DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 04/07/2026 which amended claims 1 and 4 and added new claims 13-17. Claims 1-17 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Projection Mode Selector in claim 11
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 12 and 13- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banno et al (US 2023/0236484; hereinafter referred to as Banno) in view of Wang et al (US 2010/0309441; hereinafter referred to as Wang).
Regarding Claim 1, Banno discloses a light source device (Figure 18; Projector 100) comprising:
a laser light source (Figure 17; LD Light Source 21) to emit a laser light beam having a wavelength (see Paragraph [0116]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue laser beam that is emitted from the LD light source 21); multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) including a first wavelength converter (see Figure 18; wherein the first wavelength converter is the rightmost wavelength converter within light source unit 20A) and a second wavelength converter (see Figure 18; wherein the second wavelength converter is the leftmost wavelength converter within light source unit 20B) to convert the wavelength of the laser light beam emitted from the laser light source (Figure 17; LD Light Source 21) to other wavelengths different from the wavelength to emit other light beams having the other wavelengths (see Paragraph [0116]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue laser beam that is emitted from the LD light source 21 strikes a phosphor wheel including the heater 3 and the base 4, the blue laser beam is transformed to fluorescent light);
an airflow generator (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8) to generate at least one airflow (see Paragraph [0051]; wherein it is disclosed that an axial fan is used as the airflow generator 8, and the airflow generator 8 is fitted close to an end of the duct 7 where the air is exhausted); and
a blower (Figure 17; Duct 7) to blow said at least one airflow to each of the multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) based on a predetermined blowing condition (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0075]; wherein it is disclosed that the blowing condition is configured to satisfy a first and second equation wherein by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled and with reference to the second equation and wherein the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 whose temperature increases as struck or irradiated with light can be struck with a large volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), to cool down the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 in an efficient manner).
Banno does not expressly disclose that the blower includes a structural part to divide said at least one airflow generated by the airflow generator into: a first direction corresponding to the first wavelength converter, and a second direction corresponding to the second wavelength converter.
Wang discloses a light source device (Figure 1; Projection Apparatus 1) comprising multiple light sources (Figure 1; Light Sources 11, 12 and 13) including a first light source (Figure 1; Light Source 11) and a second light source (Figure 1; Light Source 12), an airflow generator (Figure 1; Fan 22) to generate at least one airflow (see Figure 1; Airflow 220; Paragraph [0014]); and a blower (Figure 1; Airflow Guiding Device 21) to blow said at least one airflow to each of the multiple light sources (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0015]),
wherein the blower (Figure 1; Airflow Guiding Device 21) includes a structural part (Figure 1; U Shaped Airflow Guiding Tube 210) to divide said at least one airflow generated by the airflow generator (Figure 1; Fan 22) into:
a first direction (Figure 1; First Airflow 220a) corresponding to the first light source (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0014]), and
a second direction (Figure 1; Second Airflow 220b) corresponding to the second light source (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the blower of Banno such that the blower includes a structural part to divide said at least one airflow generated by the airflow generator into: a first direction corresponding to the first wavelength converter, and a second direction corresponding to the second wavelength converter, based upon the teachings of Wang, because doing so would satisfy the heat dissipation requirement of light sources by using the least number of fans, thereby outwardly dissipating the heat generated by the projection apparatus efficiently and reducing the noise (see Wang Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding Claim 2, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses configured to set the predetermined blowing condition for each of the multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) according to at least one of:
setting information of an airflow volume of said at least one airflow (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein as expressed in the first equation, by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled); or
Regarding Claim 3, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple airflow generators (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8) including the airflow generator (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8; Paragraph [0051]; wherein it is disclosed that the airflow generator 8 may be a single airflow generator or may include a plurality of airflow generators),
wherein the circuitry is configured to set the predetermined blowing condition for each of the multiple wavelength converters (Figure 17; Wavelength Converter 1) to control and drive the multiple airflow generators (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8), respectively (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0075]; wherein it is disclosed that the blowing condition is configured to satisfy a first and second equation wherein by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled and with reference to the second equation and wherein the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 whose temperature increases as struck or irradiated with light can be struck with a large volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), to cool down the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 in an efficient manner).
Regarding Claim 4, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses the circuitry is configured to set the predetermined blowing condition based on a duct structure (Figure 17; Duct 7) to guide an airflow generated from the airflow generator (Figure 17; Airflow Generator 8) to each of the multiple wavelength converters (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0075]; wherein it is disclosed that the blowing condition is configured to satisfy a first and second equation wherein by increasing the volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), of the circulating air that strikes the heater 3 and or base 4, the amount ΔT.sub.1 by which the temperature of the air increases while the air passes through the heater 3 and the base 4 can be controlled and with reference to the second equation and wherein the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 whose temperature increases as struck or irradiated with light can be struck with a large volume of air, which is referred to as m dot (dm/dt), to cool down the surfaces of the heater 3 or the base 4 in an efficient manner).
Regarding Claim 9, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses a heat dissipation part (Figure 17; Dissipator 6) thermally connected to an exterior of the light source device (see Figure 17), wherein the heat dissipation part (Figure 17; Dissipator 6) is on an intake air path of the airflow generator (see Figure 17).
Regarding Claim 10, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses a portion of the duct structure (Figure 17; Duct 7) has a fin-shape (Figure 17; Heatsink 5) to dissipate heat (see Figure 17 and Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that the air flow whose temperature has increased enters the duct 7 through the intake port. In the duct 7, the high-temperature air flow passes through the heatsink 5. As a result, the heat of the air flow is dissipated to the heatsink 5, and the temperature of the air flow decreases).
Regarding Claim 12, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses a projector apparatus (Figure 18) comprising:
a projection optical system (Figure 18; Projection Optical System 60) to project an image formed by an image forming element (Figure 18; Image Forming Element 50) with the light beam from the light source device according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 13, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Wang further discloses the structural part (Figure 1; U Shaped Airflow Guiding Tube 210) is a partition plate (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Wang further discloses the first direction (Figure 1; First Airflow 220a) is a different direction than the second direction (Figure 1; Second Airflow 220b).
Regarding Claim 15, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Wang further discloses the first direction (Figure 1; First Airflow 220a) is a different direction than the second direction (Figure 1; Second Airflow 220b).
Claims 5-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banno et al (US 2023/0236484; hereinafter referred to as Banno) as modified by Wang et al (US 2010/0309441; hereinafter referred to as Wang) as applied to claim 1, in view of Chang et al (US 2020/0124951; hereinafter referred to as Chang).
Regarding Claim 5, Banno as modified by Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno as modified by Wang does not expressly disclose circuitry to change the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to each of the multiple wavelength converters.
Chang discloses a light source device (Figure 1; Projector 100) comprising: a laser light source (Figure 1; Laser Source); a wavelength converter (Figure 1; Color Wheel) to convert the wavelength of the laser light beam emitted from the laser light source (see Paragraph [0015]; wherein it is disclosed that the color wheel is configured to receive the laser beam and excite one or more color beams); an airflow generator (Figure 1; Fans Fa) to generate at least one airflow (see Paragraph [0015]; wherein the rotation of the fans FA is configured to lower temperature), and
circuitry (Paragraph [0017]; wherein the combination of the processor and multiple temperature sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS constitute the circuitry) to change the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to the wavelength converter (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Wang based upon the teachings of Chang such that the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to the wavelength converter, wherein upon combination, the circuitry would change the predetermined blowing condition to blow an airflow to each of the multiple wavelength converters because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 6, Banno as modified by Wang and Chang discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno and modified by Wang does not expressly disclose that each of the multiple wavelength converters includes a temperature sensor to detect temperature, the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor. Chang further discloses the wavelength converter (Figure 1; Color Wheel) includes a temperature sensor (Figure 1; Temperature Sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS) to detect temperature (see Paragraph [0033]), the circuitry (Paragraph [0017]; wherein the combination of the processor and multiple temperature sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS constitute the circuitry) changes the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Wang such that the wavelength converter includes a temperature sensor to detect temperature, the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor, as taught by Chang, wherein upon combination each of the multiple wavelength converters would include a temperature sensor to detect temperature, because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 7, Banno as modified by Wang and Chang discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno as modified by Wang does not expressly disclose that in response to a detection of a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature in a wavelength converter among the multiple wavelength converters by the temperature sensor, wherein the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition to increase a cooling performance of the wavelength converter.
Chang further discloses that in response to a detection of a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature in a wavelength converter (Figure 1; Color Wheel) by the temperature sensor (Figure 1; Temperature Sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS), wherein the circuitry (Paragraph [0017]; wherein the combination of the processor and multiple temperature sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS constitute the circuitry) changes the predetermined blowing condition to increase a cooling performance of the wavelength converter (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Wang such that in response to a detection of a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature in a wavelength converter among the multiple wavelength converters by the temperature sensor, the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition to increase a cooling performance of the wavelength converter, as taught by Chang, because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 8, Banno as modified by Wang and Chang discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno as modified by Wang does not expressly disclose that the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on an output of the laser light beam from the laser light source to each of the multiple wavelength converters.
Chang discloses the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on an output of the laser light beam from the laser light source (Figure 1; Laser Source) to the wavelength converters (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that when the temperature parameter corresponding to any one of the areas falls into the corresponding first temperature interval and any one of the fans Fa is not set to the maximum speed, the operation S250 is executed, setting, by the processor, the fans Fa to the maximum speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Wang such that the circuitry changes the predetermined blowing condition based on an output of the laser light beam from the laser light source to each of the multiple wavelength converters, based on the teachings of Chang, because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 16, Banno as modified by Wang and Chang discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Banno further discloses multiple wavelength converters (see Figure 18).
Banno and modified by Wang does not expressly disclose that each of the multiple wavelength converters includes a temperature sensor to detect temperature.
Chang further discloses the wavelength converter (Figure 1; Color Wheel) includes a temperature sensor (Figure 1; Temperature Sensors IS, SR, SG, SB, SX, WS and LS) to detect temperature (see Paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Wang such that the wavelength converter includes a temperature sensor to detect temperature, as taught by Chang, wherein upon combination each of the multiple wavelength converters would include a temperature sensor to detect temperature, because doing so would enhance the cooling such that the projector can be protected without affecting the playing (see Chang Paragraph [0034]).
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banno et al (US 2023/0236484; hereinafter referred to as Banno) as modified by Wang et al (US 2010/0309441; hereinafter referred to as Wang) and Chang et al (US 2020/0124951; hereinafter referred to as Chang) as applied to claim 6, in view of Ogawa (US 2019/0294036).
Regarding Claim 11, Banno as modified by Wang and Chang discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Banno as modified by Wang and Chang does not expressly disclose a projection mode selector to accept a selected projection mode; and the circuitry changes: an airflow generated by the airflow generator based on the selected projection mode; and the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor in response to a change in the selected projection mode.
Ogawa discloses a light source device (Figure 1) comprising a projection mode selector (Figure 1; IR Receiving Unit 35) to accept a selected projection mode (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that key operation signals from a remote controller are received by an Ir receiving unit 35 and are demodulated into code signals by an Ir processing unit 36, and the code signals are output to the control unit 38); and the circuitry changes: an airflow generated by the airflow generator (Figure 1; Cooling Fan Drive Control Circuit 43) based on the selected projection mode (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein the projection mode is either a powered on or powered off state); and the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor in response to a change in the selected projection mode (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the control unit 38 controls a cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 such that the cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 performs temperature detection using a plurality of temperature sensors provided in the light source device 60 or the like and controls the rotational speed of a cooling fan according to a result of the temperature detection. The control unit 38 controls the cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 such that the cooling-fan drive control circuit 43 keeps rotating the cooling fan by a timer or the like even after the power of a main body of the projector 10 is turned off, or performs control to turn off the power of the main body of the projector 10, or the like, according to the result of temperature detection by the temperature sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Wang and Chang to incorporate a projection mode selector which accepts a selected projection mode; and the circuitry changes: an airflow generated by the airflow generator based on the selected projection mode; and the predetermined blowing condition based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor in response to a change in the selected projection mode, as taught by Ogawa, because doing so would predictably ensure cool and safe operation of the projection system.
Regarding Claim 17, Banno as modified by Wang and Chang discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Banno as modified by Wang and Chang does not expressly disclose a projection mode selector to accept a selected projection mode.
Ogawa discloses a light source device (Figure 1) comprising a projection mode selector (Figure 1; IR Receiving Unit 35) to accept a selected projection mode (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that key operation signals from a remote controller are received by an Ir receiving unit 35 and are demodulated into code signals by an Ir processing unit 36, and the code signals are output to the control unit 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source device of Banno as modified by Wang and Chang to incorporate a projection mode selector which accepts a selected projection mode, as taught by Ogawa, because doing so would predictably ensure cool and safe operation of the projection system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882