DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2019/0075614 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches communication method used in a mobile communication system (figs. 1A, 2) supporting a multicast broadcast service (MBS), the communication method comprising the steps of: communicating, by a user equipment configured to perform carrier aggregation (CA) with a primary cell in the CA (fig. 1A, 4, 5A, ¶ [0070], When a network device transmits a service to a terminal device on two or more component carriers by using the carrier aggregation technology, the two or more component carriers include one primary component carrier (PCC) and at least one secondary component carrier (SCC). ¶ [0072], A cell 10 corresponding to the primary carrier is a primary cell, and a cell 11 corresponding to the secondary carrier is a secondary cell); and performing, by the user equipment, MBS reception from a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 1A, 4, 5A, ¶ [0091], the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0096], Step 405: The terminal device receives, from the second cell, the MTCH based on the configuration information of the second cell), wherein the communicating comprises communicating, to and/or from the primary cell, MBS-related information regarding the MBS reception from the secondary cell (figs. 1A, 4, ¶ [0093], Step 402: A terminal device receives, from the first cell, the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS. ¶ [0091], where the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS includes: a cell identity of at least one second cell, the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0103]).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches a user equipment (terminal device of figs. 1A, 2, 4, 5A) comprising: a transceiver (fig. 2) configured to perform carrier aggregation (CA) (fig. 1A, ¶ [0070], When a network device transmits a service to a terminal device on two or more component carriers by using the carrier aggregation technology, the two or more component carriers include one primary component carrier (PCC) and at least one secondary component carrier (SCC). ¶ [0072], A cell 10 corresponding to the primary carrier is a primary cell, and a cell 11 corresponding to the secondary carrier is a secondary cell), wherein the transceiver is configured to: perform multicast broadcast service (MBS) reception from a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 1A, 4, 5A, ¶ [0091], the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0096], Step 405: The terminal device receives, from the second cell, the MTCH based on the configuration information of the second cell) and communicate, to and/or from a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding the MBS reception from the secondary cell (figs. 1A, 4, 5A, ¶ [0093], Step 402: A terminal device receives, from the first cell, the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS. ¶ [0091], where the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS includes: a cell identity of at least one second cell, the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0103]).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches network apparatus (network device of figs. 1A, 3, 4) configured to support multicast broadcast service (MBS), comprising: a transceiver (fig. 3) configured to communicate with a user equipment that performs carrier aggregation (CA) (fig. 1A, ¶ [0070], When a network device transmits a service to a terminal device on two or more component carriers by using the carrier aggregation technology, the two or more component carriers include one primary component carrier (PCC) and at least one secondary component carrier (SCC). ¶ [0072], A cell 10 corresponding to the primary carrier is a primary cell, and a cell 11 corresponding to the secondary carrier is a secondary cell), wherein the transceiver is configured to perform MBS transmission to the user equipment via a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 1A, 4, 5A-7, ¶ [0091], the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0094], The network device sends, in the second cell, an MTCH based on configuration information of the second cell.), and communicate, to and/or from the user equipment via a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding reception of the MBS from the secondary cell (figs. 1A, 4, 5A, ¶ [0091], A network device sends, in a first cell, configuration information corresponding to an MBMS, where the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS includes: a cell identity of at least one second cell, and the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0103]).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a mobile communication system (figs. 1A, 4, 5A) which supports a multicast broadcast service (MBS) and includes a user equipment and a network apparatus (figs. 1A, 4, 5A), wherein the user equipment is configured to perform carrier aggregation (CA) (figs. 1A, 4, 5A-7, ¶ [0070], When a network device transmits a service to a terminal device on two or more component carriers by using the carrier aggregation technology, the two or more component carriers include one primary component carrier (PCC) and at least one secondary component carrier (SCC). ¶ [0072], A cell 10 corresponding to the primary carrier is a primary cell, and a cell 11 corresponding to the secondary carrier is a secondary cell), the user equipment is configured to perform MBS reception from a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 1A, 4, ¶ [0091], the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0096], Step 405: The terminal device receives, from the second cell, the MTCH based on the configuration information of the second cell.), and the network apparatus is configured to communicate, to and/or from the user equipment via a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding the MBS reception from the secondary cell (figs. 1A, 4, ¶ [0091], A network device sends, in a first cell, configuration information corresponding to an MBMS, where the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS includes: a cell identity of at least one second cell, and the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0103]).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the communicating of the MBS-related information comprises receiving, by the user equipment, the MBS-related information from the primary cell (figs. 1A, 4, 5A, ¶ [0091], A network device sends, in a first cell, configuration information corresponding to an MBMS, where the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS includes: a cell identity of at least one second cell, and the second cell is used to transmit the MBMS in coordination with the first cell. ¶ [0103], the first cell is a primary cell,).
Regarding claim 4, The communication method according to claim 2, wherein
the MBS-related information received by the user equipment comprises at least one
selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating an MBS session provided by the secondary cell, frequency-related information regarding a frequency at which the MBS session is provided, MBS configuration information indicating a configuration of the MBS reception, and cell identification information indicating the secondary cell (figs. 4, 5A, ¶ [0010], ¶ [0012], ¶ [0091], ¶ [0101], the configuration information includes at least a correspondence among a cell identity, frequency information, and bandwidth information. ¶ [0104], [0104] Optionally, the configuration information includes at least one of a cell identity, frequency information, bandwidth information, reference signal configuration information, and a signal threshold. ¶ [0175], the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS. The terminal device receives, from the first cell, the MTCH and/or receives, from the second cell, the MTCH based on the MCCH).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the communication method according to claim 2, wherein the MBS-related information received by the user equipment is multicast traffic channel (MTCH) configuration information regarding an MTCH in the secondary cell (figs. 4-7, ¶ [0175] The terminal device receives, from the first cell, the MCCH. The MCCH carries the configuration information of the n cells and the configuration information corresponding to the MBMS. The terminal device receives, from the first cell, the MTCH and/or receives, from the second cell, the MTCH based on the MCCH).
5. Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shauh et al. (US 2014/0119263 A1, hereinafter “Shauh”).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Shauh teaches communication method used in a mobile communication system (figs. 2, 6, 21, 26 ) supporting a multicast broadcast service (MBS), the communication method comprising the steps of: communicating, by a user equipment configured to perform carrier aggregation (CA) with a primary cell in the CA (fig. 9, 10, 21, 26, ¶ [0116], a UE is in an RRC connected mode and is configured with aggregated carriers including a primary carrier from a primary cell corresponding to f1 and a secondary carrier from a secondary cell corresponding to f2); and performing, by the user equipment, MBS reception from a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 9, 21,26, ¶ [0116]), wherein the communicating comprises communicating, to and/or from the primary cell, MBS-related information regarding the MBS reception from the secondary cell (figs. 9, 21, 26, ¶ [0116], The UE also monitors for a SIB13 on the first frequency f1/primary cell. The UE may receive the SIB13 in a radio resource configuration common secondary cell information element within an RRC connection reconfiguration message as discussed supra in relation to FIG. 9. Based on the SIB13 information, the UE obtains information for acquiring the MCCH. Based on the obtained MCCH, the UE may receive an eMBMS service on the MTCH carrying the eMBMS service. ¶ [0121]).
Regarding claim 8, Shauh teaches network apparatus (figs. 2, 6, 21, 26) configured to support multicast broadcast service (MBS), comprising: a transceiver (fig. 6) configured to communicate with a user equipment that performs carrier aggregation (CA) (fig. 9, 10, 21, 26, ¶ [0116], a UE is in an RRC connected mode and is configured with aggregated carriers including a primary carrier from a primary cell corresponding to f1 and a secondary carrier from a secondary cell corresponding to f2), wherein the transceiver is configured to perform MBS transmission to the user equipment via a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 9, 21,26, ¶ [0116]), and communicate, to and/or from the user equipment via a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding reception of the MBS from the secondary cell (figs. 9, 21, 26, ¶ [0116], The UE also monitors for a SIB13 on the first frequency f1/primary cell. The UE may receive the SIB13 in a radio resource configuration common secondary cell information element within an RRC connection reconfiguration message as discussed supra in relation to FIG. 9. Based on the SIB13 information, the UE obtains information for acquiring the MCCH. Based on the obtained MCCH, the UE may receive an eMBMS service on the MTCH carrying the eMBMS service. ¶ [0121].).
Regarding claim 9, Shauh teaches a mobile communication system (figs. 2, 6, 21, 26) which supports a multicast broadcast service (MBS) and includes a user equipment and a network apparatus (figs. 1A, 4, 5A), wherein the user equipment is configured to perform carrier aggregation (CA) ((fig. 9, 10, 21, 26, ¶ [0116], a UE is in an RRC connected mode and is configured with aggregated carriers including a primary carrier from a primary cell corresponding to f1 and a secondary carrier from a secondary cell corresponding to f2), the user equipment is configured to perform MBS reception from a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 9, 21, 26, ¶ [0116]), and the network apparatus is configured to communicate, to and/or from the user equipment via a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding the MBS reception from the secondary cell (figs. 9, 21, 26, ¶ [0121], The RRC connection reconfiguration is sent on a primary carrier from a primary cell. The RRC connection reconfiguration message may include a radio resource configuration common secondary cell information element that contains SIB13 information for a secondary cell. Accordingly, the UE receives SIB13 information for a secondary cell from a primary cell. ¶ [0116],. Based on the SIB13 information, the UE obtains information for acquiring the MCCH. Based on the obtained MCCH, the UE may receive an eMBMS service on the MTCH carrying the eMBMS service.).
Regarding claim 2, Shauh teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the communicating of the MBS-related information comprises receiving, by the user equipment, the MBS-related information from the primary cell (figs. 9, 21, 26, ¶ [0096], ¶ [0097], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0121], The RRC connection reconfiguration is sent on a primary carrier from a primary cell. The RRC connection reconfiguration message may include a radio resource configuration common secondary cell information element that contains SIB13 information for a secondary cell. Accordingly, the UE receives SIB13 information for a secondary cell from a primary cell.).
Regarding claim 3, Shauh teaches the communication method according to claim 2, wherein the user equipment receives the MBS-related information from the primary cell via a radio resource control (RRC) Reconfiguration message (fig. 9, ¶ [0096], ¶ [0097], The SIB13 information may be sent in an RRC configuration common secondary cell information element 950 (also referred to as RadioResourceConfigCommonSCell information element) within the RRC connection reconfiguration message. )
6. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2015/0146604 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE of figs. 10, 13, 14, 20) comprising: a transceiver (fig. 20) configured to perform carrier aggregation (CA) (fig. 10), wherein the transceiver is configured to: perform multicast broadcast service (MBS) reception from a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 10, 13, 14. ¶ [0152], ¶ [0174], claim 11) and communicate, to and/or from a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding the MBS reception from the secondary cell (figs. 13, 14, ¶ [0152], the UE may receive MBMS-related information with respect to the S-cell 1320 from the P-cell 1310 when the S-cell is added. ¶ [0153], ¶ [0154], ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches network apparatus (network device of figs. 10, 13, 20) configured to support multicast broadcast service (MBS), comprising: a transceiver (fig. 20) configured to communicate with a user equipment that performs carrier aggregation (CA) (figs. 10, 13, 14), wherein the transceiver is configured to perform MBS transmission to the user equipment via a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 10, 13, 14. ¶ [0152], ¶ [0174], claim 11) and communicate, to and/or from the user equipment via a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding reception of the MBS from the secondary cell (figs. 13, 14, ¶ [0152], the UE may receive MBMS-related information with respect to the S-cell 1320 from the P-cell 1310 when the S-cell is added. ¶ [0153], ¶ [0154], ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a mobile communication system (figs. 10, 13, 14 and 20) which supports a multicast broadcast service (MBS) and includes a user equipment and a network apparatus (figs. 10, 13, 14), wherein the user equipment is configured to perform carrier aggregation (CA) (figs. 10, 13, 14), the user equipment is configured to perform MBS reception from a secondary cell in the CA (figs. 10, 13, 14. ¶ [0152], ¶ [0174], claim 11) and the network apparatus is configured to communicate, to and/or from the user equipment via a primary cell in the CA, MBS-related information regarding the MBS reception from the secondary cell (figs. 13, 14, ¶ [0152], the UE may receive MBMS-related information with respect to the S-cell 1320 from the P-cell 1310 when the S-cell is added. ¶ [0153], ¶ [0154], ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the communicating of the MBS-related information comprises receiving, by the user equipment, the MBS-related information from the primary cell (figs. 13, 14, ¶ [0152], the UE may receive MBMS-related information with respect to the S-cell 1320 from the P-cell 1310 when the S-cell is added. ¶ [0153], ¶ [0154], ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the communication method according to claim 2, wherein the MBS-related information received by the user equipment is a session start
notification indicating a start of an MBS session in the secondary cell (fig. 13, 14, ¶ [0138], The MCCH is transmitted by an RRC at every MCCH repetition period. The MCCH uses a modification period. A notification mechanism may be used to mention a modification in the MCCH due to a session start or the presence of an MBMS counting request message).
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477