DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Projection Mode Selector in claim 11
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Banno et al (US 2023/0236484; hereinafter referred to as Banno).
Regarding Claim 1, Banno teaches a light source device (Figure 18; Projector 100) comprising:
a laser light source (Figure 17; LD Light Source 21) to emit a laser light beam having a wavelength (see Paragraph [0116]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue laser beam that is emitted from the LD light source 21); multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) to convert the wavelength of the laser light beam emitted from the laser light source (Figure 17; LD Light Source 21) to other wavelengths different from the wavelength to emit other light beams having the other wavelengths (see Paragraph [0116]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue laser beam that is emitted from the LD light source 21 strikes a phosphor wheel including the heater 3 and the base 4, the blue laser beam is transformed to fluorescent light);
an airflow generator (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8) to generate at least one airflow (see Paragraph [0051]; wherein it is disclosed that an axial fan is used as the airflow generator 8, and the airflow generator 8 is fitted close to an end of the duct 7 where the air is exhausted); and
a blower (Figure 17; Duct 7) to blow said at least one airflow to each of the multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) based on a predetermined blowing condition (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0075]; wherein it is disclosed that the blowing condition is configured to satisfy a first and second equation wherein by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled and with reference to the second equation and wherein the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 whose temperature increases as struck or irradiated with light can be struck with a large volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), to cool down the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 in an efficient manner).
Regarding Claim 2, Banno teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further teaches configured to set the predetermined blowing condition for each of the multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) according to at least one of:
setting information of an airflow volume of said at least one airflow (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein as expressed in the first equation, by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled); or
Regarding Claim 3, Banno teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Banno further teaches multiple airflow generators (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8) including the airflow generator (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8; Paragraph [0051]; wherein it is disclosed that the airflow generator 8 may be a single airflow generator or may include a plurality of airflow generators),
wherein the circuitry is configured to set the predetermined blowing condition for each of the multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) to control and drive the multiple airflow generators (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8), respectively (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0075]; wherein it is disclosed that the blowing condition is configured to satisfy a first and second equation wherein by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled and with reference to the second equation and wherein the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 whose temperature increases as struck or irradiated with light can be struck with a large volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), to cool down the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 in an efficient manner).
Regarding Claim 4, Banno teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further teaches the circuitry is configured to set the predetermined blowing condition based on a duct structure (Figure 17; Duct 7) to guide an airflow generated from the airflow generator (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8) to each of the multiple wavelength converters (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0075]; wherein it is disclosed that the blowing condition is configured to satisfy a first and second equation wherein by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled and with reference to the second equation and wherein the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 whose temperature increases as struck or irradiated with light can be struck with a large volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), to cool down the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 in an efficient manner).
Regarding Claim 9, Banno teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further teaches a heat dissipation part (Figure 17; Dissipator 6) thermally connected to an exterior of the light source device (see Figure 17), wherein the heat dissipation part (Figure 17; Dissipator 6) is on an intake air path of the airflow generator (see Figure 17).
Regarding Claim 10, Banno teaches the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Banno further teaches a portion of the duct structure (Figure 17; Duct 7) has a fin-shape (Figure 17; Heatsink 5) to dissipate heat (see Figure 17 and Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that the air flow whose temperature has increased enters the duct 7 through the intake port. In the duct 7, the high-temperature air flow passes through the heatsink 5. As a result, the heat of the air flow is dissipated to the heatsink 5, and the temperature of the air flow decreases).
Regarding Claim 12, Banno teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further teaches a projector apparatus (Figure 18) comprising:
a projection optical system (Figure 18; Projection Optical System 60) to project an image formed by an image forming element (Figure 18; Image Forming Element 50) with the light beam from the light source device according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banno et al (US 2023/0236484; hereinafter referred to as Banno) as applied to claim 1, in view of Chang et al (US 2020/0124951; hereinafter referred to as Chang).
Regarding Claim 5, Banno teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno does not expressly disclose circuitry to change the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to each of the multiple wavelength converters.
Chang discloses a light source device (Figure 1; Projector 100) comprising: a laser light source (Figure 1; Laser Source); a wavelength converter (Figure 1; Color Wheel) to convert the wavelength of the laser light beam emitted from the laser light source (see Paragraph [0015]; wherein it is disclosed that the color wheel is configured to receive the laser beam and excite one or more color beams); an airflow generator (Figure 1; Fans Fa) to generate at least one airflow (see Paragraph [0015]; wherein the rotation of the fans FA is configured to lower temperature), and
circuitry (Paragraph [0017]; wherein the combination of the processor and multiple temperature sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS constitute the circuitry) to change the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to the wavelength converter (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno based upon the teachings of Chang such that the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to the wavelength converter, wherein upon combination, the circuitry would change the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to each of the multiple wavelength converters because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 6, Banno as modified by Chang discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno does not expressly disclose that each of the multiple wavelength converters includes a temperature sensor to detect temperature, the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor. Chang further discloses the wavelength converter (Figure 1; Color Wheel) includes a temperature sensor (Figure 1; Temperature Sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS) to detect temperature (see Paragraph [0033]), the circuitry (Paragraph [0017]; wherein the combination of the processor and multiple temperature sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS constitute the circuitry) changes the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno such that the wavelength converter includes a temperature sensor to detect temperature, the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor, as taught by Chang, wherein upon combination each of the multiple wavelength converters would include a temperature sensor to detect temperature, because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 7, Banno as modified by Chang discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno does not expressly disclose that in response to a detection of a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature in a wavelength converter among the multiple wavelength converters by the temperature sensor, wherein the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition to increase a cooling performance of the wavelength converter.
Chang further discloses that in response to a detection of a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature in a wavelength converter (Figure 1; Color Wheel) by the temperature sensor (Figure 1; Temperature Sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS), wherein the circuitry (Paragraph [0017]; wherein the combination of the processor and multiple temperature sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS constitute the circuitry) changes the predetermined blowing condition to increase a cooling performance of the wavelength converter (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno such that in response to a detection of a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature in a wavelength converter among the multiple wavelength converters by the temperature sensor, the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition to increase a cooling performance of the wavelength converter, as taught by Chang, because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 8, Banno as modified by Chang discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno does not expressly disclose that the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on an output of the laser light beam from the laser light source to each of the multiple wavelength converters.
Chang discloses the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on an output of the laser light beam from the laser light source (Figure 1; Laser Source) to the wavelength converters (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno such that the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on an output of the laser light beam from the laser light source to each of the multiple wavelength converters, based on the teachings of Chang, because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banno et al (US 2023/0236484; hereinafter referred to as Banno) as modified by Chang et al (US 2020/0124951; hereinafter referred to as Chang) as applied to claim 6, in view of Ogawa (US 2019/0294036).
Regarding Claim 11, Banno as modified by Chang discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Banno as modified by Chang does not expressly disclose a projection mode selector to accept a selected projection mode; and the circuitry changes: an airflow generated by the airflow generator based on the selected projection mode; and the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor in response to a change in the selected projection mode.
Ogawa discloses a light source device (Figure 1) comprising a projection mode selector (Figure 1; IR Receiving Unit 35) to accept a selected projection mode (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that key operation signals from a remote controller are received by an Ir receiving unit 35 and are demodulated into code signals by an Ir processing unit 36, and the code signals are output to the control unit 38); and the circuitry changes: an airflow generated by the airflow generator (Figure 1; Cooling Fan Drive Control Circuit 43) based on the selected projection mode (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein the projection mode is either a powered on or powered off state); and the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor in response to a change in the selected projection mode (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the control unit 38 controls a cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 such that the cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 performs temperature detection using a plurality of temperature sensors provided in the light source device 60 or the like and controls the rotational speed of a cooling fan according to a result of the temperature detection. The control unit 38 controls the cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 such that the cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 keeps rotating the cooling fan by a timer or the like even after the power of a main body of the projector 10 is turned off, or performs control to turn off the power of the main body of the projector 10, or the like, according to the result of temperature detection by the temperature sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Chang to incorporate a projection mode selector which accepts a selected projection mode; and the circuitry changes: an airflow generated by the airflow generator based on the selected projection mode; and the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor in response to a change in the selected projection mode, as taught by Ogawa, because doing so would predictably ensure cool and safe operation of the projection system.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882