DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 23 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-24 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 11-19 are currently amended. Claims 3, 7-10 and 20 are original. Claim 21-24 are new. Applicant’s amendments to the specification, drawings, and claims have overcome every objection and 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/112(d) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 March 2026. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made. Please refer to the detailed discussion below.
Response to Arguments
The following are in response to Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026.
Applicant remarks on page 24 of 37 in a sub-note 1 on the bottom of the page that there is an error on the Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 March 2026. Examiner amends the action page 16 as follows: “38. Claims 4, 小丸 浩} (JP S59195300 U).” This amendment clarifies the record, that “claims 6-8” were included in error and were correctly marked as allowable subject matter in para.“47” on page 27. Applicant further notes that “claim 10” was included in this error; Examiner disagrees as “claim 10” was not found to be rejected by 35 U.S.C. 103 and is only found as allowable subject matter in para. “47” on page 27.
Applicant remarks on page 29-30 of 37 that claim 19 was amended to require option (i) however, claim 19 now recites option (ii). It is unclear as to which option the Applicant intended. Examiner interprets the claim language to be correct as the low point is in the same location, if option (i) was selected there would be two low points at different locations. However, a new rejection is provided below since claim 19 does not further limit option (ii) of claim 18.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 30-32 of 37, with respect to claims 1-3, 9 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) of claims 1-3 and 18 has been withdrawn.
Examiner agrees with the “...Applicant's understating that the inclusion of claims 6-8 in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 was made in error...” (see pages 33 of 37). See at least: Examiners statement in para. 4 above.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 33-34 of 37, with respect to claim 4, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 of claim 4 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 33 of 37, with respect to claims 11-16 and 18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the allowability of claims 10, 17 and 20 in para. 51 of the Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 March 2026 is applicable to the optional instances where “a/the condensation conduit” is found positively recited. The Applicant amended claims 11 and 18 embodiments that are “configured to heat” which do not positivity recite “a/the condensation conduit”. The amended claim language is not clear if the “a/the condensation conduit” is or is not part of the claimed embodiment such that the claim language is read that there is no access port for a condensation conduit without further defining what the condensation conduit is or how it is arranged in the embodiment. Examiner notes: it would be obvious to be free of an access port for a condensation conduit where the condensation conduit is not included in area where heaters are installed. Additionally, the amended claim language does not include the same arrangement limitation as the allowed claim language “…wherein the first surface conduit and the first gas transfer conduit are free of an access port configured to permit the condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto...” which requires both “the first surface conduit” and “the first gas transfer conduit” to not have “the access port” (See at least: Amended claim 11 “...(i)...wherein the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point is free of an access port...”, which is a narrower location than allowed by all of “the first surface conduit” and “the first gas transfer conduit”).
Applicant remarks on page 35 of 37, of new base claim 22 that presents subject matter of claim 5. However, new claim 22 only has subject matter of claim 4. It is not clear if the remark or claim 22 as presented is correct.
Applicant remarks on page 35-36 of 37, of new base claim 23 that presents subject matter of claim 11 where the prior art of Duensing in view of Komaru does not teach “...configured to heat... to prevent a condensate from collecting within...”. Examiner respectfully transverses the emphasized claim language with the prior art of Komaru which explains the operation of the invention on text copy page 2 of 4. Komaru recites “Thus, if condensation liquid flows into this as drain pot 11 described above by preheating To 9 State, it will It is heated and vaporized again with the heat of heater 12, and will become transfer To 9 To again about the inside of pipeline 7. And when the temperature of drain pot 11 will rise if condensation liquid evaporates thru/or evaporates completely, and A ring becomes large exceeding a high-limit-setting value (for example, 180 degrees C), it is by power supply control part 13...”; emphasis added by Examiner. Therefore, during operation of the heater 12 there will be a point when all the condensate liquid is evaporated, which inherently prevents further condensate from collecting with the drain pot until the heater is turned off when 180 degrees Celsius is reached to protect the drain pot. Additionally, the emphasized claim language is found in the original claim 11 which was rejected for both parts of the “or” statement where best to the Examiners understanding the drain treatment device 10 operates in a range and will prevent condensate from collecting in the high band of the range and evaporate at least a portion in the low band, however the band was only an example and therefore either mode is available for use.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Amended Spec. of 23 July 2026, para. [0090] recites “...such that the first gas conduit 1620 can include the third gas transfer conduit 1622, the sump 1611...” and is unclear if the amended sentence is fully formed or complete due to “..., the sump 1611...” is recited without additional details.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “...wherein the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point is free of an access port configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto...” in “(i)” and “...wherein the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point is free of an access port configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough...” in “(ii)”. The negative limitation is unclear of the relation of “a condensation conduit” in the claim language as (1) “a condensation conduit” is not positively recited in the claim, (2) “a condensation conduit” is part of the function of the negative limitation and therefore is unclear if it is a part of the claimed product and (3) no arrangement is identified positively reciting “a condensation conduit” to the claimed product. Examiner notes: Applicant’s figs. 18-19 show embodiments of “configured to heat” however does not show with “a condensation conduit” where the spec. [0029] recites “exemplary embodiments presented below may be combined in any combination of ways”. It is unclear to the Examiner if the claim language is (1) claiming the figs. 18-19 which does not have a condensation conduit or if (2) the applicant is describing a combination that was not explicitly shown in the figs.
Claims 12-17 and 21 are rejected based on the independent claim 11 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ).
Claim 17 recites the limitation “...an access port... a condensation conduit...” in line 2. Claim 11 (i) and 11 (ii) recites “...an access port... a condensation conduit...”. Therefore, it is not clear if “...an access port... a condensation conduit...” of claim 17 is the same or different than “...an access port... a condensation conduit...” of claim 11 (i) and 11 (ii). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets claim 17 to recite the limitation “...the access port... the condensation conduit...”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “...wherein the first surface conduit and the first gas transfer conduit are free of an access port configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or connect thereto...”. The negative limitation is unclear of the relation of “a condensation conduit” in the claim language as (1) “a condensation conduit” is not positively recited in the claim, (2) “a condensation conduit” is part of the function of the negative limitation and therefore is unclear if it is a part of the claimed product and (3) no arrangement is identified positively reciting “a condensation conduit” to the claimed product. Examiner notes: Applicant’s figs. 18-19 show embodiments of “configured to heat” however does not show with “a condensation conduit” where the spec. [0029] recites “exemplary embodiments presented below may be combined in any combination of ways”. It is unclear to the Examiner if the claim language is (1) claiming the figs. 18-19 which does not have a condensation conduit or if (2) the applicant is describing a combination that was not explicitly shown in the figs.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “...wherein the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point is free of an access port configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto...” in “(iii)” and “...wherein the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point is free of an access port configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough...” in “(iv)”. The negative limitation is unclear of the relation of “a condensation conduit” in the claim language as (1) “a condensation conduit” is not positively recited in the claim, (2) “a condensation conduit” is part of the function of the negative limitation and therefore is unclear if it is a part of the claimed product and (3) no arrangement is identified positively reciting “a condensation conduit” to the claimed product. Examiner notes: Applicant’s figs. 18-19 show embodiments of “configured to heat” however does not show with “a condensation conduit” where the spec. [0029] recites “exemplary embodiments presented below may be combined in any combination of ways”. It is unclear to the Examiner if the claim language is (1) claiming the figs. 18-19 which does not have a condensation conduit or if (2) the applicant is describing a combination that was not explicitly shown in the figs.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “...an access port...” in line 2. Claim 18 (iii) and 18 (iv) recites “...an access port...”. Therefore, it is not clear if “...an access port...” of claim 20 is the same or different than “...an access port...” of claim 18 (iii) and 18 (iv). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets claim 20 to recite the limitation “...the access port...”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “...wherein the first surface conduit and the first gas transfer conduit are free of an access port configured to permit the condensation conduit to pass therethrough or connect thereto...”. The negative limitation is unclear of the relation of “a condensation conduit” in the claim language as (1) claim 18 has multiple optional claimed embodiments under (i), (ii), (iii) and (iv) and therefore it is not clear if claim 20 is applicable to all embodiments of claim 18 or only specific ones, (2) “a condensation conduit” is not positively recited in the claim 18 (iii) and (iv), (3) claim 18 (iii) and (iv) “a condensation conduit” is part of the function of the negative limitation and therefore is unclear if it is a part of the claimed product and (4) claim 18 (iii) and (iv) no arrangement is identified positively reciting “a condensation conduit” to the claimed product. Examiner notes: Applicant’s figs. 18-19 show embodiments of “configured to heat” however does not show with “a condensation conduit” where the spec. [0029] recites “exemplary embodiments presented below may be combined in any combination of ways”. It is unclear to the Examiner if the claim language is (1) claiming the figs. 18-19 which does not have a condensation conduit or if (2) the applicant is describing a combination that was not explicitly shown in the figs.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. See at least comparison below where claim 18 (ii) has all essential elements of claim 19 which modifies claim 18 (ii). Examiner notes: the Applicant’s remarks recited claim 19 modifies claim 18 (i). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 14-16, 18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duensing et al. (US 20210171159 A1) in view of Komaru {小丸 浩} (JP S59195300 U). See below for selected figs. from the prior art.
Examiner notes: for the following rejections the cited structure from the Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 March 2026 is maintained and only the rejected embodiments are discussed below. In the amendment to the spec/drawings Applicant has swapped the reference characters for first subsea location (was 320; now 327), second subsea location (was 327, now 320). Therefore, these cited structures are considered amended in the citation of structure previously presented.
Regarding claim 11, Duensing et al. discloses:
(i) the first surface conduit comprises a first surface conduit low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first floating conduit 110 has a vertical distance lower than the arrangement of first gas transfer conduit 120; where 110 is below that of parts of 120) when floating in the body of water and in fluid communication with the first gas transfer conduit (See at least: fig. 1) and the system is configured to heat the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point or proximate the first surface conduit low point to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point, wherein the first surface conduit low point is at a vertical height (See at least: fig. 1) that is below a first surface conduit high point (See at least: fig. 1), and wherein the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point is free of an access port (See at least: fig. 1 where the first floating conduit 110 shows no access port) configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto (See at least: fig. 1 first condensation conduit 135 which shows no access port in the first floating conduit 110), or
(ii) the first gas transfer conduit comprises a first gas transfer conduit low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first gas transfer conduit 120 has an arrangement where parts of 120 have a vertical distance lower than other parts of 120; where parts of 120 are below that of other parts of 120) and the system is configured to heat the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point, wherein the first gas transfer conduit low point is at a vertical height (See at least: fig. 1) that is below a first gas transfer conduit high point (See at least: fig. 1 where the first gas transfer conduit 120 has pointer arrow to that is showing one high point of the assembly of 120), and wherein the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point is free of an access port (See at least: fig. 1 where the first gas transfer conduit 120 shows no access port in the image to the low point as seen in the bottom left of fig. 1) configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto (See at least: fig. 1 first condensation conduit 135).
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the system is configured to heat… along with the other claim language above that is in italics.
Komaru, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the system (pipeline 7 with drain treatment device 10: See at least: figs. 3-6) is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} (drain pot 11; See at least: figs. 3-6) at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point} (See at least: text copy, page 3 of 4, lines 27-28, “Thus, it is since the condensation liquid which provided drain pot 11 in the low point section” where each drain pot 11 forms a low point in the pipeline 7) to a temperature (low-limit-setting value to high-limit-setting value; See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 40-43 “…detection value from the 1st thermometric element 14 becoming smaller than a low-limit-setting value (for example, 10degreeC) if it gets down to this power supply control part 13 is ON To 9, The power supply which answers that a detection value becomes larger than a high-limit-setting value (for example, 180 degrees C)…”) that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point} (See at least: text copy page 2 of 4. “when the temperature of drain pot 11 will rise if condensation liquid evaporates thru/or evaporates completely, and A ring becomes large exceeding a high-limit-setting value (for example, 180 degrees C)...”) or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point} (See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 3-4 “condensation gas in which the boiling point has condensed by change of outside temperature by -0 and 5~-115 degrees C for butane to - obtain is evaporated…” where best to the Examiners understanding the drain treatment device 10 operates in a range and will prevent condensate from collecting the high band of the range and evaporate at least a portion in the low band, however the band was only an example and therefore either mode is available for use.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Duensing et al. with drain treatment device 10 of Komaru with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing for more efficient transfer of gas through the pipeline and allowing operation in colder areas/times of the year (See at least: Komaru, text copy, page 3 of 4, lines 26-30, “Thus, it is since the condensation liquid which provided drain pot 11 in the low point section and flection which the condensation liquid of the pipeline of 1 yen tends to accumulate, accumulated thru/or caught, and caught condensation liquid is made to re-evaporate and was transported, Condensation liquid does not store into a pipeline and it does not cause the transfer obstacle of gas…” and page 1 of 4, lines ,“…when transporting after the boiling point has evaporated what is called condensation gas that has condensed by change of temperature outside a winter season by -05~-11 or 5-degreeC, for example like butane, Especially in winter, a part of gas carries out cooling Coagulation in the middle of a transfer, and since this condensation liquid will be accumulated into a pipeline and will bar a gas transfer”).
Regarding claim 14, Duensing et al. in view Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein, the first surface conduit comprises the first surface conduit low point, and wherein the first surface conduit is configured to be heated at the first surface conduit low point or proximate the first surface conduit low point via an electric heater.
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the claim language above in italics.
Komaru, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein, the first surface conduit comprises the first surface conduit low point (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5), and wherein the first surface conduit is configured to be heated (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) at the first surface conduit low point or proximate the first surface conduit low point via an electric heater (See at least: text copy page 3 of 4 lines 15-16 “Electricity heats supply With pot 11 to heater 12 of drain pot 11”).
Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15, Duensing et al. in view Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein the first gas transfer conduit comprises the first gas transfer conduit low point, and wherein the first gas transfer conduit is configured to be heated at the first gas transfer conduit low point or proximate the first gas transfer conduit low point via an electric heater.
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the claim language above in italics.
Komaru, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein, the first gas transfer conduit comprises the first gas transfer conduit low point (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5), and wherein the first gas transfer conduit is configured to be heated (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) at the first gas transfer conduit low point or proximate the first gas transfer conduit low point via an electric heater (See at least: text copy page 3 of 4 lines 15-16 “Electricity heats supply With pot 11 to heater 12 of drain pot 11”).
Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 16, Duensing et al. in view Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein the system is configured to heat the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point or proximate the first surface conduit low point or the system is configured to heat the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point or proximate the first gas transfer conduit low point while simultaneously transferring the gas discharged from the vessel storage tank to the gas pipeline (See at least: para. [0036] “…The first floating conduit 110, the first gas transfer conduit 120, and the second gas transfer conduit 125 can be adapted or configured to transfer or convey the gas displaced or otherwise conveyed from the vessel 305, for example from the vessel storage tank 310, to the first pipeline end manifold 315 located at a first subsea location 320….”, [0041] “…The gas in the vessel storage tank 310 can be displaced from the vessel storage tank 310 simultaneously with the introduction of the liquid into the vessel storage tank 310…” where the Examiner interprets the operations as discussed in the above paras. to be inherently capable of operating at the same time when there is sufficient condensate 105 as recited in para. [0032]).
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the system is configured to heat…
Komaru, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the system (pipeline 7 with drain treatment device 10: See at least: figs. 3-6) is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) the first surface conduit (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5) at the first surface conduit low point or proximate the first surface conduit low point or the system is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) the first gas transfer conduit (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5) at the first gas transfer conduit low point or proximate the first gas transfer conduit low point while simultaneously transferring (See at least fig. 3 and text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 40-43 previously cited above; where best to the Examiners understanding fig. 3 shows gas flow arrows where the operation of the heater 12 is set on a band and will turn ON/OFF based on temperature and therefore can occur simultaneously with transferring the gas in the pipeline.) the gas discharged from the vessel storage tank (transport ship 1; See at least: fig. 3) to the gas pipeline (pipeline 7; See at least fig. 3, where best to the Examiners understanding the flow direction is from the pipeline 7 to the transport ship 1).
Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 18,{Examiner notes claim 18 (i) and claim 18 (ii) are allowable for similar reasons to that of claim 5 as indicated as allowable in Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 March 2026, therefore only discuss claim 18 (iii) and claim 18 (iv) in this rejection} Duensing et al. discloses:
(iii) when the first surface conduit comprises the first surface conduit low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first floating conduit 110 has a vertical distance lower than the arrangement of first gas transfer conduit 120; where 110 is below that of parts of 120), the system is configured to heat the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point, wherein the first surface conduit at the first surface conduit low point is free of an access port (See at least: fig. 1 where the first floating conduit 110 shows no access port) configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto (See at least: fig. 1 first condensation conduit 135 which shows no access port in the first floating conduit 110), or
(iv) when the first gas transfer conduit comprises the first gas transfer conduit low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first gas transfer conduit 120 has an arrangement where parts of 120 have a vertical distance lower than other parts of 120; where parts of 120 are below that of other parts of 120), the system is configured to heat the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first gas transfer conduit low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point, wherein the first gas transfer conduit at the first gas transfer conduit low point is free of an access port (See at least: fig. 1 where the first gas transfer conduit 120 shows no access port in the image to the low point as seen in the bottom left of fig. 1) configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto (See at least: fig. 1 first condensation conduit 135).
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the system is configured to heat… along with the other claim language above that is in italics.
Komaru, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the system (pipeline 7 with drain treatment device 10: See at least: figs. 3-6) is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} (drain pot 11; See at least: figs. 3-6) at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point} (See at least: text copy, page 3 of 4, lines 27-28, “Thus, it is since the condensation liquid which provided drain pot 11 in the low point section” where each drain pot 11 forms a low point in the pipeline 7) to a temperature (low-limit-setting value to high-limit-setting value; See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 40-43 “…detection value from the 1st thermometric element 14 becoming smaller than a low-limit-setting value (for example, 10degreeC) if it gets down to this power supply control part 13 is ON To 9, The power supply which answers that a detection value becomes larger than a high-limit-setting value (for example, 180degreeC)…”) that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point} (See at least: text copy page 2 of 4. “when the temperature of drain pot 11 will rise if condensation liquid evaporates thru/or evaporates completely, and A ring becomes large exceeding a high-limit-setting value (for example, 180 degrees C)...”) or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point} (See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 3-4 “condensation gas in which the boiling point has condensed by change of outside temperature by -0 and 5~-115 degrees C for butane to - obtain is evaporated…” where best to the Examiners understanding the drain treatment device 10 operates in a range and will prevent condensate from collecting the high band of the range and evaporate at least a portion in the low band, however the band was only an example and therefore either mode is available for use.).
Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is essentially selecting one of the optional embodiments available in claim 11(i) and claim 11(ii). All embodiments of claim 11(i) and claim 11(ii) were rejected in claim 11 above.
Therefore, claim 21 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is essentially claims 1 and 4 as filed on 18 January 2024 with the claim language corrected to overcome the rejections provided in Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 March 2026. Applicant remarked that claim 22 was to incorporate the allowable subject matter from claim 5, however the subject matter of claim 5 was not found in claim 22.
Therefore, claim 22 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 4 provided in Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 March 2026.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is essentially claim 11 without the optional “or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point}” and without the incorporation of “wherein the first surface conduit {or the first gas transfer conduit} at the first surface conduit low point {or the first gas transfer conduit low point}is free of an access port configured to permit a condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto”.
Therefore, claim 23 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claim 12-13 and 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Amendment filed 23 July 2026 places claims 1-10 in condition for allowance (See at least: Non-Final Rejection mailed 23 March 2026 for detailed Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 24, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the claimed configuration’s element “…the heating medium conduit is configured to contain a heating medium comprising a gas, a liquid, or a combination thereof, and the heating medium conduit is in thermal contact…”. The closest prior art is Duensing et al. in view of Komaru. Where Komaru teaches an electric heater (See at least: text copy page 3 of 4 “Electricity heats supply With pot 11 to heater 12 of drain pot 11”). Therefore, it is not obvious to further modify the teaching reference of Komaru with another prior art that teaches a gas fluid heat exchanger.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC ANTHONY STARCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3615B
/LARS A OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615B