DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 5/18/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dang (US 2015/0090171).
With respect to claims 1, 15 and 16, Dang discloses a mechanical joint and inherent method configured to provide an articulated connection between a first member/vessel 1 and a second member/ mooring 4, comprising: a first bearing block 20 and a second bearing block 20 configured to be disposed on the vessel (see Figs. 4, 7A-B), a gimbal table 8 that defines an aperture therethrough, wherein an upper surface of the gimbal table defines a first bearing surface and a second bearing surface on a first pair of opposing sides of the gimbal table (see Figs. 6A-B); a first trunnion 10 and a second trunnion 10 disposed on a second pair of opposing sides of the gimbal table; and an arm 11 having a first end and a second end, wherein a third trunnion and a fourth trunnion 9 are each disposed toward the second end of the arm, wherein: the third trunnion and the fourth trunnion are aligned with a first axis 6, the first trunnion and the second trunnion are aligned with a second axis 5, the first axis and the second axis are substantially orthogonal or substantially perpendicular with respect to one another (see Fig. 5B), the third trunnion and the first bearing surface are engaged with one another, the fourth trunnion and the second bearing surface are engaged with one another, the arm is rotatable relative to the gimbal table about the first axis 6, and at least a portion of the arm is disposed through the aperture/ opening defined by the gimbal table (See Figs. 4 and 7 A-B, Para [0030]-[0041]).
As to further limitations of claim 16, Dang discloses the mechanical joint further comprising an arm having a first end and a second end, wherein a third trunnion and a fourth trunnion are each disposed toward the second end of the arm; a first bearing cap 12 engaged with the third trunnion and attached to the upper surface of the gimbal table; a second bearing cap 12 engaged with the fourth trunnion and attached to the upper surface of the gimbal table 8 (see 6B); a third bearing cap 12 secured to the first bearing block 20; and a fourth bearing cap 12 secured to the second bearing block 20, the third trunnion and the first bearing surface are engaged with one another, and the first trunnion 10 is configured to rotatively engage with the first bearing block 20 and the second trunnion 9 is configured to rotatively engage with the second bearing block; and installing the mechanical joint on the first member (See Figs. 5-10, Para [0031]-[0039].
Dang also discloses the first end of the arm is located on a side of the gimbal table8 that is opposite the upper surface of the gimbal table, and the first end of the arm is configured to connect to the second member/mooring 4 (see Figs.1 & 2 (prior art), Para [0004]).
Therefore, in view of Dang’s Figs. 1 and 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first end of the articulated joint in order to make the articulated joint with the arm interchangeable with easily replacing the first end of the arm of the articulated joint for the mooring when the main connecting part in the articulated joint as taught by Dang was not in use or broken.
With respect to claim 2, Dang discloses a connection link disposed on the arm toward the second thereof, wherein the third trunnion and the fourth trunnion are attached to the arm via the connection link (see Figs. 8A-B, Para [0037]).
With respect to claim 3, Dang discloses the second end of the arm defines a bore therethrough that is aligned with the first axis, the connection link is disposed through the bore defined by the second end of the arm, and the third trunnion and the fourth trunnion 9 are rigidly connected to the connection link (See Figs. 10A-B, Para [0036]).
With respect to claim 4, although Dang does not specifically disclose the connection link is rotatively connected to the arm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to provide the screw connection to the arm in order to conveniently disassemble the device for repair or storage.
With respect to claim 5, Dang discloses a bushing 18 disposed between the connection link and a surface of the bore defined by the second end of the arm (See Figs. 7A-B, Para [0033]).
With respect to claim 6, Dang discloses the connection link is rigidly connected to the arm, the third trunnion 9 and the first bearing surface of the body 12, 20 are rotatively engaged with one another, and the fourth trunnion 9 and the second bearing surface of the body 12, 20 are rotatively engaged with one another (See Figs. 7A-B, Para [0033] & [0035]).
With respect to claim 7, Dang discloses a first bearing cap12 and a second bearing cap 12, wherein: the first bearing cap is engaged with the third trunnion 9 and attached to the upper surface of the gimbal table 8, and the second bearing cap 12 is engaged with the fourth trunnion 9 and attached to the upper surface of the gimbal table (See Figs. 7A-B, Para [0033]).
With respect to claim 8, Dang discloses a first bushing 18 disposed between the third trunnion 9 and the first bearing surface and a third bearing surface defined by the first bearing cap 12, and a second bushing 18 disposed between the fourth trunnion 9 and the second bearing surface and a fourth bearing surface defined by the second bearing cap 12 (See Figs. 7A-B, Para [0033] & [0035]).
With respect to claim 9, Dang discloses a first bearing block and a second bearing block 20 configured to be disposed on the first member/vessel 1, wherein the first trunnion 10 is configured to rotatively engage with the first bearing block 20 and the second trunnion 10 is configured to rotatively engage with the second bearing block 20 (See Figs. 7A-B, 8A-B, Para [0033], [0035] &[0039]).
With respect to claim 10, Dang discloses comprising a third bearing cap 12 attached to the first bearing block 20 and a fourth bearing cap 12 attached to the second bearing block 20 (See Figs. 7A-B, Para [0033]).
With respect to claim 11, Dang discloses the third bearing cap 12 is rotatively engaged with the first trunnion 10 and the fourth bearing cap 12 is rotatively engaged with the second trunnion 10 (See Figs. 7A-B, Para [0033]).
With respect to claim 12, Dang discloses a third bushing 18 disposed between the first trunnion 10 and a bearing surface of the body defined by the first bearing block 20 and a bearing surface defined by the third bearing cap 9, and a fourth bushing disposed between the second trunnion and a bearing surface defined by the second bearing block 10 and a bearing surface defined by the fourth bearing cap 12 (See Figs. 7A-B, Para [0033]).
With respect to claim 14, Dang discloses the first member is a vessel 1 and the second member is a mooring leg 4 (See Fig. 4, Para [0030]).
With respect to claim 17, Dang discloses inherent process comprising attaching the second member/mooring 4 to the first end of the arm 11 (See Fig. 4, Para [0030]).
With respect to claim 18, Dang discloses inherent process comprising the first member is a vessel 1 and the second member is a mooring leg 4, and wherein installing the mechanical joint on the vessel 1comprises attaching the first bearing block 20 and the second bearing block 20 to the vessel 1 (See Fig. 4, Para [0030]).
With respect to claim 19, Dang discloses a connection link disposed on the arm toward the second trunnion 10, and wherein the third trunnion 9and the fourth trunnion 9 are attached to the arm 11 via the connection link (See Figs. 8A-B, Para [0027] & [0037]).
With respect to claim 20, Dang discloses the mechanical joint further comprises: a first bushing 18 disposed between the third trunnion 9 and the first bearing surface and a third bearing surface defined by the first bearing cap 12; a second bushing 18 disposed between the fourth trunnion and the second bearing surface and a fourth bearing surface defined by the second bearing cap 12; a third bushing 18 disposed between the first trunnion and a fifth bearing surface defined by the first bearing block and a seventh bearing surface defined by the third bearing cap 12; and a fourth bushing disposed between the second trunnion and a sixth bearing surface defined by the second bearing block and an eighth bearing surface defined by the fourth bearing cap 12 (See Figs. 7A-B, 8A-B, Para [0033], [0035] &[0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1, 15 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jong-Suk (James) Lee whose telephone number is (571) 272-7044. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Thursday 6AM- 4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Allana Bidder can be reached on 571-272-5560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: httos://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Avww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875