DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application file on 18 January 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 January 2026 was considered by the examiner.
Third-Party Submission
The third-party submission filed on 23 February 2026 is compliant with 37 CFR 1.290 and was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
Figs. 2 and 12 shows reference character “118” twice. It is not clear if there should be another reference character or that the second one is in error.
Fig. 12 shows reference character “135” twice. It is not clear if there should be another reference character or that the second one is in error.
Fig. 15 shows reference character “1350” twice. The bottom left “1350” does not point to “the power conduit 1350”.
Fig. 17 shows reference character “1621” twice. The left “1621” does not point to “the high point 1621”.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [0050] lines 4-5 recite “the first gas transfer conduit 105” and should be “the first gas transfer conduit 120”.
Para. [0051] line 4 recites “storage tank 107 is subsea”, however no fig. shows this embodiment. It is not clear if there is an error with “is subsea” or if this is an embodiment that is not shown in the figures.
Para. [0070] line 3 recites “…one or more negatively buoyant members 162 coupled thereto (ten are…”, and should be “…one or more negatively buoyant members 362 coupled thereto (ten are…”.
Para. [0072] lines 2-3 recite “the first floating or buoyant conduit 110” which was “the first surface conduit 110” previously in the spec. Later in at least paras. [0072]-[0077] it recites a mix of “the first floating or buoyant conduit 110” and “the floating or buoyant conduit 110”. Para. [0080] line 3 recites “a first surface conduit 110”. There is inconstancy to what “110” is called.
Para. [0080] line 3 recites “a first surface conduit 110” and should be “a first surface conduit 1310”. Para. [0080] is describing Fig. 13 where no “110” is found.
Para. [0084] line 5 recites “port 1360” and should be “port 1460”.
Para. [00104] list different embodiments relating to U.S. Patents numbers. However, these U.S. Patents numbers are not shown in the applicant’s IDS. The Examiner will add these U.S. Patents numbers to the record for consideration.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a low point” in claim 1 line 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “Low” is a relative term which has no unit of measure or reference to compare. Examiner note: the applicant may amend the claim language to “a first point” and further define that “the first point is at a vertical height which is below a second point”.
Additionally, claims 1, 4, 6, 11-16 and 18-19 all recite “…low point…” and are rejected for the same reason as applied to claim 1 above.
The term “a high point” in claim 1 line 27 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “High” is a relative term which has no unit of measure or reference to compare. Examiner note: the applicant may amend the claim language to “a second point” and further define that “the second point is at the vertical height which is above the first point”.
Additionally, claims 1, 4-6, and 18-19 all recite “…high point…” and are rejected for the same reason as applied to claim 1 above.
Claims 2-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected based on the independent claims 1, 11 and 18 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a subsea location" in line 23. Claim 1 recites the limitation "a subsea location" in line 12. Therefore, it is not clear that "a subsea location" of line 23 is the same or different than "a subsea location" of line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, claim 11 recite "a subsea location" twice and is rejected for the same reason as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a low point" in line 25. Claim 1 recites the limitation "a low point" in line 24. Therefore, it is not clear that "a low point" of line 25 is the same or different than "a low point" of line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a portion" in line 31. Claim 1 recites the limitation "a portion" in line 35 {Examiner notes this is also page 2 line 4.}. Therefore, it is not clear that "a portion" of line 31 is the same or different than "a portion" of line 35. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, claims 11 and 18-19 recite "a portion" multiple times and is rejected for the same reason as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a location downstream" in line 33 {Examiner notes this is page 2 line 1.}. Claim 1 recites the limitation "a location downstream" in line 36 {Examiner notes this is page 2 line 5.}. Therefore, it is not clear that "a location downstream" of line 33 is the same or different than "a location downstream" of line 36. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, claim 18-19 recite "a location downstream" multiple times and is rejected for the same reason as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first floating conduit" in line 2. Where claim 1 does not recite "a first floating conduit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets "the first floating conduit" to be “the first surface conduit”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first gas conduit" three times one each in page 4 lines 19-20 and 22. Claim 11 does not recite the limitation "a first gas conduit ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets "the first gas conduit" to be "the first gas transfer conduit" as found in claim 11 line 7.
Additionally, claims 13, 15 and 18 recite "the first gas conduit" and is rejected for the same reason as applied to claim 11 above.
Claim 19 is not clear when the option of claim 18 (i) is selected. Such that when claim 18 option (i) is the embodiment selected it is not further limited by that of claim 19.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. When claim 18 option (i) is the embodiment selected it is not further limited by that of claim 19. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Duensing et al. (US 20210171159 A1) {Applicant’s own prior art}. (See at least: figs. 1 and 3 of Duensing et al. reproduced below.)
Regarding claim 1, Duensing et al. discloses a system (system; See at least: abstract) for recovering a condensate (condensate 105; See at least: fig. 1) from a conduit (first floating conduit 110 or first gas transfer conduit 120; See at least: fig. 1), comprising:
a buoy (buoy 115; See at least: fig. 1) configured to float in a body of water (body of water 126; See at least: fig. 1) comprising a fluid swivel assembly (fluid swivel assembly 117; See at least: fig. 1) coupled thereto, wherein the fluid swivel assembly comprises a first swivel section (first swivel section 118; See at least: fig. 1) rotatably coupled to a second swivel section (second swivel section 119; See at least: fig. 1) that define a first fluid flow path (first floating conduit 110, first gas transfer conduit 120, second gas transfer conduit 125, two or more second gas transfer conduits 128, gas submarine conduit 340, first pipeline end manifold 315 and gas pipeline 330; See at least: figs. 1 and 3) and a second fluid flow path (second floating conduit 210, second liquid transfer conduit 205, first liquid transfer conduit 160, liquid submarine conduit 345, second pipeline end manifold 325 and liquid pipeline 328; See at least: figs. 1-3) therethrough that are segregated from one another;
a first surface conduit (first floating conduit 110; See at least: fig. 1) configured to float in the body of water and to be in fluid communication with a first gas transfer conduit (first gas transfer conduit 120; See at least: fig. 1) disposed on the buoy that is in fluid communication with the first fluid flow path defined by the first swivel section;
a second gas transfer conduit (second gas transfer conduit 125 -or- two or more second gas transfer conduits 128; See at least: fig. 1) in fluid communication with the first fluid flow path defined by the second swivel section;
a first liquid transfer conduit (first liquid transfer conduit 160; See at least: fig. 1) configured to be in fluid communication with a liquid pipeline (first liquid transfer conduit 160; See at least: fig. 1) located at a subsea location (second subsea location 327; See at least: fig. 3) and the second fluid flow path defined by the second swivel section;
a second liquid transfer conduit (second liquid transfer conduit 205; See at least: fig. 2) disposed on the buoy that is in fluid communication with the second fluid flow path defined by the first swivel section;
a second surface conduit (second floating conduit 210; See at least: fig. 2) configured to float in the body of water and to be in fluid communication with the second liquid transfer conduit; and
a condensation conduit (first condensation conduit 135, second condensation conduit 145; See at least: figs. 1-2), wherein:
the first surface conduit, the first gas transfer conduit, the first fluid flow path defined by the first swivel section and the second swivel section, and the second gas transfer conduit are configured to transfer a gas (gas; See at least: abstract “The system can also include a floating conduit, a first gas transfer conduit, and a second gas transfer conduit that can be configured to transfer a gas discharged from a vessel storage tank to a pipeline end manifold located at a subsea location.”) discharged from a vessel storage tank (vessel storage tank 310; See at least: fig. 3) to a gas pipeline (gas pipeline 330; See at least: fig. 3) located at a subsea location (first subsea location 320; See at least: fig. 3),
the first surface conduit comprises a low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first floating conduit 110 has a vertical distance lower than the arrangement of first gas transfer conduit 120; where 110 is below that of parts of 120) when floating in the body of water or the first gas transfer conduit comprises a low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first gas transfer conduit 120 has an arrangement where parts of 120 have a vertical distance lower than other parts of 120; where parts of 120 are below that of other parts of 120) between the first fluid flow path defined by the first swivel section and the first surface conduit (See at least: fig. 1),
the first gas transfer conduit comprises a high point (See at least: fig. 1 where first gas transfer conduit 120 has at a vertical distance higher than the arrangement of first floating conduit 110 or that of parts of 120 itself; where parts of 120 are above that of 110 or that of parts of 120 itself) between the low point of the first surface conduit or the low point of the first gas transfer conduit and the first fluid flow path defined by the first swivel section (See at least: fig. 1), and
when the first surface conduit has the low point, the condensation conduit is configured to transfer at least a portion of any condensate that accumulates at the low point to a location downstream of the high point while remaining disposed within the internal volume of the first surface conduit and the first gas transfer conduit (first condensation conduit 135, pump 140 or a secondary pump and second condensation conduit 145; See at least: fig. 1 and para. [0028] and para. [0038] “For example, the second end of the second condensation conduit 145 can be coupled to a portion of the first gas transfer conduit 120 and located such that any condensate 105 conveyed into the first gas transfer conduit 120 from the second condensation conduit 145 can fall down the first gas transfer conduit 120 through a path defined by the first swivel section 118, through the second swivel section 119, and down to the first pipeline end manifold 315.”), or
when the first gas transfer conduit has the low point, the condensation conduit is configured to transfer at least a portion of any condensate that accumulates at the low point to a location downstream of the high point (See at least: fig. 1 where the Examiner interprets this to be the same as cited above, such that both 110 and/or 120 have “low points” and the disclosed 135, 140, 145 operates the same if 105 were to collect and fill up into 120).
Regarding claim 2, Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses further comprising a pump (pump 140; See at least: fig. 1) located within an internal volume (See at least: para. [0026] “…The first condensation conduit 135, the pump 140, and the second condensation conduit 145 can be adapted or configured to convey at least a portion of the condensate 105 from within the floating conduit 110 to another location.” The Examiner interprets para. [0026] not to limit the location of the pump, where the next sentence starts off with “For example…”) of the first floating conduit or the first gas transfer conduit, wherein the pump is in fluid communication with the condensation conduit (See at least: fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein the pump is a submersible pump (“…any type of pump…”; See at least: para. [0030] where the type of pump was not limited or would exclude what is known as “a submersible pump” along with para. [0026] “…can be adapted or configured to convey…”).
Regarding claim 9, Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein the system is configured to transfer the condensate while simultaneously transferring the gas discharged from the vessel storage tank to the gas pipeline (See at least: para. [0032] “…When a sufficient amount of condensate 105 collects within the first floating conduit 110 at the low point 130, the pump 140 can be operated to cause a suction within the first condensation conduit 135. The suction can convey at least a portion of the condensate 105 from the internal volume 112 to the inlet of the pump 140. The pump 140 can expel the condensate 105 from the outlet and into the second condensation conduit 145 and convey the condensate 105 to the optional storage tank 107, the flow path including the fluid swivel assembly 117, or a combination thereof…” para. [0036] “…The first floating conduit 110, the first gas transfer conduit 120, and the second gas transfer conduit 125 can be adapted or configured to transfer or convey the gas displaced or otherwise conveyed from the vessel 305, for example from the vessel storage tank 310, to the first pipeline end manifold 315 located at a first subsea location 320….”, [0041] “…The gas in the vessel storage tank 310 can be displaced from the vessel storage tank 310 simultaneously with the introduction of the liquid into the vessel storage tank 310…” where the Examiner interprets the operations as discussed in the above paras. to be inherently capable of operating at the same time when there is sufficient condensate 105 as recited in para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, is similar in claim language to that of claim 1, with its “condensation conduit” removed and imported into embodiments (i) and (ii). Therefore, the Examiner will only discuss the embodiments (i) (ii) and (iii) as Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 18 as noted in claim 1 above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein:
(i) the system further comprises a condensation conduit (first condensation conduit 135, second condensation conduit 145; See at least: figs. 1-2), wherein, when the first surface conduit has the low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first floating conduit 110 has a vertical distance lower than the arrangement of first gas transfer conduit 120; where 110 is below that of parts of 120), the condensation conduit is configured to transfer at least a portion of any condensate that accumulates at the low point to a location downstream of the high point while remaining disposed within the internal volume of the first surface conduit and the first gas transfer conduit (first condensation conduit 135, pump 140 or a secondary pump and second condensation conduit 145; See at least: fig. 1 with para. [0026] “…The first condensation conduit 135, the pump 140, and the second condensation conduit 145 can be adapted or configured to convey at least a portion of the condensate 105 from within the floating conduit 110 to another location…” with para. [0027] “…A first end of the first condensation conduit 135 can be in fluid communication with an internal volume 112 of the first floating conduit 110 such as at the low point 130. In some examples, at least a portion of the first condensation conduit 135 can be disposed within the first floating conduit 110…” and para. [0038] “For example, the second end of the second condensation conduit 145 can be coupled to a portion of the first gas transfer conduit 120 and located such that any condensate 105 conveyed into the first gas transfer conduit 120 from the second condensation conduit 145 can fall down the first gas transfer conduit 120 through a path defined by the first swivel section 118, through the second swivel section 119, and down to the first pipeline end manifold 315.”), or
(ii) the system further comprises a condensation conduit, wherein, when the first gas transfer conduit has the low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first gas transfer conduit 120 has an arrangement where parts of 120 have a vertical distance lower than other parts of 120; where parts of 120 are below that of other parts of 120), the condensation conduit is configured to transfer at least a portion of any condensate that accumulates at the low point to a location downstream of the high point (first condensation conduit 135, pump 140 or a secondary pump and second condensation conduit 145; See at least: fig. 1 and para. [0028] and para. [0038] “For example, the second end of the second condensation conduit 145 can be coupled to a portion of the first gas transfer conduit 120 and located such that any condensate 105 conveyed into the first gas transfer conduit 120 from the second condensation conduit 145 can fall down the first gas transfer conduit 120 through a path defined by the first swivel section 118, through the second swivel section 119, and down to the first pipeline end manifold 315.” where the Examiner interprets this to be the same as cited above, such that both 110 and/or 120 have “low points” and the disclosed 135, 140, 145 operates the same if 105 were to collect and fill up into 120), or
(iii) the system is configured to heat the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point (Duensing et al. does not disclose this.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-8, 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duensing et al. (US 20210171159 A1) in view of Komaru {小丸 浩} (JP S59195300 U). (See at least: figs. 3-5 of Komaru reproduced below)
Regarding claim 4, Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein: the first gas transfer conduit comprises a sump that has the low point, a pump (pump 140; See at least: fig. 1) is in fluid communication with the condensation conduit, and the pump and the condensation conduit are configured to transfer the condensate to the location downstream of the high point (first condensation conduit 135, pump 140 or a secondary pump and second condensation conduit 145; See at least: fig. 1 and para. [0028] and para. [0038] “For example, the second end of the second condensation conduit 145 can be coupled to a portion of the first gas transfer conduit 120 and located such that any condensate 105 conveyed into the first gas transfer conduit 120 from the second condensation conduit 145 can fall down the first gas transfer conduit 120 through a path defined by the first swivel section 118, through the second swivel section 119, and down to the first pipeline end manifold 315.”).
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the first gas transfer conduit comprises a sump that has the low point… (See at least: fig. 3).
Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first gas transfer conduit (pipeline: See at least: fig. 3 and text copy page 1 of 4 first para line 5 “…a pipeline long for transporting fuel gas…”) comprises a sump (drain pot 11; See at least figs. 4-5 and text copy page 2 of 4 lines21-22 “…Condensation liquid (Drain) W't which this drain treatment device 10 has drain pot 11 of the shape of a barrel…” where the Examiner interprets “a sump” under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) as “a drain pot”.) that has the low point (See at least: figs. 3-5 where drain pots 11 are positioned at a vertical distance below the main pipeline piping and are located at intervals along the pipeline.)…
However, Komaru does not teach the first gas transfer conduit…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Duensing et al. with drain pot(s) 11 of Komaru with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of catching or accumulating condensation liquid in a pipeline allowing for more efficient transfer of gas through the pipeline (See at least: Komaru, text copy, page 3 of 4, lines 26-30, “Thus, it is since the condensation liquid which provided drain pot 11 in the low point section and flection which the condensation liquid of the pipeline of 1 yen tends to accumulate, accumulated thru/or caught, and caught condensation liquid is made to re-evaporate and was transported, Condensation liquid does not store into a pipeline and it does not cause the transfer obstacle of gas…”).
Regarding claim 11, is similar in claim language to that of claim 1, with its “condensation conduit” removed. Therefore, the Examiner will only discuss the different embodiments as Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as noted in claim 1 above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses the first surface conduit comprises a low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first floating conduit 110 has a vertical distance lower than the arrangement of first gas transfer conduit 120; where 110 is below that of parts of 120) when floating in the body of water and the system is configured to heat the first surface conduit at the low point or proximate the low point to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate (condensate 105; See at least: fig. 1) from collecting within the first surface conduit at the low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit at the low point, or
the first gas transfer conduit comprises a low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first gas transfer conduit 120 has an arrangement where parts of 120 have a vertical distance lower than other parts of 120; where parts of 120 are below that of other parts of 120) and the system is configured to heat the first gas conduit at the low point to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate (condensate 105; See at least: fig. 1) from collecting within the first gas conduit at the low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first gas conduit at the low point.
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the system is configured to heat … along with the other claim language above that is in italics.
Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the system (pipeline 7 with drain treatment device 10: See at least: figs. 3-6) is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) the first surface conduit {or the first gas conduit} (drain pot 11; See at least: figs. 3-6) at the low point or proximate the low point (See at least: text copy, page 3 of 4, lines 27-28, “Thus, it is since the condensation liquid which provided drain pot 11 in the low point section” where each drain pot 11 forms a low point in the pipeline 7) to a temperature (low-limit-setting value to high-limit-setting value; See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 40-43 “…detection value from the 1st thermometric element 14 becoming smaller than a low-limit-setting value (for example, 10degreeC) if it gets down to this power supply control part 13 is ON To 9, The power supply which answers that a detection value becomes larger than a high-limit-setting value (for example, 180degreeC)…”) that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit {or the first gas conduit} at the low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit {or the first gas conduit} at the low point ((See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 3-4 “condensation gas in which the boiling point has condensed by change of outside temperature by -0 and 5~-115-degreeC for butane to - obtain is evaporated…” where best to the Examiners understanding the drain treatment device 10 operates in a range and will prevent condensate from collecting the high band of the range and evaporate at least a portion in the low band, however the band was only an example and therefore either mode is available for use.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Duensing et al. with drain treatment device 10 of Komaru with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing for more efficient transfer of gas through the pipeline and allowing operation in colder areas/times of the year (See at least: Komaru, text copy, page 3 of 4, lines 26-30, “Thus, it is since the condensation liquid which provided drain pot 11 in the low point section and flection which the condensation liquid of the pipeline of 1 yen tends to accumulate, accumulated thru/or caught, and caught condensation liquid is made to re-evaporate and was transported, Condensation liquid does not store into a pipeline and it does not cause the transfer obstacle of gas…” and page 1 of 4, lines ,“…when transporting after the boiling point has evaporated what is called condensation gas that has condensed by change of temperature outside a winter season by -05~-11 or 5-degreeC, for example like butane, Especially in winter, a part of gas carries out cooling Coagulation in the middle of a transfer, and since this condensation liquid will be accumulated into a pipeline and will bar a gas transfer”).
Regarding claim 12 Duensing et al. in view of Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses further comprising a heater disposed on the buoy, a circulation pump (pump 140; See at least: fig. 1 and para. [0030] “any type of pump” {Examiner notes: it is not clear from this claim language that the pump listed here is for a heating purpose.}), and a heating medium conduit, wherein:
the first surface conduit comprises the low point,
the heating medium conduit is configured to contain a heating medium, and
the heating medium conduit is in thermal contact with the first surface conduit at the low point or proximate the low point.
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the claim language above that is in italics.
Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches further comprising a heater (heater 12; See at least: fig. 5) disposed on the buoy (See at least fig. 3 where the heater is located near the pipeline 7), a circulation pump, and a heating medium conduit (electrical lines; See at least: figs. 3-6 where the dashed and solid lines are interpreted as electrical lines from the power supply control part 13), wherein:
the first surface conduit comprises the low point (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5),
the heating medium conduit is configured to contain a heating medium (electricity; See at least: text copy page 3 of 4 lines 15-16 “Electricity heats supply With pot 11 to heater 12 of drain pot 11”), and
the heating medium conduit is in thermal contact (See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, line 24 “…peripheral part of this drain pot 11 -- heater 12 -- looping-around…”, where best to the Examiners understanding the heater 12 loops around the drain pot 11 and electrical lines and electric heats the drain pot 11.) with the first surface conduit at the low point or proximate the low point. {Examiner notes: the prior art of Komaru teaches placing a heater 12 at all the low points in a pipeline, See at least figs. 3-6. Therefore, wherever a low point exists a heater would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place a heater.}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Duensing et al. with drain treatment device 10 of Komaru placing the heater on the buoy of Duensing et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above. (Examiner notes: this may be overcome with clarification of the claim language that the pump moves the heating medium or other disclosed feature that conveys the heater is not an electrical heater as taught by Komaru.).
Regarding claim 13 Duensing et al. in view of Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses further comprising a heater disposed on the buoy, a circulation pump (pump 140; See at least: fig. 1 and para. [0030] “any type of pump” {Examiner notes: it is not clear from this claim language that the pump listed here is for a heating purpose.}), and a heating medium conduit, wherein:
the first gas conduit comprises the low point,
the heating medium conduit is configured to contain a heating medium and the heating medium conduit is in thermal contact with the first gas conduit at the low point or proximate the low point.
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the claim language above that is in italics.
Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches further comprising a heater (heater 12; See at least: fig. 5) disposed on the buoy (See at least fig. 3 where the heater is located near the pipeline 7), a circulation pump, and a heating medium conduit (electrical lines; See at least: figs. 3-6 where the dashed and solid lines are interpreted as electrical lines from the power supply control part 13), wherein:
the first gas conduit comprises the low point (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5),
the heating medium conduit is configured to contain a heating medium (electricity; See at least: text copy page 3 of 4 lines 15-16 “Electricity heats supply With pot 11 to heater 12 of drain pot 11”), and the heating medium conduit is in thermal contact (See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, line 24 “…peripheral part of this drain pot 11 -- heater 12 -- looping-around…”, where best to the Examiners understanding the heater 12 loops around the drain pot 11 and electrical lines and electric heats the drain pot 11.) with the first gas conduit at the low point or proximate the low point.
Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 12 above. (Examiner notes: this may be overcome with clarification of the claim language that the pump moves the heating medium or other disclosed feature that conveys the heater is not an electrical heater as taught by Komaru.).
Regarding claim 14 Duensing et al. in view of Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein, the first surface conduit comprises the low point, and wherein the first surface conduit is configured to be heated at the low point or proximate the low point via an electric heater.
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the claim language above that is in italics. Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein, the first surface conduit comprises the low point (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5), and wherein the first surface conduit is configured to be heated (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) at the low point or proximate the low point via an electric heater (See at least: text copy page 3 of 4 lines 15-16 “Electricity heats supply With pot 11 to heater 12 of drain pot 11”).
Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15 Duensing et al. in view of Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein, the first gas conduit comprises the low point, and wherein first gas conduit is configured to be heated at the low point or proximate the low point via an electric heater.
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the claim language above that is in italics. Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein, first gas conduit comprises the low point (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5), and wherein first gas conduit is configured to be heated (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) at the low point or proximate the low point via an electric heater (See at least: text copy page 3 of 4 lines 15-16 “Electricity heats supply With pot 11 to heater 12 of drain pot 11”).
Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 16 Duensing et al. in view of Komaru teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses wherein the system is configured to heat the first surface conduit at the low point or proximate the low point or the system is configured to heat the first gas transfer conduit at the low point or proximate the low point while simultaneously transferring the gas discharged from the vessel storage tank to the gas pipeline (See at least: para. [0036] “…The first floating conduit 110, the first gas transfer conduit 120, and the second gas transfer conduit 125 can be adapted or configured to transfer or convey the gas displaced or otherwise conveyed from the vessel 305, for example from the vessel storage tank 310, to the first pipeline end manifold 315 located at a first subsea location 320….”, [0041] “…The gas in the vessel storage tank 310 can be displaced from the vessel storage tank 310 simultaneously with the introduction of the liquid into the vessel storage tank 310…” where the Examiner interprets the operations as discussed in the above paras. to be inherently capable of operating at the same time when there is sufficient condensate 105 as recited in para. [0032]).
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose the system is configured to heat…
Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the system (pipeline 7 with drain treatment device 10: See at least: figs. 3-6) is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) the first surface conduit (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5) at the low point or proximate the low point or the system is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5) the first gas transfer conduit (drain pot 11; see at least figs. 3-5) at the low point or proximate the low point while simultaneously transferring (See at least fig. 3 and text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 40-43 previously cited above; where best to the Examiners understanding fig. 3 shows gas flow arrows where the operation of the heater 12 is set on a band and will turn ON/OFF based on temperature and therefore can occur simultaneously with transferring the gas in the pipeline.) the gas discharged from the vessel storage tank (transport ship 1; See at least: fig. 3) to the gas pipeline (pipeline 7; See at least fig. 3, where best to the Examiners understanding the flow direction is from the pipeline 7 to the transport ship 1).
Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 11, is similar in claim language to that of claim 1, with its “condensation conduit” removed. Therefore, the Examiner will only discuss the different embodiments as Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as noted in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, is similar in claim language to that of claim 1, with its “condensation conduit” removed and added into embodiments (i) and (ii). Therefore, the Examiner will only discuss the different embodiment (iii) as Duensing et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 18 as noted in claim 1 above. Additionally, Duensing et al. discloses …(iii) the system is configured to heat the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point (See at least: fig. 1 where first floating conduit 110 has a vertical distance lower than the arrangement of first gas transfer conduit 120; where 110 is below that of parts of 120 -OR- where first gas transfer conduit 120 has an arrangement where parts of 120 have a vertical distance lower than other parts of 120; where parts of 120 are below that of other parts of 120) to a temperature that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate (condensate 105; See at least: fig. 1) that collects within the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point
However, Duensing et al. does not disclose …the system is configured to heat… along with the other claim language above that is in italics.
Komaru in a similar field of endeavor, teaches (iii) the system (pipeline 7 with drain treatment device 10: See at least: figs. 3-6) is configured to heat (heater 12, power supply control part 13, thermometric element 14, See at least: fig. 5 the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point (drain pot 11; See at least: figs. 3-6 and text copy, page 3 of 4, lines 27-28, “Thus, it is since the condensation liquid which provided drain pot 11 in the low point section” where each drain pot 11 forms a low point in the pipeline 7) to a temperature (low-limit-setting value to high-limit-setting value; See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 40-43 “…detection value from the 1st thermometric element 14 becoming smaller than a low-limit-setting value (for example, 10degreeC) if it gets down to this power supply control part 13 is ON To 9, The power supply which answers that a detection value becomes larger than a high-limit-setting value (for example, 180degreeC)…”) that is sufficient to prevent a condensate from collecting within the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point or is sufficient to evaporate at least a portion of any condensate that collects within the first surface conduit or the first gas conduit at the low point (See at least: text copy, page 2 of 4, lines 3-4 “condensation gas in which the boiling point has condensed by change of outside temperature by -0 and 5~-115-degreeC for butane to - obtain is evaporated…” where best to the Examiners understanding the drain treatment device 10 operates in a range and will prevent condensate from collecting the high band of the range and evaporate at least a portion in the low band, however the band was only an example and therefore either mode is available for use.).
Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 11 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6-8, 10, 17 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the claimed configuration’s element “…wherein the pump and the condensation conduit are configured to transfer the condensate to the location downstream of the high point while remaining disposed within the internal volume of the first gas transfer conduit…”. The closest prior art is that of Duensing et al. in view of Komaru. Duensing et al. in para. [0026] recites “…The first condensation conduit 135, the pump 140, and the second condensation conduit 145 can be adapted or configured to convey at least a portion of the condensate 105 from within the floating conduit 110 to another location.” and where fig. 1 shows first condensation conduit 135 in the internal volume 112. Figs. 1-2 shows that the second condensation conduit 145 is external to the internal volume 112 and external to the first gas transfer conduit 120. Para. [0021] recites “…the exemplary embodiments presented below may be combined in any combination of ways, i.e., any element from one exemplary embodiment may be used in any other exemplary embodiment, without departing from the scope of the disclosure. The figures are not necessarily drawn to scale and certain features and certain views of the figures can be shown exaggerated in scale or in schematic for clarity and/or conciseness.” The Examiner considered if the second condensation conduit 145 external to the first gas transfer conduit 120 is combinable with the element that first condensation conduit 135 in the internal volume 112, however finds that the combination is improper. Therefore, the innovative feature is that the second condensation conduit 145 is found completely in the internal volume of the first gas transfer conduit 120.
Regarding claim 6, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the claimed configuration’s element “…wherein: the first gas transfer conduit comprises a sump that comprises the low point, a pump is in fluid communication with the first and second condensation conduits, a first end of the first condensation conduit is in fluid communication with an internal volume of the sump…”. The closest prior art is that of Duensing et al. in view of Komaru. Where Komaru is a teaches drain pots are known to collect condensate and have a low point, however, Komaru does not teach using a pump to drain the pot as this prior art uses electric heaters or a manual drain valve/line. Duensing et al. discloses pumping low points with a pump and conduit however does not disclose a sump. Therefore, the Examiner finds the combination to be improper to teach all the disclosed elements. The Examiner searched for another teaching reference showing drain pots with pumps however ended up outside the art and in the art of gas heaters for a building and determined that the art found was not combinable with a buoy.
Claims 7-8 depend on claim 6 and would be allowable for at least the same reason of claim 6 above.
Regarding claims 10, 17 and 20, in combination with the other structures required by the base claim and intervening claims, the prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the claimed configuration’s element “…wherein the first surface conduit and the first gas transfer conduit are free of an access port configured to permit the condensation conduit to pass therethrough or to connect thereto.”. The closest prior art is that of either Duensing et al. or Duensing et al. in view of Komaru depending on the associated claim tree. Where Duensing et al. the embodiment of fig. 2 shows first condensation conduit 135 represented as a line in fig. 2 exiting first gas transfer conduit 120 where this could be interpreted as having “an access port”, however no “access port” was disclosed in the spec. The Examiner determined as shown in at least figs. 1-2 it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to have “an access port”. Therefore, it was not obvious that there would be no “access port”. Further the claim language is interpreted as the second condensation conduit 145 is internal to first gas transfer conduit 120 and is allowed for the same reason as stated in claim 5 above.
Additional Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure and may be found in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
The following are from the applicant’s spec. para. [00104]: US-11198490-B2, US-11319036-B2, US-9650110-B1, US-11267532-B2 and US-11279446-B2.
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ERIC ANTHONY STARCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615