DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on January 18, 2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “configured to detach” in claim 7; and “a mounting feature” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: “configured to mount to a surface,” which does not specify what said surface belongs to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leigh, et al. (US-20160223755-A1).
With respect to Claim 1:
Leigh discloses a system comprising:
a first power assembly 406 comprising:
a first power enclosure 118 configured to attach to an optical plug 504 (Figs. 1A-1B and 5A-5B; [0031]); and
a first power connector 502 disposed in the first power enclosure 118 (Figs. 1A-1B and 5A-5B); and
a second power assembly 408 comprising:
a second power enclosure configured to attach to an optical enclosure 508 (Figs. 5A-5B), the optical enclosure 508 being configured to receive the optical plug 504 (Figs. 5A-5B); and
a second power connector 506 disposed in the second power enclosure, wherein the first power connector 502 and the second power connector 506 are configured to couple to each other (Figs. 5A-5B).
With respect to Claim 2:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 1.
Leigh also discloses wherein the first power assembly 406 comprises extensions 114 extending from the first power enclosure 118 (Fig. 1A), and the extensions 114 are configured to engage the optical plug 106/504 to attach the first power enclosure 118 to the optical plug 106/504 (Figs. 1A-1B).
With respect to Claim 3:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 1.
Leigh also discloses wherein the second power assembly 408 comprises extensions 306 extending from the second power enclosure (Fig. 3: grooves 306 extend from the enclosure of the second power assembly), and the extensions 306 are configured to engage the optical enclosure 106B/508 to attach the second power enclosure to the optical enclosure (Fig. 3).
With respect to Claim 4:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 1.
Leigh also discloses wherein the system is further comprising a latch 414 coupled to the first power assembly 406 (Figs. 5A-5B), wherein the second power assembly 408 comprises a mount 416 formed on the second power enclosure (Figs. 5A-5B) and configured to match with the latch 414 to couple the first power assembly 406 and the second power assembly 408 to each other (Figs. 5A-5B). ([0033] discloses that "the alignment features 414 and 416 include a pin and slot arrangement; in other examples, other types of alignment features can be used," which would include using a latch and mount alignment system.)
With respect to Claim 5:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 1.
Leigh also discloses wherein the second power connector 506 is configured to receive the first power connector 502 to couple the first power connector 506 and the second power connector 502 to each other (Figs. 5A-5B).
With respect to Claim 8:
Leigh discloses a system comprising:
an optical enclosure comprising an optical module 508;
an optical plug 504 comprising an optical connector configured to insert into the optical module 508 (Figs. 5A-5B);
a first power assembly 406 comprising a first power enclosure 118 configured to attach to the optical plug 504 (Figs. 1A-1B and 5A-5B); and
a second power assembly 408 comprising a second power enclosure configured to attach to the optical enclosure 508 (Figs. 5A-5B), wherein the first power assembly 406 and the second power assembly 408 are configured to couple to each other (Figs. 5A-5B).
With respect to Claim 9:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 8.
Leigh also discloses wherein the second power assembly 408 comprises power connectors 512 configured to route power around the optical enclosure 508 (Fig. 5B).
With respect to Claim 14:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 8.
Leigh also discloses wherein the optical enclosure 508 is configured to mount to a surface (Fig. 5B: the bottom of 508 mounts to a surface of circuit board 402), and the second power enclosure comprises an extended portion (Fig. 5B: the bottom right protruding portion of 506) configured to extend along the optical enclosure 508 and mount to the surface (Fig. 5B: 506 mounts to the surface of circuit board 402).
With respect to Claim 15:
Leigh discloses a system comprising:
a first power assembly 406 comprising a first power connector 502; and
a second power assembly 408 comprising a second power connector 506 configured to couple to the first power connector 502 (Figs. 1A-1B and 5A-5B),
wherein the first power assembly 406 is configured to attach to and detach from an optical plug 504 (Figs. 1A-1B and 5A-5B) and the second power assembly 408 is configured to attach to and detach from an optical enclosure 508 separate from coupling of the optical plug 504 and the optical enclosure 508 to each other (Figs. 1A-1B and 5A-5B: the optical plug 504 and the optical enclosure 508 connect to the first power assembly 406 and the second power assembly 408, respectively, independently from the connection between the optical plug 504 and the optical enclosure 508).
With respect to Claim 16:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 15.
Leigh also discloses wherein the first power assembly 104/406 comprises a power enclosure 118 and hooks 114 ([0017]: "other types of attachment features can be provided on the connector," and hooks are well-known attachment features in the art) extending from the power enclosure (Fig. 1A), wherein the power enclosure 118 and the hooks 114 are configured to cooperatively capture the optical plug 106 to attach the first power assembly 104 to the optical plug 106 (Figs. 1A-1B).
With respect to Claim 17:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 15.
Leigh also discloses wherein the first power assembly 104/406 comprises a first power enclosure 118, the second power assembly 408 comprises a second power enclosure, the second power enclosure comprises a mount 416, and the system comprises a latch 414 positioned on the first power enclosure 406 and configured to couple to the mount 416 of the second power enclosure to secure the first power assembly 406 and the second power assembly 408 to each other (Figs. 5A-5B). ([0033] discloses that "the alignment features 414 and 416 include a pin and slot arrangement; in other examples, other types of alignment features can be used," which would include using a latch and mount alignment system.)
With respect to Claim 18:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 17.
Leigh also discloses wherein the first power enclosure 118 comprises a mounting feature 204 ([0026]), the latch 414 is configured to removably couple to the mounting feature to be positioned on the first power enclosure ([0033]).
With respect to Claim 20:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 15.
Leigh also discloses wherein the system is comprising the optical plug 504 and the optical enclosure 508, wherein the optical plug 504 comprises a main body and an optical connector 514 extending from the main body (Figs. 5A-5B), the optical enclosure 508 comprises an optical module with an opening 516 ([0036]: can include […] other types of optical communication elements), and the opening is configured to receive the main body and the optical connector 514 to couple the optical plug 504 and the optical enclosure 508 to each other (Figs. 5A-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leigh, et al. (US-20160223755-A1) in view of Tittenhofer, et al. (US-20200113077-A1).
With respect to Claim 6:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 1.
Leigh does not explicitly disclose wherein the second power assembly comprises a heatsink mounted to the second power enclosure, and the heatsink is configured to discharge heat away from the second power assembly.
However, Tittenhofer teaches a network module comprising at least one electrical and/or optical connector ([0002]), wherein the module comprises a heatsink (abstract).
Thus, Leigh and Tittenhofer each disclose modules with optical and power transference capabilities. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the heatsink of Tittenhofer could be combined with the power enclosure of Leigh because it would improve the system's cooling capabilities. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
Claims 7, 10-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leigh, et al. (US-20160223755-A1) in view of Gurreri, et al. (US-20200400894-A1).
With respect to Claim 7:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 1.
Leigh does not explicitly disclose wherein the first power enclosure is configured to detach from the optical plug and the second power enclosure is configured to detach from the optical enclosure without decoupling the first power connector and the second power connector from each other.
However, the invention of Leigh does not satisfy the above limitations due to the existence of the circuit boards 108 and 402 (Figs. 4-5B), which prevent the optical plug and optical enclosure from sliding off of the first power assembly and the second power assembly, respectively, without requiring the first and second power assemblies from disconnecting from each other. For example, Leigh describes an embodiment of the assemblies in [0029], wherein an optical connector 106B removably attaches to an electrical connector 104B via a protruding member 304 fitting into a groove 302 of the electrical connector 104B (Fig. 3). This would mean that, in the absence of the circuit boards, the optical connector 106B may be removed from the electrical connector 104B without interrupting the connection of the electrical connector 104B while it is attached to another electrical connector.
For example, Gurreri teaches a hybrid connector which provides both electrical power and fiber optic signals, wherein the hybrid connector routes power and optic signals through cables which extend longitudinally along the same axis which the connectors 22,26 and 24,30 are inserted (Fig. 1).
Thus, Leigh and Gurreri each disclose connector assemblies which deliver power and optic signals. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the cables of Gurreri could be combined with the system of Leigh because it would increase the range of utility of the invention. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 10:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 9.
Leigh also discloses wherein the second power enclosure comprises an extended portion configured to extend along a sidewall of the optical enclosure 508 (Fig. 5B: a bottom right portion of 506 extends along a sidewall of 508).
Leigh does not explicitly disclose wherein the power connectors extend through the extended portion to route power along the sidewall and around the optical enclosure.
However, Gurreri teaches a hybrid connector, wherein a connector contact holder 72 is a portion which extends along a wall of a fiber optic connector 22 (Fig. 1), and electrical contacts 24 extend through the connector contact holder 72 to route power along the wall and around the fiber optic connector 22 (Fig. 1).
Thus, Leigh and Gurreri each disclose connector assemblies which deliver power and optic signals. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the contacts and connector contact holder of Gurreri could be combined with the assemblies of Leigh because it would provide an alternative embodiment which better accommodates connections through cables rather than strictly through circuit boards. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 11:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 9.
Leigh does not explicitly disclose wherein the second power enclosure comprises an extended portion configured to extend along a wall of the optical enclosure, opposite of where the optical connector of the optical plug is configured to insert into the optical module, and the power connectors extend through the extended portion to route power along the wall and around the optical enclosure.
However, Gurreri teaches a hybrid connector, wherein a connector contact holder 72 is a portion which extends along a wall of a fiber optic connector 22 (Fig. 1), opposite of where the fiber optic connector 22 is configured to insert into a fiber optic adapter 28 (Fig. 1: opposite, along a vertical axis), and electrical contacts 24 extend through the connector contact holder 72 to route power along the wall and around the fiber optic connector 22 (Fig. 1).
Thus, Leigh and Gurreri each disclose connector assemblies which deliver power and optic signals. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the contacts and connector contact holder of Gurreri could be combined with the assemblies of Leigh because it would provide an alternative embodiment which better accommodates connections through cables rather than strictly through circuit boards. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 12:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 8.
Leigh does not explicitly disclose wherein the system is comprising a latch attached to the optical plug, wherein the optical enclosure comprises a mount configured to couple to the latch to secure the optical plug and the optical enclosure to each other.
However, Gurreri teaches a hybrid connector comprising a latch 40 attached to an optical plug 22 (Fig. 1), wherein an optical enclosure 28 comprises a mount 38 configured to couple to the latch 40 to secure the optical plug 22 and the optical enclosure 28 to each other (Figs. 1-2).
Thus, Leigh and Gurreri each disclose connector assemblies which deliver power and optic signals. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the latching mechanism of the fiber optic adapter of Gurreri could be combined with the optical plug and enclosure of Leigh because it would provide a stable way of keeping the optical connection secure without relying on the connection to the electrical connectors. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 13:
Leigh in view of Gurreri discloses the system of claim 12.
Leigh also discloses wherein the first power assembly 406 comprises power connectors 510 extending from the first power enclosure 406 (Figs. 5A-5B), and attachment of the first power enclosure to the optical plug 504 positions the latch between the power connectors and the optical plug. (Figs. 5A-5B: 406 aligns to 408 via the connection of 414 and 416, therefore the attachment of 406 to 504 causes 504 and 508 to align to each other. If the disclosure of Leigh is combined with that of Gurreri, this would cause the latch to be properly positioned between the power connectors and the optical plug.)
With respect to Claim 19:
Leigh discloses the system of claim 15.
Leigh also discloses wherein the second power assembly 408 comprises a power enclosure (Figs. 5A-5B: unlabeled enclosure containing 408/506).
Leigh does not explicitly disclose wherein the power enclosure comprises an extended portion configured to extend around the optical enclosure, and the second power connector extends through the extended portion to route power around the optical enclosure.
However, Gurreri teaches a hybrid connector, wherein a connector contact holder 72 is a portion which extends along a wall of a fiber optic connector 22 (Fig. 1), and electrical contacts 24 extend through the connector contact holder 72 to route power along the wall and around the fiber optic connector 22 (Fig. 1).
Thus, Leigh and Gurreri each disclose connector assemblies which deliver power and optic signals. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the contacts and connector contact holder of Gurreri could be combined with the assemblies of Leigh because it would provide an alternative embodiment which better accommodates connections through cables rather than strictly through circuit boards. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
Conclusion
/AMARA ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831