DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maria (US 2022/0132219) in view of Chaugule et al. (US 2024/0007848).
Regarding claim 1, Maria teaches a video presentation device having an embedded cellular radio (mobile phone 124 or UE 210B or presentation device [0021], [0033], [0038], [0042], [0044]), comprising: a processor (typical feature of mobile phone or UE); a non-transitory memory; a cellular radio antenna (typical feature of mobile phone or UE); a cellular radio transceiver (typical feature of mobile phone or UE); a display screen (typical feature of mobile phone or UE); and an application, stored in the non-transitory memory (typical feature of mobile phone or UE), that when executed by the processor: sends a network attach request message via the cellular radio transceiver and the cellular radio antenna to a cell site to request a cellular radio communication link from the cell site, wherein the network attach request message comprises credentials from an electronic application stored in the non-transitory memory and wherein the application is associated with a cellular communication service subscription account (i.e., a device having a processing system including a processor, and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations. Example operations attaching to a radio access network of a mobile network, requesting a service from the mobile network, receiving authorization from the mobile network to create a user plane virtual network function on the device, creating the user plane virtual network function on the device; creating a blockchain entry on the device to record creation of the user plane virtual network function, and receiving data related to the service at the user plane virtual network function on the device ([0015]-[0016]), [0027, [0033], [0036])), after attaching to the cell site, sends a video content request to a video content source via the cellular radio transceiver and the cellular radio antenna (i.e., After attaching to the RAN, UE 210B establishes a connection to AMF 244B, and AMF 244B queries AUSF 242B and UDM 250B to determine whether UE 210B is provisioned for device enabled virtual network functions such as video gateways. If UE 210B is provisioned with the appropriate profile, AMF 244B sends an authorization stream to UE 210B to communicate that virtual network functions, such as video gateways enabled by user plane virtual network functions, are enabled [0036]), receives the requested video content, presents the requested video content on the display screen, in response to a prompt to release the application, sends a network detach request message via the cellular radio transceiver and the cellular radio antenna to the cell site, wherein the application releases the application and enables a second video presentation device to utilize the application to attach to the cell site, to download video content, and to present video content based on the cellular communication service subscription account (i.e., when UE 210B requests a video download (either streaming or individual content), UPF 224B requests the content from CPVM 246B. CPVM 246B may validate UE 210B based on the blockchain entry provided when AMF 244B sent the authorization stream. Once UE 210B is validated, CPVM 246B receives content either from servers within the core network or from content servers external to the core network via UPF 248B and provides the download or video stream to UPF 224B. The video may be then be consumed on presentation device 226B [0038]-[0039]).
Maria does not specifically teach the network attach request message comprises credentials from an electronic subscriber identity module (eSIM) stored in the non-transitory memory and wherein the eSIM is associated with a cellular communication service subscription account, in response to a prompt to release the eSIM, sends a network detach request message via the cellular radio transceiver and the cellular radio antenna to the cell site, wherein the application releases the eSIM and enables a second video presentation device to utilize the eSIM to attach to the cell site, to download video content, and to present video content based on the cellular communication service subscription account.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Chaugule teaches the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208. The message can also include an indication that the eSIM profile 208 is pending release and not yet available for downloading by the wireless device 102… At 518, the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208. The message can also include an indication that the eSIM profile 208 is pending release and not yet available for downloading by the wireless device 102 ([0043]). At 956, the baseband wireless sends an attach request message to the MNO cellular wireless network 704 to attempt to attach to an access portion of the MNO cellular wireless network 704 (and subsequently register service with the MNO cellular wireless network 704). At 958, the baseband wireless circuitry 110 receives an attach success message in response to the attach request ([0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Chaugule within the system of Maria in order to detect eSIM status changes based on messages received from a cellular wireless network or by testing data connections to a pre-configured test connectivity end point.
Regarding claim 2, Maria in view of Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Chaugule further teaches the cellular radio antenna comprises an antenna array (i.e., the baseband circuitry includes antennas [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Maria in view of Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Maria further teaches the display screen has more viewing area than 550 square inches and less than 80,000 square inches (i.e., a communications network 125 is presented for providing broadband access 110 to a plurality of data terminals 114 via access terminal 112, wireless access 120 to a plurality of mobile devices 124 and vehicle 126 via base station or access point 122, voice access 130 to a plurality of telephony devices 134, via switching device 132 and/or media access 140 to a plurality of audio/video display devices 144 via media terminal 142 (display screen of items 114 and 144)) [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Maria in view of Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Maria further teaches the network attach request message indicates a direction from the cell site to the video presentation device (i.e., when UE 210B requests a video download (either streaming or individual content), UPF 224B requests the content from CPVM 246B. CPVM 246B may validate UE 210B based on the blockchain entry provided when AMF 244B sent the authorization stream. Once UE 210B is validated, CPVM 246B receives content either from servers within the core network or from content servers external to the core network via UPF 248B and provides the download or video stream to UPF 224B. The video may be then be consumed on presentation device 226B [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Maria in view of Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Maria further teaches the cellular radio transceiver is configured to establish a cellular radio communication link with the cell site according to a 5G, a long-term evolution (LTE), a code division multiple access (CDMA), or a global system for mobile communication (GSM) cellular radio communication protocol ([0096]).
Regarding claim 15, Maria teaches a method of streaming video content to a video presentation device from a cell site, comprising: sending a network attach request message by the video presentation device to a cell site to request a cellular radio communication link from the cell site, wherein the network attach request message comprises credentials from an electronic application stored in the non-transitory memory of the video presentation device and wherein the application is associated with a cellular communication service subscription account, and wherein the video presentation device is not configured to respond to cellular paging messages (i.e., a device having a processing system including a processor, and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations. Example operations attaching to a radio access network of a mobile network, requesting a service from the mobile network, receiving authorization from the mobile network to create a user plane virtual network function on the device, creating the user plane virtual network function on the device; creating a blockchain entry on the device to record creation of the user plane virtual network function, and receiving data related to the service at the user plane virtual network function on the device ([0015]-[0016]), [0027, [0033], [0036])), after attaching to the cell site, sending a video content request by the video presentation device to a video content source via the cell site (i.e., After attaching to the RAN, UE 210B establishes a connection to AMF 244B, and AMF 244B queries AUSF 242B and UDM 250B to determine whether UE 210B is provisioned for device enabled virtual network functions such as video gateways. If UE 210B is provisioned with the appropriate profile, AMF 244B sends an authorization stream to UE 210B to communicate that virtual network functions, such as video gateways enabled by user plane virtual network functions, are enabled [0036]), receiving the requested video content by the video presentation device from the video content source via the cell site device (i.e., when UE 210B requests a video download (either streaming or individual content), UPF 224B requests the content from CPVM 246B. CPVM 246B may validate UE 210B based on the blockchain entry provided when AMF 244B sent the authorization stream. Once UE 210B is validated, CPVM 246B receives content either from servers within the core network or from content servers external to the core network via UPF 248B and provides the download or video stream to UPF 224B. The video may be then be consumed on presentation device 226B [0038]-[0039]); and presenting the requested video content on a display of the video presentation device (i.e., Once UE 210B is validated, CPVM 246B receives content either from servers within the core network or from content servers external to the core network via UPF 248B and provides the download or video stream to UPF 224B. The video may be then be consumed on presentation device/display screen 226B [0038]-[0039], [0048], [0057]).
Maria does not specifically teach the network attach request message comprises credentials from an electronic subscriber identity module (eSIM) stored in the non-transitory memory and wherein the eSIM is associated with a cellular communication service subscription account.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Chaugule teaches the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208. The message can also include an indication that the eSIM profile 208 is pending release and not yet available for downloading by the wireless device 102… At 518, the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208. The message can also include an indication that the eSIM profile 208 is pending release and not yet available for downloading by the wireless device 102 ([0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Chaugule within the system of Maria in order to detect eSIM status changes based on messages received from a cellular wireless network or by testing data connections to a pre-configured test connectivity end point.
Regarding claim 16, Maria in view Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Chaugule further teaches receiving an eSIM profile by the video presentation device from a portable electronic device; and storing the eSIM profile in the eSIM stored in the non-transitory memory, wherein the eSIM profile comprises the credentials ([0007]-[0008], [0034]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Maria in view Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Chaugule further teaches disabling the cellular radio communication link from the cell site when the presence of the portable electronic device cannot be detected (i.e., When the wireless device 102 determines that applicable monitor modes for the MNO 114 are not successful, the wireless device 102 can retry monitor modes again. In some embodiments, the wireless device 102 disables and re-enables the eSIM profile 208 before re-initiating the monitor modes [0040], [0048], [0060]).
Regarding claim 18, Maria in view Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Chaugule further teaches the portable electronic device is a smart phone.
Regarding claim 19, Maria in view Chaugule teaches all the limitations above. Chaugule further teaches the portable electronic device is a smart watch.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maria (US 2022/0132219) in view of Chaugule et al. (US 2024/0007848) further in view of Kumar et al. (US 2022/0216600).
Regarding claim 3, Maria in view Chaugule teaches all the limitations above except wherein the non-transitory memory stores antenna configuration parameters, wherein the antenna array is adapted by the antenna configuration parameters to focus a beam of the antenna array towards the cell site.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kumar teaches the RU handles digital front end (DFE) and parts of physical layer (PHY) and digital beamforming functionality. And, the radio unit enables remote sensing of the plurality of antenna configuration parameters ([0078]). the mapping unit (120) in the (programmable) interface is configured to map the plurality of antenna configuration parameters with a plurality of management information bases corresponding to the plurality of hardware devices (106), and the storage unit (122) is configured to store the plurality of antenna configuration parameters in the YANG module (104a) within the interface ([0102], [0135]). FIG. 2B is a high level block diagram illustrating placement of the sensor module in the radio unit (RU) in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Particularly, the RU is a distributed and integrated frequency unit that facilitates wireless communication, user equipment and a network. The user equipment may be but not limited to a mobile phone, WLL phone or the like and the network may be 4G, 5G, LTE, GSM, CDMA, Wireless local loop, WAN or the like. Moreover, the RU is integrated with the antenna system and is connected to a back panel of the antenna system ([0112]-[0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Kumar within the system of Maria in view of Chaugule in order to transmit the received one or more antenna configuration parameters from the sensor module to a plurality of hardware devices using a programmable interface on the radio unit.
Claims 5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maria (US 2022/0132219) in view of Chaugule et al. (US 2024/0007848) further in view of Adjakple et al. (US 2014/0086177).
Regarding claim 5, Maria in view of Chaugule teaches all the limitations above except the network attach request message comprises a desired quality of service (QoS) level.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Adjakple teaches the WTRU may initiate the Attach procedure by the transmission to the network of an Attach Request message. The request may include one or more unique identity (or identities) which can be used by the underlying supporting communication network to route the request to the virtualization layer. The request may include detailed information (e.g., service identity, QoS information, price information, and the like) about the service or services the user wishes to access ([0429]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Adjakple within the system of Maria and Chaugule in order to indicate a service or list of services the WTRU may desire, and indicate, by the WTRU, one or more communication attributes including, e.g., QoS, service level requirements, security requirement, price, user preferences.
Regarding claim 20, Maria in view of Chaugule teaches all the limitations above Chaugule teaches the request for a cellular radio communication link comprises a time duration of the cellular radio communication link (i.e., At 322, the wireless device 102 can use a network attach monitor mode to determine when the wireless device 102 can attach to a cellular wireless network of the MNO 114 using credentials of the eSIM profile 208 and subsequently register for service with the MNO cellular wireless network [0040]). But Maria in view of Chaugule fails to specifically teach the request for a cellular radio communication link comprises a desired quality of service (QoS) level.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Adjakple teaches the WTRU may initiate the Attach procedure by the transmission to the network of an Attach Request message. The request may include one or more unique identity (or identities) which can be used by the underlying supporting communication network to route the request to the virtualization layer. The request may include detailed information (e.g., service identity, QoS information, price information, and the like) about the service or services the user wishes to access ([0429]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Adjakple within the system of Maria and Chaugule in order to indicate a service or list of services the WTRU may desire, and indicate, by the WTRU, one or more communication attributes including, e.g., QoS, service level requirements, security requirement, price, user preferences.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in combination with all limitations of claim 8, the prior arts fail to teach after storing the antenna beam adaptation parameters, detaching from the cell site; receiving by the application a first user request to present a specific video content; in response to the first user request, configuring the antenna of the video presentation device based on the antenna beam adaptation parameters; in response to the first user request, attaching to the cell site by the cellular radio of the video presentation device based on the credentials from the eSIM; sending a video content request by the cellular radio of the video presentation device via the antenna to the cell site; receiving a video content by the cellular radio of the video presentation device via the antenna from the cell site; and presenting the video content on a display screen of the video presentation device.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643