DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7, in line 7, insert comma after “predetermined rule”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2018/0352525 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for time synchronization (Fig. 2), comprising:
acquiring, by a first User Equipment (UE), first time information, wherein the first time information is absolute time information, reference time information or partial information in the reference time information (Fig. 2, block 101, first UE obtains first configuration information, where the first configuration information includes frequency information and timing information used for the first UE); and
sending, by the first UE, first synchronization information to a second UE through a sidelink (Fig. 1, UE1 and/or UE2 communicating with UE3 via sidelink), wherein the first synchronization information comprises the first time information (Fig. 2, block 103 and 127th paragraph, first UE sends the first synchronization information to the second UE. First information includes frequency information, timing information), or the first synchronization information does not comprise the first time information (alternative),
wherein the first time information is transmitted to the second UE through a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) or dedicated signaling (Fig. 2, block 103, and 126th paragraph, first synchronization information may be carried on PSBCH or SLSS).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Li discloses that wherein acquiring, by the first UP, the first time information comprises: acquiring, by the first UE, the first time information from a base station accessed by the first UE (Fig. 1 and 117th paragraph, first UE may obtain first configuration from a base station), wherein the first time information comprises reference time (119th paragraph, first configuration may include timing information), wherein the first time information further comprises at least one of a reference Frame Number (SFN), a reference time slot, uncertainty or a type of synchronization time (119th paragraph, first configuration may include timing information).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses a first User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 23), comprising:
a memory for storing a program (Fig. 23, memory 33 storing instructions);
a transceiver (Fig. 23, communications interface 34); and
a processor (Fig. 23, processor 31 and/or 38),
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to:
acquire first time information, wherein the first time information is absolute time information, reference time information or partial information in the reference time information (Fig. 2, block 101, first UE obtains first configuration information, where the first configuration information includes frequency information and timing information used for the first UE); and
control the transceiver to send first synchronization information to a second UE through a sidelink (Fig. 1, UE1 and/or UE2 communicating with UE3 via sidelink), wherein the first synchronization information comprises the first time information (Fig. 2, block 103 and 127th paragraph, first UE sends the first synchronization information to the second UE. First information includes frequency information, timing information), or the first synchronization information does not comprise the first time information (alternative),
wherein the first time information is transmitted to the second UE through a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) or dedicated signaling (Fig. 2, block 103, and 126th paragraph, first synchronization information may be carried on PSBCH or SLSS).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses a second User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 23), comprising:
a memory for storing a program (Fig. 23, memory 33 storing instructions); and
a processor (Fig. 23, processor 31 and/or 38),
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to:
acquire first time information, wherein the first time information is absolute time information, reference time information or partial information in the reference time information (Fig. 2, block 103 and 127th paragraph, first UE sends the first synchronization information to the second UE. First information includes frequency information, timing information); and
perform absolute time synchronization with a target node according to the first time information (Fig. 2, block 105, second UE determines, according to the first synchronization information, whether to use the first UE as a synchronization source of the second UE),
wherein the target node is a first UE (Fig. 2, block 105, second UE determines, according to the first synchronization information, whether to use the first UE as a synchronization source of the second UE connected to the second UE) through a sidelink (Fig. 1), or the target node is a synchronization source as an end station of a Time Sensitive Network (TSN) among a plurality of candidate synchronization sources (alternative), or the target node is a base station accessed by the second UE (alternative),
wherein the first time information is acquired from first synchronization information sent by the first UE (Fig. 2, block 103, fist ZUE sends synchronization information to second UE), or the first time information is acquired from a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) sent by the first UE, a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) sent by the first UE (Fig. 2, block 103, and 126th paragraph, first synchronization information may be carried on PSBCH or SLSS) or dedicated signaling sent by the first UE or the first time information is acquired from the base station accessed by the second UE (alternative).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses wherein the plurality of candidate synchronization sources comprise at least one of the first UE (Fig. 1, UE 1), a base station (Fig. 1, base station 1), and a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) clock source (Fig. 1, GNSS), wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to: select the first UE from the plurality of candidate synchronization sources as the target node (Fig. 2, block 105, second UE determines, according to the first synchronization information, whether to use the first UE as a synchronization source of the second UE) in response to at least one of following conditions being met:
the second UE is the end station of the TSN;
the first UE is the end station of the TSN;
the first UE is an incoming node of the TSN;
the second UE is an outgoing node of the TSN;
the first UE is a node which sends a generalized Precision Time Protocol (gPTP) message;
the second UE is a node which receives the gPTP message;
the second UE is to perform absolute time synchronization with a UE in the TSN;
the second UE instructs the first UE to carry the first time information in first synchronization information; or
the first UE carries the first time information in the first synchronization information (Fig. 2, blocks 101 and 102),
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to: in response to the first UE being unable to be the target node, select another candidate synchronization source from the plurality of candidate synchronization sources as the target node, wherein the another candidate synchronization source is a candidate synchronization source, except the first UE, among the plurality of candidate synchronization sources (158th paragraph, second UE may select either UE1 or UE2 as a synchronization source based on synchronization information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Khoryaev et al (US 2022/0140967 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Li discloses that wherein the first synchronization information is carried in a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) (126th paragraph, first synchronization information may be carried on PSBCH or SLSS), and the first synchronization information comprises a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) or a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS) (Fig. 17, synchronization information includes PSSS and SSSS). Li does not disclose that the synchronization information including a time slot number and a System Frame Number (SFN) corresponding to a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) or a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS). Khoryaev discloses that the synchronization carried in PSBCH includes SFN and slot number (96th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include SFN and slot number in synchronization information in Li’s system, as suggested by Khoryaev, to synchronize timing notion in all UEs.
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses that wherein the first synchronization information is carried in a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) (126th paragraph, first synchronization information may be carried on PSBCH or SLSS), and the first synchronization information comprises a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) or a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS) (Fig. 17, synchronization information includes PSSS and SSSS) and wherein the first time information further comprises at least one of a reference Frame Number (SFN), a reference time slot, uncertainty or a type of synchronization time (119th paragraph, first configuration may include timing information). Li does not disclose that the synchronization information including a time slot number and a System Frame Number (SFN) corresponding to a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) or a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS). Khoryaev discloses that the synchronization carried in PSBCH includes SFN and slot number (96th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include SFN and slot number in synchronization information in Li’s system, as suggested by Khoryaev, to synchronize timing notion in all UEs.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Yu et al (US 2023/0284163 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses that wherein the target node is the first UE (Fig. 2, block 105, second UE determines, according to the first synchronization information, whether to use the first UE as a synchronization source of the second UE), and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to:
in response to a base station accessed by the first UE being the same as the base station accessed by the second UE, perform absolute time synchronization with the first UE according to the first time information (291st paragraph, when frequency of the first link is the same as the frequency of the second link, the second UE selects first UE as the synchronization source because timing of the second UE is the same as timing of the base station in the second link. Herein, first UE and second UE having same base station); or in response to the base station accessed by the first UE being different from the base station accessed by the second UE, perform absolute time synchronization with the first UE according to the first time information and a time difference between the base station accessed by the first UE and the base station accessed by the second UE (alternative); or in response to the base station accessed by the first UE and the base station accessed by the second UE having a same frame boundary or same absolute time, perform absolute time synchronization with the first UE according to the first time information (alternative); or in response to the base station accessed by the first UE and the base station accessed by the second UE having different frame boundaries or different absolute time, perform absolute time synchronization with the first UE according to the first time information and a time difference between the base station accessed by the first UE and the base station accessed by the second UE (alternative).
Li does not disclose perform absolute time synchronization with the target node by performing Propagation Delay Compensation (PDC) according to the first time information. Yu discloses enabling and/or disabling propagation delay compensation among UEs in sidelink based on timing sync (Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include propagation delay compensation in Li’s system, as suggested by Yu, to synchronize timing among UEs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472