POSITIVE ELECTRODE NCM-BASED ACTIVE MATERIAL, POSITIVE ELECTRODE, AND BATTERY
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/18/2024, 8/27/2024, 6/5/2025, and 11/4/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses the phrase “NCM-based” active material (it is noted that Claims 2-6 also include said phrase). Accordingly, claim 1 is rendered particularly indefinite as it is unclear what “NCM” means because no definition is provided. For purposes of examination, “NCM” will be in reference to lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide.
Claim 4 discloses the claimed weight decrease amount in context of “thermal mass spectrometry.” Claim 4 is rendered particularly indefinite as a thermogravimetric analysis, as opposed to thermal mass spectrometry, is understood to provide a material characterization in the claimed manner (wherein it is also noted that Applicant’s Specification also refers to thermogravimetric analysis in terms of the claimed material characterization).
Claim 5 recites the claimed weight decrease ratio per minute in context of “thermal mass spectrometry.” Claim 5 is rendered particularly indefinite as a thermogravimetric analysis, as opposed to thermal mass spectrometry, is understood to provide a material characterization in the claimed manner (wherein it is also noted that Applicant’s Specification also refers to thermogravimetric analysis in terms of the claimed material characterization).
Claims 2, 3, 6, and 7 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 2022/0093920 A1).
Regarding claims 1,2, 6, and 7, Nam et al. teach a positive electrode NCM-based active material for lithium secondary battery (Abstract; paragraphs 0001, 0025), wherein a ratio c/a of a length of an a-axis to a length of a c-axis in a crystal structure as obtained from an X-ray diffraction pattern analysis result is 4.9631 or less (Paragraph 0068 discloses the positive active material for the lithium secondary battery, when measuring the X-ray diffraction pattern, may have the a-axis length (La) of 2.8500 Å to 2.8800 Å, the c-axis length (Lc) of 14.1800 Å to 14.2900 Å, and a distance ratio (c/a) between the crystal axes of the c-axis length to the axis length may be 4.93 to 5.0.).
Regarding claim 3, Nam et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1, comprising an aggregated particle in which an average particle size D50 of a secondary particle is 14 μm or more and 18 μm or less (Paragraph 0075 discloses the positive active material has an average particle diameter D50 of 7-20 µm.).
Claims 1-3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (US 2022/0336805).
Regarding claims 1,2, 6, and 7, Zheng et al. teach a positive electrode NCM-based active material (Paragraph 0034 discloses “NMC” materials are produced.) for lithium secondary battery (Abstract; paragraphs 0001, 0028, 0033, 0039), wherein a ratio c/a of a length of an a-axis to a length of a c-axis in a crystal structure as obtained from an X-ray diffraction pattern analysis result is 4.9631 or less (Paragraph 0125 discloses the lithium transition metal oxide may have a c/a ratio of the crystal structure (as obtained via XRD) of 4.96.).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1, comprising an aggregated particle in which an average particle size D50 of a secondary particle is 14 μm or more and 18 μm or less (Paragraph 0125 discloses the lithium transition metal oxide has an average particle size of 1-40 µm.).
Claims 1-3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneda et al. (JP 2018/060759 A).
Regarding claims 1,2, 6, and 7, Kaneda et al. teach a positive electrode NCM-based active material (Abstract; Paragraphs 0013, 0024) for lithium secondary battery (Abstract), wherein a ratio c/a of a length of an a-axis to a length of a c-axis in a crystal structure as obtained from an X-ray diffraction pattern analysis result is 4.9631 or less (Paragraph 0013 discloses wherein the a-axis value of the lattice constants representing the crystal structure is in the range of 0.287 nm to 0.288 nm, and the c-axis value is in the range of 1.424 nm to 1.427 nm. This yields a c/a ratio of 4.944-4.972.).
Regarding claim 3, Kaneda et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1, comprising an aggregated particle in which an average particle size D50 of a secondary particle is 14 μm or more and 18 μm or less (Paragraph 0048 discloses an average particle size of 5-18 µm.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 2022/0093920 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Nam et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a weight decrease amount in thermal mass spectrometry at a temperature of 120 to 600°C and a temperature increase rate of 5°C/min is 12 mass% or less.
However, the instantly claimed weight decrease amount, under the claimed conditions, is an inherent structural characteristic of the active material itself.
Furthermore, (1) Nam already teaches that the positive active material exhibits all of the recited structural characteristics of Claim 1, and (2) Nam’s specific active material(s) may be structured the same, or substantially the same, as the Applicant’s “NCM” materials as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification (See at least [0032]-[0039] of Nam versus at least [0018]-[0023] of Applicant’s PG Pub.).
Therefore, it is considered that the positive active material of Nam would possess the same properties, including the same weight decrease amount as claimed. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, wherein when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (See MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 5, Nam et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a weight decrease ratio per minute in thermal mass spectrometry at a temperature of 120 to 600°C and a temperature increase rate of 5°C/min is 0.40 mass%/min or less.
However, the instantly claimed weight decrease ratio per minute, under the claimed conditions, is an inherent structural characteristic of the active material itself.
Furthermore, (1) Nam already teaches that the positive active material exhibits all of the recited structural characteristics of Claim 1, and (2) Nam’s specific active material(s) may be structured the same, or substantially the same, as the Applicant’s “NCM” materials as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification (See at least paragraphs 0032-0039 of Nam versus at least paragraphs 0018-0023 of Applicant’s PG Pub.).
Therefore, it is considered that the positive active material of Nam would possess the same properties, including the same weight decrease ratio per minute as claimed. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, wherein when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (See MPEP 2112.01).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 2022/0336805).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a weight decrease amount in thermal mass spectrometry at a temperature of 120 to 600°C and a temperature increase rate of 5°C/min is 12 mass% or less.
However, the instantly claimed weight decrease amount, under the claimed conditions, is an inherent structural characteristic of the active material itself.
Furthermore, (1) Zheng already teaches that the positive active material exhibits all of the recited structural characteristics of Claim 1, and (2) Nam’s specific active material(s) may be structured the same, or substantially the same, as the Applicant’s “NCM” materials as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification (See at least paragraphs 0028, 0033 of Zheng versus at least paragraphs 0018-0023 of Applicant’s PG Pub.).
Therefore, it is considered that the positive active material of Nam would possess the same properties, including the same weight decrease amount as claimed. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, wherein when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (See MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a weight decrease ratio per minute in thermal mass spectrometry at a temperature of 120 to 600°C and a temperature increase rate of 5°C/min is 0.40 mass%/min or less.
However, the instantly claimed weight decrease ratio per minute, under the claimed conditions, is an inherent structural characteristic of the active material itself.
Furthermore, (1) Zheng already teaches that the positive active material exhibits all of the recited structural characteristics of Claim 1, and (2) Zheng’s specific active material(s) may be structured the same, or substantially the same, as the Applicant’s “NCM” materials as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification (See at least paragraphs 0028, 0033 of Zheng versus at least paragraphs 0018-0023 of Applicant’s PG Pub.).
Therefore, it is considered that the positive active material of Zheng would possess the same properties, including the same weight decrease ratio per minute as claimed. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, wherein when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (See MPEP 2112.01).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneda et al. (JP 2018/060759 A)
Regarding claim 4, Kaneda et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a weight decrease amount in thermal mass spectrometry at a temperature of 120 to 600°C and a temperature increase rate of 5°C/min is 12 mass% or less.
However, the instantly claimed weight decrease amount, under the claimed conditions, is an inherent structural characteristic of the active material itself.
Furthermore, (1) Kaneda already teaches that the positive active material exhibits all of the recited structural characteristics of Claim 1, and (2) Kaneda’s specific active material(s) may be structured the same, or substantially the same, as the Applicant’s “NCM” materials as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification (See at least paragraph 0013 of Kaneda versus at least paragraphs 0018-0023 of Applicant’s PG Pub.).
Therefore, it is considered that the positive active material of Kaneda would possess the same properties, including the same weight decrease amount as claimed. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, wherein when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (See MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 5, Kaneda et al. teach the positive electrode NCM-based active material according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a weight decrease ratio per minute in thermal mass spectrometry at a temperature of 120 to 600°C and a temperature increase rate of 5°C/min is 0.40 mass%/min or less.
However, the instantly claimed weight decrease ratio per minute, under the claimed conditions, is an inherent structural characteristic of the active material itself.
Furthermore, (1) Kaneda already teaches that the positive active material exhibits all of the recited structural characteristics of Claim 1, and (2) Kaneda’s specific active material(s) may be structured the same, or substantially the same, as the Applicant’s “NCM” materials as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification (See at least paragraph 0013 of Kaneda versus at least paragraphs 0018-0023 of Applicant’s PG Pub.).
Therefore, it is considered that the positive active material of Kaneda would possess the same properties, including the same weight decrease ratio per minute as claimed. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, wherein when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (See MPEP 2112.01).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/416,391. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-7 of the reference application, when considered in accordance with their recited claim dependencies an in specific context of the overlapping portion(s) of the c/a ratio, recite a positive electrode NCM-based active material, positive electrode, and battery which comprise, at least, all of the recited limitations of instant Claims 1-7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,360 B2 in view of Zheng et al. (US 2022/0336805 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of ‘360 discloses the same claimed positive NCM-based active material as claimed in Claims 1 and 2 of the present application except for the c/a ratio limitation. However, this limitation would be obvious in view of Zheng being that Zheng discloses lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxides (such as LiNi0.6Mn0.2Co0.2O2) (See Examples), wherein a ratio c/a of a length of an a-axis to a length of a c-axis in a crystal structure as obtained from an X-ray diffraction pattern analysis result is 4.9631 or less (Paragraph 0125 discloses the lithium transition metal oxide may have a c/a ratio of the crystal structure (as obtained via XRD) of 4.96.). Remaining claims 3-6 of ‘360 are identical to claims 4-7 of the present application.
Claims 1, 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-8 of copending Application No. 18/416,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of ‘538 discloses the same claimed positive NCM-based active material as claimed in Claim 1 of the present application except for the c/a ratio limitation. However, this limitation would be obvious in view of Zheng being that Zheng discloses lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxides (such as LiNi0.6Mn0.2Co0.2O2) (See Examples), wherein a ratio c/a of a length of an a-axis to a length of a c-axis in a crystal structure as obtained from an X-ray diffraction pattern analysis result is 4.9631 or less (Paragraph 0125 discloses the lithium transition metal oxide may have a c/a ratio of the crystal structure (as obtained via XRD) of 4.96.). Remaining claims 4-8 of ‘538 are identical to claims 4-7 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 June 11th, 2026