DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-13 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Okuma (WO 2017170553A1).
Regarding claim 1, Okuma discloses “a laser manufacturing system” (abstract, i.e., a laser processing device which subjects a target object to laser processing by radiating laser light onto the target object) comprising:
“a spatial light modulator (SLM)” (410) including “a rectangular array of electrically actuated two-dimensional (2D) diffractors” (figs.11-14, 410 shows a rectangular shape. Fig.15 shows each pixel electrodes 214 includes surface 214a. On page 12, i.e., the plurality of pixel electrodes 214 are driven by an active matrix circuit provided in the drive circuit layer 914. Examiner interprets that diffractors refers to pixel electrodes 214) arranged to form “a plurality of pixels spaced linearly along a long- axis of the SLM” (fig.15, a long-axis of 214), “each pixel including a plurality of 2D diffractors electrically ganged together and arranged along a short-axis perpendicular to the long-axis of the SLM” (on page 12, i.e., Such an active matrix circuit includes, for example, a first driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and a second driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction. The above paragraph suggest that the pixels can be controlled in a different direction (hence X axis direction or Y axis direction) so that diffractors of each pixel can be arranged along a short-axis of SLM perpendicular to the long-axis of the SLM. Examiner noted that each pixel can be interpreted to include more than one diffractors 214);
“illumination optics” (300 includes illumination optics. On page 6, i.e., The laser light L reflected by the mirror 363 passes through an opening 361a formed in the support base 361 and enters the laser condensing unit 400 (see FIG. 7) along the Z-axis direction. That is, the emission direction of the laser light L from the laser output unit 300 is coincident with the moving direction of the laser condensing unit 400) operable to illuminate “the SLM” (410) with light from a laser; and
“projection optics” (423) “operable to project modulated light from the SLM onto a surface of a workpiece to form an anamorphic reflection of the SLM that is demagnified along the long-axis of the SLM and tightly focused along the short-axis to form a condensed line beam to mark the surface of the workpiece to record an image thereon” (On page 3, i.e., The planned cutting line 5 is not limited to a virtual line butmay be a line actually drawn on the surface 3 of the workpiece 1 … The laser light incident surface when forming the modified region 7 is not limited to the front surface 3 of the workpiece 1 and may be the back surface of the workpiece 1. As explained above, the driver circuits capable of adjust each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction so that when pixel column being controlled by the driver circuit and being focused by projection optics 423 would result “an anamorphic reflection of the SLM that is demagnified along the long-axis of the SLM and tightly focused along the short-axis to form a condensed line beam” because regardless the laser beam from the long axis of SLM or short axis of SLM will be demagnified or focused (see fig.14, the laser beam after 423 being focused or demagnified in any axis) to form a condensed line beam (on page 7, i.e., spatial light modulator (SLM: Spatial Light Modulator), which modulates the laser light L and converts the laser light L to the Y axis). With respect to “an anamorphic reflection of the SLM”, it is inherently and necessarily that the SLM creates an anamorphic reflection (one that stretches or compresses an image disproportionately in the horizontal and vertical directions) by dynamically acting as a programmable, multi-focal diffraction grating (on page 7, i.e., spatial light modulator (SLM: Spatial Light Modulator), which modulates the laser light L and converts the laser light L to the Y axis). With respect to “mark the surface of surface to record an image thereon”, examiner interprets when laser processing the workpiece to create modified regions would result marking the surface and record the image on the workpiece).
Regarding claim 3, Okuma discloses “a SLM controller” (on page 12, i.e., a first driver circuit and a second driver circuit. On page 12, i.e., a first driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and a second driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction.) operable to control the SLM, and “a computer” (on page 5, i.e., The control unit 500 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM(Random Access Memory), and the like. The control unit 500 controls the operation of each unit of the laser processing apparatus 200) “operable to control the laser and provide image data and trigger signals to the SLM controller” (on page 12, i.e., A driver circuit is configured so that a predetermined voltage is applied to the pixel electrode 214 of the pixel designated by the controller 500 in both driver circuits.).
Regarding claim 19, Okuma discloses “a laser manufacturing system” (abstract, i.e., a laser processing device which subjects a target object to laser processing by radiating laser light onto the target object) comprising:
“a spatial light modulator (SLM)” (410) including “a rectangular array of electrically actuated two-dimensional (2D) diffractors” (figs.11-14, 410 shows a rectangular shape. Fig.15 shows each pixel electrodes 214 includes surface 214a. On page 12, i.e., the plurality of pixel electrodes 214 are driven by an active matrix circuit provided in the drive circuit layer 914. Examiner interprets that diffractors refers to pixel electrodes 214) arranged to form “a plurality of pixels spaced linearly along a long- axis of the SLM” (fig.15, a long-axis of 214), “each pixel including a plurality of 2D diffractors electrically ganged together and arranged along a short-axis perpendicular to the long-axis of the SLM” (on page 12, i.e., Such an active matrix circuit includes, for example, a first driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and a second driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction. The above paragraph suggest that the pixels can be controlled in a different direction (hence X axis direction or Y axis direction) so that diffractors of each pixel can be arranged along a short-axis of SLM perpendicular to the long-axis of the SLM. Examiner noted that each pixel can be interpreted to include more than one diffractors 214);
“illumination optics” (300 includes illumination optics. On page 6, i.e., The laser light L reflected by the mirror 363 passes through an opening 361a formed in the support base 361 and enters the laser condensing unit 400 (see FIG. 7) along the Z-axis direction. That is, the emission direction of the laser light L from the laser output unit 300 is coincident with the moving direction of the laser condensing unit 400) operable to illuminate “the SLM” (410) with light from a laser; and
“projection optics” (423) “operable to project modulated light from the SLM onto work surface to form an anamorphic image of the SLM that is demagnified along the long-axis of the SLM and tightly focused along the short-axis to form a condensed line beam to modify a material at the work surface” (On page 3, i.e., The planned cutting line 5 is not limited to a virtual line but may be a line actually drawn on the surface 3 of the workpiece 1 … The laser light incident surface when forming the modified region 7 is not limited to the front surface 3 of the workpiece 1 and may be the back surface of the workpiece 1. As explained above, the driver circuits capable of adjust each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction so that when pixel column being controlled by the driver circuit and being focused by projection optics 423 would result “an anamorphic reflection of the SLM that is demagnified along the long-axis of the SLM and tightly focused along the short-axis to form a condensed line beam” because regardless the laser beam from the long axis of SLM or short axis of SLM will be demagnified or focused (see fig.14, the laser beam after 423 being focused or demagnified in any axis) to form a condensed line beam (on page 7, i.e., spatial light modulator (SLM: Spatial Light Modulator), which modulates the laser light L and converts the laser light L to the Y axis). With respect to “an anamorphic reflection of the SLM”, it is inherently and necessarily that the SLM creates an anamorphic reflection (one that stretches or compresses an image disproportionately in the horizontal and vertical directions) by dynamically acting as a programmable, multi-focal diffraction grating (on page 7, i.e., spatial light modulator (SLM: Spatial Light Modulator), which modulates the laser light L and converts the laser light L to the Y axis). With respect to “mark the surface of surface to record an image thereon”, examiner interprets when laser processing the workpiece to create modified regions would result marking the surface and record the image on the workpiece).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuma (WO 2017170553A1) in view of Sumiyama (US 8425056), Di Cairano et al. (US 2015/0158121) and Tanaka et al. (US 6849825).
Regarding claim 4, Okuma discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the projection optics comprise a number of galvanometric mirrors, and wherein the computer is operable to control at least one of the number of galvanometric mirrors to scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction perpendicular to a long axis of the condensed line beam to record a two-dimensional (2D) image thereon.
Sumiyama teaches “the projection optics” (20 and 50) comprise “a number of galvanometric mirrors” (Col.8, i.e., The first deflecting mirror 50a of the scanning system 50 is constituted by a micro mechanical mirror produced by MEMS technology or the like, and the second deflecting mirror 50b is constituted by a galvano mirror), and fig.1 shows the galvanometric mirrors are controlled to scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction to record a two-dimensional (2D) image on the workpiece).
Di Cairano et al. teaches “the computer is operable to control at least one of the number of galvanometric mirrors” (CNC controller 195 is operable to control at least one of the number of galvanometric mirrors 141 and 146). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Okuma with Di Cairano et al., by adding Di Cairano et al.’s galvanometric mirrors system to Sumiyama’s device, to scan laser beam at desired trajectory based on design specification. (para.0045) as taught by Di Cairano et al.
Im et al. teaches scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction perpendicular to a long axis of the condensed line beam
Tanaka et al. teaches “scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction perpendicular to a long axis of the condensed line beam” (fig.2A shows the laser beam spot (i.e., laser irradiation region) has a long axis (i.e., vertical axis of the laser irradiation region) and scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction (i.e., horizontal direction) perpendicular to a long axis (i.e., vertical axis of the laser irradiation region) of the condensed line beam). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Okuma with Tanaka et al., by modifying Okuma’s scan direction according to Tanaka et al.’s scan direction, to process the workpiece based on design specification.
Regarding claim 5, modified Okuma discloses “the computer is operable to control a second one of the number of galvanometric mirrors to move the condensed line beam across the surface of the workpiece” (Di Cairano et al., CNC controller 195 is operable to control at least one of the number of galvanometric mirrors 141 and 146. Tanaka et al., to move the condensed line beam across the surface of the workpiece) “in a direction perpendicular to a long axis of the condensed line beam and to scan the condensed line beam across a second swath of the surface parallel to the first swath to record a 2D image larger than a length of the condensed line beam” (Tanaka et al., fig.2A shows the laser beam spot (i.e., laser irradiation region) has a long axis (i.e., vertical axis of the laser irradiation region) and scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction (i.e., horizontal direction) perpendicular to a long axis (i.e., vertical axis of the laser irradiation region) of the condensed line beam. Fig.2A shows the laser process can be repeated for scanning the condensed line at a second swath of surface parallel to the first swath to record image on the workpiece. The second swath has a length larger than a length of the condensed line beam).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuma (WO 2017170553A1) in view of Imamura et al. (US 4,734,550) and Tanaka et al. (US 6849825).
Regarding claim 9, Okuma discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for a movable fixture on which the workpiece is positioned, and wherein the computer is operable to control the movable fixture to provide relative motion between the movable fixture and condensed line beam.
Imamura et al. teaches “a movable fixture” (fig.1, 1) on which “the workpiece” (fig.1, 2) is positioned, and wherein “the computer” (fig.1, 7) is operable to control “the movable fixture” (fig.1,1) to provide relative motion between “the movable fixture” (fig.1, 1) and “condensed line beam” (fig.1, 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Okuma with Imamura et al., by adding Imamura et al.’s movable stage to Okuma’s device, to move the workpiece while perform laser cutting to precise positioning of workpiece at exact coordinate to drastically improving the speed during manufacturing and research processes.
Tanaka et al. teaches to scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction perpendicular to a long axis of the condensed line to record a 2D image thereon (fig.2A shows the laser beam spot (i.e., laser irradiation region) has a long axis (i.e., vertical axis of the laser irradiation region) and scan the condensed line beam across a first swath of the surface of the workpiece in a direction (i.e., horizontal direction) perpendicular to a long axis (i.e., vertical axis of the laser irradiation region) of the condensed line beam). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Okuma with Tanaka et al., by modifying Okuma’s scan direction according to Tanaka et al.’s scan direction, to process the workpiece based on design specification.
Regarding claim 10, modified Okuma discloses “the movable fixture” (Imamura et al., fig.1, 1) is further operable to move in “a direction” (Imamura et al., fig.1 shows the movable fixture 1 can be moved in horizontal and vertical direction) perpendicular to “a long axis of the condensed line beam” (Tanaka et al., the laser beam spot (i.e., laser irradiation region) has a long axis (i.e., vertical axis of the laser irradiation region)), and wherein “the computer” (Imamura et al., fig.1, 7) is operable to control “the movable fixture to move the condensed line beam across the surface of the workpiece” (Imamura et al.,fig.1 shows the computer 1 is configured to control movable fixture 1 to move the beam across the surface of the workpiece) and to scan “the condensed line beam across a second swath of the surface parallel to the first swath to record a 2D image larger than a length of the condensed line beam” (Tanaka et al., Fig.2A shows the laser process can be repeated for scanning the condensed line at a second swath of surface parallel to the first swath to record image on the workpiece. The second swath has a length larger than a length of the condensed line beam).
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuma (WO 2017170553A1) in view of Uehara et al. (US 20140028936)
Regarding claim 23, Okuma discloses “a laser manufacturing system” (abstract, i.e., a laser processing device which subjects a target object to laser processing by radiating laser light onto the target object) comprising:
“a spatial light modulator (SLM)” (410) including “a rectangular array of electrically actuated two-dimensional (2D) diffractors” (figs.11-14, 410 shows a rectangular shape. Fig.15 shows each pixel electrodes 214 includes surface 214a. On page 12, i.e., the plurality of pixel electrodes 214 are driven by an active matrix circuit provided in the drive circuit layer 914. Examiner interprets that diffractors refers to pixel electrodes 214) arranged to form “a plurality of pixels spaced linearly along a long- axis of the SLM” (fig.15, a long-axis of 214), “each pixel including a plurality of 2D diffractors electrically ganged together and arranged along a short-axis perpendicular to the long-axis of the SLM” (on page 12, i.e., Such an active matrix circuit includes, for example, a first driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and a second driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction. The above paragraph suggest that the pixels can be controlled in a different direction (hence X axis direction or Y axis direction) so that diffractors of each pixel can be arranged along a short-axis of SLM perpendicular to the long-axis of the SLM. Examiner noted that each pixel can be interpreted to include more than one diffractors/electrodes 214);
“a SLM controller” (on page 12, i.e., a first driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and a second driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction) operable to control “the SLM” (410);
“illumination optics” (300 includes illumination optics. On page 6, i.e., The laser light L reflected by the mirror 363 passes through an opening 361a formed in the support base 361 and enters the laser condensing unit 400 (see FIG. 7) along the Z-axis direction. That is, the emission direction of the laser light L from the laser output unit 300 is coincident with the moving direction of the laser condensing unit 400) operable to illuminate “the SLM” (410) with light from a laser; and
“projection optics” (423) “operable to project modulated light from the SLM onto a work surface” (On page 3, i.e., The planned cutting line 5 is not limited to a virtual line but may be a line actually drawn on the surface 3 of the workpiece 1 … The laser light incident surface when forming the modified region 7 is not limited to the front surface 3 of the workpiece 1 and may be the back surface of the workpiece 1. As explained above, the driver circuits capable of adjust each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction so that when pixel column being controlled by the driver circuit, the modulated light from SLM is being focused by projection optics 423 onto a work surface).
“a computer” (500) “operable to control the laser and provide image data and trigger signals to the SLM controller” (driver circuit is configured so that a predetermined voltage is applied to the pixel electrode 214 of the pixel designated by the controller 500 in both driver circuits. On page 15, i.e., The laser processing apparatus 200 also has a table holding unit (for example, the control unit 500) that holds an LUT that associates the luminance value of the image signal for displaying the phase pattern on the liquid crystal layer 216 with the phase modulation amount of the phase pattern. ). The table holding unit holds a different LUT for each wavelength band. As described above, for a laser beam L having a certain wavelength, for example, a luminance value of 256 gradations of an image signal is assigned (associated) to the phase modulation amount for one wavelength (2π). As a result, a phase modulation pattern suitable for the wavelength can be easily displayed on the liquid crystal layer 216.),
wherein “the SLM controller is operable to on page 12, i.e., The active matrix circuit is provided between the plurality of pixel electrodes 214 and the silicon substrate 213, and applies an applied voltage to each pixel electrode 214 according to the light image to be output from the reflective spatial light modulator 410. Control. Such an active matrix circuit includes, for example, a first driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and a second driver circuit that controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction. A driver circuit is configured so that a predetermined voltage is applied to the pixel electrode 214 of the pixel designated by the controller 500 in both driver circuits. Fig.14 shows the projection optics 423 where the modulated laser light transmitted from the SLM 410 through the projection optics 423).
Okuma is silent regarding the SLM controller is operable to individually control drive voltages to each of the 2D diffractors.
Uehara et al. teaches “the SLM controller is operable to individually control drive voltages to each of the 2D diffractors” ([0046], i.e., When driving the LCOS element with a driving circuit for an image display, normally the pixel voltages are applied to the individual pixels at the alternating current of 120 Hz for displaying the video signal in FIG. 9 (a). However, in this case, as illustrated in FIG. 9 (b), the voltage levels applied to the pixels gradually decline with the passage of time, as shown in FIG. 9 (b). in this case the SLM controller is the driving circuit which control the voltage to each pixel or diffractor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Okuma with Uehara et al., by adding Uehara et al.’s control algorithm to Okuma’s controller, to provide specific voltage control for individual pixels to prevent the flickering phenomenon (para.0038) as taught by Uehara et al.
Regarding claim 24, modified Okuma discloses “the modulated light projected from the SLM onto the work surface comprises an anamorphic reflection of the SLM that is demagnified along the long- axis of the SLM and tightly focused along the short-axis to form a condensed line beam on the work surface” (Okuma, On page 3, i.e., The planned cutting line 5 is not limited to a virtual line but may be a line actually drawn on the surface 3 of the workpiece 1 … The laser light incident surface when forming the modified region 7 is not limited to the front surface 3 of the workpiece 1 and may be the back surface of the workpiece 1. As explained above, the driver circuits capable of adjust each pixel column arranged in the X-axis direction (not shown) and controls the applied voltage of each pixel column arranged in the Y-axis direction so that when pixel column being controlled by the driver circuit and being focused by projection optics 423 would result “an anamorphic reflection of the SLM that is demagnified along the long-axis of the SLM and tightly focused along the short-axis to form a condensed line beam” because regardless the laser beam from the long axis of SLM or short axis of SLM will be demagnified or focused (see fig.14, the laser beam after 423 being focused or demagnified in any axis) to form a condensed line beam (on page 7, i.e., spatial light modulator (SLM: Spatial Light Modulator), which modulates the laser light L and converts the laser light L to the Y axis). With respect to “an anamorphic reflection of the SLM”, it is inherently and necessarily that the SLM creates an anamorphic reflection (one that stretches or compresses an image disproportionately in the horizontal and vertical directions) by dynamically acting as a programmable, multi-focal diffraction grating (on page 7, i.e., spatial light modulator (SLM: Spatial Light Modulator), which modulates the laser light L and converts the laser light L to the Y axis). With respect to “mark the surface of surface to record an image thereon”, examiner interprets when laser processing the workpiece to create modified regions would result marking the surface and record the image on the workpiece).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-8, 11-13, 20-22 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761