (fig. 16A: neighbor cells and reference cells; using the LPP/LPPe Request Assistance Data message, which is sent by UE 220 to Location Server 215, the UE 220 may provide its current serving cell (or current access point or current access network) along with other access networks visible to UE 220 and/or other optional related information to the Location Server 215 and may request information about Provide Assistance Data messages being broadcast by the Location Server 215; paragraph 00079, 00088).
Regarding claim 3, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2, wherein the request information further comprises at least one of the following: a valid-time indication for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the location server 504 may package the assistance data to be broadcast into one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data Messages, the location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included assistance data, see paragraph 000106, 000110 and fig. 5A, fig. 5B) ; a valid-area indication for the preconfigured positioning assistance data; an area in which the terminal is currently located (the Location Server 504 is responsible for ensuring that any message ID included in a previous broadcast message is not reused for a new broadcast message before the message validity time, if included in the previous message; paragraph 000111, 000119); a subsequent activation request indication for positioning assistance data; a subsequent deactivation request indication for positioning assistance data; a terminal-expected activation time indication for the preconfigured positioning assistance data; a terminal-expected time for positioning measurement and/or position estimation; or desired configuration information for positioning assistance data (paragraph 00085, 00087, 000200).
Regarding claim 4, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), wherein the type of positioning assistance data is indicated by one flag (the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications, an indication of message or segment transmission and an end message flag; paragraph 00024, 00028, 000120).
Regarding claim 7, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), before the performing, by the terminal, the positioning measurement and/or the position estimation based on the preconfigured positioning assistance data, further comprising: receiving an activation message (receive an indication from the Broadcast Subsystem at the Location Server ; Provide Assistance Data message, and using a transceiver for sending the Provide Assistance Data (PAD ) message to the broadcast node using the broadcast schedule defined for the at least one type of AD message; the LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data message; note that the LPP sent a type of activation message ; paragraph 00014, 00026, 00029); and activating the preconfigured positioning assistance data according to the activation message; wherein the activation message comprises at least one of the following: an activation identifier (public key identifier; paragraph 00038, 00041); a first configuration identifier, wherein the first configuration identifier is used to indicate preconfigured positioning assistance data with a specific configuration (an identifier (cipher key ID) for the first portion of the counter and the ciphering key value may be provided to the UE using point-to-point mode ; paragraph 000142) or specific identifier (an identifier for the first portion of the initial counter and the ciphering key, where the second portion of the initial counter may be derived from at least a counter from the plurality of broadcast control parameters ; paragraph 00040-00041); or information related to first LPP transaction (each message may include an end of transaction indication; different messages may or may not carry different transaction IDs; paragraph 000140).
Regarding claim 8, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2),
, before the receiving, by the terminal, the preconfigured positioning assistance data, further comprising: receiving (receiving LPP/LPPe Broadcast Provide Assistance Data messages on broadcast systems, see paragraph 0083, 0087) first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for deactivating, releasing (a user may choose to change from the third mode of operation to the first mode of operation; switching mode; it means that the state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is being deactivated; paragraph 00096, 000114, 000120), or modifying the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the UE 220 may request the Assistance Data at some initial time, for example when the UE attaches to the network or in instances when the Assistance Data is changing; paragraph 00079; furthermore, the information block may include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule; the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications, an indication of message or segment transmission and an end message flag; the end message flag may indicate if consecutive segments sent will end the first AD message; note that the target UE or Location Server can request a change to the type or types of Assistance Data being transferred using another control transaction ; paragraph 00016, 000119-000120).
Regarding claim 9, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: a deactivate identifier, a release identifier (switching mode; it means that the state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is being deactivated; paragraph 00096, 000114, 000120), or a modify identifier (the information block may include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule; the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications, an indication of message or segment transmission and an end message flag ; paragraph 00016, 000119-000120); a second configuration identifier, wherein the second configuration identifier is used to indicate preconfigured positioning assistance data with a specific configuration (an identifier (cipher key ID) for the first portion of the counter and the ciphering key value may be provided to the UE using point-to-point mode ; paragraph 000142) or specific identifier; specific configuration information for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (a valid time indication for the preconfigured positioning assistance data; furthermore, the broadcast may occur from multiple nodes (e.g. from multiple base stations) and may be accompanied by additional information identifying, for example, the type of Assistance Data and use of ciphering, see paragraph 00093, 00096, 00041) or information related to second LPP transaction (each message may include an end of transaction indication; different messages may or may not carry different transaction IDs; paragraph 000140).
Regarding claim 10, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), before the performing, by the terminal, the positioning measurement and/or the position estimation based on the preconfigured positioning assistance data, further comprising: determining (the processor for determining that the broadcast message is ciphered, and in response to determining that the broadcast message is ciphered, determining that the device has at least one key to decipher the ciphered broadcast message ; paragraph 00085, 00096), based on first event information, that the state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is being activated; wherein the first event information comprises at least one of the following: a positioning measurement and/or position estimation request message having been received; no positioning measurement and/or position estimation end request being received (T3 transaction instigated by the Location Server 215 for acquiring the location estimates from the UE 220; the Location Server 215 may send an LPP/LPPe Request Location Information message for requesting location estimates from the UE 220; paragraph 00085); the preconfigured positioning assistance data being within a valid time; or the terminal being located in a valid area the Location Server 504 may package the Assistance Data to be broadcast into one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data messages “, the Location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included assistance data, see paragraph 000106, 000110 and fig. 5A, fig. 5B).
Regarding claims 11, 19, Edge et al discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), comprising: sending (sending information associated with broadcast messaging from a Location Server point to point to a device using a positioning protocol; paragraph 0004, 00012), by a first network-side device (Location Server 215), preconfigured positioning assistance data (step 203, the UE 220 may begin monitoring for and receiving LPP/LPPe Broadcast Provide Assistance Data messages on broadcast systems, see paragraph 0083, 0087; in addition, broadcasting one or more Assistance Data messages from the Location Server to the device based on the information associated with the broadcast messaging; paragraph 0004, 00012), wherein the preconfigured positioning assistance data is used for positioning measurement and/or position estimation (step 225: the UE 220 may perform positioning (e.g. location measurements and possibly location computation) using Assistance Data received from the Location Server 215 in step 203 and step 207; see paragraph 00085, 00090 and fig. 2); and wherein the preconfigured positioning assistance data comprises at least one group of preconfigured positioning assistance data (different types of broadcast Provide Assistance Data messages; different cipher keys allow different levels of service to different user groups ; see paragraph 0092 for details), and each group of preconfigured positioning assistance data comprises at least one of the following: a valid area associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data (“ the Location Server 504 may package the Assistance Data to be broadcast into one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data messages “, the Location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included assistance data, see paragraph 000106, 000110 and fig. 5A, fig. 5B); an identifier of the preconfigured positioning assistance data (an identifier (cipher key ID) for the first portion of the counter and the ciphering key value may be provided to the UE using point-to-point mode ; paragraph 000142), wherein the identifier of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is used for indicating a type of positioning assistance data (the broadcast may occur from multiple nodes (e.g. from multiple base stations) and may be accompanied by additional information identifying, for example, the type of Assistance Data and use of ciphering, see paragraph 00093, 00096, 00041); a configuration identifier for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the information block may include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule, where the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications; see paragraph 00024, 00028) ; a state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data; information indicating an activation mode for the preconfigured positioning assistance data (read as: switching between modes of operation; for instance, a user may choose to change from the third mode of operation to the first mode of operation, the fourth mode to the second mode, or any combination there between; paragraph 00096, 000114); information indicating a deactivation mode for the preconfigured positioning assistance data; content of the preconfigured positioning assistance data; a valid time of the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the location server 504 may package the assistance data to be broadcast into one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data Messages, the location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included assistance data; see paragraph 000106, 000110 and fig. 5A, fig. 5B); a bandwidth part identifier associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data; a component carrier identifier associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data (an identifier for the first portion of the initial counter and the ciphering key; the information block may further include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule; the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications ; paragraph 00038, 00041); a frequency point associated with the preconfigured positioning assistance data; or a first long term evolution positioning protocol transaction identifier (the positioning protocol may be an LTE Positioning Protocol combined with an LPP extensions protocol; the Location Server 504 broadcasts an LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data message ; the message may use an arbitrary transaction ID Tl and indicate the end of this transaction; the message may contain a periodic/triggered session ID S chosen by the Location Server 504; paragraph 00024, 000119), wherein the first LPP transaction identifier is a transaction identifier of a first LPP message carrying the preconfigured positioning assistance data (one or more LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data messages, different messages may carry different transaction IDs, paragraph 00083, 00090).
However, Edge et al, does not specifically disclose the features of the request information that is used for requesting the preconfigured positioning assistance data and comprises a type of positioning assistance data, the type of positioning assistance data comprising preconfigured positioning assistance data or ordinary positioning assistance data.
On the other hand, Stojanovski et al, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that the first paging message may include a tracking area identifier list; a UE identity index value; a paging priority for paging of the UE 102; a UE radio capability for paging IE that includes paging specific UE radio capability information; an assistance data for paging IE that includes assistance information for paging optimization and other elements (paragraph 0086, 0121-0122). Furthermore, Stojanovski et al teaches that the request information (after reception of the PAGING message, the NG-RAN node shall perform paging of the UE 102 in cells which belong to tracking areas as indicated in the List of TAIs IE; paragraph 0108) is used for requesting the preconfigured positioning assistance data (a UE radio capability for paging IE includes paging specific UE radio capability information, and an assistance data for paging IE that includes assistance information for paging optimization; in addition, a paging message may be sent from the gNB-CU 106 to the gNB-DU 109, where the paging message may be sent by the gNB-CU 106 and may be used to request the gNB-DU 109 to page UEs 102; paragraph 0073, 0113 ; paragraph 0111-0112, 0132); note that parameters may include UE Identity Index value, UE Paging Identity, Paging DRX, List of TAIs, Paging Priority, UE Radio Capability for Paging, Assistance Data for Paging ; paragraph 0105) and comprises a type of positioning assistance data (various types of gNBs 105 may be used; the second paging message may include: the paging identity of the UE; and an access type parameter that indicates whether the paging of the UE is originated due to the PDU session from the non-3GPP access ; paragraph 0082, 0132), the type of positioning assistance data comprising preconfigured positioning assistance data or ordinary positioning assistance data (a second paging message to page the UE 102, where the second paging message may be encoded to include: the paging identity of the UE 102; and an access type parameter that indicates whether the paging of the UE 102 is originated due to the PDU session from the non-3GPP access ; paragraph 0069, 0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Stojanovski to the communication system of Edge in order to provide a technique for efficiently supporting multiple positioning methods for different wireless access types.
Regarding claim 12, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), after the sending, by the first network-side device, the preconfigured positioning assistance data, further comprising: in a case that a state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data needs to be changed from deactivated to activated, sending (sending information associated with broadcast messaging from a Location Server point to point to a device using a positioning protocol, and broadcasting one or more Assistance Data messages from the Location Server to the device based on the information associated with the broadcast messaging; paragraph 00012) , by the first network-side device (Location Server) an activation message or sending a second activation request to a second network-side device (receive an indication from the Broadcast Subsystem at the Location Server ; Provide Assistance Data message, and using a transceiver for sending the Provide Assistance Data (PAD ) message to the broadcast node using the broadcast schedule defined for the at least one type of AD message; the LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data message; note that the LPP sent a type of activation message ; paragraph 00014, 00026, 00029); wherein the activation message is used to activate the preconfigured positioning assistance data (broadcast Assistance Data messages from the Location Server to the device according to the information associated with the broadcast messaging, where each message may include an end of transaction indication; furthermore, the Location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included Assistance Data ; paragraph 00020, 00022), and the second activation request is used to request the second network-side device to send the activation message (the Location Server 215 may send an LPP/LPPe Request Location Information message for requesting location estimates from the UE 220; paragraph 00085).
Regarding claim 13, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), wherein the sending (sending information associated with broadcast messaging from a Location Server point to point to a device using a positioning protocol; paragraph 0004, 00012), by the first network-side device, the activation message comprises: sending (sending information associated with broadcast messaging from a Location Server point to point to a device using a positioning protocol; paragraph 0004, 00012), by the first network-side device (Location Server 215), the activation message based on second event information (an initial counter C I may be used to cipher a LPP/LPPe message provided to the UE by a server; in addition, the content of each message may be location and/or time specific (e.g. may be applicable to a specific geographic area and to a specific period of time, where each message may include an end of transaction indication; paragraph 00038, 00041); wherein the second event information comprises at least one of the following: the preconfigured positioning assistance data being within a valid time (means for verifying a validity of the AD using at least one control parameter from the plurality of broadcast control parameters received from the Location Server ; paragraph 00041); or a terminal being located in a valid area (the Location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and/or the validity area for the included Assistance Data ; paragraph 000106, 000108).
Regarding claim 14, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), after the sending, by the first network-side device, the preconfigured positioning assistance data, further comprising: sending first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for deactivating, releasing (a user may choose to change from the third mode of operation to the first mode of operation; switching mode; it means that the state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is being deactivated; paragraph 00096, 000114, 000120), or modifying the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the information block may include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule; the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications, an indication of message or segment transmission and an end message flag; the end message flag may indicate if consecutive segments sent will end the first AD message; note that the target UE or Location Server can request a change to the type or types of Assistance Data being transferred using another control transaction ; paragraph 00016, 000119-000120).
Regarding claims 15, 20, Edge et al discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), comprising: sending (sending information associated with broadcast messaging from a Location Server point to point to a device using a positioning protocol; paragraph 0004, 00012), by a second network-side device (location server 215, location server 504), an activation message (read as: receive an indication from the Broadcast Subsystem at the Location Server ; Provide Assistance Data message, and using a transceiver for sending the Provide Assistance Data (PAD ) message to the broadcast node using the broadcast schedule defined for the at least one type of AD message; the LPP/LPPe Provide Assistance Data message; note that the LPP sent a type of activation message ; paragraph 00014, 00026, 00029), wherein the activation message is used to activate preconfigured positioning assistance data (broadcast Assistance Data messages from the Location Server to the device according to the information associated with the broadcast messaging, where each message may include an end of transaction indication; furthermore, the Location Server 504 may include in each message a unique message ID and the validity time and the validity area for the included Assistance Data ; paragraph 00020, 00022), and the preconfigured positioning assistance data is used for positioning measurement and/or position estimation (step 225: the UE 220 may perform positioning (e.g. location measurements and possibly location computation) using Assistance Data received from the Location Server 215 in step 203 and step 207; see paragraph 00085, 00090 and fig. 2).
However, Edge et al, does not specifically disclose the features of the request information that is used for requesting the preconfigured positioning assistance data and comprises a type of positioning assistance data, the type of positioning assistance data comprising preconfigured positioning assistance data or ordinary positioning assistance data.
On the other hand, Stojanovski et al, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that the first paging message may include a tracking area identifier list; a UE identity index value; a paging priority for paging of the UE 102; a UE radio capability for paging IE that includes paging specific UE radio capability information; an assistance data for paging IE that includes assistance information for paging optimization and other elements (paragraph 0086, 0121-0122). Furthermore, Stojanovski et al teaches that the request information (after reception of the PAGING message, the NG-RAN node shall perform paging of the UE 102 in cells which belong to tracking areas as indicated in the List of TAIs IE; paragraph 0108) is used for requesting the preconfigured positioning assistance data (a UE radio capability for paging IE includes paging specific UE radio capability information, and an assistance data for paging IE that includes assistance information for paging optimization; in addition, a paging message may be sent from the gNB-CU 106 to the gNB-DU 109, where the paging message may be sent by the gNB-CU 106 and may be used to request the gNB-DU 109 to page UEs 102; paragraph 0073, 0113 ; paragraph 0111-0112, 0132); note that parameters may include UE Identity Index value, UE Paging Identity, Paging DRX, List of TAIs, Paging Priority, UE Radio Capability for Paging, Assistance Data for Paging ; paragraph 0105) and comprises a type of positioning assistance data (various types of gNBs 105 may be used; the second paging message may include: the paging identity of the UE; and an access type parameter that indicates whether the paging of the UE is originated due to the PDU session from the non-3GPP access ; paragraph 0082, 0132), the type of positioning assistance data comprising preconfigured positioning assistance data or ordinary positioning assistance data (a second paging message to page the UE 102, where the second paging message may be encoded to include: the paging identity of the UE 102; and an access type parameter that indicates whether the paging of the UE 102 is originated due to the PDU session from the non-3GPP access ; paragraph 0069, 0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Stojanovski to the communication system of Edge in order to provide a technique for efficiently supporting multiple positioning methods for different wireless access types.
Regarding claim 16, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), before the sending, by the second network-side device, the activation message, further comprising: receiving (receiving LPP/LPPe Broadcast Provide Assistance Data messages on broadcast systems that may have been indicated by the Location Server 215 ; paragraph 00083) a first activation request sent by a terminal or a second activation request sent by a first network-side device (read as : transaction T2 for exchanging capabilities may include LPP/LPPe Request Capabilities message, from the Location Server 215 to the UE 220 and LPP/LPPe Provide Capabilities message ; paragraph 00084), wherein the first activation request or the second activation request is used to request activation of preconfigured positioning assistance data (the Location Server 215 may send an LPP/LPPe Request Location Information message for requesting location estimates from the UE 220; paragraph 00085).
Regarding claim 17, Edge et al as modified discloses a positioning method (fig. 2), further comprising: sending first indication information to a terminal, wherein the first indication information is used for deactivating, releasing (a user may choose to change from the third mode of operation to the first mode of operation; it means that the state of the preconfigured positioning assistance data is being deactivated; paragraph 00096, 000114, 000120), or modifying the preconfigured positioning assistance data (the information block may include a version identifier associated with changes in the master schedule; the schedule for the first AD message may include one or more of a Type ID, a number of segments or a number of message indications, an indication of message or segment transmission and an end message flag; the end message flag may indicate if consecutive segments sent will end the first AD message; note that the target UE or Location Server can request a change to the type or types of Assistance Data being transferred using another control transaction ; paragraph 00016, 000119-000120).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641