DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as being anticipated by Siebenga (US6997663).
Referring to claim 1. Siebenga discloses a “Hay Bale Stacker”. See Figs. 1-10 an respective portions of the specification. Siebenga further discloses an apparatus comprising: a frame configured for placement on a bed of a motor vehicle (See at least Col. 6 L. 35-48); a sliding assembly to move a bale of feed product placed within or on the frame (See at least Col. 3 L. 45 – 60, Fig. 3); a motor (76) to cause a sprocket (78, 82) to turn (See at least Col. 8 L. 38-50); a chain to attach the sprocket to the sliding assembly, the chain to transfer force supplied by the motor from the sprocket to the sliding assembly to move the bale towards a rear of the frame to dispense a portion of the bale (See at least Col. 3 L. 45-60, Col. 6 L. – Col. 7 L. 20, Col. 8 L. 38-50, Figs. 3-5).
Referring to claim 2. Siebenga discloses wherein the chain is further to transfer force supplied by the motor from the sprocket to the sliding assembly to move the sliding assembly toward a front of the frame (See at least Col. 8 L. 35-50 & Fig. 2).
Referring to claim 4. Siebenga discloses a controller to provide control signals to the motor to move the sliding assembly in a forward direction and in a rearward direction (See at least Col. 4 L. 1-45).
Referring to claims 5-6. Siebenga discloses a second sprocket to attach to the chain, and wherein the second sprocket is to attach to the frame proximate a front of the frame (See at least Col. 3 L. 60-65, Col. 8 L. 20-50).
Referring to claim 12. Siebenga discloses wherein the sliding assembly comprises a base with a generally flat top base (See Figs. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siebenga (US-6997663) in view of Liu (CN-107295861).
Referring to claim 3. Siebenga discloses the system as described above in detail. Siebenga doesn’t disclose wherein the chain is secured to the sliding assembly at least in part by a bolt placed through a link of the chain. Liu discloses a “A traction-type square grass bundle pick-up and stacking machine”. See Figs. 1-6 and respective portions of the specification. Siebenga further discloses a frame (1), guide rail (3), push device (4), chains, and slide rail (29) and slide rail seat, and further wherein the slide rail seat and slide rail block are connected and installed with a bolt (See at least Description & at least Figs. 3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the chain using a bolt as taught by Liu because bolted fastening is an efficient way to attach mechanical components while enabling serviceability at minimal cost.
Referring to claims 7-8. Siebenga doesn’t disclose wherein the frame comprises a plurality of frame members that extend from proximate a rear of the frame to proximate a front of the frame, or wherein the plurality of frame members are placed on and are generally orthogonal to a plurality of cross members that extend from proximate a first side of the frame to proximate a second side of the frame. Liu discloses a frame (See Figs. 1, 3) that comprises bottom beams and cross beams to form a chassis. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide longitudinal and transverse frame members to the frame structure of Siebenga for improved load-bearing support. Likewise, it should be noted that providing longitudinal and transverse frame member is considered routine structural engineering for load-bearing machinery.
Referring to claims 9-11. Siebenga doesn’t disclose wherein the frame comprises angle members, wherein the sliding assembly is to rest on angel members that slide along the angle members, wherein the angle members each comprise a first portion and a second portion both extending in a first direction, wherein the first portions of the angel members are to support the sliding assembly and wherein the second portions of the angle members are generally orthogonal to the first portions of the angle members. Siebenga further doesn’t disclose wherein the frame members are adjacent to an angle member of the plurality of angle members and has a top surface configured to support the sliding assembly or wherein the sliding assembly comprises a pair of sections that extend underneath the first portions of the angel members. It should be noted as disclosed above, that Siebenga discloses a sliding bale mechanism (26) supported on structural components. Liu discloses a sliding device composed of a square steel body, a slide rail seat and a slide rail block, wherein the slide rail block is mounted on the guide rail. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the guide rails as angle members because angle members are known structural profile capable of providing both horizontal load support and a perpendicular guiding surface, and would have provided improved stability and better constrained the sliding assembly. Further, once rails are provided, arranging frame members adjacent rails and extending portions of the sliding base beneath the rails constitutes routine mechanical layout to improve load support and alignment.
Referring to claims 13-14. Siebenga in view of Liu disclose the combination as described above in detail. Siebenga doesn’t disclose wherein the sliding assembly comprises a plurality of members extending upwards from the top surface of the base or comprises a section that is attached to the plurality of members and to the top surface of the base at an angle to the top surface of the base. Liu discloses a loading platform is a rectangular steel plate and that the device includes push rods and structural members mounted on the platform for bale handling. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide upward members or angled structural sections as a means of reinforcing and improving stabilization of transported bales.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653